Tuesday, March 06, 2007
Spotlight election special
What did we make of the Spotlight debate tonight? When I saw the format I was unsure, but It seemed to work quite well.
I must make a special mention of my good friend Jonny Hadley’s contribution - asking Gerry Adams about the truth recovery process in relation to the RUC. He got quite a reaction.
Thoughts?
Michael Shilliday @ 11:31 PM
I have to say I thought Campbell turned in a fairly solid performance - not stellar, but then again he very rarely is. A solid middle-order batsman. As for Adams - awful, just awful.
Turning to Reg - although not directly relevant to the thread, I recently conducted the old expermient where you say a word, or in this case two words and ask people what words immediatly spring to mind on two members of my family. The two words where Reg and Empey, the 2 responses were DULL and GREY - judging by his performance tonight I can see why. Reg does a great job of making Enda Kenny look exciting!
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 12:46 AMIs the Spotlight special avaibable to watched
anywhere online? Missed it, and cant find it on BBC sitePosted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 12:54 AMVery good Southern Observer, I like your style. Honestly speaking though I have to say that the SDLP are generally perceived as being weak, lacking conviction and completely out of touch with nationalist voters in the north, at least for my generation (18-24). It was only recently that they described themselves as a “post-nationalist” party, whatever the hell that means? I believe that this trend will continue tomorrow in terms of the election with Sinn Fein receiving a stronger mandate and indeed increasing the numbers of seats.
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 12:59 AM“Observer, do you read the bible? Your response above reminds me of John chapter 10, verse 14 with the parable of the good shepherd…”
I try to avoid irrational, faith based, belief systems.
Unlike your good self, apparently.
I do seem to remember something about a prodigal son, though....Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 01:00 AM“For Gods sake we are all victims here”. Grow up and stop wearing ‘victimhood’ as a badge. Adams is not a victim, he was an agent of misery, division and violence. His arrogance shines through on every public appearance. People of Ireland reject this man and all who surround him!
Its appallingly sad that the electorate will endorse the DUP as the largest party. They are utterly offensive and completely DEVOID of ideas!Gregory Campbell is a dislikeable man, small minded and reactionary.
Empey is not a leader. He is worthy of support but hopefully the UUP will move on to a more inspiring leader after the election.
Durkan lacks the common touch. He is unable to state a policy in a simple style. 50 words when 5 would do. It makes Humespeak sound concise and coherent!
Where were Alliance? Where was the BBC’s supposed liberal bias when it was needed!
By the way has anyone checked out Gerry McGeough’s website? Man does he really have it in for feminists, liberals, freemasons (’clever’ code for Prods), homosexuals, and just about everyone else. A Hiberian editoral suggests that good Catholics should write “Jesus , Mary and Joseph” on the ballot paper! Beyond parody…
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 01:06 AMI wonder how many votes will be stolen in constituencies that are being ‘targeted’
vote early or run the risk of someone else voting for you
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 06:38 AMQuagmire, you’re an eejit.
You and the lads need to learn a bit of discretion and stop rushing in with the fulsome praise, ignoring the facts.
THere were a few of you in the audience last night too - clapping like over excited seals even as Gerry totally effed up.
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 07:00 AMI think Adams looked like he needed to stop and take a deep breath and count to ten, the way RJ will have briefed him to many times in the past.
It was significant too that he couldn’t field economic questions other than by saying, we have to go back and rethink the whole thing.
I agree that anyone looking for stable government would go for Durkan and Empey.In other elections, big debates have had decisive effects. Probably too much to hope for though.
David Ford must be fuming for being left out. And had the Alliance had a slot and fielded Naomi Long, she would have wiped the floor with them all.
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 08:22 AMJesus, the Schoolteachers Doctors and Landowners Party hacks are certainly out in force here.
Defo seen 1 Dup and 1 UUP planter loitering in the audience.
This isn’t a news item. For these programmes the makers approach all of the parties and ask them to nominate people to turn up on the show. These are mixed in with members of the public who phone in and ask to be on the show. Obviously they stand out like a sore thumb, ie the well-shaven suit-wearing DUPpers asking questions like “does the panel agree that Trimble is a traitor” and the chuckies with questions like “does the panel believe the PSNI are colluding with loyalists and should be disbanded”.
I was in the audience of a Northern Ireland edition of Question Time at one point about five years ago. Just before the show was about to start of the show a troop of about 20 spides aged between about 16-19 marched in and sat along the back row, along with one (much) older gentleman whose name escapes me but who I recognized as SF Gerry Kelly’s election agent in North Belfast. Martin McGuinness was on the panel, and every time he uttered a sentence, the crowd of spides broke into rupturous applause and yelling “gwan Marty” and all this other stupid spidey stuff that they think sounds cool. If I’d been McGuinness I’d have been embarrassed. It was like something out of my old days at the Kremlin, but of course if I spotted anyone not applauding I sent them off for coffee with Lavrenti.
Anyway, during that show there was a discussion about policing and McGuinness made some conciliatory remark about policing reform, something about republicans being ready to support a fully reformed and accountable service. The crowd of spides began to belt out their applause but then began to hesitate and chitter among themselves. I thought it was funny.
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 08:28 AMGerry Adams was fine and handled stupid questions with calm authority. He clarified that he was saying the guy was too young to obsess on the past but was shouted down by some of the unionists in the crowd.
It is a sign of his coolness that he re-visited the point and cleared it up when he got the chance.
I thought Mark Durkan was good too. He is a huge asset to the SDLP. On the water Charges I think it is obvious that they are being used by the British as a form of blackmail to get the institutions up and running.
Getting rid of them will be the great justification for the Assembly for years to come.
I can’t comment on the Unionist leaders because I missed them.
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 08:37 AMIf 24 year old Daithi McKay succeeds his North Antrim counterpart Philip McGuigan into the SF ministry of TRUTH, will he be
“TOO YOUNG SON ........TO BE OBSESSING ON THE PAST”
Adams’ worst tv performance ever
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 09:13 AM“I try to avoid irrational, faith based, belief systems. Unlike your good self, apparently. ”
Oh those who are quick to make assumptions..., and the wrong ones at that!
Because someone quotes a bible text, you assume he or she has an “irrational, faith based belief system”. That says much about you and why you sycophantically hang on to the apron strings of the bearded-wonder. Pathetic. It’s blinkered vision like that which has our country in the shit state it’s in.
Taking your post on face value and believing you not to be a Shinner troll, I have to say only the dimmest and dim-witted 18-24 year old would not be insulted by Gerry calling that them “son” and telling him was too young. I’d like to think that, in that situation,I would have replied with some witty retort calling him “Grandad”. Face it, what we saw on SPOTLIGHT was a rare glimpse at the real Gerry and not the sickening hyped-up grinning man on the posters. Gerry Adams - a man without integrity, heading a party without integrity.
So what if you wear grey suits and are that dull you’d make Ken Barlow sound interesting… Bring back the middle ground, all is forgiven!
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 09:27 AMHenry94,
I have to disagree. Adams usually puts in faultless performances (to my despair) but I have seen him put in a few bad ones recently with last night being the worst. In fact there have been a plethora of senior SF personnel putting in bad performances, Michelle Gildernew (if she doesn’t brush up she’ll be brushed out) Mitchell McLaughlin (he has already been brushed out in comparison with his standing even a few years ago).
Maybe it is a sign that they are no where near as comfortable with what they are saying these days...I wouldn’t blame them.
I would like to see the performance again because I thought after making the huge mistake of addressing the young man, DUPer or not, as “Listen son” I thought Adams was cut off at “you are too young to understand...” although I could be wrong. I also believe that Adams then tried to dress up his previous blip by saying that the guy was too young to be ‘dabbling’ in the past. I’m sure he doesn’t say the same to young republicans.
Bottom line is the SF supporters can dress it up any way you wish but it was a very poor performance from Adams. Everyone else knows it and your denials just make you lose credibility as it demonstrates your lack of honesty on anything Gerry A.
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 09:48 AMRed Mist
The Shinners belong at the arse end of Irish politics. They are an embarassement to theselves and to the cause of Irish Republicanism. They are a party without integrity because while they were excusing the murder of their fellow coutrymen (ie an act of treason!), other true Republicans were figuring out a way forward which would benifit all the people.
Bring back the brains.
Bring back the midle ground!Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 10:09 AMA very poor format - preprogrammed to produce what it did.
Adams - Awful losing the plot
Campbell - Awful how does anyone vote for him?
Empey - OK, but no charisma
Durkan - OK, improving all the time
Ford - Excellent, he wasn’t there?Recommendation - vote for none of the above - vote for National parties Greens or Conservatives.
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 10:12 AMRed Mist
We usually see things as we are rather than as they are but I have seen bad performances from Sinn Fein people on occasion and I wasn’t one bit worried about Adams last night.
Let’s face it there is a common ground now between reactionary unionism and reactionary nationalism. Both want the Agreement to fail and both share an obsessive hatred for the Gerry Adams.
But we will see from the election that what Adams is doing has the support of the people and that is what counts.
your lack of honesty on anything Gerry A.
Listen son, if you want to debate with me keep the insults out of it and address the points I make. You are entitled to your opinion and I am entitled to mine.
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 10:15 AM“Vote for the clever Muppet”
which muppet do you think Durkan is? he looks like Fozzie bear, but talks like nerdish Scooter
Other muppets-
Dr Bunsen Honeydew- Esmond birnie
Beaker-Gregory campbell
Sam the eagle- Paisley
Miss Piggy- Arlene Foster
Stadtler and Waldorf- Beggs senior and Ken maginnis
The great Gonzo- wee jeffreyPosted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 10:16 AMHenry94,
The listen son sure as hell didn’t work for Gerry and its much less likely to work for you....yawn.
Nice try.
Have to go vote for Sean Mitchell here.
Catch ya’s later folks.
Good luck at the polls Henry and remember its a straight race just put an X beside the one person of your choice ;-).
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 10:22 AMGerry Adams was woeful last night, I was in the audience and people were literally shocked at how patronising he was.
Durkan was kind of boring, Gregory was helped by his party hacked strategically placed in the audience breaking into “spontaneous” applause every 5 mins and Reg was a bit low key.
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 10:23 AMDepressed that I missed Gerry Adams’ single-handed demolition of the Cause of Irish freedom - must really have been quite a show. Jesus wept.
Frankly, you people need to take a long, hard look at yourselves. I know this is an internet forum and most people post principally for their own entertainment and to air prejudices and fly intellectual flags from behind a cordon sanitaire of anonimity. However, some of the comments above are frankly ludicrous.
We are all victims here, in many senses, as the PTSD demonstrated in this thread alone eloquently attests. Gerry Adams, having been shot in the chest and almost killed, having been interned without trial, and having lost numerous friends and relatives, has as much claim to victimhood as most. Despite that, he has led a revoluitonary movement away from violence, towards peace, democracy, government and power-sharing, acceptance of the colonial courts and the colonial militia. Frankly, what the hell more do you people want from him? Actually, don’t answer that; we all know what you’d like to see happen to Gerry Adams....
The DUP are not the spawn of the devil; they’re conservative, loyalist protestants who take a particular view of the Irish nationalist cause. They’re entitled to do so. SF are not lucifer incarnate. They are (or at least self-define as) a party in transition from an insurrectionist phase in a struggle for national self-determination to a phase of self-interested co-operation with the devolved colonial authority with a view to pursuing their own agenda. Again, there’s nothing morally or even politically wrong in this.
It horrifies me that the Alliance and other moderates are becoming increasingly shrill and nasty in their condemnation of the two largest parties. In doing so, they perpetuate the ogrish myths of the past, just when there may be some real prospect of rapprochement and inter-communityn dialogue. It’s sad, in that context, that those who seem to consider SF least fit for government and treat them with greatest venom are the very moderates who have spent 30 years slabbering about giving democracy a chance and respecting others’ opinions.
btw, Henry94; agree with you on Mark Durkan - without him, the SDLP is out on its feet. Gerry needs a holiday before the Southern elections. I think he’s exhausted, fed up and can’t be bothered listenting to crap anymore - not a good basis for dealing with the Southern media.
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 10:27 AMMCT
Gerry needs a holiday before the Southern elections.
Can you imagine?
“Adams off suning himself while important business is going on.”
“Adams in holiday home paid for by crime.”
There isn’t a doubt in my mind that the people who matter see all the attacks on Adams for what they are, act’s of desperation from the out-fought and the out-thought.
Red Mist
Don’t forget to transfer. You know, deep down, it makes sense.
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 10:37 AMMiddle-class taig,
You have stolen my thunder. I agree with your points.
But I would suggest that Gerry Adams would much now prefer to deal with the southern media at this stage than with the crowd in question.He was poor, no doubt, he fell for an old trick that any veteren of Queens Student Union politics would have been better prepared for.
I do however feel he spoke very well at Saturdays Ard Fheis, almost as good as CaoimhĂn Ă“ Caoláin!
On the plus side I think the ‘core vote’ wanted to see a bit of passion and the rest were also crap.
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 10:42 AM“It horrifies me that the Alliance and other moderates are becoming increasingly shrill and nasty in their condemnation of the two largest parties.”
I also take issue with the term “moderate”. There is scant evidence that the UUP is any more moderate than the DUP, when you get right down to the wire. There is no doubt that the DUP represents the Unionist centre these days anyway. Similarly, if SF are basically the SDLP these days, as we are repeatedly told, then they are far from extreme. There is an element of class in this, which I find somewhat distasteful.
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 10:42 AMRed Mist
‘Good luck at the polls Henry and remember its a straight race just put an X beside the one person of your choice ;-). ‘
Ah jaysus that did make me laugh. I’ve been told Mitchell hasn’t been afraid to get some of his posters up in some unionist areas round West Belfast....there are always some up there who would still see the likes of young Sean as fenian bit he will pick up a few alright from those parts.
Politocool:
‘Gregory Campbell: Why’s he always pissed off?’
Irritable Bowel possibly....Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 10:44 AMI won’t be giving any of the parties represented on the show any of my early preferences. My analysis:
Campbell: Very good actually. What he said will have appealed to his own support and encouraged them to back the DUP “strategy”, even though no one, not even the DUP, seems to know what that strategy is.
Empey: Far too dull. Appeared knowledgeable and honest, but bored the hell out of me. Can anyone remember anything he said?
Adams: An angry man. Under pressure - probably not because of the election, but perhaps with all the factions closing in on him. Designed to appeal to the harder-line SF support, much like the SF broadcast, I thought.
Durkan: Much like Empey, too convuluted but I can remember some of the things he said. Sadly, most of them seemed to involve “The SDLP was right all along”. The electorate doesn’t reward you for having been right 10-20 years ago though - otherwise Alliance would win with a landslide.
Ford: Ludicrous that he wasn’t invited. Alliance has been the clear winner of the media campaign with its clarity. But further challenges on where this ÂŁ1 billion is coming from and what Alliance could do in a future Assembly with institutionalised sectarianism would have made good TV.
Thought yer man Doran from the Greens challenged Empey quite effectively actually, moreso than Archibald from the Tories who kinda missed the point when challenging Durkan. Best question was from the young chap who nailed Empey on the old codgers for candidates!
Posted by on Mar 07, 2007 @ 10:50 AM