Tuesday, June 16, 2009
Purge of ‘The Foreigners’ continues unabated in South Belfast
BBC Newsline is reporting tonight that more than 100 Romanians have fled their homes in south Belfast following yet another series of racist attacks in the area (earlier attacks were reported here and here on Slugger.) One family home had been attacked five times in the past eight months and twice in the previous 24 hours. A public rally organised last night, in the aftermath of a number of attacks on homes occupied by Romanians, was attacked by a gang of local youths chanting racist slogans. Update: The 115 Romanians have been put up for the night in a church in the city, with a five-day old child amongst their number.
Chris Donnelly @ 07:01 PM
Please take this pious crap and fuck off.
Look how the Alliance party deal with social problems.
Please go ‘fuck off ’ yourself fuckwit.
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 08:27 AMIn case some people are uncertain about the chronology of the events, the Romanian families that vacated Wellesley Ave last night were a combination of other families that had been put out of Belgravia Ave and Wellington Park in the preceding days.
Despite the insistence of police that they would maintain a permanent presence in and around Wellesley if anyone wished to remain in the house, together with a number of anti-racist activists who said they would maintain an all-night vigil if need be, the Romanians obviously came to the conclusion that the situation was too unsafe for their families and that the police could not protect them.
This is a damning indictment of us all. In an area that’s not even loyalist - the Village is still a hike from here - the police have failed miserably to protect and serve, despite warnings that attacks were imminent.
They gave the excuse last time that a football match was the catalyst for the eviction of eastern European families from the Village, who did Northern Ireland play this time?
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 08:28 AM‘A couple of idiot kids with bricks and too much spare time on their hands does not make a Racist attack.’
If they were attacked because their telly was up too loud, thats not racist, if they were attacked because of their ethnic origin…you join the dots !
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 08:38 AMSo it’s “sub-human scum” that is responsible? Well that’s a very healthy approach, can’t think how applying such labels to people could ever lead to any concerns.
As to the response of the police; over many years any robust police action was condemned as “heavy-handed”, think recent disturbances in Lurgan and Castlemara Carrickfergus as examples, as a result the police developed the standard operating procedure of doing little other than talking with ‘community representatives’ in order to ‘calm the situation’.
This is of course simply code for dealing with those who actually control areas, both loyalist and republican, and asking pretty-please call off your dogs for a wee while.
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 09:22 AMThe whole ‘not in my street’ opinion is telling. This is the litmus test for where you stand on the whole issue. If you are unhappy with the idea of a certain group living beside you, then you are obviously buying into general conceptions about that group. Therefore, you can reasonably be accused of racism: pre-conceived and ill-informed notions of a particular ethnic group.
Personally, I don’t care who lives beside me, as long as they don’t throw bricks through the window.Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 09:33 AM@villager
Roma is not synonymous with Romanian and has nothing to do with Irish travellers.
The people in question are Roma. No harm to them for that but that’s what they are. Genetic investigation has shown that the Roma originated from India, most likely from Rajasthan, possibly as refugees from the Muslim conquest of that area, culturally they then became travellers in Europe, though they now also have a fair bit of European descent in the same way that European Jews have. Unlike the Jews however anyone with two eyes in their head can tell the difference between the majority Romanians (such as the Cheeky Girls) and Roma, Roma being darker skinned than most Arabs.
They were traditionally travellers, though the commies tried to assimilate them by housing them in housing blocks. As to whether they have “nothing to do with Irish travellers”, not directly no, but they have traditionally been travellers.
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 09:42 AMIf what Ms Wiz says is true were all 115 Roma Gypsies all living in only 3 streets….how did that come about? Surely common sense wouldn’t allow for that from those is charge of allocation for obvious reasons?
P.S. Ms Wiz the trouble “last time” was instigated not by a football match or by either of the competing teams but by Polish hooligans travelling up via Dublin for the express purpose of starting trouble using the football as a cover - a small but crucial difference - but then you already know that I think….Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 09:43 AMRacism: pre-conceived and ill-informed notions of a particular ethnic group.
Right on, you could work for the BBC.
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 09:46 AMOh what a load of rubbish, as usual, talked by people on Slugger. While youse are having your wee debate about who said what to whom, or about how many people were or weren’t on the demo, or whether you’re sub-human or i’m thick racist scum, or whether the socialist party ‘claims’ to represent communities, is anybody actually doing anything to help protect these people? are any of you lot trying to get a bit more well-informed before you sit at your keyboards typing crap? do any of you actually have an opinion worth listening to?
thought not. carry on point-scoring, losers. the rest of us will try and do something about it.
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 09:50 AMHEY GUYS. These are GYPSIES,not Romanians.
Romanian people are white latin people,like French. We do work,we pay taxes and we go home after we earn money. But these are gypsies,they are dark skinned ,they come from India,and what they do is to begg,make crimes and steal.Thats they do in Romania too. PLEASE MAKE THE DIFFERENCE BETWEN ETHNIC ROMANIANS AND GYPSIES.Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 09:53 AMDamn right, and you could work for the BNP
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 09:54 AMThis was obviously racist as the youths were chanting nazi slogans and surely we all agree bricking the house of anyone is wrong and that those who have carried out these attacks should go to jail?
I’ve been reading all the comments above and surely worries about big issue sellers, immigration, social housing, crime, jobs and paramilitaries should all be tackled at the same time when addressing this issue? They all matter.
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 09:56 AM‘the youths were chanting nazi slogans’
I think you will find that it was the socialists who chanted ‘nazi’ at the youth who in turn threw bottles at the protest.
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 10:03 AMThe nazi’s of South Belfast must be the lowest form of human on the planet. Is there any redeeming feature of loyalism. Even the British must look at them with disdain.
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 10:03 AMSo who’s to blame for this spate of attacks.
I know the “blame game” as well as the “we are better than you” syndrome is a favourite pastime among folk in NI, so who do we point the finger at. The Loyalists seem to be the culprits most of the time.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2006/may/30/race.northernireland
“These thugs have been shouting that they are Combat 18 and they dropped a letter containing text from Hitler’s Mein Kampf through the letterbox of one of the properties.”I couldn’t see Nationalists chanting the above slogans…..what do ye reckon Driftwood?
BTW, just to recap you said -
“Disgusting, there appear to be thugs at work here whose political philosophy is ‘ourselves’, or ‘ourselves alone’. All this ‘Poles Out’, ‘Brits Out’,etc bigotry needs to be condemned and the PSNI given Army back up if necessary to stop these bigots.”Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 10:03 AMLets get one thing clear, most of these gypsies contribute nothing to our society, are here illegally and are a drain on our resources.
I`m sick of being harrassed and harunged by big issue, tele sellers and car washes….
They are not welcome here and I for one won`t condone the action taken against them…
The middle class idiotd here wouldn`t in a million years allow 120 gypsies to move into their areas…
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 10:06 AMFrom this incident and the sectarian murder in Coleraine etc etc it looks like the PSNI are scared shitless of confronting the loyalists. Loyalist paramilitaries basically treat the PSNI like a dog on a leash. Every now and again when they’re not happy with what the PSNI are doing they yoke the choke chain. When will these armed murder gangs be confronted and their weapons seized and members imprisoned for their crimes
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 10:08 AMRegardless of who started the trouble at the NI/Poland game, the fact is people were intimidated out of their homes in the aftermath. The police declared that it was visiting Poles who instigated the trouble yet that didn’t stop the mini-pogrom in and around the Village.
Or are all immigrant communities in Belfast to be held to ransom on the good behaviour of their supporters should their team ever come to town?Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 10:09 AMFrom this incident and the sectarian murder in Coleraine etc etc it looks like the PSNI are scared shitless of confronting the loyalists. Loyalist paramilitaries basically treat the PSNI like a dog on a leash. Every now and again when they’re not happy with what the PSNI are doing they yoke the choke chain. When will these armed murder gangs be confronted and their weapons seized and members imprisoned for their crimes
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 10:10 AM@ Bad Eddie
Racism does not have to be pre-conceived and ill-informed, your definition is bullshit.
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 10:12 AMWest Belfast
It would seem to be that you are the idiot
They are not welcome here and I for one won`t condone the action taken against them…
You say you won’t agree with the action taken against them where I thinbk you meant to say
They are not welcome here and I for one won`t CONDEM the action taken against them…
But why let word play interfere with your obvious undeserved superiority complex
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 10:15 AMPaul I think you meant CONDEMN, a pretty pishy little post anyway, calling people idiots/scum, etc and picking out minor mistakes in postings as if it invalidates a point of view isn’t much good.
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 10:20 AMCan I just say that West Belfast does not reflect my views on this thread. Not that anyone cares!
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 10:25 AMWhat I`m posting is my belief and more importantly a lot more people both Catholic and Protestant fell the same…
As to that demo, as I drove past the 15 socialist layabouts I noticed a prominent socialist person from Turf lodge….now why was he there?
Funny the same person under no condition try and do the same thing in west belfast!
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 10:26 AMMcguinness is condemning the attacks. At least he was decent enough to do that.
Posted by on Jun 17, 2009 @ 10:29 AM