Wednesday, June 04, 2008

Postscript on the election ‘speculation’...

PS: With a deal in the bag, the election talk is now being officially denied by Sinn Fein. Yet, there was an awful lot of unattributable material appearing from somewhere yesterday at Stormont, at precisely the same time as Gerry Adams’ highly talented PR was talking to any journalist who moved. The thing about plausible deniability is that it has to be plausible to work.

Mick Fealty @ 04:42 PM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 2 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »
  1. But Mark the issues are back on the table. Read the statement. Robbo was afraid to call the ‘bluff’.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:02 PM
  2. john o’connell .

I’m interested in republican responses particularly as they are the most distant from Christ and many of whom think that Christ was an asshole. Well, isn’t it true? ‘

Not at all .  You’re the asshole. Now go get a sandwich board and run back and forwards across the airport motorway. Remember red means go , green means stop and orange means slow down while crossing ! Good luck now and we hope not to see or hear from you soon :)

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:08 PM
  3. Billy, the issues were ALWAYS there .P+J will happen as soon as the army council goes away. ILA wont happen at all, but you`ll get something , probaly for beefing up academic selection.

Then you`ll have to give on parades as well, wonder what else Peter is going to pocket!

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:09 PM
  4. I think John might be on to something.

There are 4 SF ministers and one Party President.
    1 + 4 = 14. Since there are (were?) two separate factions in the Provisional movement, 14 / 2 gives 7. See; something beginning to smell suspicious.

And there are 4 ministers and also 4 Horsemen of the Apocalypse.
    Evidence mounting.

Gerry Adams’ initials can also stand for Godless Antichrist.

As if that isn’t enough, if you add 7 letters to Martin and subtract 7 letters ffom McGuiness, you get T.F. which might stand for Terrible Fecker (substitute u for e if you wish).

So folks, don’t mock John.

I’ll do some more investigation and keep everyone informed.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:10 PM
  5. The Guardian was right to ignore this pathetic storm in a teacup. SF has too much to lose to upset what is now the statis quo, but obviously felt the need to have some kind of token tantrum to mark the handover of power within the DUP, just in case we thought they were getting too chummy. And of course the issues chosen were the ones where they need to play to their gallery, yawn. But it’s what politicians do, folks.

Posted by Jenny on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:10 PM
  6. The DUP won again. SF jumped through the hoop. robinson with become FM in return for nothing on the table in advance.

Mark

Did you seriously expect the transfer of P&J;and the ILA implemented at midnight tonight? It’s way too early to tell the outcome of all this but the lack of DUP crowing, apart from the usual retards here, is telling.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:11 PM
  7. Kudos to the Shinners for an excellent piece of politicking. The DUP have obviously agreed to the implementation of the ILA, the Long-kesh project, the devolution of P&J;or all of the above. Just goes to show how frightened the DUP actually are of an election otherwise they would have called SF’s bluff and went for the election. Instead what we had today was Jeffrey Donaldson on the morning Nolan show literally begging SF not to pull the plug but to rather instead negotiate with himself and the rest of the DUP. He was practically in tears. The veto, or more importantly the threat of the veto, so often exclaimed by the DUP is gone my friends. Good luck First Minister explaining an Acht na Gaelige to your grass roots. This should be good!

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:12 PM
  8. Billy,

The issues were always there. There is no commitment to resolve them to SF’s satisfaction just a commitment to talk about them on Friday.

I was wondering how it would be spun. Seems the answer is very poorly.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:13 PM
  9. he DUP won again. SF jumped through the hoop. robinson with become FM in return for nothing on the table in advance.

Mark

Did you seriously expect the transfer of P&J;and the ILA implemented at midnight tonight? It’s way too early to tell the outcome of all this but the lack of DUP crowing, apart from the usual retards here, is telling.
    Posted by Dec on Jun 04, 2008 @ 10:11 PM

Lets see whos crowing after they`ve all talked to uncle gordon

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:13 PM
  10. joecanuck

1 + 4 = 14.

Perhaps in Toronto .

The nuns bate it into me that 1+ 4 =5 .

Do ye think they were heretical in the mathematical arts ?

I think you got the hang re division but then being an NI person that would be an inherited trait or second nature :)

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:17 PM
  11. That’s optics Billy. These things were never off the table. I’ve argued elsewhere that this gets SF of the SAA/AF hook. That’s a win. But it’s not a loss for the DUP either. Yep, a cheap Scarva stunt written right through it.

What has that to do with the misbreifing of the media? Not a lot, but when in Rome…

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:18 PM
  12. Quagmire and Billy

do you actually believe what you are told to post?

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:18 PM
  13. Observer

They weren’t on the table as Robbo has been running scared since the Dromore election. As for the Army Council that you seem to be stuck on – you can have it. The Army Council is in place to run campaigns. When there is no armed campaign the Army Council has no role and can be stood down. However another Army Council can be established at any time by the Army Executive which can oversee the maintenance of the organisation in the meantime. So it looks like you and the DUPers are looking to trade a meaningless body for the control of state policing and justice. Good move.
    The ILA is back on the table despite the DUP saying it would never happen. That’s a u-turn.
    Regarding parades. It’s not within SF’s gift to deliver the Garvaghy and Ormeau, so that ones a non-starter I’m afraid.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:20 PM
  14. The ways of mystical addition are open only to the initiated, Greenflag.
    E-Mail John and he will explain further.

Love your last sentence.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:21 PM
  15. Media and spin has a lot to do with it. We are seeing a hustle. SF sold victories on all the issues being raised here 18months ago, that was shown to be untrue. Now we see party loyalists trying to sell the same victories again with not the slightest hint of proof. Snake oil springs to mind.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:23 PM
  16. The ILA is back on the table despite the DUP saying it would never happen. That’s a u-turn.
    Regarding parades. It’s not within SF’s gift to deliver the Garvaghy and Ormeau, so that ones a non-starter I’m afraid.
    Posted by Billy on Jun 04, 2008 @ 10:20 PM

Billy, there will be no ILA, no unionist is going to vote for it, live with it. Parades will be sorted believe me and if the army councils not such a biggie then stand it down

Gerry has just opened a new can of worms for himself.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:26 PM
  17. Sorry Mick, I just thought I would join in.  Regarding the misbriefing of the media. Well they should learn to be more sceptical when getting an off the record briefing. The DUP got a shot across the bows with a lesson in mutual vetoes and a vision of an end to the Stormont gravy train. If that concentrates minds a little more, then job done.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:28 PM
  18. Mark, why don’t you just try to respond to the posts without the insinuating insults? I’m sure you are capable of intelligent debate without descending to the level of other morons on here. For the record, I’m not a SF member.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:32 PM
  19. “Billy, there will be no ILA, no unionist is going to vote for it, live with it. Parades will be sorted believe me and if the army councils not such a biggie then stand it down”

As I said, Robbo and the DUP have just received a hard lesson in the mutual veto. He may have another few jobs to keep him in ties but the rest of the herd depend on their Stormont jobs to pay the bills, mortgage, sons and daughters wages, their mortgage etc… you get the point.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:36 PM
  20. Billy

all this episode has demonstrated is the total inability of Sinn Fein to deliver on their agenda with only the nuclear option left to them. If that puts the focus on what is the reality of St Andrews then job done. Well done Marty.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:37 PM
  21. That’s the nearest to the topic I’ve seen yet, though I think Jenny’s close to it too.

What SF said yesterday off record; today is down the ‘feverish imaginations’ of journalists? That’s a flagrant a snake oil line as you are likely to met.

Many politicians get away with it for a long time. New Labour’s split camp did it for ten years, but Gordon got caught out when his acolytes blatantly spun ‘impending audacious act’ and then ran from the field of battle.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:37 PM
  22. Billy (I really must go to bed soon):

“The DUP got a shot across the bows with a lesson in mutual vetoes and a vision of an end to the Stormont gravy train.”

That didn’t happen, remember?

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:40 PM
  23. Bottom line is there will be an ILA and there will be devolution of P&J;. A return to direct/joint rule is not conducive nor wanted by Unionism as issues would be resolved over its head and not necessarily in its favour hence the enthusiasm in making the institutions work. Unfortunately for Unionism however, this is not the Stormont of old and in order to make it work it needs the consent of nationalism and to deal in the politics of compromise. The DUP and unionism in general need to recognise and understand that some 40%-50% of “our wee country” is, just like the majority of this Island, of the nationalist persuasion and will not tolerate being ignored or marginalised. Those days are gone my friends!

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:42 PM
  24. It’s probably worth reminding some that what the Sinn Féin leadership promised their party members and activists, in order to get into the administration through signing up to policing, was that they had commitments from the British Government and, alternatively, the DUP to devolve policing and justice powers by May 2008

And now, after the threats and posturing, we have open-ended talks about that issue - which, for the last week, Peter Robinson has been pointing out was already open for discussion.

But now several other issues are tied into that same discussion.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:42 PM
  25. he DUP and unionism in general need to recognise and understand that some 40%-50% of “our wee country” is, just like the majority of this Island, of the nationalist persuasion and will not tolerate being ignored or marginalised. Those days are gone my friends!
    Posted by Quagmire on Jun 04, 2008 @ 10:42 PM

Its probaly remembering that over 50% of our wee country wont touch an ILA, it aint going to happen. Get used to it.

Next time have the balls to do what you say instead of running to Gordon

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 04, 2008 @ 08:44 PM
  26. Page 2 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland, the Republic and Britain.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy