18 Doughty
Street

Highly recommended:

More books...

Syndicate

RSS 1.0 RSS 2.0 Atom

Wednesday, March 19, 2008

“We are not entirely sure what the time scale is..”

The President of the Republic of Ireland, Mary McAleese, has echoed Taoiseach Bertie Ahern by linking a visit by the Queen there to the devolution of policing and justice powers here. From the BBC report

“We know that it is dependent on the completion of devolution, which hopefully will not be too far away. We had hoped that would be May.” Mrs McAleese said: “We are not entirely sure what the time scale is. We hope it will keep closely to the timetable.”

Indeed. Adds From another report

Mrs McAleese said she thought it unlikely a visit would take place this year. “I would be hopeful, though, that it would happen sooner rather than later,” she said.

Pete Baker @ 05:01 PM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 3 of 4 pages « First  <  1 2 3 4 >
  1. Now, perhaps I’m missing something here, but didn’t the President simply repeat what An Taoiseach has already said? She was asked a question, and answered with the policy of the government. Constitutionally correct, surely?

Turgon

This episode and the fact that she met the Queen at the university from which she was instrumental in removing the national anthem from graduation demonstrates that she has not changed much and unionists perceptions of her are most unlikely to change.

For the second time, Turgon, she didn’t remove the “National anthem”. The fact that Nationalists don’t want it anywhere near their graduation did.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 09:39 AM
  2. Kensei

You just piped me at the post about the President reitterating what the policty of the Irish Govenment is at the moment.  Surely that is the correct thing to do.
    what if HM was asked if she agreed with the Iraq situation and she replied “well if it were up to me I would have been on the march against it in the first place” Of vourse she would not reply like that (if she could answer at all) she would reitterate her Governments policy on the situation.

So the moral of the story is “wind yer necks in” no one on the planet is listening to your whinning!!

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 10:07 AM
  3. Ah, sure god save the very “British” queen, Queen Elizabeth II, to giver her her title. Here to see her very “British” subjects in Ireland, decendants of those placed here years ago to “manage” things, and still proud of it too today! 

Regarding “British” royalty, what about that very genuine “British” blue blooded King James II who was given the boot for a Dutchman foreigner who usurped the very “British” crown. What an “unloyal” bunch of forelock tuggers at times!

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 10:08 AM
  4. Will the District Master or any one else from Portadown District LOL No 1 be meeting her today on behalf of the Orange Order in Armagh to ask her if she supports their right to walk down what the Orange Order continually refer to as her highways.

This could be helpful in solving the parading disputes throughout the North and finding out exactly her views as her name and reference to her highways is continually raised by the Orange Order.

Go on ask her, I dare you.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 10:52 AM
  5. The Pride of the Raven Flute Band could have done a royal command performance on the Newtownards Rd yesterday, as this band and Philip her husband seem to have a lot in coommon.

Both have had been labeled racist.
    Here are some of philips outstanding moments,

The Prince was visiting the Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park in Carins, Northern Queensland.The Prince was shown around by Ngoonvi. The Prince was told that two Abroginal tribes that run the centre: the Djabugay and the Yirrganydji.
    Queried the Prince: “Djabugay and the Yirrganydji, what’s it all about? Do you still throw spears at each other?”

Prince Philip, who has been accused of insensitivity in the past, was touring a high-tech electronics company when he spotted a fuse box which looked less sophisticated than other state of the art equipment in the plant.
    “It looks as though it was put in by an Indian,” he said.
    Kumar Murshid, chairman of the National Assembly Against Racism, said he was amazed that a man in the Duke’s position of influence had said such a thing.

Or when he told British students while visiting China in 1986, “If you stay here much longer you’ll all be slitty eyed”

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 11:32 AM
  6. Does Mary still have her house in Warrenpoint(?) - or is she an ’on the run‘? ;)

Apparently she couldn’t pop up to Warrenpoint without the Government’s permission:

“9. The President shall not leave the State during his term of office save with the consent of the Government.”

Posted by Nevin on Mar 20, 2008 @ 11:36 AM
  7. I attended yesterday’s centenary celebration in QUB. I am a member of student council and I received an invitation to meet with a ‘VIP’Party. I was never told who was attending.

As it is Easter Week, I wore my lily with pride, to commemorate Ireland’s Patriot dead. I intended to speak to Mrs Windsor and ask her to one day repent for the wrongs for her forces had committed against my people...I wasn’t given this chance.
    The barrage of abuse I received from my ‘colleagues’ on student council verged on racist. For two hours I listened to snide comments about my culture and heritage but not once did I ‘snap’.

The problem got worse when I was asked to leave the line that was to greet Mrs Windsor by a member of the PSNI because I ‘looked nervous’. He subjected me to another security check on the guest list despite the fact I had already been through three. No-one else was questioned about their presence.

Eventually when Mrs Windsor appeared, she was ushered away from where I was standing. I felt belittled and inadequate...I believed the day of petty ‘them and us’ politics was behind us...I am obviously mistaken.

In fairness to an t-Uachtarán, she spoke to me and was friendly and a pleasure to be around, its a pity the same couldn’t be said for Mrs Windsor!

I was going to an event to celebrate the centenary of my University...not a party political broadcast from the Democratic Unionist Association (the DUP’s branch in QUB)!

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 12:05 PM
  8. Bertie PLC has judged this incorrectly. If the queen comes to Dublin the Love Ulster riot will look like a picnic. It just will not be accepted. Do people actually envisage the union flag been waved on the highways and byways of Dublin. I know they are Jackeens but they would never live that down.
    The abuse I would shout into the Hill in summer, the Jackeen waving so and so. Corner boys, Ah bud :)

There will be no public walkabout for her, she will not be able to engage with the public for fear of something going wrong.

Let’s hope that O’Connell Street is not a building site if she’s permitted to come for tea.
    Will she have a pint in Fagan’s, this is great.
    Will there be a load of river dancers leaping for her.
    Will she be presented with a woollen jumper and bag of spuds.
    Funny also how she is waiting for the nod the Republican Party.

It is actually funny.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 12:17 PM
  9. The visit to the Free State would be a great opportunity for Irishmen of all political hues to thank Britain and England for all the wonderful things they have bestowed on Irishmen for hundreds 0f years .
    I am sure the Queen will accept their gratitude very graciously.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 12:26 PM
  10. Is there any Orangeman who could answer my earlier posts in relation to the LoyalOrders asking their queen, if she supports their right to march on what they continually describe as her highways?

This question could be important in helping with the issue of disputed parades and would be awaited with interest by the Loyal Orders and residents of places like Garvaghy, Ormeau, Springfield and Albertbridge Roads who object to such parades.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 12:57 PM
  11. “.....to thank Britain and England for all the wonderful things they have bestowed on Irishmen for hundreds 0f years.”

....like a sense of servility as displayed by your obedient self!

:-)

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 01:22 PM
  12. “I felt ... inadequate”
    .. and rightly so, you juvenile delinquent.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 01:22 PM
  13. Kensei,
    Ms. McAleese was the pro Vice Chancellor in charge of the decisions which resulted in removing the national anthem and RUC band. She is a nationalist and supported a tribal nationalist decision. That is not my fundamental problem with her; it is that she pretends to be something other than a tribal nationalist politician, that I find objectionable, in view of her assorted past actions and indeed this latest outburst.

qubstudentcouncillor,
    How mature. You were going to meet the Queen and make embarassing political remarks. Little wonder a mechanism was found to remove you from this. In years to come you may even be grateful for having been saved from your own youthful foolishness.

By all means do not meet the Queen but to meet her and be insulting is just student silliness writ large. If Mary McAleese came to my place of work I would not meet her but would not make a fool of myself by meeting and insulting her.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 01:30 PM
  14. To ‘qubstudentcouncillor’ - you need to grow up and learn some manners. Every time a Unionist encounters the sectarian head of Eire, should we ask her to repent for the wrongs of her country against Protestants - and for harbouring terrorists.

To ‘cut the bull’ - the only point to your posts seems to be to try and wind people up.

On one hand I find Pan-Nationalists on here insulting to my culture and heritage while claiming they are the Most Oppressed People Ever so must never be criticised. On the other hand, they are doing Unionists a favour and helping to politicise even those Protestants who could be described as ‘Unionist Lite’. Thanks guys.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 01:31 PM
  15. Those nationalists and republicans who heap insults on the Queen only show their hatred and bigotry which makes me a loyal subject of her majesty feel very good indeed.
    They have lost the moral high ground!!
    God save the Queen.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 01:40 PM
  16. This is hilarious!

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 01:43 PM
  17. P&J;I’m not trying to wind any one up the use of the the terms the queens highway has been used continually by loyal orders and bands.

Some of the worst rioting seen throughout the north for years in the aftermath of the Parades Commission determination in relation to the whiterock parade on the 13th July 2005 cost the taxpayer £3 million pounds.

The Orange Order stated that this came about about because it was prevented from parading on what it termed the queens highway.Now who’s doing the winding up, get real.

This is a searching question that needs answered, does she support the Orange Order’s right to march on what they term their queens highway especially in communities where such parades are unwanted and unwelcome.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 02:10 PM
  18. Dog save Elizabeth Saxe-Coburg-Gotha and Mr Papadopoulos and all who sail in her.She will always be welcome in my country without her troops.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 02:15 PM
  19. I think there may be a reluctance to ask this question as her answer could be very embarrassing for those who continually use her name in defence of such parades.

If gave her loyalty and recognised her as my queen and contiually used her name in defence of my actions, I would surely ask her if she supported me doing this.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 02:36 PM
  20. Turgon

Ms. McAleese was the pro Vice Chancellor in charge of the decisions which resulted in removing the national anthem and RUC band. She is a nationalist and supported a tribal nationalist decision. That is not my fundamental problem with her; it is that she pretends to be something other than a tribal nationalist politician, that I find objectionable, in view of her assorted past actions and indeed this latest outburst.

Turgon, if the band had not been removed by her, then it would have been removed later by whoever held the post - nationalist or unionist - because the situation would have became untenable. She took the only viable decision, and because it happens to coincide with her political beliefs does not make it an incorrect one. You are pursuing a non sequitir because it suits you.

Moreover, this “latest outburst” was merely following protocol - she repeated the governments position. If you have an issue, it’s with Ahern, and you need to pay attention.

How mature. You were going to meet the Queen and make embarassing political remarks. Little wonder a mechanism was found to remove you from this. In years to come you may even be grateful for having been saved from your own youthful foolishness.

He’d have been right to express his opinion, if done with civility. Or should the Queen only hear sycophantic voices? Sums up the problem with the whole damn thing. Off with their heads!

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 02:50 PM
  21. kensei: He’d have been right to express his opinion, if done with civility.

As should any Jaffa, addressing the President of the RoI at a public engagement in Dublin.

So let’s look for an equivalent to our young student’s request: say, “I intended to speak to Mrs McAleese and ask her to one day repent for the wrongs nationalist terrorists had committed against my people”

Not that I hold Mary McAleese personally responsible for acts done in the name of the Republic of Ireland, of course.

And “Civility”, as you label it, does follow significantly different rules at formal events with lots of participants. If yer man didn’t want to join in, he didn’t have to go.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 04:02 PM
  22. ‘If yer man didn’t want to join in, he didn’t have to go’.

I wasn’t told who was attending, I was only told that the University was hosting ‘high profile visitors’...I was there in my capacity as a student councillor to represent the student population.I had every right to express my own personal beliefs in the same way other councillors did.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 05:32 PM
  23. Reader

As should any Jaffa, addressing the President of the RoI at a public engagement in Dublin.

Your endless, endless whataboutery is tedious, but I don’t disagree.

So let’s look for an equivalent to our young student’s request: say, “I intended to speak to Mrs McAleese and ask her to one day repent for the wrongs nationalist terrorists had committed against my people”

I don’t believe that the President is the head of any Armed Forces that have been involved here. That cannot be said of Mrs Windsor.

Not that I hold Mary McAleese personally responsible for acts done in the name of the Republic of Ireland, of course.

I don’t Mrs Windsor responsible, but the entrenched privilege brings out the worst in me.

And “Civility”, as you label it, does follow significantly different rules at formal events with lots of participants. If yer man didn’t want to join in, he didn’t have to go.

Strangely more formal when there is a Monarch about. I think going to make damn sure it’s known you aren’t bending the knee is legitimate protest in a democracy.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 05:46 PM
  24. qubstudentcouncillor,
    You may have had the right to express your beliefs. However, this was not a forum for expressing your political views. It was a meeting with a head of state. As I said I would not be willing to meet Ms. McAleese as I regard her as a unreconstructed bigot and hypocrite. If I was at an event where she was I would simply avoid her. At such an event I would not be so impertinent as to tell an honoured (by some) guest what I thought of her, nor would I have asked her to apolpgise for anything.

Even if you did have the right in this context to make a political point you might have had the maturity and responsibility to decide not to. Then again maybe not.

Incidentally tell us how big was your electoral mandate to be a student councillor? I remember that the number of votes needed sometimes gets to double figures. Maybe your “representation” is rather smaller than you would like us to believe.

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 05:52 PM
  25. I’ll open it up.

Are there any Orangemen, Apprentice boys or members of the Royal Black Preceptory or even a band member. Who could answer my earlier posts in relation to the LoyalOrders asking their queen, if she supports their right to march on what they continually describe as her highways?

Posted by  on Mar 20, 2008 @ 06:49 PM
  26. Page 3 of 4 pages « First  <  1 2 3 4 >
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy