Calling All Politicos: Pick your fantasy NI Executive

For most reading  this blog this will be the type of transfers you’ll be interested in. For just a few minutes imagine you’re the First Minister and you get to choose an Executive. Choices must be from within the current Assembly and sure we will use the new departments,

  • Department for Communities
  • Department for the Economy
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Health
  • Department for Infrastructure
  • Department of Justice
  • Department of Finance
  • Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs.

My picks would be

  • Department for Communities- Alex Attwood
  • Department for the Economy- Máirtín Ó Muilleoir
  • Department of Education- Chris Hazzard
  • Department of Health- Jim Wells
  • Department for Infrastructure- Arlene Foster
  • Department of Justice- Brenda Hale
  • Department of Finance- Simon Hamilton
  • Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs-Colum Eastwood.

, , , ,

  • David

    The Northern Ireland First Minister, or whatever he is to be called in The Executive Office, does not get to chose his fellow Executive Ministers.

    Neither can he sack them.

    Them’s the rules.

  • David McCann


    It’s just a bit of fun

  • By my rough calculation, based on the 2011 election results, you will need to make your selections according to the following allocation of Ministerial positions.

    Note: the NI Minister for Justice remains a ‘special’ case.

    The 8 available ministerial positions are to be distributed accordingly.

    DUP 3

    SF 3

    SDLP 1

    UUP 1

  • It’s all just a bit of fun until someone gets hurt, David.

    But why not try again? This time keeping within the constraints of the current agreements.

  • BTW, just for fun, and how did you miss it?

    Here’s a link to Mick’s post on the shake up in the NI Executive departments.

  • BTW, David, it’s a revealing bit of fun.

  • Ernekid

    Do we really have to pick from the cretinous gombeens in the Assembly? Why can’t we use the American model and bring in a proven expert and project manager to head our departments who knows their brief and is able to keep spending within a budget?

  • chrisjones2

    Er….its a fantasy

  • Kevin Breslin

    Going down the technical route route, based soley on work experience: McGimpsey Finance, Douglas infrastructure, McDonnell health, Anna Lo communities, Allister justice, McCallister agriculture, erm Ruane education …

    Economy? Not sure if we have any professional economists elected.

  • Brian O’Neill

    I am going to go radical. We replace the entire executive with a benevolent dictatorship. We give Michael O’Leary the job of running the place for 5 years.

  • Tochais Siorai

    He’d convert Stormont into a hotel & move the politicians out to a warehouse in Lisburn and call it Stormont. Then he’d charge them £99 every time they opened their mouth whilst at the same time offering them a deal on a stay in the hotel in Stormont.
    What’s not to like?

  • A bit rough on wheel-chair users, that…

  • SDLP supporter

    David McCann, don’t want to be unkind, but you are far too obsessed with the minutiae of what passes for politics here. You need to get out more.

  • SeaanUiNeill

    Isn’t it all………

  • Reader

    That would be the point, surely? A free choice from the whole assembly is likely to throw up a different set of names from a selection based on party limitations. Jim Allister or Steve Agnew could get a job…
    And if this particular discussion is neither entertaining nor revealing you can always post your own version next week.

  • Brian O’Neill

    Err.. you are aware politics is kinda our thing here at slugger?

  • chrisjones2


  • Brian O’Neill

    You mean have competent people who know what they are doing? That would never work.

  • banana man

    a Derry man as agriculture minister?!

  • Kevin Breslin

    Every Derry City person is a Donegal person at heart.

  • Tochais Siorai

    Jeez, Pete who pissed in your porridge this morning?