“Following an OCPA regulated open competition..”

The Secretary of State for Wales etc, Peter Hain, has appointed the new independent members of the Policing Board, “Following an OCPA regulated open competition..” As the BBC report, the six appointed members include former Sinn Féin mayor of Derry City Council, Gerry O’hEara – the NIO simply describe his political career as “has been actively involved in community politics for over 30 years.” – and conveniently, given one particular former independent member stepping down, David Rose, deputy leader of the Progressive Unionist Party from 2001 to 2006.. the political representatives of the UVF.From Peter Hain’s statement

2.Brief summary of independent appointee’s careers

Mr Barry Gilligan

Barry Gilligan is a former member of the Northern Ireland Policing Board and the former Vice Chairman.

He runs his own property development and investment company.

Mr Gilligan is a director of Big Picture Developments Ltd and a number of other property related companies. He is actively involved in a number of major developments. Mr Gilligan is a former Chairman of the Colin Glen Trust and Groundwork Northern Ireland.

Mrs Rosaleen Moore

Mrs Rosaleen Moore is a former member of the Policing Board. She is a Social Worker by profession and was Director of Mental Health and Disability Services in Craigavon and Banbridge Health and Social Services Trust. She has been appointed to the Board of PRAXIS NI (a mental health charity) and maintains an interest in this area in a voluntary capacity.

Ms Mary McKee

Mary McKee is currently a Director with Groundwork NI based in Duncairn Gardens, Belfast.

Groundwork is a regeneration charity that develops projects in some of the most deprived areas across Northern Ireland. Groundwork tackles some of Northern Ireland’s most intractable problems such as community relations, for example; tackling paramilitary murals and bonfires. Mary was appointed to the Probation Board Northern Ireland in November 2006. Ms McKee was recently awarded an OBE for her contribution to community relations and regeneration.

Gearoid OhEara

Gearoid (known as Gerry) OhEara is currently the Chief Executive of An Gaelaras. He has been actively involved in community politics for over 30 years. He has an extensive record of voluntary service in the North West area. He is Chairperson of Oireachtas na Gaeilge (voluntary). For over 12 years he has been Chairperson for Glor na nGael (voluntary), an umbrella group of 23 Language and cultural groups. He is currently a Board Member for Foras na Gaeilge and for Arts Council NI.

Mr Brian Rea

Brian Rea is a former member of the Policing Board. He worked for 35 years for Castlereagh College of Further and Higher Education holding various posts including Lecturer, Senior Lecturer, Head of Department and Head of Faculty. He is a former chairman of the Northern Ireland Region of the Association for College Management. He is involved in voluntary work with a number of community and other welfare interest groups. Amongst a wide range of positions Mr Rea is currently Vice Chairman of the Prison Service Trust and is a former Lay Magistrate.

Professor Sir Desmond Rea

Professor Sir Desmond Rea is a former member of the Northern Ireland Policing Board and the former Chairman. He is an Emeritus Professor of Human Resource Management at the University of Ulster. Sir Desmond is Editor of the First Trust Bank’s Economic quarterly Outlook and Business Review. He is a former Chairman of the Northern Ireland Labour Relations Agency, the NI Local Government Staff Commission and of the NI Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment.

Mr Trevor Ringland

Trevor Ringland is a former member of the Policing Board. He is a solicitor and senior partner in the firm of Macaulay and Ritchie, Solicitors. He is a non-executive director of Independent News and Media (Northern Ireland) Limited and a Board member of the Ireland Funds and Mediation Northern Ireland. He has served as a member of the main committee of the Irish Rugby Football Union and the Sports Council for Northern Ireland and on the Broadcasting Council for Northern Ireland. Trevor is a trustee of the RUC George Cross Foundation and a member of the committee of the IRFU Charitable Trust which looks after injured rugby players. He is on the committee of the British Irish Association and Chairman of One Small Step.

Mr David Rose

David Rose is presently employed as a Teacher in the Juvenile Justice Centre for Northern Ireland and Lakewood Secure Care Unit. Previously he was Deputy Leader of the Progressive Unionist Party of Northern Ireland from 2001 – 2006.

Mr Suneil Sharma

Suneil Sharma is a former member of the Policing Board. He is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants. He is Managing Director of the Varsity Estates Group and a former Commissioner with the Commission for Racial Equality NI. He is Chairman of the charity Preparing for Post Conflict which deals with issues around community development.