Three Tory MPs Anna Soubry, Sarah Wollaston and Heidi Allen join the Labour breakaway group…

This is interesting, three pro remain Tory MPs have joined the Labour breakaway group, will more follow? From the BBC:

Three Tory MPs have resigned from party over its “shift to the right”.

Anna Soubry, Sarah Wollaston and Heidi Allen wrote a joint letter to Theresa May to confirm their departure.

The pro-Remain trio will join the new Independent Group – made up of eight Labour MPs who resigned from their party over its handling of Brexit and anti-Semitism.

In the letter, they said the party was “in the grip” of the DUP and the European Research Group over Brexit.

And they claimed Brexit had “redefined the Conservative Party -undoing all the efforts to modernise it”.

Donate to keep Slugger lit!

For over 20 years, Slugger has been an independent place for debate and new ideas. We have published over 40,000 posts and over one and a half million comments on the site. Each month we have over 70,000 readers. All this we have accomplished with only volunteers we have never had any paid staff.

Slugger does not receive any funding, and we respect our readers, so we will never run intrusive ads or sponsored posts. Instead, we are reader-supported. Help us keep Slugger independent by becoming a friend of Slugger.

While we run a tight ship and no one gets paid to write, we need money to help us cover our costs.

If you like what we do, we are asking you to consider giving a monthly donation of any amount, or you can give a one-off donation. Any amount is appreciated.