General Election dates and deadlines #ge2015

voteIf you’re not already on the Electoral Register, the deadline to register to vote in the UK Parliamentary General Election is Monday 20 April.

The deadline for run-of-the-mill postal and proxy vote applications has already passed – 5pm on Thursday 16 April. However, it you will be unable to vote at your polling station on 7 May because of circumstances relating to your health and you could not have reasonably foreseen these circumstances before 5pm on 16 April you can still make a late application for a postal or proxy vote before 5pm on Tuesday 28 April.

doubtful votes areaPolling, verification and counting agents must be appointed and EONI notified by Wednesday 29 April.

In the meantime, agents will want to revise the doubtful ballot rules!

Counting will happen overnight – technically “as soon as practicable within the period of four hours starting with the close of the poll [at 10pm]”

The four Belfast constituencies will be counted in the King’s Hall Pavilions (BT9 6GW) – the venue for the 2014 European Election count.

The remaining 14 constituencies have been paired up across seven leisure centres:

  • North Antrim & Mid Ulster – Seven Towers Leisure Centre, Ballymena, BT43 7BL
  • Foyle & East Londonderry – Templemore Leisure Centre, Derry/Londonderry, BT48 7QL
  • Lagan Valley & South Down – Lagan Valley Leisureplex, Lisburn, BT28 1LP
  • East Antrim & South Antrim – Valley Leisure Centre, Newtownabbey, BT36 7LJ
  • Newry and Armagh & Upper Bann – Banbridge Leisure Centre, Banbridge, BT32 3JY
  • Strangford & North Down – Aurora Leisure Complex, Bangor, BT20 4UT
  • West Tyrone & Fermanagh and South Tyrone – Omagh Leisure Complex, Omagh, BT79 7EG