Sunday, October 21, 2007
PSNI and Gardaí co-operating on murder investigation
In response to the attempted headline-grabbing proposal from Ian Paisley Jnr, on filling in the gaps left by not fully implementing Schengen, the Republic of Ireland’s Justice Minister Brian Lenihan stated that those gaps were “not a barrier to effective cooperation between the PSNI and the gardai.” That co-operation will be tested in the murder investigation currently underway after a 21-year-old man was reportedly lured across the border from Cullyhanna in south Armagh to a farm at Oram in County Monaghan where a gang of up to 15 men beat him to death with iron bars in an outhouse. RTÉ reports that the murder investigation is also looking at fuel-laundering, and the BBC reports that the victim’s family are blaming members of the Provisional IRA. The UTV report ends on this note
Adds The NI Regional Development minister, Sinn Féin’s Conor Murphy, is quoted in this report - “I do not believe that there is any republican involvement in this murder.”Gardaí in Monaghan have said that they are keeping an open mind regarding paramilitary involvement.
From the BBC report
The Cullyhanna man’s family say he was recently involved in a dispute with individual members of the IRA.
A short time later he was told to leave the country.
“Our son courageously and correctly refused to leave,” read a statement from the Quinn family.
“We believe that he was abducted by the Provisional movement and brutally beaten to death.”
Pete Baker @ 02:28 PM
I dont think they have gone away you know. My thoughts are with the family of the deceased. I hope the IRA had nothing to do with this. If some members were involved. Dismiss them, court marshal them I dont care. Hand them over to the GardaÃ. The question must be asked of the Sinn Fein leadership.... Is it time they did go away?
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 02:57 PMThe IRA has not, and will not go away, it never has and never will, I expect the First and Deputy First Minister will release a joint statement about the common criminals involved in this brutal murder, will anyone have the balls to acknowledge the truth about the IRA’s involvement, I don’t think so, it will only upset the money and power cart at Stormont.
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 04:35 PMLeopards...spots…
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 04:44 PMI love the way SF come out immediately and state that republicans can;t possibly be involved! Reminds me of Maskey and the McCartney murder…
Condolences to the family. Let’s hope justice is done.
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 04:49 PMWhat is the definition of a ‘republican’ anyway?
It obviously seems to depend on the context.
It’s grim news, it sounds like it was a horrible death.
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 05:22 PMIf you look back at the “bad old days “ the IRA would take suspected informers from the south, just into the north of Ireland and kill them, as not to bring pressure from the Irish Government, now that Sinn Fein are in Government in Britain they take their victims just south of the border, so it can’t cause their partners in Government any problem. Remember, it happened in another country !
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 05:27 PMis this what gerry adams meant about teaching people “manners”.
the “boys” are now acting as enforcers in the south armagh community to ensure no upsets their hegamony.
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 05:36 PMSurely there can’t be that many 15 man gangs operating with impunity in the area.
My condolences to the family.
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 05:49 PMWhat do they expect Conor Murphy to say? Surely not something like “This young man was murdered by organized criminals with inseparable links to the IRA”. That would be ridiculous!
Or how about, “This wasn’t the IRA, it was one of the many other non republican fuel laundering gangs in south Armagh...”.
Standard white-wash crap from Sinn Fein, much to be expected.
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 05:51 PMCould those above let us in on the information they have that the media and garda don’t. Cheers.
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 05:56 PMI note that most of the experts above were curiously absent from the Thomas evlin murder thread.
I love the way SF come out immediately and state that republicans can;t possibly be involved!
Just as we all love the way ‘contributors’, that no-one’s ever heard of, emerge from under their respective bridges as soon as a thread mentions the IRA.
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 06:06 PMI know Dec, I know - what is about the poor old IRA that has gotten them such a bad name? Oh wait.
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 06:13 PMLets keep it cool until the facts emerge.
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 06:22 PMConor’s words are “I do not believe that there is any republican involvement in this murder” - he may have chosen his words carefully and decided not to say “I do not believe that there is anyone connected to the republican movement involved in this murder”
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 06:35 PMI agree Frank. Some people above seem to have information that should be handed over to the authorities immediately.
My condolences to the family too and I hope they get justice.
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 06:43 PMAny news on the other two men reported to have been seriously injured?
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 06:48 PMThis enemy of the peace process was clearly killed by securocrats, themselves enemies of the peace process.
Joking aside, how the HELL could Murphy say with confidence at this early stage that republicans weren’t involved?!
This is another potential Robert McCartney moment.
The response of the DUP will be fascinating. When UUP formed a government with SF, the DUP treated any minor incident with any possible PIRA involvement as an excuse to call for collapse of the executive.Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 07:39 PMI suppose Conor Murphy had a word with the IRA and they told him that they were not involved. Id believe the IRA leadership before Id beleive the Gardaà or PSNI or media. But somehow I sense (and this is without any evidence at all) that it was carried out by IRA members or associates. If so they gotta be turfed out of the organisation. as far as those arrested in connection with Young Devlin’s murder..well I think the PSNI are clutching at straws and all will be released in this propaganda excercise.
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 07:53 PMRitchie stood up to the UDA, who in Stormont is going to stand up to the IRA?
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 08:01 PMTerrible event and condolences to the family. From Cullyhanna - that’s horribly significant also. Please God nip this in the bud now.
I must admit I find the whole Ritchie / UDA thing terribly depressing also. Pretty bad week all round. And Potts lecturing the GAA on reaching out. Just a combination of brutality /surrealism and bare faced hypocrisy. Again terrible week.Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 08:02 PM‘Had a word with the IRA’. Love it.
And maintaining the fiction that he has to have a word with an organisation he definitely isn’t in, what if the IRA is lying to him?Or do you really think that if they actually put their hands up and said ‘aye Conor, our lads did this, not ordered, like, but there you go, the boys will be boys’ he’d have put out a statement saying that?
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 08:20 PMis it not near time he had a word with the ira& told them to feck off and give people peace.would you buy a used car from conor murphy?
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 08:27 PMClaiming that this was done ‘without sanction’ so therefore ‘not by the IRA’ is as pathetic as claiming the killing of Peter McBride wasn’t carried out by the British army because the GOC at the time - or their commanding officer - didn’t directly order it.
If IRA members did it, the IRA did it.Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 08:39 PMi guess what you’re asking -Veritas- is if Id trust Conor murphy? He’s a politician so the answer is NO. Is he a member of the IRA -Ha Ha-? I dont know. What I would question is if the IRA are militarilly inactive and the war is effectively over then why do they need to continue to exist. There was a time they did not exist -What armed conflict?- then the people needed them. Now they are not needed in the form that they are so the really have to go away…
I hope the truth of this sordid killing comes ut quick before people make up thire minds on hearsay alone.Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 08:46 PMSo here we have what our “peace process” has brought us. Yes a reduction in violence but a society where a murder has occurred of a young man; according to his family, ordered by an illegal organisation to leave Northern Ireland and then murdered because he did not do so. Two other men violently assaulted. And despite this we will undoubtedly have a situation whereby the criminals will have little chance of being brought to justice and an organisation inextricably linked with them in government. I await with interest to see if the DUP will pull out of government over this. I doubt they will since the DUP deputy leader is more worried about Margaret Ritchie than he is about stopping money to drug dealing pimps and terrorists. Whilst at the same time it seems impossible that another set of the alphabet soup of loyalist criminals will be held to account for murdering a boy because he was a catholic.
But it is of course most important that we do not upset the apple cart because then we might slip back into violence? Slip back? It does not seem that much “slipping” is needed.
This peace process is a truly Faustian pact.
Dewi, do you wonder that I told you that violence will start again soon. It looks as if 10-20 years was way too optimistic.
Posted by on Oct 21, 2007 @ 08:49 PM