“Is it proof of life on Mars? Certainly not.”

Headline writers and some journalists are getting over-excited about the NASA press conference planned for 2pm EST [7pm GMT] today but, as the Guardian report points out, “If a newspaper headline ends in a question mark, the answer is almost always “no”.” Indeed the NASA press release stated, “NASA will hold a science update at 2 p.m. EST, Thursday, Jan. 15, to discuss analysis of the Martian atmosphere that raises the possibility of life or geologic activity.” [added emphasis]. ANYhoo.. the press conference should be streamed live online here. And, if you’re still awake, later tonight at 6pm EST [11pm GMT] there will also be an lecture by Dr. Steve Squyres Principal Investigator, Mars Exploration Rovers, as NASA celebrates the Mars Exploration Rovers 5th Anniversary – the lecture will also available online. In the meantime, via the Telegraph, here’s an ITN report on the Martian methane. Adds BBC report.