Tour of Ireland 2009

The big draw of cycling’s Tour of Ireland this year is undoubtedly the 7-time Tour de France winner Lance Armstrong, as the BBC report notes. But amongst the team lists competing in Ireland’s 3-day tour, shortened due to the “very tough economic climate”, are a number of recognisable names. Australian veteran Stuart O’Grady for example, and the Isle of Man’s Mark Cavendish who won 6 stages in this year’s Tour de France including an impressive final stage victory on the Champs-Élysées. Russell Downing of the Candi TV – Marshalls Pasta Team won the first stage today. Meanwhile Lance is, of course, twittering away. He may even go for an impromptu ride about town..