Sinn Fein second in Lagan Valley…

Because of boundary changes, this is may be the first and last time Paul Butler takes this seat. But he’s done a tremendous job in getting out his vote out, and a hell of a lot more… Someone deserves credit here for an extremely hard worked campaign (93% turnout in Lagmore). If you look at the figures, they seem to have penetrated not only the SDLP’s vote, but some of Alliance’s too.

Jeffrey Donaldson DUP Elected 1 9,793 23.4
Paul Butler SF 5,098 12.2
Basil McCrea UUP 4,031 9.6
Trevor Lunn AP 3,765 9.0
Jonathan Craig DUP 3,471 8.3
Edwin Poots DUP 3,457 8.3
Paul Givan DUP 3,377 8.1
Marietta Farrell SDLP 2,839 6.8

The look at the first count out last time:

Jeffrey Donaldson UUP 14104
Edwin Poots DUP 5175
Billy Bell UUP 2782
Seamus Close Alliance 4408
Patricia Lewsley SDLP 3133
Norah Beare UUP 1508
Andrew Hunter DUP 3300
Paul Butler SF 3242

  • Dewi

    Don’t know how much effect it has but the You Tube sinn Fein video here was excellent – not many hits but they said they sent out DVD – Adams and Mguineess looking very statesmanlike

  • Chris Donnelly

    As someone who spent the guts of the last 12 hours in the count centre for Lagan Valley,I found this to be a truly remarkable result.

    I’ve posted on the site previously about Butler’s prospects in Lagan Valley, and particularly the manner in which Sinn Fein were being warmly received across the constituency in what would traditionally have been more SDLP households.

    But I must confess that even I couldn’t have forseen such a significant turnout for a republican candidate in a constituency like Lagan Valley.

    The facts are quite stunning: Paul Butler attained a vote of 5,098 votes, a figure substantially greater than the previously highest nationalist result in the constituency of 4,000 votes for Lewsley in 1998.

    The combined nationalist vote soared by approximately 1,300 votes since 2003.

    Incredibly, both the SDLP and Sinn Fein experienced vote increases here on 2005, a factor which can only be attributed to two things.

    Firstly, the success of Sinn Fein in dragging out a latent nationalist vote across the constituency.

    Secondly, the sidewards movement of a substantial portion of the SDLP vote to Sinn Fein, a development masked by an equal sidewards move from former Seamus Close Alliance voters to the SDLP.

  • *wonders when Chris’ hyperbole pills run out*…

  • merrie

    If Donaldson’s vote had been better managed, would the DUP have won four seats instead of three?

  • Valenciano

    Merrie, no. The votes simply weren’t there and there ended up two clear non-Unionist quotas, and one clear UUP quota.

  • If Donaldson’s vote had been better managed, would the DUP have won four seats instead of three?

    No. All three of the ‘other’ candidates – Butler, Lunn and McCrea – made quota.