The (last) Irish Blog Awards (in Belfast)

Rick O'Shea kicking off the Irish Blog Award 2011 ceremonyTonight, the Irish Blog Awards travelled north to Belfast and the Europa Hotel. At the same time as Rev Jesse Jackson was addressing victims and survivors of the troubles up in the twelfth floor suite, bloggers filled the ground floor conference hall.

Rick O’Shea guided the gathered crowd through the umpteen categories, handing out the glass trophies and polystyrene objects. Unfortunately, many of the category winners weren’t in the room to receive their awards.

Cedar Lounge Revolution beat Slugger to the Best Political Blog award.

Dylan Haskins triumphed over shortlisted local Minister of Culture, Arts & Leisure Nelson McCausland to win Best Blog of a Politician.

Irish Blog Awards 2011 winnersAlso of local interest:

June Caldwell picked up a very well deserved Best Blog Post award for her piece on depression – Being depressed just means you’re not a moron – dedicating the win to the other writers at the excellent group blog The Anti-Room.

Manuel the Waiter got huge cheers as he picked up the Best Humour Blog award for Well Done Fillet.

Damien Mulley, the driving force behind the six years of awards, explained at the close of the ceremony that this would be the last IBAs he’d be organising.

Discover more from Slugger O'Toole

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

We are reader supported. Donate to keep Slugger lit!

For over 20 years, Slugger has been an independent place for debate and new ideas. We have published over 40,000 posts and over one and a half million comments on the site. Each month we have over 70,000 readers. All this we have accomplished with only volunteers we have never had any paid staff.

Slugger does not receive any funding, and we respect our readers, so we will never run intrusive ads or sponsored posts. Instead, we are reader-supported. Help us keep Slugger independent by becoming a friend of Slugger. While we run a tight ship and no one gets paid to write, we need money to help us cover our costs.

If you like what we do, we are asking you to consider giving a monthly donation of any amount, or you can give a one-off donation. Any amount is appreciated.