Outgoing Gongs from Columnists

Both John Coulter and Brian Feeney have been looking back at ’08 and dishing out unwanted awards in the process. Feeney has picked out the Paisleys as the big losers of the year on the local scene, as well as Mark Durkan. Contrastingly, Feeney has Peter Robinson and Sinn Fein as the main winners; the former for finally succeeding Ian Paisley as leader and the latter for forcefully making the point to Robinson that “the Good Friday Agreement requires equality for both first and deputy first ministers.”