New Years honours

Seems a couple of days early, but the honours list is out. Top of the Northern Ireland list is head of the Civil Service, as he is now Sir Nigel Hamilton. Next is Dame Nuala O’Loan followed by Elieen Bell and Evelyn Collins CBE. Duncan McCausland gets an OBE and UUP MLA Fred Cobain gets an MBE along with Larne DUP Councillor Rachel Rea, boxer Gerry Storey and Portadown boss Ronnie McFall.

Northern Ireland seems to have done rather well, with only Fermanagh lacking a representative on the list. I stand corrected by comment 25.