NIO ministers announced. Ho hum…

THREE new ministers have been appointed to the Northern Ireland Office by Prime Minister Blair. The BBC got the scoop.The Ministers are:

David Hanson and Lord Rooker have been made ministers, taking over from Barry Gardiner and Ian Pearson.

Shaun Woodward, a millionaire who defected from the Conservative Party to Labour, was made a junior NIO minister.

Angela Smith remains at the NIO but there is no confirmation of John Spellar’s fate.

David Hanson is the MP for Delyn in North Wales and is a trusted ally of Tony Blair, having been his Parliamentary Private Secretary for the last four years.

Lord Rooker – formerly an MP for Birmingham’s Perry Barr – moves from the Home Office to take up his new position.

I can’t be bothered searching for biographies or profiles of these unrepresentative nobodies looking for a step up the Cabinet ladder, so feel free to post any information of interest below.

Heck, even the Secretary of State is just a part-time job these days.

Sadly, that probably indicates that Blair and Powell will have their hands on the tiller even more now than they did when they undermined Paul Murphy… but I can’t see Hain just standing idly by and saying nothing!

We are reader supported. Donate to keep Slugger lit!

For over 20 years, Slugger has been an independent place for debate and new ideas. We have published over 40,000 posts and over one and a half million comments on the site. Each month we have over 70,000 readers. All this we have accomplished with only volunteers we have never had any paid staff.

Slugger does not receive any funding, and we respect our readers, so we will never run intrusive ads or sponsored posts. Instead, we are reader-supported. Help us keep Slugger independent by becoming a friend of Slugger. While we run a tight ship and no one gets paid to write, we need money to help us cover our costs.

If you like what we do, we are asking you to consider giving a monthly donation of any amount, or you can give a one-off donation. Any amount is appreciated.