Gobshite is okay for Northern Ireland…

You’ve got to hand it to the BBC. No one takes their editorial decisions or public complaints quite so seriously as they do. Recently Gerry Anderson found himself in hot water (again) over the use of the terms shite, gobshite and bogshite. And what was the decision of the great and the good of the BBC Trust? H/T go Pháid!!

“The meaning conveyed by the words ‘shite’ and ‘gobshite’ in the vernacular of Northern Ireland, and in the context of this programme in particular, was different from other parts of the UK in that they did necessarily not carry the same level of offence and aggression and could be seen as a form of comedic banter.” The language was also “appropriate for children listening during school holidays”. However, Anderson must submit to a quota of colourful language and Radio Ulster must “mitigate the overuse of the words”. The trust said that the station had “set in place a system that ensured the programme did not use these words in a way that went beyond the audience’s expectation”

Indeed. I’ve heard the comment zone of the venerable Slugger referred to (and not entirely affectionately) as ‘gobshites.com’. When I got round to looking, that address wasn’t available but gobshites.net was. Any suggestions as to a constructive use we might put it to will be gratefully received!!

We are reader supported. Donate to keep Slugger lit!

For over 20 years, Slugger has been an independent place for debate and new ideas. We have published over 40,000 posts and over one and a half million comments on the site. Each month we have over 70,000 readers. All this we have accomplished with only volunteers we have never had any paid staff.

Slugger does not receive any funding, and we respect our readers, so we will never run intrusive ads or sponsored posts. Instead, we are reader-supported. Help us keep Slugger independent by becoming a friend of Slugger. While we run a tight ship and no one gets paid to write, we need money to help us cover our costs.

If you like what we do, we are asking you to consider giving a monthly donation of any amount, or you can give a one-off donation. Any amount is appreciated.