Wednesday, March 19, 2008
“We are not entirely sure what the time scale is..”
The President of the Republic of Ireland, Mary McAleese, has echoed Taoiseach Bertie Ahern by linking a visit by the Queen there to the devolution of policing and justice powers here. From the BBC report
Indeed. Adds From another report“We know that it is dependent on the completion of devolution, which hopefully will not be too far away. We had hoped that would be May.” Mrs McAleese said: “We are not entirely sure what the time scale is. We hope it will keep closely to the timetable.”
Mrs McAleese said she thought it unlikely a visit would take place this year. “I would be hopeful, though, that it would happen sooner rather than later,” she said.
Pete Baker @ 05:01 PM
‘Even if she wanted to be one; this episode shows that she has absolutely no concept of how unionists think. ‘
Eh ? Has anybody ? Not sure I’d use the words ‘think’ and ‘concept’ in the same sentence as ‘unionists’ . A bit like trying to introduce orang utangs to the finer points of euclidean geometry :)
Why only the other day an idiot MPA one Neil McCausland DUP stated it was ‘premature’ to discuss the possibility of St Patrick’s Day being made a National Holiday in Northern Ireland . I wonder would it be premature to discuss the removal of July 12th as a provincial holiday in NI given that barely half the people in the province celebrate it ?
No matter how white the unionist crow tries to paint itself the ‘black’ inevitably shows true :(!
Repartition lads!
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 07:38 PMGreenflag,
I do enjoy your posts despite our rather different analyses of most Northern Irish issues. That post is, however, not especially witty and in the absence of humour it is simply bigoted. I think you can do better both in terms of humour and avoiding sectarian bigotryPosted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 07:47 PMthe irish unionists are a bit like the illegitimate off-spring of royalty: kept hidden away due to the embarrassing nature of their condition.
i’m surprised nobody had the wit to suggest a wee walk along mrs. windsor’s highway.................
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 07:52 PM“the irish unionists are a bit like the illegitimate off-spring of royalty: kept hidden away due to the embarrassing nature of their condition. “
Again, a highly bigoted comment.
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 07:59 PM‘I do enjoy your posts despite our rather different analyses of most Northern Irish issues.’
I do too :) And ditto for yours .
‘That post is, however, not especially witty and in the absence of humour it is simply bigoted’
Sometimes wit and humour are disguised as truth and sometimes vice versa . My apologies if it offended . But genuinely do you believe anybody on the planet has a real appreciation of how ‘Unionists’ think apart from Unionists themselves ? - Not that it matters mind you to anybody but Unionists . I would say the same is true of the Northern Irish Nationalist /Republican viewpoint only slightly less so ! I would be less than honest if I said I understood the Unionist mindset . I can sympathise with aspects of it -even admit to a faint legitmacy for it at the point of the establishment of the NI State but truly ‘understand ‘ - not yet anyway . However your efforts are painting a broader picture so kudos there .
Be honest even you must have your doubts about some DUP spokespersons ? I know I do about some of the SF shower’s utterances. I mean even Paisley expressed a view in favour of St Patrick’s Day becoming a national holiday for NI .
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 08:10 PMOkay maybe I am a bit grumpy; I still have the flu.
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 08:21 PMPlease do not judge all of us Unionists on the basis of poor well meaning Nelson.I dont know where he gets some of his ideas-maybe from Lord Laird=soon to be canonised as Patron Saint of plastic cards. I will not judge all of you Nationalists on the basis of ill prepared remarks by poor Mary. By the way, I have forgiven her for likening my parents to the Nazis and breeding fascist sectarian attitudes into our family.
.Back to St.Patrick, a West Briton who showed a lot of courage and love for all our ancestors-except those whose ancestors died in the famine times. I have always celebrated St.Patrick’s Day. He is the patron saint of all Ireland which is nice in a way as he did most of his work in Ulster. His views on Christianity are close to those which I hold as an outcome of my CofI upbringing and Christian commitment..
I think every village and town should have a cross community religious service on St.Patrick’s Morning followed by a big alcohol free St.Patrick’s Breakfast.Every body from every walk of life sitting down together. Every Orange and Hibernian lodge should parade with bands playing hymns to the service and back. I think St.Patrick would like that.
T.RuthPosted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 08:34 PM‘Please do not judge all of us Unionists on the basis of poor well meaning Nelson’
I don’t except sometimes if I’m feeling grouchy :) As for Nelson well I know he means well but he might need to get down off the DUP Pillar and place both feet firmly on the ground and take three deep breaths before he opens his gob :)! I know why I could never be a politician :)
‘I will not judge all of you Nationalists on the basis of ill prepared remarks by poor Mary.’
You show wisdom beyond your years . If I were a Unionist I’d have been upset too . She might have done better to follow the suggested course of action I outlined above for Nelson McCausland .
‘I think every village and town should have a cross community religious service on St.Patrick’s Morning followed by a big alcohol free St.Patrick’s Breakfast.Every body from every walk of life sitting down together. Every Orange and Hibernian lodge should parade with bands playing hymns to the service and back. I think St.Patrick would like that.’
A grand idea and should be worthy of support from all who cherish their Christian heritage regardless of denomination.
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 09:11 PMslug
that isn’t a bigoted comment, i am not a sectarian person. but watching the convultions of unionism trying to define themselves gives rise to such moments of light banter. i mean where else do you have a people who are british but speak ulster scots and shoot british constables at the same time.............Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 09:56 PMLorraine: i mean where else do you have a people who are british but speak ulster scots and shoot british constables at the same time
What’s not British about either Ulster or Scotland from the Unionist point of view?
And, in the recent troubles, what did the organisation that shot several Garda Officers call itself?
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:10 PM“Go on Mary give that one a kick up the arse and send her back to Britain, that english woman shouldn’t be allowed in Belfast.”
as far as im concerned Brenda is German.
Im a Republican in the Cromwellian school
so why shouldn’t she visit
we have to put up with her,
till we get a guillotinePosted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:18 PMIt’s ‘funny’ how Pan-Nationalists come on here making sectarian and racist comments against Protestants, Unionists, Loyalists and everything British ... yet claim to be the Most Oppressed People Ever and would be outraged if Unionists called them similar things.
Pan-Nationalists might want to re-read their comments and see if they would be acceptable if directed against Roman Catholics, Nationalists, Republicans.
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:27 PMP&J;, please quote or cut and paste the ‘sectarian and racist comments against Protestants’ if you believe that is what they are, instead of spouting boring accusations. Some people on here have voiced opposition to the idea of unionism, and monarchy, with a little bit of humour thrown in. but I doubt if there were many racist or sectarian comments regarding the religion of protestanism
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:44 PMAre we becoming more civilized here on Slugger?
There hasn’t been the same degree of naming calling against the British Monarch as there was on the last thread.Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 10:48 PMFor a different view on england and its monarch from english people.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P6X1fVmneWs&feature=related
http://members.lycos.co.uk/moveagainstmon/
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 11:22 PMHow do you think the (real) Brits would feel if the Irish Head of State interfered in their internal affairs and insisted on visiting Britain while Irish Republican had troops stationed in Liverpool?
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 11:30 PMa) St Patrick’s Day should be a public holiday here. No question.
b) If the Queen came to my town I wouldn’t bother going out to see her.
c) Mary McAleese’s comment is ill-mannered.Where does that put me on the political spectrum?
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 11:33 PMLooking at it like that most likely they would be pissed off.
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 11:35 PMSorry - who would be pissed off??
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 11:37 PMApology - I realise cut the bull was replying to another question, not mine at No 17
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 11:39 PMI think its funny using auld lizzie windsor against unionists
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 11:43 PMSays more about you than them, Steve.
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 11:48 PMIt will be cringe-making to see all the token taigs lining up for the Queen’s shilling in Armagh tomorrow. Íosa Críost,what have we sunk to? At least, there won’t be any Republicans there ........ sure there won’t? Will she be doling out the Maundy money in Iraq soon? And Mary McAleese is no longer the President of Ireland (remember the amendments to the Constitution)but the President of the Free State. And I’m a paid up member of the chip-on-the-shoulder brigade.
Posted by on Mar 19, 2008 @ 11:52 PMI was surprised none of the Loyal Orders and their accompanying bands particularly the ones which insist on carrying UVF and UDA flags and who are for ever stating that its their right to march the Queens highways have not had a parade or been officially represented at any of the functions she attended.
They could always ask her directly if she supported their right to walk down the Garvaghy, Lower Ormeau, Springfield and Albertbridge Roads where they are unwanted and unwelcome.
After all they keep introducing her into the parading disputes, nows the time ask her straight do you support us our not demanding to walk on your highways.
Hold onto your bowler hats and not your breath while your waiting on an answer.
Posted by on Mar 20, 2008 @ 02:24 AMThere is no reason for the queen to visit Ireland. In fact, the reasons aqainst it are legion.
This Queen of England visitation agenda being pursued by Ahern and McAleese is really just a self-absorbed exercise in ego gratification through consorting with the world’s greatest celebrity by two mediocre politicians bereft of any real, constructive ideas for their nation
Never mind that hosting a state visit by Queen Elizabeth is an incredibly abject and servile thing for Ireland to do. All it will acheive is a tarnishing of Ireland’s nascent reputation as country that respects its history and knows how to guard its dignity as a sovereign state.
A state visit from Elizabeth to Ireland is no more needed by Ireland to get over its troubled history than an assault victim needs to invite her assailant for a nice homemade dinner to put the terrible experience behind her. “Gosh, maybe if I cook him some extra-specially delicious dishes for him and smile and fawn he consider giving back that jewelry he stole from me! Or maybe I’ll smile and laugh with him so much I’ll just forget all about my stolen property, as if it never existed!! Problem solved!!”
It’s all so dumb and pointless and misguided.
There is no reason for this visit at all!! It’s an international embarrassment for Ireland. I cringe with shame that this could happen anytime soon. Let Ireland be united before we consider such a thing.
Posted by on Mar 20, 2008 @ 06:25 AM