LCROSS Lunar Impact Heads-up

I’m probably not going to be able to post anything for a couple of days. I know, I know.. Don’t worry though, I will be back. In the meantime here’s a heads-up – particularly for those of you on the Moon. You know who you are. ANYhoo.. On Friday 9th October Nasa’s Lunar Crater Observation and Sensing Satellite [LCROSS], launched on 18th June – as noted here – will make lunar impact. The Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter is in position to watch events unfold and with water, water everywhere it should be interesting. According to the Nasa podcast there will be live coverage of the double impact on Nasa TV from 10:15 UT [11.15am BST]. LCROSS’ Centaur booster rocket will strike first, at approximately 11:30 UT [12.30pm BST], with LCROSS itself hitting the lunar surface approximately 4 minutes later. The target – Cabeus. Expect follow-up coverage on Space Weather. Guardian report here. And here’s spacevidcast on the subject.

, , , ,

  • susan

    lovely, Pete, thanks for the heads up.

  • ulsterfan

    Looks as if the experiment was a failure.
    The plume of dust and water vapour was not seen.
    Perhaps it is only cheese after all.

  • Thereyouarenow

    Did the impact craft disappear down a ventilation shaft for the living inside the moon nationalist/Unionist moon dwellers.

    Was anyone checking the other side to see if it came out. Just a thought.