I was doing the lent on the blogging, then I minded that I was agnostic! I have a love / hate relationship with the blogging ye see. But anyway, I have had an extremely productive blaggin free loch of weeks, at the coal face – I will reward meself with a post.
First off – I condemn absolutely the recent outbreak of violence. It is simply pointless, counter productive. Wrong.
However, given that it was directed as much at Sinn Féin as the British forces, judging by the reaction on Slugger and in the media, the Rí Rá will judge it as a good days work.But anyway, the pagan festival of Lá Fhéile Pádraig is almost with us and I am answering An Fichealltach Mór’s call to blog. I will, sobriety permitting attempt to blog on the day itself.
St. Patrick’s day is a day when many people try and to use the Irish that have, therefore in an effort to facilitate people’s efforts I thought I would link to a few basic phrases – with a twist.
Perhaps people would be interested in trying out few phrases, not in Donegal Irish or Munster Irish but in the Gaelic of the Glens? – Give it a go!
Meanwhile, back at the ranch, it appears that Diúc Spéisialta / Duke Special is giving it a go, for he is to be heard on the new Ceol 09 album singing as Gaeilge!
I heard it last night on Raidió Fáilte and thought it was very good. It was very interesting to hear Eddie Reader (do ye mind her!) singing ‘ní mór do bheith – foirfe.’
The pair of them obviously didn’t get Jim’s memo!
Have yis seen Nuacht 24 this week? The best one yet.
Good coverage of the Gaelscolaíocht conference which was held in Coláiste Feirste yesterday. They have a nice new website – hat tip to Niall Ó Donnghaile. A young politician with alot of potential in my view – although Ballymacarret is form Baile Mhic Gearóid not Baile Mhic Airt – but I know that Trá Ghearr people will have none of that.
Whilst I missed the conference people seemed very pleased with it, and people seemed very pleased with Caitríona Ruane performance at it.
As one oul haun said to me, ‘these can those eejits think that nothing has changed.’ Quite.
Freelance journalist, working mostly in Irish.
Have my own independent news website – antuairisceoir.com – which is in constant need of material.
I am the former editor of the newspaper Gaelscéal, www.gaelsceal.ie
Discover more from Slugger O'Toole
Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.