Inner East, East, South, West, North West, North East and.. Belfast

[image from the BBC report] Most of the focus on today’s announcement of the boundaries for the seven new council areas emerging from the Review of Public Administration is on the distinctly pedestrian [or Soviet? – Ed] names they have currently been given by the Local Government Boundaries Commissioner. It’s up for consultation, natch.. but if the Assembly returns, and with only Sinn Féin supporting the seven council model, it could all be academic..The names of the seven new councils:

Belfast Local Government District, incorporating the current Belfast City Council, parts of Lisburn, North Down and Castlereagh;

Inner East Local Government District, incorporating Antrim, Carrickfergus, Newtownabbey Councils and the remainder of Lisburn City Council;

East Local Government District, comprising Ards, Down, parts of North Down and Castlereagh Councils;

South Local Government District, made up of Armagh, Banbridge, Craigavon and Newry and Mourne;

West Local Government District, incorporating Cookstown, Dungannon and South Tyrone, Fermanagh and Omagh;

North West Local Government District, comprising Derry, Limavady, Magherafelt and Strabane and part of Coleraine;

North East Local Government District, made up of Ballymena, Ballymoney, Larne, Moyle and a major part of Coleraine.