Robinson Tweets out the old and Tweets in the news… [updated]

The DUP leader has been tweeting his long flagged cabinet reshuffle…

In summary

  • Edwin Poots (health minister) replaced by Jim Wells
  • Nelson McCausland (social development minister) replaced by Mervyn Storey
  • Mervyn Storey (education committee chair) replaced by Michelle McIlveen
  • Jimmy Spratt (regional development chair) replaced by Trevor Clarke
  • Paul Givan (justice committee chair) replaced by Alastair Ross
  • Jim Wells (health committee vice chair) replaced by Paula Bradley

And there’s more!

  • New agriculture chair – William Irwin
  • New culture chair – Nelson McCausland (a previous DCAL minister)
  • New culture vice chair – Gordon Dunne (DUP holds both the chair and vice chair)


  • Brenda Hale replaces Alastair Ross on the Policing Board
  • Ian McCrea will be Arlene Foster’s Assembly private secretary in DETI

Will there be a role for Edwin Poots?
– – –

And changes to the party’s committee chairs…

Donate to keep Slugger lit!

For over 20 years, Slugger has been an independent place for debate and new ideas. We have published over 40,000 posts and over one and a half million comments on the site. Each month we have over 70,000 readers. All this we have accomplished with only volunteers we have never had any paid staff.

Slugger does not receive any funding, and we respect our readers, so we will never run intrusive ads or sponsored posts. Instead, we are reader-supported. Help us keep Slugger independent by becoming a friend of Slugger.

While we run a tight ship and no one gets paid to write, we need money to help us cover our costs.

If you like what we do, we are asking you to consider giving a monthly donation of any amount, or you can give a one-off donation. Any amount is appreciated.