Sinn Fein’s ones to watch

With the Leinster House D-Day less than 72 hours away, I thought I’d run down the list of Sinn Fein candidates worth watching when the counting begins on Friday.

Sinn Fein enter the election with 5 TDs, and hopes are obviously high that the number returning will represent a significant advance on that figure. The list I’ve made is from my own observations and stretches from those whose failure to get elected would represent a disappointing turnout for the party to those whose elections would be contingent on a slight underestimation of the party’s expected performance in the polls to date.

For the record, I’m putting my neck on the line and going for a nice figure of 10 seats as a great return for the party; enough to establish Sinn Fein firmly as the fourth largest party in Leinster House and a possible kingmaker in the time ahead.Here’s my list of ones to watch. If you’re a republican (or even someone who can’t stand the sight of us) the election of these individuals will indicate whether or not Sinn Fein are going to make that extra breakthrough this time around.

The Returning Incumbents (1-5)
All 5 of Sinn Fein’s incumbent TDs should prove too strong to be ousted, if the bookies are to be believed.
Caoimhin O’Caolaoin (Cavan/Monaghan- 5 seater)
Arthur Morgan (Louth- 4 seater)
Aengus O’Snodaigh (Dublin SC- 5 seater)
Sean Crowe (Dublin SW- 4 seater)
Martin Ferris (Kerry Nth- 3 seater)

Those ‘Well-Fancied’ (6-10)
Sinn Fein are tipped to take at least one- and by many- two seats in Donegal between the two constituencies, whilst the other heavily fancied candidates are to be found in Dublin.
Mary- Lou McDonald (Dublin Cntrl- 4 seater)
Pearse Doherty (Donegal SW- 3 seater)
Padraig MacLochlainn (Donegal NE- 3 seater)
Larry O’Toole (Dublin NE- 3 seater)
Dessie Ellis (Dublin NW- 3 seater)

The Potential Surprise Outsiders (11-16)
Whilst the party is running candidates in 41 of the 43 constituencies across the state, it is in these six constituencies that the party will stand to benefit in terms of new seats from a slight increase in party support on polling day.
Joe Reilly (Meath West- 3 seater)
Joanne Spain (Dublin Mid-West- 4 seater)
John Dwyer (Wexford- 5 seater)
Jonathan O’Brien (Cork Nth Central- 4 seater)
Sean McManus (Sligo/ West Leitrim- 3 seater)
David Cullinane (Waterford- 4 seater)

Discover more from Slugger O'Toole

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Categories Uncategorised

We are reader supported. Donate to keep Slugger lit!

For over 20 years, Slugger has been an independent place for debate and new ideas. We have published over 40,000 posts and over one and a half million comments on the site. Each month we have over 70,000 readers. All this we have accomplished with only volunteers we have never had any paid staff.

Slugger does not receive any funding, and we respect our readers, so we will never run intrusive ads or sponsored posts. Instead, we are reader-supported. Help us keep Slugger independent by becoming a friend of Slugger. While we run a tight ship and no one gets paid to write, we need money to help us cover our costs.

If you like what we do, we are asking you to consider giving a monthly donation of any amount, or you can give a one-off donation. Any amount is appreciated.