Slugger O'Toole supports the Northern Ireland Councillor Website project,

Find your local councillor on this postcode search:

Councillors of the week:

Colin McGrath
Roberta Dunlop
Clive McFarland
Domhnall Ó Cobhthaigh

Next or Previous

Next entry: Why Northern Ireland won't have a Abrahams-style scandal...

Previous entry: Kevin Myers in agallamh le Bheo..

Slugger Awards logo

18 Doughty
Street

Syndicate

RSS 1.0 RSS 2.0 Atom

Monday, December 03, 2007

Sinn Féin MLA resigns from party

Sinn Féin MLA for Fermanagh & South Tyrone, Gerry McHugh, has resigned from the party although from what I can gather he intends to remain in the Assembly as an independent MLA.  I’ll add his own statement on his reasons for resigning when available but, for now, here’s the party’s version of events from Sinn Féin Assembly Group Leader John O’Dowd. Adds From the Irish News [subs req]

“I have been increasingly disillusioned with the totally undemocratic nature of the party and the wholly top-down dictation within it,” Mr McHugh said.  “I feel the direction Sinn Féin is taking is more about appeasement of the British government and administrating British rule in Ireland rather than working towards the end of British occupation.  Assembly structures support this - at both committee and plenary level unionists have majority control.  What was agreed at St Andrews cannot be delivered without unionist approval.”

Update The Assembly biog of Gerry McHugh now notes his Independent status.

Also from the Irish News report

“In the new year I will hold a series of public meetings to give people the chance to discuss the issues which are a priority for them and I will be inviting like-minded people to join me,” he said.

“I want to assure the electorate that I will continue to work hard for them both nationally and locally.”

Mr McHugh said Sinn Féin’s decision to endorse policing in the north was a “factor” in his decision.

“I have no difficulties with the idea of civil policing but I have a difficulty with the excessive amounts of MI5 and military spooks operating in the six counties,” he said.

“The fact that the PSNI is being used by MI5 for political policing here should be a major concern for everybody here,” he said.

Mr McHugh said he could use his independent status to further republicanism.

“I think I can bring forward the political republican agenda and fellow republicans as an independent and not be constrained by difficulties we have in the assembly with parties trying to appease each other, he said.

Pete Baker @ 11:07 AM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 2 of 8 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »
  1. SF appear to suffering from self-inflicted wounds; one thing to remember is no-one is doing this to them, except themselves.

More transparency from Gerry and the Party could in theory get all the republicans back on board; unfortunately its all recrimination at the moment.
    Competing about who is the most “Republican”

Never heard such a wide use of the term “vipers”; its almost biblical in its hysteria.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 01:20 PM
  2. “Sinn Fein undemocratic??? Such nonsense.
    It’s not as if their military wing has murdered political opponents or dissident members. It’s not as if their support for Castro or the Farc mean anything. It’s not as if they see themselves as the rightful govt of Ireland no matter what anyone else thinks.”

no crisis they were the only party standing up for a nationalist community in the black north. no other party north or free state did jack for the people as sinn fein did. the sdlp just said please and thank you to the “so-called” ruling classes. the nationalists were beaten and spat at and told they were nothing, so they took the gloves off.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 01:22 PM
  3. Kensei

All of these things were clear - including policing - before McHugh put himself forward for election as an SF candidate this year.

Read McHugh’s quote again:

“I have no difficulties with the idea of civil policing but I have a difficulty with the excessive amounts of MI5 and military spooks operating in the six counties...Te fact that the PSNI is being used by MI5 for political policing here should be a major concern for everybody here”

Indeed.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 01:24 PM
  4. Parci-

I think the fact that the Quinn Support Group is calling for people to contact the police (on either side of the border) proves that they are not being used by ex-provo elements (as some detractors would claim), but are an umbrella group composed of a wide range of people of various political persuasions and none whose sole goal is justice (the legal variety, as opposed to that oxymoronic type dished out by paramilitaries).

The Quinn family want the killers of Paul put behind bars. Only those who subscribe to that goal would be permitted to assist them.

To be honest, my experience is that a lot of disaffected (as opposed to dissident) republicans aren’t actually bothered much by policing per se, but are more irritated by SF’s willingness to u-turn on cue and clampdown on those who actually think for themselves, often abandoning those who stuck with them through thick and thin in favour of newly arrived apparatchiks who parrot the leadership perfectly and unquestioningly.

Posted by El Matador on Dec 03, 2007 @ 01:24 PM
  5. Just read this on Gaskin’s blog. Fair play to Gerry for standing on principle when he knows full well he can expect similar bile directed at himself.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 01:25 PM
  6. truth,hurts

“kensei, you really seem to be missing the point all these sinn fein members and elected reps that have left can’t all be dishonest, sinn fein are the masters of spin and no doubt the Sinn Fein Leadership have already started the character assassination of Gerry McHugh, im sure that during the week we will hear more details.”

If they are elected on a platform, and they then resign to pursue another agenda without gaining a new mandate, then they are dishonest. Every single one. If I vote for something, I expect to get what I paid for.

Dec

The role of MI5 was also clearly laid out in the St Andrews Agreement. All issues were known before the election.

I also fail to see what exactly could be done to stop that while the Union remains intact.

I do wonder why FF are hanging about while SF have so many issues at the moment though. The SDLP seem incapable of taking any kind of advantage, so all they are doing is giving them time to right themselves.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 01:52 PM
  7. Sammy

“You really think he did this for the pay rise?”

I’ve no opinion either way but I was just correcting your assertion that he has nothing to gain personally. Obviously he has…

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 01:54 PM
  8. Anyone who knows Gerry will know that this is not a decision that he took lightly. His contribution to the movement over the years has been immense (even during the dark years) and his departure will be greatly felt by Sinn Fein in the Fermanagh /South Tyrone constituency and indeed beyond.  Gerry is a popular and able politician, he exemplifies the type of person Sinn Fein should be trying to recruit and more importantly retain. What always saddens me is that when honourable people like Gerry decide to leave the movement, they are not allowed to depart with the grace and dignity owing to them having contributed so much, for so long to the cause of the republic that all republican work towards. I really couldn’t give a fiddlers F**k what any of the naysayer’s and anti-republicans say about Gerry but John O’Dowds “personal “ comments and indeed comment like yours Kensei leave a bitter taste in my mouth. Many republicans adopted a suck it and see approach to the policing issue, respecting the paramount position of unity and cohesion. Many have been disappointed at how the situation has unfolded since then and not just in relation to policing. In my honest opinion the leadership blatantly lied to the membership of Sinn Fein during the policing debate. That is now all too apparent for the membership, however, the old tried and trusted line of “what’s your alternative?” is being thrown about at any dissenting voice. The reality being that there is no alternative because we were too weak to negotiate a better deal and hence we have got SAA mark2. The outworking of the new political realities associated with what Conor Murphy referred to as the “transition management” for the army has left very little room for dissent and debate within Sinn Fein. Many seasoned activists, see no part left for them to play. If they leave, let them go with the respect and dignity they deserve! please do not slander them or assassinate their characters, Gerry was a good solid republican on Friday, he is today and he will be tomorrow, I wish him well in his future however I do think he should resign his seat as he was elected on a SF ticket and took a pledge to resign if asked.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 01:54 PM
  9. ‘’no other party north or free state did jack for the people as sinn fein did.’’

You’re right there Frames DC. Sinn Fein’s armed wing are credited with murdering 447 Roman Catholics over the course of the troubles.

By 2007, their combined armed and electoral campaign has produced:

SF members administering British rule in Stormont.
    Unilateral decommissioning.
    A derisory 6.9% of the ROI vote in a supposed ‘breakthrough’ election.
    The scrapping of Articles 2 and 3.
    Partition by consent to continue indefinitely.
    Official acceptance of the Northern Ireland police force.
    Increased MI5 presence in Northern Ireland.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 01:56 PM
  10. The role of MI5 was also clearly laid out in the St Andrews Agreement. All issues were known before the election.

I really doubt that as this thread (and others) amply demonstrate. Perhaps John O’Dowd, or anyone from SF, can enlighten us as to what happened to the devolution of policing and justice to the Assembly? Any dates yet?

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:01 PM
  11. hey crisis
    check out the word indefinatly....mean unknown space of time. thats fair enough what your saying, but if you check my earlier messages, you will see that i no longer support sinn feins politics, as i believe that it was a sell out to all the nationalist and republican people of the occupied six counties. in the agreement they agreed to be a part of (a word i detest saying) northern ireland government in the pursuit of a 32 county republic.

so crisis get your facts correct!!

[play the ball - edited moderator]

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:02 PM
  12. Pack it in frames dc. We don’t need a flame war on such a sensitive topic!

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:05 PM
  13. and further more crisis, the term is catholic, not roman catholic.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:06 PM
  14. i do apologise mick.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:07 PM
  15. El mat I completely agree with you, on this one.
    Its nonsense to suggest that those who want an end to the murder machine, are in any sense anti-republican.
    Wonder what Gerry McHugh makes of that SF spin.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:08 PM
  16. saveus

I have no problem with Gerry exiting SF. I don’t know him, will not make any personal attacks. I do have big problems with him not resigning his seat. It’s dishonest, and he loses any respect due. He might well have tried to “suck it and see” but if he found he didn’t like the taste then he should not be pursuing a new mandate. There is no way off this hook.

Second, “What is your alternative?” is the only question that matters. I will happily ditch SF at the first sight of a party that will better able to get me a United Ireland. As yet, no one has answered that question, which is why it still gets asked.

The answer might be “basically what SF has done but more open and democratic”. That’s a fine answer. Start a party and demonstrate it. The sum total of what has been done as of now, however, is absolutely squat.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:14 PM
  17. My sister-in-law was brutally murdered a few years ago.  The local police commander, ably supported by the backroom boys, carried out a meticulous, utterly professional investigation leading to the arrest, trial and incarceration of the perpetrator.
    The Quinn family deserve no less.
    A fire needs to be lit under the PSNI and Gardai.  The Chief Constable and the Gardai Commissioner need to be told that the jobs of everyone from the district commanders up to themselves are on the line if this crime is not solved.
    I know from my family experience that there are men and women capable of solving it.
    I am a regular Slugger poster but I’m using a false name here to protect my extended family privacy.
    There is another regular Slugger poster who can vouch for my good faith.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:16 PM
  18. to we remember. here! here!

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:18 PM
  19. ‘and further more crisis, the term is catholic, not roman catholic.’

Frames DC if that’s the biggest hole you can pick in my post I don’t think any further response is necessary.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:18 PM
  20. “should be pursuing a new mandate”, rather

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:22 PM
  21. crisis, im having to keep my words in check, but if you would cast your peepers over the first message i sent you, you will see several holes i have found.

in the words of a old wise priest “fecking eejit!”

is that allowed mick?

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:22 PM
  22. Civility is best at all times. That doesn’t mean mannerliness, but if you find your self drifting even into vicarious insults, you are probably missing the point.

And the point is to make the best case you can!

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:27 PM
  23. hey mick, sorry im a first time user. i will keep me temper in check in future mate. ta bron orm.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:30 PM
  24. Ken,

Remember this — that somewhere and somehow, and by somebody, a beginning must be made.

Alternatives take time and effort but a start has been made.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:34 PM
  25. Frames I’ve read your 2.02pm post again. Apart from spelling the word ‘indefinitely’ incorrectly, I fail to grasp any significance.

I never suggested that you are a current supporter of SF—I was merely taling issue with your contention that they somehow helped the nationalist cause.

Please explain how any of the points I made regarding SF were incorrect.

Posted by  on Dec 03, 2007 @ 02:35 PM
  26. Page 2 of 8 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland, the Republic and Britain.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy