Thursday, November 16, 2006
Open thread…
There’ve been a number of issues that perhaps our stories did not give people a chance to cover in the last week or two. Now’s your chance. But remember: civil engagement rules!
Mick Fealty @ 01:57 PM
I’d like to take this kind opportunity to point out the severe Gardai beatings meted out to peaceful Shell to Sea protestors last Friday.
For more information people can vist http://www.corribsos.com/ this site contains pictures and information abou the protest up till now.Posted by on Nov 16, 2006 @ 02:23 PM‘I’d like to take this kind opportunity to point out the severe Gardai beatings meted out to peaceful Shell to Sea protestors last Friday.’
I’d like to point out they weren’t half severe enough.
Posted by on Nov 16, 2006 @ 04:45 PMMy sister is coming over to Belfast for New Years Eve. I don’t really know where would be good to take her and her partner in Belfast, as I have mostly been to house-parties in past years. Any suggestions? - we are all in our mid-30s.
Posted by on Nov 16, 2006 @ 05:05 PMDK,
for some live music at night check out the Rotterdam bar in the docks. It’s changed hands recently and is turning out to be a pretty cool place.
What are you looking for? What kind of music/scene?
Posted by on Nov 16, 2006 @ 05:09 PMyeah smcgiff - they should have shot them. The cheek of some people who think they have some kind of right - “protesting”!! Pack of slabbers. Give him the back of yer truncheon sarge. How dare they! Do they not know who Shell is??
Posted by on Nov 16, 2006 @ 05:26 PMThe ‘more’ links that are supposed to drop down the rest of each blog when clicked don’t seem to be working. Not a great problem, as the full blog can be read by clicking on the title link, but I just thought I’d mention it on the off chance that it hasn’t been spotted yet by the web pixies.
Posted by on Nov 16, 2006 @ 05:34 PMthe “more” thing works for me Ian. Odd.
Posted by on Nov 16, 2006 @ 05:59 PMJust got a letter today from The (Westminster)Boundary Commission of Northern Ireland.
http://www.boundarycommission.org.uk/pubs/announcement-defer-revised-recs.pdf
Every other commission in the UK has reported and now they announce that they’re going to take even longer to announce their final recommendations!!! I presume this means that they’re going to synchonise constituencies with the new local government ward boundaries as recommended last week - something that they should have done in the first place.
Posted by on Nov 16, 2006 @ 09:32 PMHmmmm - Rotterdam might be freezing cold and in driving sleet at that time. Or is there a decent indoors now (I seem to remember that Pats bar was about the height of it).
Posted by on Nov 16, 2006 @ 10:50 PMDK,
Can you be a bit more specfic on what you are looking for - music? traditional? funk? hip? food? cocktails? good guinness? dress up? dress down? old characters? shallow fashionistas?
Posted by on Nov 16, 2006 @ 11:06 PMBelfast exposed still hoppin’?
Posted by on Nov 16, 2006 @ 11:35 PMAnyone know what’s up with Michael Flately’s health?
Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 02:50 AMDK - what about the Spaniard, its cool but on the downside is always totally packed though if it is you wont have to go far and find another spot.
Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 02:53 AMHis mate Father Aidan Troy says it’s a virus and given he has had recent cancer treatment he could be susceptible.
I often assume that extended hospital stays for the rich and famous attributed to viruses indicate a drug or alcohol problem but that’s just me.
Was I alone in finding it strange that Troy described officiating at Flatley’s ‘wedding’ rather than blessing when he is a divorcee?
Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 02:57 AMIf it’s a weekend and you don’t mind slumming it you could try Kelly’s Cellars. Brilliant pub since the new management got rid of the dealers, brought back decent sessions and let the ‘Mighty Quinn’ roam free.
Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 03:00 AMHas anyone heard the new CD from Luke Haines..Off MY Rocker At The Artschool `Bop..majestic...apparently he´s playing Limelight on Monday 20th, Gaway previous night and Whelans in Dublin 21st.
Mark you´d dig him the most as one of the songs on the CD is called “English Devils”.
Won´t get to the gig myself as living outside UK at the moment..but can thoroughly recomend an evening with Luke Haines.
Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 03:22 AMThanks for suggestions. Spaniard is very good & we will try to get there at some point. The new fish restaurant next to Kelly’s is also excellent and Kelly’s is a possibility for ye olde irlande culture.
For music it would have to be quiet enough to speak over (so Kelly’s trad is fine) & probably we are unlikely to do any dancing. Prefer nice food, wine, hoegartyen, that sort of thing. Also we will be mixed prods & taigs, so that might rule out some suggestions?
Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 08:14 AMThe UK’s top selling albums of all-time. What’s incredible is that Queen are at Number 1 and Number 7 with two different Greatest Hits albums (although both are now packaged together)…
THE UK ’S 100 BEST SELLING ALBUMS (THE OFFICIAL UK CHARTS COMPANY)
GREATEST HITS
QUEEN
SGT. PEPPER’S LONELY HEARTS CLUB BAND
BEATLES
WHAT’S THE STORY MORNING GLORY
OASIS
BROTHERS IN ARMS
DIRE STRAITS
GOLD - GREATEST HITS
ABBA
THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
PINK FLOYD
GREATEST HITS II
QUEEN
THRILLER
MICHAEL JACKSON
BAD
MICHAEL JACKSON
THE IMMACULATE COLLECTION
MADONNA
STARS
SIMPLY RED
COME ON OVER
SHANIA TWAIN
RUMOURS
FLEETWOOD MAC
URBAN HYMNS
VERVE
NO ANGEL
DIDO
BRIDGE OVER TROUBLED WATER
SIMON & GARFUNKEL
TALK ON CORNERS
CORRS
SPICE
SPICE GIRLS
BACK TO BEDLAM
JAMES BLUNT
WHITE LADDER
DAVID GRAY
BAT OUT OF HELL
MEAT LOAF
LIFE FOR RENT
DIDO
BUT SERIOUSLY
PHIL COLLINS
BEATLES
THE MAN WHO
TRAVIS
THE JOSHUA TREE
U2
GREATEST HITS
ABBA
TUBULAR BELLS
MIKE OLDFIELD
A RUSH OF BLOOD TO THE HEAD
COLDPLAY
I’VE BEEN EXPECTING YOU
ROBBIE WILLIAMS
JAGGED LITTLE PILL
ALANIS MORISSETTE
SCISSOR SISTERS
LEGEND
BOB MARLEY & THE WAILERS
HOPES AND FEARS
KEANE
WAR OF THE WORLDS
JEFF WAYNE’S MUSICAL VERSION
THE SOUND OF MUSIC
ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK
DIRTY DANCING
ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK
LADIES & GENTLEMEN - THE BEST OF
GEORGE MICHAEL
GREASE
ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK
COME AWAY WITH ME
NORAH JONES
X&Y;COLDPLAY
TRACY CHAPMAN
ROBSON & JEROME
TANGO IN THE NIGHT
FLEETWOOD MAC
PARACHUTES
COLDPLAY
AUTOMATIC FOR THE PEOPLE
REM
WHITNEY
WHITNEY HOUSTON
THE MARSHALL MATHERS LP
EMINEM
SWING WHEN YOU’RE WINNING
ROBBIE WILLIAMS
GRACELAND
PAUL SIMON
SING WHEN YOU’RE WINNING
ROBBIE WILLIAMS
SATURDAY NIGHT FEVER
ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK
THE BODYGUARD
ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK
THE VERY BEST OF
ELTON JOHN
SIMPLY THE BEST
TINA TURNER
KYLIE - THE ALBUM
KYLIE MINOGUE
FALLING INTO YOU
CELINE DION
LIFE THRU A LENS
ROBBIE WILLIAMS
GREATEST HITS
EURYTHMICS
ESCAPOLOGY
ROBBIE WILLIAMS
GREATEST HITS
ROBBIE WILLIAMS
LET’S TALK ABOUT LOVE
CELINE DION
DANGEROUS
MICHAEL JACKSON
TRUE BLUE
MADONNA
APPETITE FOR DESTRUCTION
GUNS N’ ROSES
NO JACKET REQUIRED
PHIL COLLINS
ABBEY ROAD
BEATLES
A NEW FLAME
SIMPLY RED
BY THE WAY
RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS
CAN’T SLOW DOWN
LIONEL RICHIE
SONGS ABOUT JANE
MAROON 5
CROSS ROAD - THE BEST OF
BON JOVI
STRIPPED
CHRISTINA AGUILERA
GREATEST HITS
SIMON & GARFUNKEL
CARRY ON UP THE CHARTS - THE BEST OF
BEAUTIFUL SOUTH
1,828,89076 PLAY MOBY 1,819,938
77 THE COLOUR OF MY LOVE CELINE DION 1,816,915
78 BORN TO DO IT CRAIG DAVID 1,816,781
79 THE GREATEST HITS TEXAS 1,809,480
80 NEVERMIND NIRVANA 1,807,142
81 SOUTH PACIFIC ORIGINAL SOUNDTRACK 1,803,681
82 JUSTIFIED JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE 1,802,172
83 AMERICAN IDIOT GREEN DAY 1,800,144
84 BE HERE NOW OASIS 1,799,784
85 BACK TO FRONT LIONEL RICHIE 1,793,978
86 OUT OF TIME REM 1,786,954
87 CALL OFF THE SEARCH KATIE MELUA 1,780,817
88 EMPLOYMENT KAISER CHIEFS 1,772,936
89 BY REQUEST BOYZONE 1,770,728
90 BAT OUT OF HELL II MEAT LOAF 1,745,974
91 DEFINITELY MAYBE OASIS 1,740,386
92 JUST ENOUGH EDUCATION TO PERFORM STEREOPHONICS
1,731,86393 INTRODUCING THE HARDLINE ACCORDING TO… TERENCE TRENT D’ARBY 1,721,685
94 MISSUNDAZTOOD PINK 1,712,173
95 LET GO AVRIL LAVIGNE 1,711,088
96 PERFORMANCE AND #bolges# STEREOPHONICS 1,710,522
97 OLDER GEORGE MICHAEL 1,708,555
98 PARALLEL LINES BLONDIE 1,694,353
99 FEVER KYLIE MINOGUE 1,682,387
100 10 GOOD REASONS JASON DONOVAN 1,680,651
Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 11:09 AM96 PERFORMANCE AND #bolges# STEREOPHONICS 1,710,522
Was it not Performance and Cocktails?!
Anyway, in keeping with my moniker, and with regard to recent events in the news - what shall we do with the pit bull terriers?
Answers on a postman.Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 11:31 AMIn the hope of rescuing your generous offer, Mick, from the above, stupid trashing, I would suggest the most controversial appointment of Mrs. Bertha McDougall to be Victims’ Commissioner - what is being questioned today in Belfast’s High Court.
Is it right that the rules were bent to appoint the widow of an RUC officer, who was killed during the war between the INLA and the British securocrats over Airey Neave’s assassination - the dirtiest phase of The Troubles?
She seems to me to be the last person one would want to set up forums for the victims of all such killings.
Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 11:38 AMBelfast Exposed is also a great spot, bit mad, but good craic. A wee bit of hash is almost essential though.
Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 12:02 PMPuskas died. God mourns.
Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 01:20 PMTalk on Corners sold more than The Joshua Tree. I have finally lost the will to live.
Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 02:20 PMSurprised not to see any Led Zepellin in the list above…
Doctor Who I take it you’re a Pulp Fiction fan?
Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 02:41 PMTWEGM
That top 100 albums, only confirms that the great unwashed buy an album in the same way they buy a tin of beans. I mean Robbie Williams two in top fifty, David Gray No.20
What about your own personal top ten albums.
1. The Raven...........The Stranglers
2. Jehovakill..........Julian Cope
3. English Settlemet...XTC
4. Hunky Dory..........David Bowie
5. The Boy With The Arab Strap....Belle And Sebastian
6. His And Hers.......Pulp
7. New Wave.....The Auteurs
8. High Land Hard Rain..Aztec Camera
9. Zaireeka......The Flaming Lips
10. The Software Slump...Grandaddy
This collection would grace any worthy I-Pod. It´s a current top ten and open to change.
Posted by on Nov 17, 2006 @ 02:56 PM