Business going smoothly…

Willie Hay is the speaker. Francie Molloy, David McClarty and John Richard Dallat his deputies all elected unanimously. Both Paisley and McGuinness accept the pledge of office, though no one actually has to say the pledge, just affirm its terms. Catriona Ruane is Education Minister, and the first Sinn Fein official to give us a convincing rendition of their acceptance in Irish (Conor Murphy a decent second). Robinson and Dodds take Finance and Commerce respectively. McGimpsey takes health; Margaret Ritchie for Social Development. Arlene Foster takes Environment, whilst her erstwhile rival Michelle Gildernew takes Agriculture (not a murmur from the chamber, when she affirms the pledge). After Edwin Poots gets Arts, Reg asks himself to take Employment and learning and succeeds in confusing the Speaker in the process. Ian Junior and Gerry Kelly are last to affirm the pledge of office…

Discover more from Slugger O'Toole

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

We are reader supported. Donate to keep Slugger lit!

For over 20 years, Slugger has been an independent place for debate and new ideas. We have published over 40,000 posts and over one and a half million comments on the site. Each month we have over 70,000 readers. All this we have accomplished with only volunteers we have never had any paid staff.

Slugger does not receive any funding, and we respect our readers, so we will never run intrusive ads or sponsored posts. Instead, we are reader-supported. Help us keep Slugger independent by becoming a friend of Slugger. While we run a tight ship and no one gets paid to write, we need money to help us cover our costs.

If you like what we do, we are asking you to consider giving a monthly donation of any amount, or you can give a one-off donation. Any amount is appreciated.