ICC World Twenty20 Final – Pakistan v Sri Lanka

Ireland’s honourable performance in this year’s ICC World Twenty20 tournament gained them a mention in the Guardian’s Vic Marks’ “Twenty reasons to be cheerful” list [I’ll add a link if I can find one], but not a place in the final. Instead, with England’s women already convincing winners over New Zealand, the men’s final sees two of Ireland’s earlier opponents in the Super8s vying for the title – Pakistan v Sri Lanka [3pm start]. From the archive – Ireland v Sri Lanka and Ireland v Pakistan. You can follow the game via the BBC live text commentary or the Guardian’s alternative version. Radio 5Live here [Realplayer UK only]. Or the Cricinfo scoreboard. Sri Lanka won toss and will bat first. Sri Lanka 138-6 from 20 overs. Sri Lankan dangerman Dilshan out in first over – an opening wicket maiden over by Mohammad Aamer. Sri Lankan wickets tumbling in early overs. After 10 overs Sri Lanka 54-4. A captain’s innings from Sangakkara [64 not out off 52 balls], assisted by Mathews [35 off 24], sets Pakistan a testing target of 139 to win with 17 runs off the final over. Pakistan 139-2 from 18.4 overs. Akmal st Sangakkara b Jayasuriya 37 off 28 balls [2×4 2×6]. After 10 overs Pakistan 65-2. Pakistan win by 8 wickets. Comfortably in the end. Man of the match, Shahid Afridi 54 not out off 40 balls [2×4 2×6] and bowling figures of 20-1 from 4 overs.