Slugger Awards: Up and Coming Politician

Okay, this an opportunity to talent scout the talent of the future. This year there is a large new intake of co-opted MLAs, so there ought to be some good candidates to pick from. Past winners have been Naomi Long and Dawn Purvis both of whom went on to do bigger things.

Nominations so far include:

– Conall McDevitt (MLA, SDLP)

– Simon Hamilton (MLA, DUP)

– Raymond McCord Senior (Unelected, no party)

– Colum Eastwood (Mayor of Derry, SDLP)

– Barry McElduff (MLA, Sinn Fein)

But come, there’s got to be more. McDevitt is the only one of the co-opted MLAs to get a mention so far.

Discover more from Slugger O'Toole

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

We are reader supported. Donate to keep Slugger lit!

For over 20 years, Slugger has been an independent place for debate and new ideas. We have published over 40,000 posts and over one and a half million comments on the site. Each month we have over 70,000 readers. All this we have accomplished with only volunteers we have never had any paid staff.

Slugger does not receive any funding, and we respect our readers, so we will never run intrusive ads or sponsored posts. Instead, we are reader-supported. Help us keep Slugger independent by becoming a friend of Slugger. While we run a tight ship and no one gets paid to write, we need money to help us cover our costs.

If you like what we do, we are asking you to consider giving a monthly donation of any amount, or you can give a one-off donation. Any amount is appreciated.