Everyone happy then?

If you reckoned the new name for the conjoined UUP/Conservative Party was clearly conjured up by a committee, spare a thought for the [Local Government] Boundaries Commissioner. He has, reportedly, produced revised recommendations for names for 6 of the 11 new councils. It’s not quite what Gregory Campbell had in mind.. Adds There are also some boundary changes involved. Update Wrong Commission link fixed and here are the revised recommendations [pdf file]. Full revised recommendations here.

There were six name changes proposed:
• Derry City and Strabane District Council should be called Derry City and Strabane Regional Council.
• Armagh City and Bann District should be called Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon District Council.
• Newry City and Down District Council should be called Newry City, Mourne and Down District Council.
• Ards and North Down District Council should be called North Down and Ards District Council.
• Causeway Coast District Council should be called Causeway Coast and Glens District Council.
• Mid Antrim District Council should be called Mid and East Antrim District council.

From the revised recommendations [pdf file]

For the most part the boundaries of the new districts are as set out in my Provisional Recommendations. The main change is between the Mid Ulster and the Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon districts where the new boundary follows the line of the River Blackwater, this being a more readily identifiable boundary. The other change is between the Mid and East Antrim and the Antrim and Newtownabbey districts where the whole of the campus of Belfast High School, together with some nearby residential development, is brought within the latter district. Two other small changes are proposed, namely, that two townlands near Rathfriland should not transfer to the Newry City, Mourne and Down district and that the Belfast boundary at Tullycarnet should be adjusted to reflect new development on the ground.

Having regard to the desirability that there should be a proper representation of the rural and urban electorate within a district, I am proposing to increase the number of wards in two districts to 41. The two districts are Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon, and Newry City, Mourne and Down. Apart from that, I am confirming my Provisional Recommendations that Belfast should have 60 wards and the remaining councils should have 40 wards.

Discover more from Slugger O'Toole

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

We are reader supported. Donate to keep Slugger lit!

For over 20 years, Slugger has been an independent place for debate and new ideas. We have published over 40,000 posts and over one and a half million comments on the site. Each month we have over 70,000 readers. All this we have accomplished with only volunteers we have never had any paid staff.

Slugger does not receive any funding, and we respect our readers, so we will never run intrusive ads or sponsored posts. Instead, we are reader-supported. Help us keep Slugger independent by becoming a friend of Slugger. While we run a tight ship and no one gets paid to write, we need money to help us cover our costs.

If you like what we do, we are asking you to consider giving a monthly donation of any amount, or you can give a one-off donation. Any amount is appreciated.