Slugger Awards: The shortlist…

There’s been a fair amount of speculation as to who has made the shortlist and who hasn’t. Some of the choices made themselves and there will certainly be some surprises. But this is who you have nominated, the readers panel with the judges finally picking the winners. The list is not, nor was it ever meant to be definitive. And I have no doubt there are potential winners not mentioned. Once in the year, it’s our attempt to recognise the moments in the political cycle when our politicians (and the people who have a hand in reporting them to the public) were caught out doing something good. So let us have your thoughts?

Up-and-Coming Politician of the Year, presented by Common Purpose

Steven Agnew

Simon Hamilton MLA

Michelle O’Neill MLA

Local Newspaper of the Year, presented by the Equality Commission

Andersonstown News

Dungannon News and Tyrone Courier

The Gown

Local Council of the Year, presented by WIMPS

Belfast City Council

Down District Council

Limavady Borough Council

Local Councillor of the Year, sponsored by 4iP

Cllr Conor Maskey [corrected]

Cllr PJ McAvoy

Cllr Cara McShane

Cllr Maire Hendron

MLA of the Year, presented by NICVA

John O’Dowd MLA

Dawn Purvis MLA

Peter Weir MLA

Campaign of the Year, presented by the MLA of the Year

Belfast Airport Watch campaign

Belfast Telegraph ‘Sit Down and Sort it Out’ campaign

Employers for Childcare Vouchers campaign

Participation and Involvement Award, presented by the British Council

Assembly Commission- Assembly Roads and engagement programme

Inclusive Mobility and Transport Advisory Committee (IMTAC)

Public Achievement

Journalist of the Year, presented by Johnsons Solicitors

Mark Devenport

David Gordon

Julia Paul

Suzanne Breen

Political Blogger of the Year, presented by the Commissioner for Public Appointments in NI

Alan Meban (Alan in Belfast)

Daithí McKay MLA

Splintered Sunrise

Committee Chair of the Year, presented by Stratagem

Fred Cobain MLA

Paul Maskey MLA

Jim Wells MLA

Politician of the Year, presented by Slugger O’Toole

Jim Allister

Arlene Foster MLA

Martin McGuinness MP MLA

Mick is founding editor of Slugger. He has written papers on the impacts of the Internet on politics and the wider media and is a regular guest and speaking events across Ireland, the UK and Europe. Twitter: @MickFealty