‘Football’: With a rifle and a pistol in my hand – fuck Bobby Sands …
Blank on February 15, 2011, 7:54 pm | Readers 1072
[UPDATE ]The Northern Ireland supporter deleted the video once they realised it wasn’t solely like minded bigots watching their trip to Dublin – what a surprise.
We are reader supported. Donate to keep Slugger lit!
For over 20 years, Slugger has been an independent place for debate and new ideas. We have published over 40,000 posts and over one and a half million comments on the site. Each month we have over 70,000 readers. All this we have accomplished with only volunteers we have never had any paid staff.
Slugger does not receive any funding, and we respect our readers, so we will never run intrusive ads or sponsored posts. Instead, we are reader-supported. Help us keep Slugger independent by becoming a friend of Slugger. While we run a tight ship and no one gets paid to write, we need money to help us cover our costs.
If you like what we do, we are asking you to consider giving a monthly donation of any amount, or you can give a one-off donation. Any amount is appreciated.
250 thoughts on “‘Football’: With a rifle and a pistol in my hand – fuck Bobby Sands …”
Mark twenty drunks is just that twenty drunks…. nothing more that twenty drunk celtic supporters would sing in reverse
Poor post in my view no other information with it
They should have a few practice sessions before their next mission impossible . A few of the boys didn’t know the words . Half of them seemed to be filming the other half …. probably for their probation officers.
Oracle,
It was enough to make the UTV news but I’ve left it hanging for ‘International Award Winning’ supporters to criticise.
Surely the least sectarian fans in the world are going to criticise this as much as they flagged their award for not being at all sectarian?
So Oracle – are you saying Norn Iron are the direct opposite of Celtic? I thought that was Rangers ….. ah I see, you are saying Norn Iron are the same as Rangers!
Agreed!
Charming. Absolutely fucking charming.
And the gaa don’t glorify IRA or the INLA????? As they seltic say let the people sing!!!!!
Mark McG
Okay Mark that’s valid
” This video is no longer available because the uploader has closed their U Tube account. ”
Is what the link is showing. Interesting.
I think these guys should be Irelands eurovision entry even as a nationalist I find it less offensive than Jedward!
John,
Brilliant!!!!
Theres actually two ways to look at this story.
The IFA/Our Wee Country/”unionist” view is that this was a minority of supporters and they are making great strides to end sectarianism……and FIFA is unreasonable about Darron Gibson…..cos Norn Iron is brill so it is.
Which is odd because the SDLP official website put out an official release last week congratulating Darron Gibson on his first international goal. And Id just like to add my own congrats.
The position of nationalists is that this is not isolated and the default position of Norn Irons supporters.
And clearly its not in the interests of nationalists or supporters of the (Republic) Ireland football team to see Norn Iron become homogenous.
Vive la difference….so to speak.
Once you understand that the IFA’s anti-sectarianism drive is aimed at making players from a nationalist background semi-comfortable (if they can get past the flag/anthem/ symbolry) at Windsor Park as opposed to supporters from same background, then incidents like this shouldn’t be raising any eyebrows. Same as it ever was.
Poor show Mark. You must be reading A Tangled Web too much with this sort of hyperbole.
SInce when does a youttube video suddenly label 10’s of thousands of fans?
Will mark and co use the same broad stereotyping against Celtic (that great anti-sectarian football club) if i or anyone else posted any one of the hundreds of available links on youtube or elsewhere of singing ‘offensive songs’?? Will a single clip of Gaelic fans uttering sectarian comments or singing about me and my community (huns, black bastards,etc) be looked upon the same way, and suddenly call into question all the GAA’s efforts of outreach and brand them insincere and unrepresentive?
Im suprised at this post on slugger. Is any youtube video now enough to label entire groups?
Will a video of a republican espousing racist views make all republicans racist?
If i video the next bus load of Gaelic fans i see on the way to a match pissing on the side of the road does that mean every fan does??
This topic is beyond incredibly partial exaggeration and propaganda. Slugger covers a wide remit of issues and subjects, but the totally non-subjective nature of this post (its beyond even an ‘opinion’) is a first on slugger.
There are some determined to whip up some sort of trouble at the Norn Irn Republic match. Major determined. Why? Im not sure, but they are heading towards their wish. We are already anticipating Guards ready with the shields for any minor undisgression.
Add to all that another point- have any of you actually been to a football (soccer for the sematic 6 county people) gaelic or other sporting occasion???? Have any of you any concept of how fans act and bond before aduring and after team sports? It doesnt seem like it.
“Will a single clip of Gaelic fans uttering sectarian comments or singing about me and my community (huns, black bastards,etc) be looked upon the same way, and suddenly call into question all the GAA’s efforts of outreach and brand them insincere and unrepresentive?”
link please?
And you know what, whats wrong with the words of the song anyway if we analyse it??? Is it just the fact that an expletive is used??
To use the terminology and continual arguments of Celtic FC, there arent actually any sectarian references or words used. Its all political and historical referencing.
A lot of people dont share the beatitude of Bobby Sands and consider him the criminal the ‘evil’ British Justice system labeled him.
Many times ive heard the justification of the ‘non-sectarianism’ and ‘non-offensive’ nature of the Broad Black Brimmer, Come out you Black and Tans and even the more modern Rifles of the IRA (totally acceptable for example for this song about the IRA in South Armagh within the current/last conflict to be stocked in HMV)!!! Well this is no different. Its a modern folk song.
Get over it.
Define the sectarianism Mark.
Seems UTV are only playing catch-up on this.
The following is from the Herald newspaper in Dublin last week. And clearly involved more than “twenty drunks”!!
By Melanie Finn
Thursday February 10 2011
GARDAI in full riot gear descended on Dublin 4 last night as Union Jack clad loyalists caused mayhem on the streets.
The shocking scenes have sparked increased security for Ireland’s clash with Northern Ireland on May 23.
Thousands of hardline Unionists forced pubs and businesses to close early and had residents running for their homes as they stirred up a tense atmosphere in D4.
Some fans were involved in a stand-off with riot gardai, who managed to contain the group, as they spat anti-Irish chants and yelled obscenities at passers-by.
The scenes, reminiscent of the 1995 mayhem when English fans forced the abandonment of an Ireland-England match, took place before last night’s Carling Home Nations Cup match between Northern Ireland and Scotland.
From early, boozed-up soccer fans caused mayhem in the heart of the leafy suburb as they took to the streets for a lengthy, out-of-control drinking session.
Hours before the game, thousands of fans began streaming into Dublin from the North, by car, train and bus.
Labour councillor Kevin Humphreys told the Herald residents he spoke to afterwards were “very upset and distressed” by the experience.
Aggression
“There was a proportion of the fans who really had an excess of alcohol,” said Cllr Humphreys. “It made it very uncomfortable for local residents. There was an air of aggression in some places.
Wrapped in Union Jack and Red Hand of Ulster flags, the supporters spent more than four hours downing alcohol on the streets singing the provocative ‘Sash’ and ‘God Save The Queen’, ahead of the game against Scotland.
Locals trying to make their way home from work watched in horror as rowdy louts spiralled out of control, almost sparking full scale riots.
At one point, they were heard chanting: “Stick your f**king tricolour up your h*le,” as well as ‘God Saves the Queen’ and the Dambusters March.
Vanloads of gardai wearing riot gear were called to Bath Avenue after dozens of complaints from concerned residents trapped in their homes.
Pubs along the leafy road were forced to close up early as dozens of gardai patrolled the area in a bid to keep the supporters in check.
Hundreds converged outside Murray’s pub, beating Lambeg drums and ripping down election posters. A garda member at the scene told the Herald how they were “monitoring the situation.” A spokesman for the Garda said today no arrests were made but the “whole idea is to have a presence there with a view to curtailing (public order) activity”.
Mr Humphreys questioned whether another game involving Northern Ireland should be staged at the Aviva until there is an assessment of the security situation.
Terrified mums pushing prams and elderly residents trying to get into their houses were forced to make their way through the melee.
They were seen openly urinating in the gardens of people’s homes and downing cans ofbeer and bottles of Buckfast.
Bath Avenue resident Eamon Russell slammed their behaviour as a disgrace and said they had been gathered outside the pub since 4pm.
“This is getting totally out of hand, the gardai are here but they’re not arresting anyone.
“This is just the scum of Northern Ireland, it’s not the decent supporters. I’ve been living here 14 years and I’ve never seen anything like this. It’s awful for local residents, trying to walk through gangs of lads hanging around with glass bottles in their hands..”
Earlier in the day, gardai had to be called to another disturbance after fans started heckling passerbys and motorists at approximately 4pm.
“At one point a motorist beeped at them to get out of her way and they started jeering her and surrounded her car,” said an onlooker. “It was very intimidating and hard to believe it was happening in broad daylight as people were making their way home from work.
hnews @herald.ie
I was at the Night in November match – and looking back, it was a small, but vocal section of the crowd who disgraced themselves.
I’ve been at Windsor recently and the NI supporters are a credit to this country.
Give them a break, I’m sure you’d get the Celtic mental illness if you went in deep on ROI supporters.
I’m a nationalist, but I support NI – they were Ireland before the partitionists broke away to make their own – neither Nationalist, Unionist or Dissenter.
Not Brazil, not bigoted, not fashionable – we’re Norn Iron. I love it.
Only bigots, nationalistic facists, people who can’t just let go of the past are going to get sick over it – but I’m Norn Iron through and through. And I’m an Irish nationalist, so go figure.
west sider,
I did go figure…. I figure you have an identity crisis, you can’t be an Irish Nationalist and love Norn-Iron they are opposite aspirations.
what you mean is you’re an Irish catholic that loves Norn-iron which makes more sense but does not therefore make you unique
As the great Jock Stein said if there were wo players of equal merit and one was Catholic and one was Protestant….he would sign the Protestant for Rangers would not sign the Catholic anyway.
The Celtic Rangers thing being two sides f the one coin might suit those who believe that splitting the difference is real compromise but the fact remains that Celtics employment policy was somewhat different to the other half of the Old Firm.
As a matter of record, I think all fans of all codes travelling by coach to football, GAA or rugby matches make occasional pit stops en route to the stadium. There are some delightful spots between Holyhead and Manchester.
But I think those seeking to say that all fans (eg Celtic FC) are the same or as bad are missing the point……..the IFA are the people trying to present this rosey image of our (non existent) wee country. Another nail in the coffin.
Why cant you be an Irish Nationalist and love Northern Ireland?? Does that mean you cant support Ireland Rugby team if your a Unionist????
This is why we are in the mess we are- people always trying to define the identitys of others. Well you cant. West Sider can be whatever the hell he wants to be and how he defines it is up to him.
Im Irish. Ive no problem with saying that. But its in the conbtext of also being British. And you and any Irish Nationalist or Irish Republican can tell me why im wrong, give every argument they can think of and any demonstration they want. It doesnt matter. I am what i think i am. Full stop.
“the IFA are the people trying to present this rosey image of our (non existent) wee country. Another nail in the coffin.”
First off- always the petty wee retarded digs. You may well think this Country doesnt exist but the whole rest of the world acknowledges it does, so stop being so bloody childish. People need to grow up.
The IFA does nothing of the sort. It has tried and is trying to make changes. It has succeeded in making changes and is trying to make more.
To quote more Republican diatribe ‘this is a problem 800 years old’. You want it fixed over night?!!!
The IFA or no NI supporter has ever claimed to be perfect. No football club internation or otherwise can do that.
People badly need to mature in these debates.
incidently, Jock may well have said that. There are also allegations of several things he didnt say that are of at least as equal importance to the allegations against Rangers.
An no, Celtic too do claim everything to be rosey as you colourfully put it.
I’ve been going to N Ireland home games for the past 8 years and other than the odd confused soul in a Rangers top or the idiotic shouting of No Surrender over a frankly horrible anthem I have heard no sectarian songs sung.
I was in Dublin last week and was surprised this was not picked up on earlier. Everyone was pissed from about 3pm after getting dumped off their coaches in Dublin. I must say the craic in the bars before the game was great. Locals, N Irish and Kilts all mixing. The most offensive song I heard was about Trapatonni being a peadophile which at the time got a laugh by everyone there. It was typical football banter.
I went round towards the stadium at about 6pm by which time the street behind the stadium was filled with N Ireland fans drinking and singing and good natured banter with the Garda. However outside one of the pubs there was a crowd of about 200 drunks singing Billy Boys and the likes of that. I was told the bar had drink stolen and had to close down. Shops that were selling alcohol stopped serving but I walked 10mins from the ground and found a group of 50 N Irish outside an off license with very little booze left.
There was no doubt a group of undesirable characters on the night who would not normally be at an NI game. They were clearly there for a mini-twelfth. However I wouldn’t just blame these people. To be honest I beleive there were people there who drank too much and got caught up in it. This group of people I would say were true N Ireland fans who would never normally behave like that at N Ireland matches but decided to take part in these chants for whatever reason most likely because they had drank too much and the idea of swinging of palm trees and singing ‘party songs’ in Dublin was too much to resist.
The majority of supporters of N Ireland as we know are Protestant/Unionist/Loyalist and behave when they go to support their team but the true colours of some came out last week which was for me more disappointing than the result.
Westsider,
I too was at the infamous “night in November”. My recollection of the disgraceful scenes is very far away from yours. It was not a vocal minority that night at Windsor but in actual fact the vast majority who were hurling venemous abuse of the “trick or treat” variety and creating an unmistakeable rendition of “dirty Fenian bastards” which, I am led to believe, was very audible to the television viewer too. I heard it with my own ears and I saw Billy Bingham conducting the same choir who were singing about being “up to their necks in Fenian blood”.
Jack Charlton wasn’t too chuffed with Mr Bingham either, as I recall.
Quincey,
You may think that Im the one who needs to mature but I am not signing sectarian songs or supporting, apologising for or trying to distance themselves from folks who do.
It doesnt actually matter what the IFA do or try to do. It will never be enough for us. So the Norn Iron fans reverting to type causes me no stress. In fact I welcome it.
Whether the rest of the world (I cant imagine they care……certainly FIFA didnt care) thinks Norn Iron exists is fairly academic when a considerable percentage of its own potential fan base is cheering for the other side…..is there a worse sensation that Jackie Fullerton screaming “Goaaaaaaaaaaaaaal”?
As “Al” notes above many Norn Iron fans who behaved this way in Dublin would not do so in normal circumstances. Being in the Republic was too much for them. It brought out the worst in them.
Alas many people in Norn Iron are Irish citizens eshrined in law…..and clearly the behaviour of the fans/”not real fans” is an indication of the contempt they have for citizens of Ireland and the institutions of Ireland.
The attempt by IFA to create a homogenous football team are therefore doomed. Nationalists welcome this.
Wabbits
After what I witnessed at NI matches in Windsor during the 70’s and 80s, I vowed never to return so I wasn’t there on that night in November.
However, I know 2 English colleagues who were working in the North and went to the match. They were totally shocked by the racist chanting (particularly at Terry Phelan) and disgusting widespread anti-Catholic sectarian chanting.
As you say, it was very far from a “minority” and it was clearly audible on the TV. It’s really sad that Jackie Fullerton has such a hearing problem – all these years and he never seems to have heard any sectarian chanting or booing of Catholic players at Windsor. The same with Kate Hoey – she’s always going on about the great atmosphere and no sectarian stuff – yeah right!
I do appreciate that some NI fans have made and are making a big effort to improve things. Good luck to them but they have a lot of history to overcome.
At least, if you read a lot of comments on OWC – they admit (and laudably are disgusted) that there are still a reasonable number of “fans” who love to sing “If you cannae do the bouncy, you’re a taig” and of course – respectfully chanting “No Surrender” in the middle of GSTQ.
On this site, however, you tend to get the apologists for this behaviour and, much more commonly, the deniers.
The truth is that the majority of Catholics/Nationalists will never support NI – and NI support allied with the IFA behaviour for 30 odd years is totally to blame for that.
However, at least the OWC people are trying to lose that image and persuade any decent Catholic player from opting for the RoI (although 90% of them will undoubtedly do so).
However, I do empathise with the OWC guys because the so called NI “fans” who deny that there is still a sectarian element to NI support and try to excuse the behaviour that happened in Dublin are simply making a difficult task 10 times harder.
This a nonsense tounament that few are interested in and is a recipe for serious disorder.
Sooner or later Wales and Scotland will throw their lot in with England and Norn Iron players could then choose between England(Britian) and Ireland.
If this does not happen, certainly Norn Iron and probably Wales will decend to the San Marino level – if they are not already there.
As originally mentioned in thread 20 bad eggs does not bake a cake. These idiots are not representative of any NI game I’ve been to and clearly we could stick up videos of lots of Celtic fans doing the same..
It must have been a slow news day for UTV
This just in……
the world is continuing on its axis.
My name is Zachariah and I am a unionist! I appeal to Irish Republicans to help me and my community heal our sectarian soul. You are always on the side of the angels, we languish in the pit.
Now some may talk about the GAA with its clubs and tournaments named after IRA murderers, or the many unkind, but so deserved, names used by Nationalists about my kith and kin; huns, planters, jaffas etc. But I realise that thinking this way is simply another manifestation of my own sectarian heart.
Even discussion of the IRA as sectarian murderers is of course so wrong. It was only the Army, RUC/PSNI, UDR et al who were driven, to a man and woman, by Protestant bigotry, the default setting for my donomination. Now that the forces of law and order (oops, sorry) imprisoned many more Protestants during the, rightfully called, War on foot of effective cooperation with the unionist community is nothing more than MI5 (upper class English Protestant bigots everyone) smoke and mirrors.
I can see also now that I do not live in Northern Ireland, rather I am allowed, despite my tribe’s many many failings, to live in The North. I know some will say what about my passport, the currency, the Westminster MPs, the culture, even the roadsigns for God’s sake? But what are they other than the detritus of the wrongs done in the past by unionists to Holy Ireland?
No longer talk to me about the growth in numbers of the Catholic community in The North and the corresponding decline in Protestants in cleansed Ireland. The disappeared where all Orange stormtroopers: a no nonsense now about the RIC being overwhelmingly Catholic!
No I see now that we Protestant unionists are truly lost. If only we had the Catholics’ generousity of soul. And don’t think you can reflect on my uncle living in Rasharkin County Antrim who is regularly abused as an “Orange b****”. No matter that he has never darkened the door of an Orange Hall in all of his eighty-two years. He carries the Mark of Calvin.
So to my fellow unionists I say join me in my online group; Unionists Anonymous. To Irish Republicans; wash the Orange mote from my eye, even if you have to drive me into the sea to do it. You know I deserve it.
So Zachariah after reading your version of War and Peace I take it you condem the actions of these fans.
Absolutely disgusted by the actions of a minority of hangers on. I was bitterly disappointed in the first instance at The IFA’s decision to participate in this tournament, which was wrong on several levels.
On a side note – Mark – I thought you didn’t do sectariana? Isn’t this more Donnelly’s level?
Chekov,
“which was wrong on several levels. ”
Anything other than the 2 below.
One of those was presumably that the supporters (although a small minority) would make a holy show of themselves – that was obvious as hell.
And In football terms – it is a nonsense competition.
(Ireland certainly ahould have declined the offer -which could be argued was generous enough.)
Zachariah Tiffins Foot,
FYI
This straw man or straw ironic man arguement/tactic has oft been employed on Slugger – not very sucessfully either now or then, as a form of deflection.
Good on ya lads, a bit of whataboutery should distract from the issue. Obviously all fenians support Celtic so there’s equivalence there. Obviously a National team is a little bit different from a league side, not all Scottish people would be expected to support Celtic for example, but would most likely be expected to support Scotland.
In fact some cynics might suggest that Celtic and Rangers wallow in their sectarianism as it brings in the fans and the money. Should we equate Northern Ireland with Celtic for that reason? Both quite happy to tolerate sectarianism, for their own reason?
Northern Ireland fans make this an issue by trying to divert attention from the actual topic, and for rambling on about how they’re totally non sectarian ever since the Lennon death threats (part one). Alf approaches the thing in a more reasonable light, which is to say it happens, it shouldn’t happen and the NI fans in the large try to prevent it happening.
But for the hard of learning, one more time. You insist this is a national side for the people who live here, but when your fans chant in a way to intimidate nationalists then it’s a loyalist side for loyalist folks, so ask yourself this: do ‘national’ sides have an obligation, unlike Celtic or Rangers, to appeal to all the citizens of that given ‘nation’? Or do Loyalists own the NI team in the same way they do Rangers and ‘Catholics’ do Celtic?
Try not to divert off into a totally unrelated topic if you can manage it, not discussing the GAA, the IRA, the troubles or anything else. I’m talking specifically about the widespread sectarian behaviour reported on UTV and in the Herald by our wee country’s ‘most improved’ supporters in the world.
Obviously this isn’t the smoking gun the agenda ridden where looking for the otherweek – i.e. widespread violence. A few windows put in on both sides failed to capture the media’s imagination for some reason. Perhaps saving their powder for the Republic game when a high dose of retards are present from both sets of support?
But from an NI-supporting perspective I’m glad it made the headline on a slow news day. It took that for the IFA to do anything about it, while the best fans in UEFA were warning them for months beforehand, and indeed after previous matches, what tramps were causing issues at games.
The IFA are culpable for agreeing to such a ‘tournament’ in the first place and then failing to carry out the necessary security precautions.
anybody out there got the actual figures of arrests for these thug’s that went on the rampage and nearly destroyed the fair city…? here’s a clue it is the number before one.
Good on btb, that means it didn’t happen right? Quick question, how many ‘thug’s’ (sic) were arrested within 24 hours of the trouble in Rathcoole? None? Good job, that means we can comprehensively ignore it then eh?
Or maybe that little piece of info actually means fuck all. Keep excusing the behaviour, that’s the best way for sure.
Believe me Northern Ireland supporters are self-flagellating about this elsewhere. There’s an enormous amount of disappointment, calls for bans and a sense of being let down.
Obviously, as the story gets dragged unto more and more fora, and attracts comments from more and more people, some of whom have more than a mote in their own eye, it’ll be accompanied by a degree of defensiveness.
Sectariana inevitably descends into whataboutery because its purpose is to point the finger at themmums. But no-one can seriously say that the issue isn’t being taken on board by the majority of Ireland supporters or by the IFA.
They’ve fully engaged in a struggle against this, this is a huge set-back, which wasn’t entirely unforeseen, and hopefully it will explode any complacency and add urgency to the IFA and the fans’ efforts.
Could someone explain how thousands of ni fans doing the Rangers bouncey, rule Britannia, dambusters, build my gallows etc…fits in with any meaningful campaign related to ‘football for all’ ?
Monk De Wonk etc makes the excellent point that the behaviour of these fans/not fans at all makes the job of the IFA “10 times harder”.
Although the IFA are themselves somewhat confused.
Clearly this sort of sectarianism/xenophobia goes beyond normal “club” football hooliga rituals.
I have myself witnessed Liverpool and Leeds fans sing a less than delightful song with the words “who’s that lying on the runway?” to Manchester United fans.
Ive also heard Manchester United fans refer to the “Chelsea rent boys”, “the bitter blues Manchest City” and a rather unpleasant song that “in their Liverpool slums…..they look in a dustbin for something to eat”.
But clearly Norn Irons fans paranoia about (Republic) Ireland and the Irish citizens north and south cannot ever be effectively dealt with by IFA.
Well intentioned initiatives such as Norn Iron training away from Windsor Park etc and going into territory where “Republic shirts” are much more common is clearly a laudable gesture to those who are Irish citizens. “Fair play” as Sepp Blatter might say.
And they (and their moderate well intentioned fans) see no contradiction in taking legal action against those same Irish citizens who want to fully express their sense of Irishness by playing for the nation of which they are citizens.
The moderate, well intentioned fans see absolutely no contadiction and will still claim FIFA got it wrong, thus allying themselves with the basest element of anti-Irish behaviour seen last week in Dublin.
‘A few windows put in on both sides failed to capture the media’s imagination for some reason.’
Given that NI were playing Scotland, or you accusing Scottish fans of involvement in the trouble? Or, as I suspect, making an ignorant and clumsy attempt to smear ‘themmuns’.
Chekov,
“Sectariana inevitably descends into whataboutery because its purpose is to point the finger at themmums”
You are suggesting that any discussion regarding sectarian behaviour is an exercise in pointing “the finger at themmums”?
Surely each sectarian action should be discussed and condemned separately?
‘Could someone explain how thousands of ni fans doing the Rangers bouncey, rule Britannia, dambusters, build my gallows etc…fits in with any meaningful campaign related to ‘football for all’ ?’
Stewart
See my 1st post above – it has nothing to do with creating a neutral environment on match nights but rather avoiding the situation whereby a home player is subjected to so much sectarian abuse he refuses to play on at halftime and subsequently retires. That’s why ‘Football for All’ was launched after the sectarian baiting of Neil Lennon and not Anton Rogan. Nationalists aren’t wanted at Windsor Park and if they must attend, they should do so with their head safely down and be enternally grateful that the vast majority in attendance no longer participate in monotonous chants about ‘fenian bastards’.
Ten German bombers near Landsdowne. I don’t know why the locals have to put up with this. The FAI might need money but they have no local, indigenous support worth speaking of.
If given a choice between NI v Scotland or Man Utd v Shamrock Rovers or Pats in a friendly, most neutrals would choose the latter.
We are not Brazil, we are NI. Indeed. That is the problem.
You are suggesting that any discussion regarding sectarian behaviour is an exercise in pointing “the finger at themmums”?
I’m saying that’s usually the purpose on Slugger. The same people post. The same people comment. The important discussions, about how to prevent this happening again, the important input will take place elsewhere.
The only reason I felt moved to contribute on this occasion is because I have a special interest in the N Ireland football team. I felt the whataboutery above wasn’t representative of fans’ opinions because that’s not what they’re saying amongst themselves.
There the discussion is about isolating people, naming them, stopping them from getting tickets. In short practical solutions to stop this. The old “poor us”, “we’re being picked upon” stuff is being given short shrift.
But on your broader point, I don’t think I’ve ever read a constructive sectariana thread on Slugger. It is invariably “aren’t their lot worse than our lot”. I’m not saying discussing sectarianism isn’t necessary or can’t be constructive – just that it rarely is here.
fjh- and some Arsenal fans have in the past occasionally trilled “Spurs are on their way to Auschwitz”. Football fans are generally not tactful or demure when they get together- it’s just part of the territory. And Melanie Finn’s little mood piece is obviously typical tabloid garbage. When did a red top ever underplay anything? “5000 fans in Dublin-4800 have good day’s crack- publicans do roaring trade” won’t shift many papers. I saw a fair number of Guards out and about, yet they weren’t snowed under with work, and they aren’t exactly renowned for their tolerance of disorder
I have been at NI games for over 30 years home and away. I was in Dublin. The few- and it was a few- bin-lids who were on the clip would not be among the faces I recognise on away trips. Their behaviour was not condoned by the majority. One of the guys I know is a sergeant in the Gardai who supports NI- and he’s from Dublin, though his dad is from the north. I would not wish him to be exposed to that rubbish which is more suitable to Ibrox park.
The wave of condemnation on OWC ought to be recognised as progress. As OWC rightly put it “we exist”, and we’re not going to go away. Of course, that’s our real crime, though
good one yourself Neil a few drunks singing compares with full scale riot? lol, email the guards in dub and ask them are they seeking any norn iron fans or have they any reports of any trouble related to the match and then sure post up the reply. now lets see 5k fans travel myself included and we all had rather a nice day, apart from the match!!, a few buses where unfortunate enough to have there windows put in as way of welcome to dub, a few drunks pissed on the street, a few drunks sang party tunes and to illustrate this total mayhem caused by norn iron fans we have one you tube clip to get the already offended more offended, ah well.
Chekov,
Fair enough, I have no doubt that like with most teams, national or not the majority are embarassed by the behaviour of the few.
My issue was with your unqualified “because its purpose is to point the finger at themmums “.
Clearly that is not always the case and it is a bit dismissive to suggest it is.
IWSMcN
For a self-proclaimed internet sensei you don’t seem to get this comments thing. You see someone posts an opener and others come on and offer an opinion on the piece. The incomers may also wish to comment on previously posted comments. It gets into a sort of flow and so long as the original subject matter is not lost all’s well.
Now the subject of this thread is the sectarian display by some NI football ‘supporters’. Before I commented some had talked about Northern Ireland born players playing for the Republic and had even questioned the existence of Northern Ireland (checkout fjh’s ” our (non existent) wee country).
More importantly for me was the underlying tone that sectarianism was the Protestant Disease.
So the flash above your head was my point going past. Not to worry I’m pretty tolerant of less-than-sharp tacks.
But hey just for you, and read the next bit very slowly, and don’t worry if you find your lips mouthing the words; I condemn the behaviour of the ‘fans’ in the video.
Zachariah Tiffins Foot,
“More importantly for me was the underlying tone that sectarianism was the Protestant Disease.”
Yes, that was bleedin obvious.
I was drawing your attention that to the fact that overstatment (humourous or otherwise) was often used here as a form of tribal deflection from the issue and often by those like yourself you think their tribe is being unfairly picked on. Geddit? S
Regarding your condemnation, sensitive soul you obviously are, but I was not suggesting you were a sectarian bigot and supported such sectarian behaviour.
TO QUINCEY:
The Northern Ireland team is a unionist team for the unionist people and what’s wrong with that?
To excuse the actions of the Northern Irish fans by reference to Celtic is ridiculous. Lets call a spade a spade. Celtic is the manifestation of nationalism and in Northern Ireland (at least) is exclusively for nationalists/republicans. So to, Rangers is exclusively unionist/loyalist. And again, what is wrong with that? If Celtic fans want to sing republican songs, wave tricolours and Rangers fans want to sing about the Queen and wave UDA/LVF banners then let them work away. Thats part of the point in supporting those teams, its why many support one English team and either of the Glawgow Old Firm duo as their second team. Its a cultural thing.
But as for Northern ireland, to pretend that its an all inclusive, cross community lovey dovey hugable team of the people, is just absurd. And its NOT a minority of fans, its the majority who harbour either latent of overt sectarian beliefs.
For one, there is Windsor Park, located in the Village, one of the most sectarian enclaves anywere in the province. Walk down to the stadium and every gable wall is covered with some reference to some loyal UDA volunteer or cause. Not exactly welcoming to any Catholic bold enough to venture to a game. Plus its the home of Linfield; Belfast’s equivilent of Rangers, with some extra sectarianism blended in.
Then there is the flag; the crown subjugating the red hand – hardly endearing to those of a nationalist persuasion. Plus as if that wasn’t enough, the rest of the support bring along a collection of union jacks and UDA flags and banners to let everyone know who is welcome and who is not. An its not a minority, its the WHOLE stadium as evidenced by watching any game on TV.
Plus, it always seems to be this same minority popping up everywhere causing trouble, sometimes being in several places at the same time. For example, NI played at home on Ash Wednesday 4/5 years ago. Along the side of Queens Union, Catholic students queued for mass. All standing in polite reverence (after all they were off to mass). And then the stream on NI fans began walking past, chanting sectarian songs, shouting sectarian abuse yet they received no reaction at all. This was not a minority, this was the ordinary NI fan. And did any of the ORDINARY fans say NO, stop it. Of course not. Guilty by their association and compliance.
The National Athem. Thats a goodie. God save the queen… sorry no thanks. Is that for anyone but a unionist. The only experience of being in Windsor Park for me was at a schoolboys game, stadium almost empty. And when we didn’t stand for the anthem, we were jeered and subjected to abuse from other supporters (thats right, we were there to support NI because a friend was in the team). And we were all between 11 and 16. Young boys given abuse for not standing to the anthem, yet who were there to support the team.
So, don’t pretend for even a second that Northern Ireland is not exclusively a Unionist/Loyalist team. It is. Advertise the fact, get all the louts down to the game, wreck the place, do whatever you want. There is nothing at all wrong with that… apart from the IFA saying otherwise.
I’m not welcome, no nationalist is and I don’t want to be and never will take up the offer of supporting the team. Just as Celtic is a team exclusively for nationalists, so Northern ireland is exclusively for Uniionists. And there is nothing at all wrong with that. Enjoy it, support who you want and embrace your own background and culture.
So, in that respect take ownership and responsibilty for the actions of YOUR team, and YOUR fans. If they riot, that represents YOU. Don’t try and pass the buck on this one, and stop pretenting to welcome anything other than the current status quo.
TO QUINCEY:
The Northern Ireland team is a unionist team for the unionist people and what’s wrong with that?
To excuse the actions of the Northern Irish fans by reference to Celtic is ridiculous. Lets call a spade a spade. Celtic is the manifestation of nationalism and in Northern Ireland (at least) is exclusively for nationalists/republicans. So to, Rangers is exclusively unionist/loyalist. And again, what is wrong with that? If Celtic fans want to sing republican songs, wave tricolours and Rangers fans want to sing about the Queen and wave UDA/LVF banners then let them work away. That’s part of the point in supporting those teams, its why many support one English team and either of the Glasgow Old Firm duo as their second team. Its a cultural thing.
But as for Northern Ireland, to pretend that its an all inclusive, cross community lovey dovey huggable team of the people, is just absurd. And its NOT a minority of fans, its the majority who harbour either latent of overt sectarian beliefs.
For one, there is Windsor Park, located in the Village, one of the most sectarian enclaves anywhere in the province. Walk down to the stadium and every gable wall is covered with some reference to some loyal UDA volunteer or cause. Not exactly welcoming to any Catholic bold enough to venture to a game. Plus its the home of Linfield; Belfast’s equivalent of Rangers, with some extra sectarianism blended in.
Then there is the flag; the crown subjugating the red hand – hardly endearing to those of a nationalist persuasion. Plus as if that wasn’t enough, the rest of the support bring along a collection of union jacks and UDA flags and banners to let everyone know who is welcome and who is not. An its not a minority, its the WHOLE stadium as evidenced by watching any game on TV.
Plus, it always seems to be this same minority popping up everywhere causing trouble, sometimes being in several places at the same time. For example, NI played at home on Ash Wednesday 4/5 years ago. Along the side of Queens Union, Catholic students queued for mass. All standing in polite reverence (after all they were off to mass). And then the stream on NI fans began walking past, chanting sectarian songs, shouting sectarian abuse yet they received no reaction at all. This was not a minority, this was the ordinary NI fan. And did any of the ORDINARY fans say NO, stop it. Of course not. Guilty by their association and compliance.
The National Anthem. Thats a goodie. God save the queen… sorry no thanks. Is that for anyone but a unionist. The only experience of being in Windsor Park for me was at a schoolboys game, stadium almost empty. And when we didn’t stand for the anthem, we were jeered and subjected to abuse from other supporters (that’s right, we were there to support NI because a friend was in the team). And we were all between 11 and 16. Young boys given abuse for not standing to the anthem, yet who were there to support the team.
So, don’t pretend for even a second that Northern Ireland is not exclusively a Unionist/Loyalist team. It is. Advertise the fact, get all the louts down to the game, wreck the place, do whatever you want. There is nothing at all wrong with that… apart from the IFA saying otherwise.
I’m not welcome, no nationalist is and I don’t want to be and never will take up the offer of supporting the team. Just as Celtic is a team exclusively for nationalists, so Northern Ireland is exclusively for Unionists. And there is nothing at all wrong with that. Enjoy it, support who you want and embrace your own background and culture.
So, in that respect take ownership and responsibility for the actions of YOUR team, and YOUR fans. If they riot, that represents YOU. Don’t try and pass the buck on this one, and stop pretending to welcome anything other than the current status quo.
Also when some Nationalist kid decides to play for the South, try and frame that decision with this story, and accept that their motivation may have something to do with the inherent Loyalist nature of the NI team.
Would you play for a team with NI’s continuing poor record in being a team for all? Would you play if you thought there was a chance of a death threat? Would you play if the team played the Soldier’s Song, saluted the tri colour and regularly chanted Republican chants?
Would you fuck, yet that’s what Nationalist kids are expected to do, and if they don’t and follow their hearts expect them to be subject to a full character assasination and for them to be accused of betraying NI while they’re expected to betray their own background.
nail i see what your saying, you want the ifa to be more like the gaa and come out and actually say that they want no cross cultural support?
neil cant speak for all norn iron fans but i don’t get too excited when someone opts to play for mexico, (although one might question their true commitment to their newly adopted county when they have come through the ifa youth ranks, rather than spend time and money to travel and progress through the ranks off the fai which is the county they wish to play for) because for every darren gibson there’s a sammy clingan, etc
Neil,
We don’t agree on much [read anything] but I do agree with with your arguement here. It is unfair to criticise players [from NI] who want to play elsewhere and not for NI [for whatever their reason]. If someone wants to play for the Republic I respect them and their decision.
I don’t agree that there is an ‘inherent loyalist nature of the NI team’.
On a more general note this thread is bordering on the ridiculous – both sides could point to lots of international fans offending the others – it’s part of the charm of the Island – a phrase I don’t use much I can assure you.
The Northern Ireland football team is from Norn Iron [not brazil] we sing the National Anthem, hum the Dambusters and do the bouncy. If people don’t like it because any of that offends them they shouldn’t come to the games.
VH
Give them games and keep them ignorant?Ceasar?
‘although one might question their true commitment to their newly adopted county when they have come through the ifa youth ranks, rather than spend time and money to travel and progress through the ranks off the fai which is the county they wish to play for’
Given that they’re school-attending children when they are coming through the youth ranks and as such have no income of their own to spend on travel to from Dublin on school nights, they’re generally dependent on their parents for transport and funding to attend training sessions and matches. Given that the IFA is funded by taxpayers money there isn’t really an issue here, is there?
should ”taxpayers” also fund future players for Albania?
Between the bridges – NO! They should not, but they should fund OUR two teams, the Unionist Northern Ireland Team and Nationalist Republic of Ireland Team. One is for one half of the community and the other is for the other (plus a few others who live in the South and sho also contribute the bucks).
Thats a lot of use of the word other
You take the same risk with your money as any other country, hoping for a return. See James McCarthy considering leaving ROI to play for Scotland.
So in answer to your question, yes you should, if that Albanian is any good and has a Northern Irish parent, grandparent or lives in the jurisdiction etc etc. Just like everyone else. You pay your money, you takes your chances.
The real difficulty (for NI fans) is not accepting that someone born in any one of the 32 counties can declare themselves to be British, Irish or both. Kind of like other people not accepting that NI is a nation, you refuse to accept that which you don’t particularly like. So as far as your British mind is concerned anyone born in British NI is British whether they like it or not. The only problem with that is you’re wrong.
Maybe there isn’t an inherent loyalist nature in relation to the team … but their supporters are another matter .
And its well known . Why else would Polish fans bring Eirigi flags to Windsor Park ?
vanhelsing with his singing , humming and bouncing routine just confirms this .
neil and naill sounds like a double act! no harm lads but your both trying so hard to put labels on to ‘other’ people, you can’t see the wood for the trees, picture the scene five thousand bigoted northern ireland fans went to dublin, the drank and mixed with the locals and the scots, they watched a match and went home or stayed in dublin, not one arrest was made nor are any pending by the guards . now all we hear about is 20-30 drunk twats singing party tunes. tell me where is the real story?
mark sweeping generalizing that says more about your views than any facts to back them up? i mean anything better than “poles brought a flag so you must be all in the uvf?” lol!
Also, between the bridges – Yes, the IFA should say, we are Unionist and proud to be Unionist, Northern Ireland is a Unionist Team and Nationalists should go elsewhere to fulfil your national team supporting needs (i.e. Rep. of Ireland). Thats fair. Why do we need to get together for football anyway. E.g. Unionists play and watch Rugby, Nationalists play and watch GAA sports (and the 6 nations but thats only once a year so doesn’t really count).
You may have been making a gibe at the GAA as being intolerant. Thats innaccurate. I’ve been to many Ulster Finals, sat in mixed crowds were one side sits next to the other and there is never any trouble. E.g. at the 04 Ulster Final in Croke Park me and my brother (wearing Amragh tops) where flanked on either side by two ageing men in Tyrone tops, and we never had a bad word to say to one and other… possibly because one was my da and the other my uncle.
But that is the point, GAA is all inclusive, family orientated and because its always been the preseve of nationalists, political alegiance has never been an issue. GAA supporters don’t need to wave tricolours because their identity is not in question. Republican songs aren’t sung, there is no Unionists about to wind up.
Northern Irish Football is however, it feels, threatened and supporters feel the need to acert their Unionist credentials. What I am saying is that is OK, calm the heads, we aren’t interested. NI is YOUR team, enjoy it, its successes and whatever else. You don’t even need to bother with the Union Jacks anymore.
In that sense, because the GAA has so long been a Nationalist only organisation with NO political standing it family orientated atmosphere could easily welcome Unionist participation.
Ok maybe not in a South Armagh club house, but at any big game, nothing would be said if someone stood up an professed that they were a Protestant. Nothing could happen becuase anyone who would feel the urge to say anything would have to do so in front of their da, their kids and god forbid, a priest and/or nun – you just couldn’t do it.
Could that be said (in reverse) of an Ulster Rugby game? I don’t know, I’ve never been, maybe it could, but football is different, both club and national level, so in that respect lets agree to be different.
picture the scene five thousand bigoted northern ireland fans went to dublin, the drank and mixed with the locals and the scots, they watched a match and went home or stayed in dublin, not one arrest was made nor are any pending by the guards
Ergo Unionist NI fans can chant as much sectarian bullshit as they like, and as long as the guards/cops say ‘fuck ’em, let ’em chant they’ll be on the train out of town in no time’ then it’s of no interest.
So basically what you’re saying as much sectarianism as the NI fans can get out there is perfectly ok, as long as no one gets lifted (which likely no one would as singing party tunes is still legal).
Well done btb, 1980 here we come. Chant what you like, sing what you like, as long as no one’s arrested it’s just them filthy fenians stirring up shit. Fair enough.
Good to see you come clean and admit that you’re just excusing whatever happens (as long as no one gets lifted). Team for all? Bollocks. Team for Loyalists only (and no one’s allowed to say a word unless there are arrests).
naill, er what is your point? you state that the ‘nationalist gaa’ is not politcial? that unionist’s would be welcome but not in some places?
between the bridges ,
Are you telling me there is no difference between fans that come down to watch the rugby each year and the fans from last week …
As you said yourself , you kicked in a few windows and pissed on the streets to welcome Dublin .
neil good to see your such an open minded and fair person, your post bears no rational relationship to what i posted, imho perhaps the worse kind of bigot is the one that doesn’t know that he is one?
Point is you had a gibe – I replied disagreeing with your inferences made on GAA overt sectarianism – my point, that that is not the case.
My original point being, NI is a Unionist team – as I’ve said before, enjoy it. If it wins, happy days, have a Harp, go to the NI supporters club and sing your heart out.
You OWN the win, its YOURS as a fan. So embrace it,. take exclusive ownership of the team, BUT also take exclusive responsibility for its loses, its actions and that of its fans. Likewise their indiscretions reflect on you. Your compliance, indifference or through apologising for their actions make you equally responsible.
mark i belive i was asking you for some proof of all norn iron fans are loyalist bigots (apart from the poles bringing a flag) if we are going to ask questions of one another would it be ok to get an answer before moving on?
btb, try again. Your implication is that as no one was arrested, it’s a non story. Ergo sectarian chanting is a-ok, as no one is ever likely to be arrested for that.
So for the fenians, suck it up. Sectarian chanting is as far as your concerned a non story. (incidentally there’s an interesting article on herald.ie which has hundreds of pissed up sectarian fans having a knees up in Dublin, to compliment the 20 arseholes you decided to post their fun and games on u-tube).
But hey, as they were only being verbal they would never have been lifted, a so as far as your concerned there is no story.
Love to see your explanation as to how that’s not directly relevant to your post excusing any sectarian chanting by the NI fans – as long as no-one’s lifted – as per your post.
naill so its all my fault? glad we had this intelligent debate to come to that conclusion
neil see post for naill
between the bridges – also, I joked that South Armagh may not welcome an NI fan. Probably true, but I certainly know that middle class Nationalist South Down would.
Same applies in reverse – gaa fan welcome in the Village, no chance. Welcome in leafy middle class Unionist BT9, absolutelty.
Its all a bit of banter, a bit of a laugh – unionists and nationalists more similar to each other than to anyone in the south or great britain. You, Bridges have however taken particular offence at both myself and others comments on this issue, showing the true bigot to be yourself.
neil so now the ‘herald’ has it at hundreds? must be true! i take it all back shocking what them nasty prods will do and so what if thousands went and din’t cause any trouble, sure there all the same!! ps any reply on that garda reply? you want me to provide a link that shows a garda spokesman disagreeing with the herald report? or would that be too much like having to face reality?
between the bridges ,
What is it with you and flags ( and poles ) ?
You’re making excuses Bridges, you’re trying to excuse the undefensable, so yes, in that respect it is all your fault and that of other like minded people who decided to make a show of themselves in Dublin.
naill and i quote ‘ i see said the blind man, but he could not see atall atall’
er mark what is it with you and avoiding the subject you raised?
BTB: not one arrest was made nor are any pending by the guards . now all we hear about is 20-30 drunk twats singing party tunes. tell me where is the real story?
Me: So basically what you’re saying as much sectarianism as the NI fans can get out there is perfectly ok, as long as no one gets lifted
BTB: neil good to see your such an open minded and fair person, your post bears no rational relationship to what i posted,
Me: Your implication is that as no one was arrested, it’s a non story. Ergo sectarian chanting is a-ok, as no one is ever likely to be arrested for that.
BTB: so its all my fault? glad we had this intelligent debate to come to that conclusion
Well done BTB, that’s a well made argument there. You’ve got me. Incidentally I agree with this: the worse kind of bigot is the one that doesn’t know that he is one?
Your no bigot yet you can excuse any sectarian action as long as no one gets their collar felt?
neil so now the ‘herald’ has it at hundreds? must be true!
I know you’re right again, I should take the unsubstantiated word of an anonymous internet apologist over that of a national newspaper.
you want me to provide a link that shows a garda spokesman disagreeing with the herald report?
Yes please, link.
or would that be too much like having to face reality?
No problem here bud think you’re projecting, the only reality people seem to have trouble facing is that it matters when your lot are caught out, yet again, displaying their popular sectarian face, and some people refuse to admit there’s a problem as ‘no one was arrested’.
There are none so blind etc. you’re quite right.
Neil, I disagre. BTB is a bigot. And the majority of NI fans hold similary bigotted views. Not bigotted to the extend of say being a member of a fascist organisation such as the BNP or Orange Order, but still, there is something there – a sense of superiority and derisory attitude towards others from different backgrounds. This can be as latent and repressed as possible, its still there. BTB, you are a bigot as are many of your fellow NI supporters
Mark,
“And its well known . Why else would Polish fans bring Eirigi flags to Windsor Park ?
vanhelsing with his singing , humming and bouncing routine just confirms this”
Seriously are your statements meant to be an argument or a comedy routine?
‘Maybe there isn’t an inherent loyalist nature in relation to the team … but their supporters are another matter’
Loved this one to, so because I sing our National Anthem, hum the dambusters and do the bouncy I am, by your definition a Loyalist [and all the negative aspects you were inferring in your statements].
Must be a joke then…
between the bridges ,
I’ve already posted last week how I saw and heard grown men in their 40’s and 50’s screaming and shouting at the eldery on Bath Ave , urinate in gardens on Serpentine Ave in front of families . Grown men trying to scare and intimidate the locals , you were there . You know what I’m talking about
You yourself have boasted here about smashing windows .
I never meant all fans btb , maybe 20% hardcore and with the dutch courage another 15/20 % .
So I suppose about half the fans I saw last week were little sectarian pussys , the other half were grand .
Which half were you in btb ?
naill really are you reading what your posting? time and time agian the majority of posters on this topic miss the reality, thousand went there was no trouble apart from locals breaking windows of fans buses, some drunks sung songs that are not welcomed by the majority of norn iron fans, a yet not one of you’s can see now much of an non event this is, laughable folks laughable. tell me why in this day and age went everyone has a camera in there phone is there not more coverage of these rampaging thugs? could it be that very little happened? but that would not fit with the preconception that as mark and various have said sure we are all the same WNBWNI.
mark please do tell me where i boasted about smashing windows? that is a complete lie i would like you to read back and then apologise.
BTW – fans of Texas Cowboys at game away to Chicago Bears. Fans chant KKK era songs, shout racial abuse at locals, the majority of whom are black. Criminal damage is done. WOULD THAT BE A STORY? Damn right it would, it would be on the front page of every paper in the US, it would make International news.
So, NI fans go to Dublin, criminal damage, sectarian abuse and thats not newsworthy. What if Rep. of Ireland fans were to do it in Belfast? That newsworthy. One rule for some, another for the Blessed, God Fearing, Loyal Northern Ireland Supporter
btb ,
I thought you were boasting about smashing bus windows but in fact you were saying that it was the locals who were doing the smashing , not you guys.
So it was pub windows , toilet windows and glasses that you lads were responsible for …… sorry about the mix up.
btb ,
I have shared many a hip flask with Northern sports fans ( gaa , boxing fights , at the dog and racing track , rugby matches etc ) for 25 years . Never ever any trouble .
The match last week was different . There is a different attitude with the fans and the atmosphere was not sporting in any way .
That’s my experience .
mark whenever you get around to that apology, maybe then to can explain ‘what you saw with you own eyes’ to me again, are these the same eyes that saw me boasting about smashing windows? was your camera in your phone not working? is that why you had to wait days until something came up on you tube? could you not have exposed thses brutes before now as you where a n eye witness?
nb for all who wish to check back at no time did i have or will i be boasting a about smashing windows, as naill and others have pointed out i am obuvously a bigot and i would certainly take part in such jolly fun only i bring the wife and kids to the games and she just wouldn’t be impressed!
for all other budding bigots out there see ifa ‘football for all’ and nisc ‘sea of green’. WNBWNI
anyway time to go and do something more interesting, as for a load of bigots singing songs about killing people of a different cultural background is there any you tube clips of this little ditty?
We’ll sing a song, a soldier’s song,
With cheering rousing chorus,
As round our blazing fires we throng,
The starry heavens o’er us;
Impatient for the coming fight,
And as we wait the morning’s light,
Here in the silence of the night,
We’ll chant a soldier’s song.
Chorus:
Soldiers are we , whose lives are pledged to Ireland;
Some have come from a land beyond the wave.
Sworn to be free, No more our ancient sire land
Shall shelter the despot or the slave.
Tonight we man the gap of danger
In Erin’s cause, come woe or weal
‘Mid cannons’ roar and rifles peal,
In valley green, on towering crag,
Our fathers fought before us,
And conquered ‘neath the same old flag
That’s proudly floating o’er us.
We’re children of a fighting race,
That never yet has known disgrace,
And as we march, the foe to face,
Chorus
Sons of the Gael! Men of the Pale!
The long watched day is breaking;
The serried ranks of Inisfail
Shall set the Tyrant quaking.
Our camp fires now are burning low;
See in the east a silv’ry glow,
Out yonder waits the Saxon foe,
So chant a soldier’s song.
Don’t forget your mask .
Always amusing to see the GAA brought up in discussions on football, kind of like Rugby, fairly well behaved, just shows the commenter up. I’d like to see some honesty like, ‘I’ve never been to a GAA match\ Winsor Park, but….’. It will be fairly difficult to get away from one-sided football when we don’t have a consensus on an identity, need a flag and an anthem and a move from Windsor park. I’d go for the trad Ulster flag (with yellow), Will ye go lassie go, and a shiny stadium at the maze.
Niall
“And its NOT a minority of fans, its the majority who harbour either latent of overt sectarian beliefs.”
Lies and idiocy. Says more about you and your prejudices than anyone else.
Owen/ Chekov
Hypocrisy knows no ends does it? Your own site provides ample evidence of ‘sectariana’ as you call it.
It’s clear from your comments here that your objection is to the actual issue being flagged up- a depressingly typical response of some. Classic messenger shooting….
Like Chekov I was depressed and pissed off that the actions of the small minority of bigoted scumbags who clearly decided to come down to attempt some sort of Prodfest. Says as lot that the snivelling little turds had to gather under the stand at half time to get their sing-song in.
NI fans should not lower themselves to the level of the racist anti- El Hadji Djouf fans of Celtic and Mexico who seem to think a black player in the SPL is vermin. Celtic /RoI fans have a long history of racism going back to Mark Walters getting bananas thrown at him by the West Belfast pseudo illiterati. William Joyce would have been proud of where he came from.
Driftwood
Quite right. NI “fans” shouldn’t lower themselves. Heavens – people might think that for decades the majority of their support had a history of booing Catholic players (in their own team!), sectarian (pro UVF/UDA) chanting, Rangers and Linfield scarves being prevalent when both of those clubs had blatent non-Catholic signing policies and their Catholic Celtic player captain having to step down and retire from international football because he received death threats (and still is).
You should stick with your Linfield/Rangers/NI supporting mates because they’re the salt of the earth – no racism (see Terry Phelan for details) or sectarianism (See Anton Rogan/Neil Lennon for details) at all.
If only we could get rid of those damn Celtic/RoI supporting taigs and only have top class Linfield/Rangers/NI Supporting fans – the world would be a much better place.
We could all take our kids to matches secure in the knowledge that we won;’t encounter any bigotry, sectarianism or racism at all eh?
Mark twenty drunks is just that twenty drunks…. nothing more that twenty drunk celtic supporters would sing in reverse
Poor post in my view no other information with it
They should have a few practice sessions before their next mission impossible . A few of the boys didn’t know the words . Half of them seemed to be filming the other half …. probably for their probation officers.
Oracle,
It was enough to make the UTV news but I’ve left it hanging for ‘International Award Winning’ supporters to criticise.
Surely the least sectarian fans in the world are going to criticise this as much as they flagged their award for not being at all sectarian?
So Oracle – are you saying Norn Iron are the direct opposite of Celtic? I thought that was Rangers ….. ah I see, you are saying Norn Iron are the same as Rangers!
Agreed!
Charming. Absolutely fucking charming.
And the gaa don’t glorify IRA or the INLA????? As they seltic say let the people sing!!!!!
Mark McG
Okay Mark that’s valid
” This video is no longer available because the uploader has closed their U Tube account. ”
Is what the link is showing. Interesting.
I think these guys should be Irelands eurovision entry even as a nationalist I find it less offensive than Jedward!
John,
Brilliant!!!!
Theres actually two ways to look at this story.
The IFA/Our Wee Country/”unionist” view is that this was a minority of supporters and they are making great strides to end sectarianism……and FIFA is unreasonable about Darron Gibson…..cos Norn Iron is brill so it is.
Which is odd because the SDLP official website put out an official release last week congratulating Darron Gibson on his first international goal. And Id just like to add my own congrats.
The position of nationalists is that this is not isolated and the default position of Norn Irons supporters.
And clearly its not in the interests of nationalists or supporters of the (Republic) Ireland football team to see Norn Iron become homogenous.
Vive la difference….so to speak.
Once you understand that the IFA’s anti-sectarianism drive is aimed at making players from a nationalist background semi-comfortable (if they can get past the flag/anthem/ symbolry) at Windsor Park as opposed to supporters from same background, then incidents like this shouldn’t be raising any eyebrows. Same as it ever was.
Poor show Mark. You must be reading A Tangled Web too much with this sort of hyperbole.
SInce when does a youttube video suddenly label 10’s of thousands of fans?
Will mark and co use the same broad stereotyping against Celtic (that great anti-sectarian football club) if i or anyone else posted any one of the hundreds of available links on youtube or elsewhere of singing ‘offensive songs’?? Will a single clip of Gaelic fans uttering sectarian comments or singing about me and my community (huns, black bastards,etc) be looked upon the same way, and suddenly call into question all the GAA’s efforts of outreach and brand them insincere and unrepresentive?
Im suprised at this post on slugger. Is any youtube video now enough to label entire groups?
Will a video of a republican espousing racist views make all republicans racist?
If i video the next bus load of Gaelic fans i see on the way to a match pissing on the side of the road does that mean every fan does??
This topic is beyond incredibly partial exaggeration and propaganda. Slugger covers a wide remit of issues and subjects, but the totally non-subjective nature of this post (its beyond even an ‘opinion’) is a first on slugger.
There are some determined to whip up some sort of trouble at the Norn Irn Republic match. Major determined. Why? Im not sure, but they are heading towards their wish. We are already anticipating Guards ready with the shields for any minor undisgression.
Add to all that another point- have any of you actually been to a football (soccer for the sematic 6 county people) gaelic or other sporting occasion???? Have any of you any concept of how fans act and bond before aduring and after team sports? It doesnt seem like it.
“Will a single clip of Gaelic fans uttering sectarian comments or singing about me and my community (huns, black bastards,etc) be looked upon the same way, and suddenly call into question all the GAA’s efforts of outreach and brand them insincere and unrepresentive?”
link please?
And you know what, whats wrong with the words of the song anyway if we analyse it??? Is it just the fact that an expletive is used??
To use the terminology and continual arguments of Celtic FC, there arent actually any sectarian references or words used. Its all political and historical referencing.
A lot of people dont share the beatitude of Bobby Sands and consider him the criminal the ‘evil’ British Justice system labeled him.
Many times ive heard the justification of the ‘non-sectarianism’ and ‘non-offensive’ nature of the Broad Black Brimmer, Come out you Black and Tans and even the more modern Rifles of the IRA (totally acceptable for example for this song about the IRA in South Armagh within the current/last conflict to be stocked in HMV)!!! Well this is no different. Its a modern folk song.
Get over it.
Define the sectarianism Mark.
Seems UTV are only playing catch-up on this.
The following is from the Herald newspaper in Dublin last week. And clearly involved more than “twenty drunks”!!
By Melanie Finn
Thursday February 10 2011
GARDAI in full riot gear descended on Dublin 4 last night as Union Jack clad loyalists caused mayhem on the streets.
The shocking scenes have sparked increased security for Ireland’s clash with Northern Ireland on May 23.
Thousands of hardline Unionists forced pubs and businesses to close early and had residents running for their homes as they stirred up a tense atmosphere in D4.
Some fans were involved in a stand-off with riot gardai, who managed to contain the group, as they spat anti-Irish chants and yelled obscenities at passers-by.
The scenes, reminiscent of the 1995 mayhem when English fans forced the abandonment of an Ireland-England match, took place before last night’s Carling Home Nations Cup match between Northern Ireland and Scotland.
From early, boozed-up soccer fans caused mayhem in the heart of the leafy suburb as they took to the streets for a lengthy, out-of-control drinking session.
Hours before the game, thousands of fans began streaming into Dublin from the North, by car, train and bus.
Labour councillor Kevin Humphreys told the Herald residents he spoke to afterwards were “very upset and distressed” by the experience.
Aggression
“There was a proportion of the fans who really had an excess of alcohol,” said Cllr Humphreys. “It made it very uncomfortable for local residents. There was an air of aggression in some places.
Wrapped in Union Jack and Red Hand of Ulster flags, the supporters spent more than four hours downing alcohol on the streets singing the provocative ‘Sash’ and ‘God Save The Queen’, ahead of the game against Scotland.
Locals trying to make their way home from work watched in horror as rowdy louts spiralled out of control, almost sparking full scale riots.
At one point, they were heard chanting: “Stick your f**king tricolour up your h*le,” as well as ‘God Saves the Queen’ and the Dambusters March.
Vanloads of gardai wearing riot gear were called to Bath Avenue after dozens of complaints from concerned residents trapped in their homes.
Pubs along the leafy road were forced to close up early as dozens of gardai patrolled the area in a bid to keep the supporters in check.
Hundreds converged outside Murray’s pub, beating Lambeg drums and ripping down election posters. A garda member at the scene told the Herald how they were “monitoring the situation.” A spokesman for the Garda said today no arrests were made but the “whole idea is to have a presence there with a view to curtailing (public order) activity”.
Mr Humphreys questioned whether another game involving Northern Ireland should be staged at the Aviva until there is an assessment of the security situation.
Terrified mums pushing prams and elderly residents trying to get into their houses were forced to make their way through the melee.
They were seen openly urinating in the gardens of people’s homes and downing cans ofbeer and bottles of Buckfast.
Bath Avenue resident Eamon Russell slammed their behaviour as a disgrace and said they had been gathered outside the pub since 4pm.
“This is getting totally out of hand, the gardai are here but they’re not arresting anyone.
“This is just the scum of Northern Ireland, it’s not the decent supporters. I’ve been living here 14 years and I’ve never seen anything like this. It’s awful for local residents, trying to walk through gangs of lads hanging around with glass bottles in their hands..”
Earlier in the day, gardai had to be called to another disturbance after fans started heckling passerbys and motorists at approximately 4pm.
“At one point a motorist beeped at them to get out of her way and they started jeering her and surrounded her car,” said an onlooker. “It was very intimidating and hard to believe it was happening in broad daylight as people were making their way home from work.
hnews @herald.ie
I was at the Night in November match – and looking back, it was a small, but vocal section of the crowd who disgraced themselves.
I’ve been at Windsor recently and the NI supporters are a credit to this country.
Give them a break, I’m sure you’d get the Celtic mental illness if you went in deep on ROI supporters.
I’m a nationalist, but I support NI – they were Ireland before the partitionists broke away to make their own – neither Nationalist, Unionist or Dissenter.
Not Brazil, not bigoted, not fashionable – we’re Norn Iron. I love it.
Only bigots, nationalistic facists, people who can’t just let go of the past are going to get sick over it – but I’m Norn Iron through and through. And I’m an Irish nationalist, so go figure.
west sider,
I did go figure…. I figure you have an identity crisis, you can’t be an Irish Nationalist and love Norn-Iron they are opposite aspirations.
what you mean is you’re an Irish catholic that loves Norn-iron which makes more sense but does not therefore make you unique
As the great Jock Stein said if there were wo players of equal merit and one was Catholic and one was Protestant….he would sign the Protestant for Rangers would not sign the Catholic anyway.
The Celtic Rangers thing being two sides f the one coin might suit those who believe that splitting the difference is real compromise but the fact remains that Celtics employment policy was somewhat different to the other half of the Old Firm.
As a matter of record, I think all fans of all codes travelling by coach to football, GAA or rugby matches make occasional pit stops en route to the stadium. There are some delightful spots between Holyhead and Manchester.
But I think those seeking to say that all fans (eg Celtic FC) are the same or as bad are missing the point……..the IFA are the people trying to present this rosey image of our (non existent) wee country. Another nail in the coffin.
Why cant you be an Irish Nationalist and love Northern Ireland?? Does that mean you cant support Ireland Rugby team if your a Unionist????
This is why we are in the mess we are- people always trying to define the identitys of others. Well you cant. West Sider can be whatever the hell he wants to be and how he defines it is up to him.
Im Irish. Ive no problem with saying that. But its in the conbtext of also being British. And you and any Irish Nationalist or Irish Republican can tell me why im wrong, give every argument they can think of and any demonstration they want. It doesnt matter. I am what i think i am. Full stop.
“the IFA are the people trying to present this rosey image of our (non existent) wee country. Another nail in the coffin.”
First off- always the petty wee retarded digs. You may well think this Country doesnt exist but the whole rest of the world acknowledges it does, so stop being so bloody childish. People need to grow up.
The IFA does nothing of the sort. It has tried and is trying to make changes. It has succeeded in making changes and is trying to make more.
To quote more Republican diatribe ‘this is a problem 800 years old’. You want it fixed over night?!!!
The IFA or no NI supporter has ever claimed to be perfect. No football club internation or otherwise can do that.
People badly need to mature in these debates.
incidently, Jock may well have said that. There are also allegations of several things he didnt say that are of at least as equal importance to the allegations against Rangers.
An no, Celtic too do claim everything to be rosey as you colourfully put it.
I’ve been going to N Ireland home games for the past 8 years and other than the odd confused soul in a Rangers top or the idiotic shouting of No Surrender over a frankly horrible anthem I have heard no sectarian songs sung.
I was in Dublin last week and was surprised this was not picked up on earlier. Everyone was pissed from about 3pm after getting dumped off their coaches in Dublin. I must say the craic in the bars before the game was great. Locals, N Irish and Kilts all mixing. The most offensive song I heard was about Trapatonni being a peadophile which at the time got a laugh by everyone there. It was typical football banter.
I went round towards the stadium at about 6pm by which time the street behind the stadium was filled with N Ireland fans drinking and singing and good natured banter with the Garda. However outside one of the pubs there was a crowd of about 200 drunks singing Billy Boys and the likes of that. I was told the bar had drink stolen and had to close down. Shops that were selling alcohol stopped serving but I walked 10mins from the ground and found a group of 50 N Irish outside an off license with very little booze left.
There was no doubt a group of undesirable characters on the night who would not normally be at an NI game. They were clearly there for a mini-twelfth. However I wouldn’t just blame these people. To be honest I beleive there were people there who drank too much and got caught up in it. This group of people I would say were true N Ireland fans who would never normally behave like that at N Ireland matches but decided to take part in these chants for whatever reason most likely because they had drank too much and the idea of swinging of palm trees and singing ‘party songs’ in Dublin was too much to resist.
The majority of supporters of N Ireland as we know are Protestant/Unionist/Loyalist and behave when they go to support their team but the true colours of some came out last week which was for me more disappointing than the result.
Westsider,
I too was at the infamous “night in November”. My recollection of the disgraceful scenes is very far away from yours. It was not a vocal minority that night at Windsor but in actual fact the vast majority who were hurling venemous abuse of the “trick or treat” variety and creating an unmistakeable rendition of “dirty Fenian bastards” which, I am led to believe, was very audible to the television viewer too. I heard it with my own ears and I saw Billy Bingham conducting the same choir who were singing about being “up to their necks in Fenian blood”.
Jack Charlton wasn’t too chuffed with Mr Bingham either, as I recall.
Quincey,
You may think that Im the one who needs to mature but I am not signing sectarian songs or supporting, apologising for or trying to distance themselves from folks who do.
It doesnt actually matter what the IFA do or try to do. It will never be enough for us. So the Norn Iron fans reverting to type causes me no stress. In fact I welcome it.
Whether the rest of the world (I cant imagine they care……certainly FIFA didnt care) thinks Norn Iron exists is fairly academic when a considerable percentage of its own potential fan base is cheering for the other side…..is there a worse sensation that Jackie Fullerton screaming “Goaaaaaaaaaaaaaal”?
As “Al” notes above many Norn Iron fans who behaved this way in Dublin would not do so in normal circumstances. Being in the Republic was too much for them. It brought out the worst in them.
Alas many people in Norn Iron are Irish citizens eshrined in law…..and clearly the behaviour of the fans/”not real fans” is an indication of the contempt they have for citizens of Ireland and the institutions of Ireland.
The attempt by IFA to create a homogenous football team are therefore doomed. Nationalists welcome this.
Wabbits
After what I witnessed at NI matches in Windsor during the 70’s and 80s, I vowed never to return so I wasn’t there on that night in November.
However, I know 2 English colleagues who were working in the North and went to the match. They were totally shocked by the racist chanting (particularly at Terry Phelan) and disgusting widespread anti-Catholic sectarian chanting.
As you say, it was very far from a “minority” and it was clearly audible on the TV. It’s really sad that Jackie Fullerton has such a hearing problem – all these years and he never seems to have heard any sectarian chanting or booing of Catholic players at Windsor. The same with Kate Hoey – she’s always going on about the great atmosphere and no sectarian stuff – yeah right!
I do appreciate that some NI fans have made and are making a big effort to improve things. Good luck to them but they have a lot of history to overcome.
At least, if you read a lot of comments on OWC – they admit (and laudably are disgusted) that there are still a reasonable number of “fans” who love to sing “If you cannae do the bouncy, you’re a taig” and of course – respectfully chanting “No Surrender” in the middle of GSTQ.
On this site, however, you tend to get the apologists for this behaviour and, much more commonly, the deniers.
The truth is that the majority of Catholics/Nationalists will never support NI – and NI support allied with the IFA behaviour for 30 odd years is totally to blame for that.
However, at least the OWC people are trying to lose that image and persuade any decent Catholic player from opting for the RoI (although 90% of them will undoubtedly do so).
However, I do empathise with the OWC guys because the so called NI “fans” who deny that there is still a sectarian element to NI support and try to excuse the behaviour that happened in Dublin are simply making a difficult task 10 times harder.
This a nonsense tounament that few are interested in and is a recipe for serious disorder.
Sooner or later Wales and Scotland will throw their lot in with England and Norn Iron players could then choose between England(Britian) and Ireland.
If this does not happen, certainly Norn Iron and probably Wales will decend to the San Marino level – if they are not already there.
As originally mentioned in thread 20 bad eggs does not bake a cake. These idiots are not representative of any NI game I’ve been to and clearly we could stick up videos of lots of Celtic fans doing the same..
It must have been a slow news day for UTV
This just in……
the world is continuing on its axis.
My name is Zachariah and I am a unionist! I appeal to Irish Republicans to help me and my community heal our sectarian soul. You are always on the side of the angels, we languish in the pit.
Now some may talk about the GAA with its clubs and tournaments named after IRA murderers, or the many unkind, but so deserved, names used by Nationalists about my kith and kin; huns, planters, jaffas etc. But I realise that thinking this way is simply another manifestation of my own sectarian heart.
Even discussion of the IRA as sectarian murderers is of course so wrong. It was only the Army, RUC/PSNI, UDR et al who were driven, to a man and woman, by Protestant bigotry, the default setting for my donomination. Now that the forces of law and order (oops, sorry) imprisoned many more Protestants during the, rightfully called, War on foot of effective cooperation with the unionist community is nothing more than MI5 (upper class English Protestant bigots everyone) smoke and mirrors.
I can see also now that I do not live in Northern Ireland, rather I am allowed, despite my tribe’s many many failings, to live in The North. I know some will say what about my passport, the currency, the Westminster MPs, the culture, even the roadsigns for God’s sake? But what are they other than the detritus of the wrongs done in the past by unionists to Holy Ireland?
No longer talk to me about the growth in numbers of the Catholic community in The North and the corresponding decline in Protestants in cleansed Ireland. The disappeared where all Orange stormtroopers: a no nonsense now about the RIC being overwhelmingly Catholic!
No I see now that we Protestant unionists are truly lost. If only we had the Catholics’ generousity of soul. And don’t think you can reflect on my uncle living in Rasharkin County Antrim who is regularly abused as an “Orange b****”. No matter that he has never darkened the door of an Orange Hall in all of his eighty-two years. He carries the Mark of Calvin.
So to my fellow unionists I say join me in my online group; Unionists Anonymous. To Irish Republicans; wash the Orange mote from my eye, even if you have to drive me into the sea to do it. You know I deserve it.
So Zachariah after reading your version of War and Peace I take it you condem the actions of these fans.
Absolutely disgusted by the actions of a minority of hangers on. I was bitterly disappointed in the first instance at The IFA’s decision to participate in this tournament, which was wrong on several levels.
On a side note – Mark – I thought you didn’t do sectariana? Isn’t this more Donnelly’s level?
Chekov,
“which was wrong on several levels. ”
Anything other than the 2 below.
One of those was presumably that the supporters (although a small minority) would make a holy show of themselves – that was obvious as hell.
And In football terms – it is a nonsense competition.
(Ireland certainly ahould have declined the offer -which could be argued was generous enough.)
Zachariah Tiffins Foot,
FYI
This straw man or straw ironic man arguement/tactic has oft been employed on Slugger – not very sucessfully either now or then, as a form of deflection.
Good on ya lads, a bit of whataboutery should distract from the issue. Obviously all fenians support Celtic so there’s equivalence there. Obviously a National team is a little bit different from a league side, not all Scottish people would be expected to support Celtic for example, but would most likely be expected to support Scotland.
In fact some cynics might suggest that Celtic and Rangers wallow in their sectarianism as it brings in the fans and the money. Should we equate Northern Ireland with Celtic for that reason? Both quite happy to tolerate sectarianism, for their own reason?
Northern Ireland fans make this an issue by trying to divert attention from the actual topic, and for rambling on about how they’re totally non sectarian ever since the Lennon death threats (part one). Alf approaches the thing in a more reasonable light, which is to say it happens, it shouldn’t happen and the NI fans in the large try to prevent it happening.
But for the hard of learning, one more time. You insist this is a national side for the people who live here, but when your fans chant in a way to intimidate nationalists then it’s a loyalist side for loyalist folks, so ask yourself this: do ‘national’ sides have an obligation, unlike Celtic or Rangers, to appeal to all the citizens of that given ‘nation’? Or do Loyalists own the NI team in the same way they do Rangers and ‘Catholics’ do Celtic?
Try not to divert off into a totally unrelated topic if you can manage it, not discussing the GAA, the IRA, the troubles or anything else. I’m talking specifically about the widespread sectarian behaviour reported on UTV and in the Herald by our wee country’s ‘most improved’ supporters in the world.
Obviously this isn’t the smoking gun the agenda ridden where looking for the otherweek – i.e. widespread violence. A few windows put in on both sides failed to capture the media’s imagination for some reason. Perhaps saving their powder for the Republic game when a high dose of retards are present from both sets of support?
But from an NI-supporting perspective I’m glad it made the headline on a slow news day. It took that for the IFA to do anything about it, while the best fans in UEFA were warning them for months beforehand, and indeed after previous matches, what tramps were causing issues at games.
The IFA are culpable for agreeing to such a ‘tournament’ in the first place and then failing to carry out the necessary security precautions.
anybody out there got the actual figures of arrests for these thug’s that went on the rampage and nearly destroyed the fair city…? here’s a clue it is the number before one.
Good on btb, that means it didn’t happen right? Quick question, how many ‘thug’s’ (sic) were arrested within 24 hours of the trouble in Rathcoole? None? Good job, that means we can comprehensively ignore it then eh?
Or maybe that little piece of info actually means fuck all. Keep excusing the behaviour, that’s the best way for sure.
Believe me Northern Ireland supporters are self-flagellating about this elsewhere. There’s an enormous amount of disappointment, calls for bans and a sense of being let down.
Obviously, as the story gets dragged unto more and more fora, and attracts comments from more and more people, some of whom have more than a mote in their own eye, it’ll be accompanied by a degree of defensiveness.
Sectariana inevitably descends into whataboutery because its purpose is to point the finger at themmums. But no-one can seriously say that the issue isn’t being taken on board by the majority of Ireland supporters or by the IFA.
They’ve fully engaged in a struggle against this, this is a huge set-back, which wasn’t entirely unforeseen, and hopefully it will explode any complacency and add urgency to the IFA and the fans’ efforts.
Could someone explain how thousands of ni fans doing the Rangers bouncey, rule Britannia, dambusters, build my gallows etc…fits in with any meaningful campaign related to ‘football for all’ ?
Monk De Wonk etc makes the excellent point that the behaviour of these fans/not fans at all makes the job of the IFA “10 times harder”.
Although the IFA are themselves somewhat confused.
Clearly this sort of sectarianism/xenophobia goes beyond normal “club” football hooliga rituals.
I have myself witnessed Liverpool and Leeds fans sing a less than delightful song with the words “who’s that lying on the runway?” to Manchester United fans.
Ive also heard Manchester United fans refer to the “Chelsea rent boys”, “the bitter blues Manchest City” and a rather unpleasant song that “in their Liverpool slums…..they look in a dustbin for something to eat”.
But clearly Norn Irons fans paranoia about (Republic) Ireland and the Irish citizens north and south cannot ever be effectively dealt with by IFA.
Well intentioned initiatives such as Norn Iron training away from Windsor Park etc and going into territory where “Republic shirts” are much more common is clearly a laudable gesture to those who are Irish citizens. “Fair play” as Sepp Blatter might say.
And they (and their moderate well intentioned fans) see no contradiction in taking legal action against those same Irish citizens who want to fully express their sense of Irishness by playing for the nation of which they are citizens.
The moderate, well intentioned fans see absolutely no contadiction and will still claim FIFA got it wrong, thus allying themselves with the basest element of anti-Irish behaviour seen last week in Dublin.
‘A few windows put in on both sides failed to capture the media’s imagination for some reason.’
Given that NI were playing Scotland, or you accusing Scottish fans of involvement in the trouble? Or, as I suspect, making an ignorant and clumsy attempt to smear ‘themmuns’.
Chekov,
“Sectariana inevitably descends into whataboutery because its purpose is to point the finger at themmums”
Surely each sectarian action should be discussed and condemned separately?
‘Could someone explain how thousands of ni fans doing the Rangers bouncey, rule Britannia, dambusters, build my gallows etc…fits in with any meaningful campaign related to ‘football for all’ ?’
Stewart
See my 1st post above – it has nothing to do with creating a neutral environment on match nights but rather avoiding the situation whereby a home player is subjected to so much sectarian abuse he refuses to play on at halftime and subsequently retires. That’s why ‘Football for All’ was launched after the sectarian baiting of Neil Lennon and not Anton Rogan. Nationalists aren’t wanted at Windsor Park and if they must attend, they should do so with their head safely down and be enternally grateful that the vast majority in attendance no longer participate in monotonous chants about ‘fenian bastards’.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RfzJ8tPZizg
Ten German bombers near Landsdowne. I don’t know why the locals have to put up with this. The FAI might need money but they have no local, indigenous support worth speaking of.
If given a choice between NI v Scotland or Man Utd v Shamrock Rovers or Pats in a friendly, most neutrals would choose the latter.
We are not Brazil, we are NI. Indeed. That is the problem.
I’m saying that’s usually the purpose on Slugger. The same people post. The same people comment. The important discussions, about how to prevent this happening again, the important input will take place elsewhere.
The only reason I felt moved to contribute on this occasion is because I have a special interest in the N Ireland football team. I felt the whataboutery above wasn’t representative of fans’ opinions because that’s not what they’re saying amongst themselves.
There the discussion is about isolating people, naming them, stopping them from getting tickets. In short practical solutions to stop this. The old “poor us”, “we’re being picked upon” stuff is being given short shrift.
But on your broader point, I don’t think I’ve ever read a constructive sectariana thread on Slugger. It is invariably “aren’t their lot worse than our lot”. I’m not saying discussing sectarianism isn’t necessary or can’t be constructive – just that it rarely is here.
fjh- and some Arsenal fans have in the past occasionally trilled “Spurs are on their way to Auschwitz”. Football fans are generally not tactful or demure when they get together- it’s just part of the territory. And Melanie Finn’s little mood piece is obviously typical tabloid garbage. When did a red top ever underplay anything? “5000 fans in Dublin-4800 have good day’s crack- publicans do roaring trade” won’t shift many papers. I saw a fair number of Guards out and about, yet they weren’t snowed under with work, and they aren’t exactly renowned for their tolerance of disorder
I have been at NI games for over 30 years home and away. I was in Dublin. The few- and it was a few- bin-lids who were on the clip would not be among the faces I recognise on away trips. Their behaviour was not condoned by the majority. One of the guys I know is a sergeant in the Gardai who supports NI- and he’s from Dublin, though his dad is from the north. I would not wish him to be exposed to that rubbish which is more suitable to Ibrox park.
The wave of condemnation on OWC ought to be recognised as progress. As OWC rightly put it “we exist”, and we’re not going to go away. Of course, that’s our real crime, though
good one yourself Neil a few drunks singing compares with full scale riot? lol, email the guards in dub and ask them are they seeking any norn iron fans or have they any reports of any trouble related to the match and then sure post up the reply. now lets see 5k fans travel myself included and we all had rather a nice day, apart from the match!!, a few buses where unfortunate enough to have there windows put in as way of welcome to dub, a few drunks pissed on the street, a few drunks sang party tunes and to illustrate this total mayhem caused by norn iron fans we have one you tube clip to get the already offended more offended, ah well.
Chekov,
Fair enough, I have no doubt that like with most teams, national or not the majority are embarassed by the behaviour of the few.
My issue was with your unqualified “because its purpose is to point the finger at themmums “.
Clearly that is not always the case and it is a bit dismissive to suggest it is.
IWSMcN
For a self-proclaimed internet sensei you don’t seem to get this comments thing. You see someone posts an opener and others come on and offer an opinion on the piece. The incomers may also wish to comment on previously posted comments. It gets into a sort of flow and so long as the original subject matter is not lost all’s well.
Now the subject of this thread is the sectarian display by some NI football ‘supporters’. Before I commented some had talked about Northern Ireland born players playing for the Republic and had even questioned the existence of Northern Ireland (checkout fjh’s ” our (non existent) wee country).
More importantly for me was the underlying tone that sectarianism was the Protestant Disease.
So the flash above your head was my point going past. Not to worry I’m pretty tolerant of less-than-sharp tacks.
But hey just for you, and read the next bit very slowly, and don’t worry if you find your lips mouthing the words; I condemn the behaviour of the ‘fans’ in the video.
Zachariah Tiffins Foot,
“More importantly for me was the underlying tone that sectarianism was the Protestant Disease.”
Yes, that was bleedin obvious.
I was drawing your attention that to the fact that overstatment (humourous or otherwise) was often used here as a form of tribal deflection from the issue and often by those like yourself you think their tribe is being unfairly picked on. Geddit? S
Regarding your condemnation, sensitive soul you obviously are, but I was not suggesting you were a sectarian bigot and supported such sectarian behaviour.
TO QUINCEY:
To excuse the actions of the Northern Irish fans by reference to Celtic is ridiculous. Lets call a spade a spade. Celtic is the manifestation of nationalism and in Northern Ireland (at least) is exclusively for nationalists/republicans. So to, Rangers is exclusively unionist/loyalist. And again, what is wrong with that? If Celtic fans want to sing republican songs, wave tricolours and Rangers fans want to sing about the Queen and wave UDA/LVF banners then let them work away. Thats part of the point in supporting those teams, its why many support one English team and either of the Glawgow Old Firm duo as their second team. Its a cultural thing.
But as for Northern ireland, to pretend that its an all inclusive, cross community lovey dovey hugable team of the people, is just absurd. And its NOT a minority of fans, its the majority who harbour either latent of overt sectarian beliefs.
For one, there is Windsor Park, located in the Village, one of the most sectarian enclaves anywere in the province. Walk down to the stadium and every gable wall is covered with some reference to some loyal UDA volunteer or cause. Not exactly welcoming to any Catholic bold enough to venture to a game. Plus its the home of Linfield; Belfast’s equivilent of Rangers, with some extra sectarianism blended in.
The National Athem. Thats a goodie. God save the queen… sorry no thanks. Is that for anyone but a unionist. The only experience of being in Windsor Park for me was at a schoolboys game, stadium almost empty. And when we didn’t stand for the anthem, we were jeered and subjected to abuse from other supporters (thats right, we were there to support NI because a friend was in the team). And we were all between 11 and 16. Young boys given abuse for not standing to the anthem, yet who were there to support the team.
I’m not welcome, no nationalist is and I don’t want to be and never will take up the offer of supporting the team. Just as Celtic is a team exclusively for nationalists, so Northern ireland is exclusively for Uniionists. And there is nothing at all wrong with that. Enjoy it, support who you want and embrace your own background and culture.
So, in that respect take ownership and responsibilty for the actions of YOUR team, and YOUR fans. If they riot, that represents YOU. Don’t try and pass the buck on this one, and stop pretenting to welcome anything other than the current status quo.
TO QUINCEY:
To excuse the actions of the Northern Irish fans by reference to Celtic is ridiculous. Lets call a spade a spade. Celtic is the manifestation of nationalism and in Northern Ireland (at least) is exclusively for nationalists/republicans. So to, Rangers is exclusively unionist/loyalist. And again, what is wrong with that? If Celtic fans want to sing republican songs, wave tricolours and Rangers fans want to sing about the Queen and wave UDA/LVF banners then let them work away. That’s part of the point in supporting those teams, its why many support one English team and either of the Glasgow Old Firm duo as their second team. Its a cultural thing.
But as for Northern Ireland, to pretend that its an all inclusive, cross community lovey dovey huggable team of the people, is just absurd. And its NOT a minority of fans, its the majority who harbour either latent of overt sectarian beliefs.
For one, there is Windsor Park, located in the Village, one of the most sectarian enclaves anywhere in the province. Walk down to the stadium and every gable wall is covered with some reference to some loyal UDA volunteer or cause. Not exactly welcoming to any Catholic bold enough to venture to a game. Plus its the home of Linfield; Belfast’s equivalent of Rangers, with some extra sectarianism blended in.
The National Anthem. Thats a goodie. God save the queen… sorry no thanks. Is that for anyone but a unionist. The only experience of being in Windsor Park for me was at a schoolboys game, stadium almost empty. And when we didn’t stand for the anthem, we were jeered and subjected to abuse from other supporters (that’s right, we were there to support NI because a friend was in the team). And we were all between 11 and 16. Young boys given abuse for not standing to the anthem, yet who were there to support the team.
I’m not welcome, no nationalist is and I don’t want to be and never will take up the offer of supporting the team. Just as Celtic is a team exclusively for nationalists, so Northern Ireland is exclusively for Unionists. And there is nothing at all wrong with that. Enjoy it, support who you want and embrace your own background and culture.
So, in that respect take ownership and responsibility for the actions of YOUR team, and YOUR fans. If they riot, that represents YOU. Don’t try and pass the buck on this one, and stop pretending to welcome anything other than the current status quo.
Also when some Nationalist kid decides to play for the South, try and frame that decision with this story, and accept that their motivation may have something to do with the inherent Loyalist nature of the NI team.
Would you play for a team with NI’s continuing poor record in being a team for all? Would you play if you thought there was a chance of a death threat? Would you play if the team played the Soldier’s Song, saluted the tri colour and regularly chanted Republican chants?
Would you fuck, yet that’s what Nationalist kids are expected to do, and if they don’t and follow their hearts expect them to be subject to a full character assasination and for them to be accused of betraying NI while they’re expected to betray their own background.
nail i see what your saying, you want the ifa to be more like the gaa and come out and actually say that they want no cross cultural support?
neil cant speak for all norn iron fans but i don’t get too excited when someone opts to play for mexico, (although one might question their true commitment to their newly adopted county when they have come through the ifa youth ranks, rather than spend time and money to travel and progress through the ranks off the fai which is the county they wish to play for) because for every darren gibson there’s a sammy clingan, etc
Neil,
We don’t agree on much [read anything] but I do agree with with your arguement here. It is unfair to criticise players [from NI] who want to play elsewhere and not for NI [for whatever their reason]. If someone wants to play for the Republic I respect them and their decision.
I don’t agree that there is an ‘inherent loyalist nature of the NI team’.
On a more general note this thread is bordering on the ridiculous – both sides could point to lots of international fans offending the others – it’s part of the charm of the Island – a phrase I don’t use much I can assure you.
The Northern Ireland football team is from Norn Iron [not brazil] we sing the National Anthem, hum the Dambusters and do the bouncy. If people don’t like it because any of that offends them they shouldn’t come to the games.
VH
Give them games and keep them ignorant?Ceasar?
‘although one might question their true commitment to their newly adopted county when they have come through the ifa youth ranks, rather than spend time and money to travel and progress through the ranks off the fai which is the county they wish to play for’
Given that they’re school-attending children when they are coming through the youth ranks and as such have no income of their own to spend on travel to from Dublin on school nights, they’re generally dependent on their parents for transport and funding to attend training sessions and matches. Given that the IFA is funded by taxpayers money there isn’t really an issue here, is there?
should ”taxpayers” also fund future players for Albania?
Between the bridges – NO! They should not, but they should fund OUR two teams, the Unionist Northern Ireland Team and Nationalist Republic of Ireland Team. One is for one half of the community and the other is for the other (plus a few others who live in the South and sho also contribute the bucks).
Thats a lot of use of the word other
You take the same risk with your money as any other country, hoping for a return. See James McCarthy considering leaving ROI to play for Scotland.
So in answer to your question, yes you should, if that Albanian is any good and has a Northern Irish parent, grandparent or lives in the jurisdiction etc etc. Just like everyone else. You pay your money, you takes your chances.
The real difficulty (for NI fans) is not accepting that someone born in any one of the 32 counties can declare themselves to be British, Irish or both. Kind of like other people not accepting that NI is a nation, you refuse to accept that which you don’t particularly like. So as far as your British mind is concerned anyone born in British NI is British whether they like it or not. The only problem with that is you’re wrong.
Maybe there isn’t an inherent loyalist nature in relation to the team … but their supporters are another matter .
And its well known . Why else would Polish fans bring Eirigi flags to Windsor Park ?
vanhelsing with his singing , humming and bouncing routine just confirms this .
neil and naill sounds like a double act! no harm lads but your both trying so hard to put labels on to ‘other’ people, you can’t see the wood for the trees, picture the scene five thousand bigoted northern ireland fans went to dublin, the drank and mixed with the locals and the scots, they watched a match and went home or stayed in dublin, not one arrest was made nor are any pending by the guards . now all we hear about is 20-30 drunk twats singing party tunes. tell me where is the real story?
mark sweeping generalizing that says more about your views than any facts to back them up? i mean anything better than “poles brought a flag so you must be all in the uvf?” lol!
Also, between the bridges – Yes, the IFA should say, we are Unionist and proud to be Unionist, Northern Ireland is a Unionist Team and Nationalists should go elsewhere to fulfil your national team supporting needs (i.e. Rep. of Ireland). Thats fair. Why do we need to get together for football anyway. E.g. Unionists play and watch Rugby, Nationalists play and watch GAA sports (and the 6 nations but thats only once a year so doesn’t really count).
You may have been making a gibe at the GAA as being intolerant. Thats innaccurate. I’ve been to many Ulster Finals, sat in mixed crowds were one side sits next to the other and there is never any trouble. E.g. at the 04 Ulster Final in Croke Park me and my brother (wearing Amragh tops) where flanked on either side by two ageing men in Tyrone tops, and we never had a bad word to say to one and other… possibly because one was my da and the other my uncle.
But that is the point, GAA is all inclusive, family orientated and because its always been the preseve of nationalists, political alegiance has never been an issue. GAA supporters don’t need to wave tricolours because their identity is not in question. Republican songs aren’t sung, there is no Unionists about to wind up.
Northern Irish Football is however, it feels, threatened and supporters feel the need to acert their Unionist credentials. What I am saying is that is OK, calm the heads, we aren’t interested. NI is YOUR team, enjoy it, its successes and whatever else. You don’t even need to bother with the Union Jacks anymore.
In that sense, because the GAA has so long been a Nationalist only organisation with NO political standing it family orientated atmosphere could easily welcome Unionist participation.
Ok maybe not in a South Armagh club house, but at any big game, nothing would be said if someone stood up an professed that they were a Protestant. Nothing could happen becuase anyone who would feel the urge to say anything would have to do so in front of their da, their kids and god forbid, a priest and/or nun – you just couldn’t do it.
Could that be said (in reverse) of an Ulster Rugby game? I don’t know, I’ve never been, maybe it could, but football is different, both club and national level, so in that respect lets agree to be different.
picture the scene five thousand bigoted northern ireland fans went to dublin, the drank and mixed with the locals and the scots, they watched a match and went home or stayed in dublin, not one arrest was made nor are any pending by the guards
Ergo Unionist NI fans can chant as much sectarian bullshit as they like, and as long as the guards/cops say ‘fuck ’em, let ’em chant they’ll be on the train out of town in no time’ then it’s of no interest.
So basically what you’re saying as much sectarianism as the NI fans can get out there is perfectly ok, as long as no one gets lifted (which likely no one would as singing party tunes is still legal).
Well done btb, 1980 here we come. Chant what you like, sing what you like, as long as no one’s arrested it’s just them filthy fenians stirring up shit. Fair enough.
Good to see you come clean and admit that you’re just excusing whatever happens (as long as no one gets lifted). Team for all? Bollocks. Team for Loyalists only (and no one’s allowed to say a word unless there are arrests).
naill, er what is your point? you state that the ‘nationalist gaa’ is not politcial? that unionist’s would be welcome but not in some places?
between the bridges ,
Are you telling me there is no difference between fans that come down to watch the rugby each year and the fans from last week …
As you said yourself , you kicked in a few windows and pissed on the streets to welcome Dublin .
neil good to see your such an open minded and fair person, your post bears no rational relationship to what i posted, imho perhaps the worse kind of bigot is the one that doesn’t know that he is one?
Point is you had a gibe – I replied disagreeing with your inferences made on GAA overt sectarianism – my point, that that is not the case.
My original point being, NI is a Unionist team – as I’ve said before, enjoy it. If it wins, happy days, have a Harp, go to the NI supporters club and sing your heart out.
You OWN the win, its YOURS as a fan. So embrace it,. take exclusive ownership of the team, BUT also take exclusive responsibility for its loses, its actions and that of its fans. Likewise their indiscretions reflect on you. Your compliance, indifference or through apologising for their actions make you equally responsible.
mark i belive i was asking you for some proof of all norn iron fans are loyalist bigots (apart from the poles bringing a flag) if we are going to ask questions of one another would it be ok to get an answer before moving on?
btb, try again. Your implication is that as no one was arrested, it’s a non story. Ergo sectarian chanting is a-ok, as no one is ever likely to be arrested for that.
So for the fenians, suck it up. Sectarian chanting is as far as your concerned a non story. (incidentally there’s an interesting article on herald.ie which has hundreds of pissed up sectarian fans having a knees up in Dublin, to compliment the 20 arseholes you decided to post their fun and games on u-tube).
But hey, as they were only being verbal they would never have been lifted, a so as far as your concerned there is no story.
Love to see your explanation as to how that’s not directly relevant to your post excusing any sectarian chanting by the NI fans – as long as no-one’s lifted – as per your post.
naill so its all my fault? glad we had this intelligent debate to come to that conclusion
neil see post for naill
between the bridges – also, I joked that South Armagh may not welcome an NI fan. Probably true, but I certainly know that middle class Nationalist South Down would.
Same applies in reverse – gaa fan welcome in the Village, no chance. Welcome in leafy middle class Unionist BT9, absolutelty.
Its all a bit of banter, a bit of a laugh – unionists and nationalists more similar to each other than to anyone in the south or great britain. You, Bridges have however taken particular offence at both myself and others comments on this issue, showing the true bigot to be yourself.
neil so now the ‘herald’ has it at hundreds? must be true! i take it all back shocking what them nasty prods will do and so what if thousands went and din’t cause any trouble, sure there all the same!! ps any reply on that garda reply? you want me to provide a link that shows a garda spokesman disagreeing with the herald report? or would that be too much like having to face reality?
between the bridges ,
What is it with you and flags ( and poles ) ?
You’re making excuses Bridges, you’re trying to excuse the undefensable, so yes, in that respect it is all your fault and that of other like minded people who decided to make a show of themselves in Dublin.
naill and i quote ‘ i see said the blind man, but he could not see atall atall’
er mark what is it with you and avoiding the subject you raised?
BTB: not one arrest was made nor are any pending by the guards . now all we hear about is 20-30 drunk twats singing party tunes. tell me where is the real story?
Me: So basically what you’re saying as much sectarianism as the NI fans can get out there is perfectly ok, as long as no one gets lifted
BTB: neil good to see your such an open minded and fair person, your post bears no rational relationship to what i posted,
Me: Your implication is that as no one was arrested, it’s a non story. Ergo sectarian chanting is a-ok, as no one is ever likely to be arrested for that.
BTB: so its all my fault? glad we had this intelligent debate to come to that conclusion
Well done BTB, that’s a well made argument there. You’ve got me. Incidentally I agree with this: the worse kind of bigot is the one that doesn’t know that he is one?
Your no bigot yet you can excuse any sectarian action as long as no one gets their collar felt?
neil so now the ‘herald’ has it at hundreds? must be true!
I know you’re right again, I should take the unsubstantiated word of an anonymous internet apologist over that of a national newspaper.
you want me to provide a link that shows a garda spokesman disagreeing with the herald report?
Yes please, link.
or would that be too much like having to face reality?
No problem here bud think you’re projecting, the only reality people seem to have trouble facing is that it matters when your lot are caught out, yet again, displaying their popular sectarian face, and some people refuse to admit there’s a problem as ‘no one was arrested’.
There are none so blind etc. you’re quite right.
Neil, I disagre. BTB is a bigot. And the majority of NI fans hold similary bigotted views. Not bigotted to the extend of say being a member of a fascist organisation such as the BNP or Orange Order, but still, there is something there – a sense of superiority and derisory attitude towards others from different backgrounds. This can be as latent and repressed as possible, its still there. BTB, you are a bigot as are many of your fellow NI supporters
Mark,
“And its well known . Why else would Polish fans bring Eirigi flags to Windsor Park ?
vanhelsing with his singing , humming and bouncing routine just confirms this”
Seriously are your statements meant to be an argument or a comedy routine?
‘Maybe there isn’t an inherent loyalist nature in relation to the team … but their supporters are another matter’
Loved this one to, so because I sing our National Anthem, hum the dambusters and do the bouncy I am, by your definition a Loyalist [and all the negative aspects you were inferring in your statements].
Must be a joke then…
between the bridges ,
I’ve already posted last week how I saw and heard grown men in their 40’s and 50’s screaming and shouting at the eldery on Bath Ave , urinate in gardens on Serpentine Ave in front of families . Grown men trying to scare and intimidate the locals , you were there . You know what I’m talking about
You yourself have boasted here about smashing windows .
I never meant all fans btb , maybe 20% hardcore and with the dutch courage another 15/20 % .
So I suppose about half the fans I saw last week were little sectarian pussys , the other half were grand .
Which half were you in btb ?
naill really are you reading what your posting? time and time agian the majority of posters on this topic miss the reality, thousand went there was no trouble apart from locals breaking windows of fans buses, some drunks sung songs that are not welcomed by the majority of norn iron fans, a yet not one of you’s can see now much of an non event this is, laughable folks laughable. tell me why in this day and age went everyone has a camera in there phone is there not more coverage of these rampaging thugs? could it be that very little happened? but that would not fit with the preconception that as mark and various have said sure we are all the same WNBWNI.
mark please do tell me where i boasted about smashing windows? that is a complete lie i would like you to read back and then apologise.
BTW – fans of Texas Cowboys at game away to Chicago Bears. Fans chant KKK era songs, shout racial abuse at locals, the majority of whom are black. Criminal damage is done. WOULD THAT BE A STORY? Damn right it would, it would be on the front page of every paper in the US, it would make International news.
So, NI fans go to Dublin, criminal damage, sectarian abuse and thats not newsworthy. What if Rep. of Ireland fans were to do it in Belfast? That newsworthy. One rule for some, another for the Blessed, God Fearing, Loyal Northern Ireland Supporter
btb ,
I thought you were boasting about smashing bus windows but in fact you were saying that it was the locals who were doing the smashing , not you guys.
So it was pub windows , toilet windows and glasses that you lads were responsible for …… sorry about the mix up.
btb ,
I have shared many a hip flask with Northern sports fans ( gaa , boxing fights , at the dog and racing track , rugby matches etc ) for 25 years . Never ever any trouble .
The match last week was different . There is a different attitude with the fans and the atmosphere was not sporting in any way .
That’s my experience .
mark whenever you get around to that apology, maybe then to can explain ‘what you saw with you own eyes’ to me again, are these the same eyes that saw me boasting about smashing windows? was your camera in your phone not working? is that why you had to wait days until something came up on you tube? could you not have exposed thses brutes before now as you where a n eye witness?
nb for all who wish to check back at no time did i have or will i be boasting a about smashing windows, as naill and others have pointed out i am obuvously a bigot and i would certainly take part in such jolly fun only i bring the wife and kids to the games and she just wouldn’t be impressed!
for all other budding bigots out there see ifa ‘football for all’ and nisc ‘sea of green’. WNBWNI
anyway time to go and do something more interesting, as for a load of bigots singing songs about killing people of a different cultural background is there any you tube clips of this little ditty?
We’ll sing a song, a soldier’s song,
With cheering rousing chorus,
As round our blazing fires we throng,
The starry heavens o’er us;
Impatient for the coming fight,
And as we wait the morning’s light,
Here in the silence of the night,
Chorus:
Soldiers are we , whose lives are pledged to Ireland;
Some have come from a land beyond the wave.
Sworn to be free, No more our ancient sire land
Shall shelter the despot or the slave.
Tonight we man the gap of danger
In Erin’s cause, come woe or weal
‘Mid cannons’ roar and rifles peal,
In valley green, on towering crag,
Our fathers fought before us,
And conquered ‘neath the same old flag
That’s proudly floating o’er us.
We’re children of a fighting race,
That never yet has known disgrace,
And as we march, the foe to face,
Chorus
Sons of the Gael! Men of the Pale!
The long watched day is breaking;
The serried ranks of Inisfail
Shall set the Tyrant quaking.
Our camp fires now are burning low;
See in the east a silv’ry glow,
Out yonder waits the Saxon foe,
So chant a soldier’s song.
Don’t forget your mask .
Always amusing to see the GAA brought up in discussions on football, kind of like Rugby, fairly well behaved, just shows the commenter up. I’d like to see some honesty like, ‘I’ve never been to a GAA match\ Winsor Park, but….’. It will be fairly difficult to get away from one-sided football when we don’t have a consensus on an identity, need a flag and an anthem and a move from Windsor park. I’d go for the trad Ulster flag (with yellow), Will ye go lassie go, and a shiny stadium at the maze.
Niall
“And its NOT a minority of fans, its the majority who harbour either latent of overt sectarian beliefs.”
Lies and idiocy. Says more about you and your prejudices than anyone else.
Owen/ Chekov
Hypocrisy knows no ends does it? Your own site provides ample evidence of ‘sectariana’ as you call it.
It’s clear from your comments here that your objection is to the actual issue being flagged up- a depressingly typical response of some. Classic messenger shooting….
Like Chekov I was depressed and pissed off that the actions of the small minority of bigoted scumbags who clearly decided to come down to attempt some sort of Prodfest. Says as lot that the snivelling little turds had to gather under the stand at half time to get their sing-song in.
NI fans should not lower themselves to the level of the racist anti- El Hadji Djouf fans of Celtic and Mexico who seem to think a black player in the SPL is vermin. Celtic /RoI fans have a long history of racism going back to Mark Walters getting bananas thrown at him by the West Belfast pseudo illiterati. William Joyce would have been proud of where he came from.
Driftwood
Quite right. NI “fans” shouldn’t lower themselves. Heavens – people might think that for decades the majority of their support had a history of booing Catholic players (in their own team!), sectarian (pro UVF/UDA) chanting, Rangers and Linfield scarves being prevalent when both of those clubs had blatent non-Catholic signing policies and their Catholic Celtic player captain having to step down and retire from international football because he received death threats (and still is).
You should stick with your Linfield/Rangers/NI supporting mates because they’re the salt of the earth – no racism (see Terry Phelan for details) or sectarianism (See Anton Rogan/Neil Lennon for details) at all.
If only we could get rid of those damn Celtic/RoI supporting taigs and only have top class Linfield/Rangers/NI Supporting fans – the world would be a much better place.
We could all take our kids to matches secure in the knowledge that we won;’t encounter any bigotry, sectarianism or racism at all eh?