Previous entry: Newsletter blog

Slugger Awards logo

18 Doughty
Street

Syndicate

RSS 1.0 RSS 2.0 Atom

Tuesday, August 12, 2008

No foreigners need apply

The display of a sign on a house for rent in the Village area of Belfast stating ”not available to any foreigners” has been condemned by South Belfast MLA, Anna Lo. The issue features prominently on today’s Talkback programme. The area has witnessed many racist attacks in the past and loyalists in the nearby Donegall Pass area were widely accused of attempting to intimidate members of the Chinese community following a proposed parade in the area last Autumn. The owner of the property told the Talkback programme that a prior tenant, who was ‘a foreigner,’ had been intimidated out of the property. 

Chris Donnelly @ 02:03 PM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 1 of 8 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »
  1. Serious Point.

I am delighted that Ms Lo has established herself as the moral champion in this sort of situation and the dull feckers behind this sort of stuff dont realise that instead of weakening the postion of the immigrant community they probably strengthen it by allowing oridnary people to show their disgust.

Non Serious Point.

I know the Engleze behaviour has at times been appalling over the past few centuries but as long as they keep funding Non Iron they should be allowed to stay overnight.

Party Political Point.

This is what the Allance do well rather than seemingly obstructing the Peace Process over Police and Justice.

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 02:45 PM
  2. Xenophobia is a terrible affliction, and the resultant suffering of others its worst symptom.

We as a society have a duty to protect people from harassment, and the innocent from persecution. For Protestants this is an obligation.

The problem with Chris Donnelly’s repeated highlighting this sort of problem is that it is done, not from compassion for the victims, but from malice for the community for which the perpetrator is associated. Every single post draws attention to moral failings on the part of members of the Protestant community , with the positive contributions of the community to society, or any sense of perspective or context, ignored. This can, in my opinion, only be attributed to agenda rather than moralising.

It is important to remember that the Irish Catholic tradition induces a virulent and repugnant sense of prejudice, which Chris, in 332 Slugger posts on the subject of assorted indiscretions / embarrassments and crimes on the part of individuals within the Protestant community, has never once seen fit to address.

Perhaps a post on this young mans experience would help to address a sense of balance and objectivity, and lessen the suspicion that these selective posts are motivated by the very bigotry they so eloquently decry :

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/english-pipefitter-awarded-836420000-for-abuse-1452319.html

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 02:54 PM
  3. be fair

Whataboutery in the second comment- truly the scourge of Slugger. Little wonder you hide behind a nom de plume.

Oh, and I am delighted for the said individual: all acts of discrimination should be justly condemned.

I’m also truly honoured that you’ve read all of my 332 posts to date. I should start a fan club....

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 02:59 PM
  4. Paula Bradshaw, from the Greater Village Regeneration Trust, said the sign “can’t be supported in any way”.

“The vast majority of people in the area are very welcoming and recognise that people living there are also working in the hospital nearby, going to the university and contributing to the economy”

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 03:03 PM
  5. Chris (D)

I am sure that you don’t need to defend youself against the improper and unjust accusation made in comment 2; you raise an important issue here.

If you were to update your blog with Paula Bradshaw’s comments, reported in my post (number 3) it would present the community leadership of the Village area in a positive light, something with which I am sure you would be delighted to do (credit where credit is due etc.), as this important story develops.

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 03:17 PM
  6. be fair,

that is really bad story in the indo and its good to see him getting his chance to highlight it in court.

Re. The above post - would you not admit that loyalism has developed links with unsavoury right wings groups because at some level there are ideological similairites in same way that republicanism has deveolped the same with unsavoury left wing groups for the same reason?

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 03:18 PM
  7. Well done Ms Lo for speaking out :). Spare a thought for the landlord . If he rents out to a ‘foreigner’ he could be putting their life in danger . On the other hand he can’t afford to leave the place empty .

Perhaps he could rent it out to a Fenian ? or would the latter be classed as a ‘foreigner’also.

It’s sad but not surprising - that some in Belfast are still struggling with the concept of a common humanity !  But they have an excuse . They are protestants christians and thus God’s chosen people.

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 03:25 PM
  8. Chris,
    Comparison is an essential part of judgement. In the instance of defamation it is an essential tool to establish context. You misrepresent the substance of the term ‘whataboutery’, which is rightly used to insinuate that equivalence is not justification. However in addressing the presentation of selected facts to create a negative perception - comparison and the expansion of the topic to incorporate positive and normal aspects of the group or individual targeted is entirely appropriate. the weakness of the misapplication of this maxim and the swiftness of your response underscores the validity of my opinion.

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 03:27 PM
  9. Sammy,
    No official link exists between Ulster Terrorist groups and the British far right. the attraction of individuals to these movements, and perhaps in the minds of some confused individuals mutual support, should not be confused with public endorsement and co-operation, the Loyalist groups have always condemned racism.
    This is not to mitigate their a-class scum credentials, but the support for British socialist ethno-nationalism movements by individuals in the province has no organisational endorsement and is no different to the marginal support for such groups receive throughout the UK. so no Sam I disagree. But then that has no bearing on my actual point.

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 03:42 PM
  10. Be fair

there is no imbalance on reporting on this site

If this had been about the sad fenian bastards Pete Baker would have atleast three threads going with 46 back links

And as for official links Ha thats a good one the entire concept of unionism and loyalism is built on a foundation of xenophobia and violent oppresion of minorities

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 03:49 PM
  11. Slug

I think you’ll find Paula Bradshaw’s welcome comments were carried prominently in the very first link contained in the initial post- as were those by Bob Collins (Equality Commission.)

There is no way in which the post- nor indeed the incident of itself- could possibly be interpreted as a slur against opr indictment of the entire Village/ Donegall Pass community, and to interpret it as such is a regrettable example of the inability of some- like ‘to be fair’- to address important issues which they clearly prefer would go away.

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 03:50 PM
  12. ‘It is important to remember that the Irish Catholic tradition induces a virulent and repugnant sense of prejudice,’

Reminds you of the old claim, “Im not racist....but”

‘No official link exists between Ulster Terrorist groups and the British far right.’

What should they have membership cards or a secret handshake? I take it now because no offical links existed between the IRA and other international groupings that you’ll give them a clean bill of health in respect of the same.

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 03:56 PM
  13. I think his point is that u only ever report stories that shed loyalist areas in bad light.  More balanced blogging by your good self Chris would enhance your integrity on this site IMHO.  That said, Pete Baker balances your posts out lol so I guess it’s fair digs…

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 04:00 PM
  14. Chris, my desire to publicly challenge this behaviour is irrelevant, and your disingenuous use of them a props for defamation is what has been called into question, perhaps you could include your disclaimer about this incident being no reflection on the Loyalist community, as well as the quote, in the original article to nullify the accusation ?

If your post could in no way be interpreted as a generic commentary why was the term “Loyalist” employed ?

(in fact lads, aren’t we prepared to disrespect the bereaved in order to not unfairly attribute outrageous actions to Political tradition ? I wonder if we will see consistency on this ?)

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 04:01 PM
  15. Released from Sinn Fein.

Sinn Fein’s Alex Maskey, MLA, for South Belfast and Policing Board member, has called the posting of a sign on a house in Donegal Road, which indicates that the house is not available to rent to “foreigners”, as “Racist” and “Unacceptable”.

“I totally condemn this action by a local landlord, which in my view is racist and therefore unacceptable. Landlords and the business community, as well as public figures need to condemn this shocking action by an individual landlord.”

“Intolerance cannot and will not be accepted by this community, and I know that the people of the Donegal road do not condone this, and I applaud the community activists from the Greater Village Regeneration Trust for condemning this incident. This should send a strong message to those in our community that seek to damage community relations, and to engage in forms of discrimination.”

“New communities in Belfast play a valuable part in our city’s economic and social life, and bring with them cultural traditions and languages which add to the rich and diverse nature of the new Belfast. We welcome the new communities to Belfast and must do everything in our power to ensure that they receive equal treatment.”

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 04:06 PM
  16. But is racism, particularly racist attacks not more prevalent in unionist/loyalist areas?

Can anyone explain this trait or the reasons for it?

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 04:20 PM
  17. Sammy McN,
    Loyalist links to the British far-right have never been formalised. I have heard of organisations like the BNP and NF making overtures to loyalist paramilitaries and there are reports that during moments of tension in NI they have sent over supporters. There have (thankfully) been a number of stumbling to closer links among them loyalism’s expressed affinity with Israel - the display of Israeli flags in loyalist areas and Johnny Adair’s dog walking up and down the Shankill resplendent in a t-shirt with a Star of David was more than some on the far-right could countenance.

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 04:22 PM
  18. Sorry that should have read

There have (thankfully) been a number of stumbling blocks to closer links with the far-right, among them loyalism’s expressed affinity with Israel etc

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 04:25 PM
  19. Instead of castigating the Landlord, please spare a thought for the landlord he has both to protect his property and his tenants.  These posts seem to forget that there are bad on both sides people who just cannot let others live and others earn a living and that includes people of all religions and none.

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 04:28 PM
  20. “No official link exists between Ulster Terrorist groups and the British far right”

Depends how you define official BF. Have you seen this?

http://www.drypool.net/cgi-bin/system.pl?id=ulstergb&cmd=view&page=1

Also Google Frank Portinari

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 04:44 PM
  21. Tfbtfo

That said, Pete Baker balances your [Chris Donnelly’s] posts out lol so I guess it’s fair digs…

As we in the SDLP like to suggest, there’s a little unionist bigot inside every Sinn Feiner trying to get out. Keep proving us right, Chris.

You’re the same, only the colours are different.

Posted by John O'Connell on Aug 12, 2008 @ 04:49 PM
  22. “justice for landlords”?

jeez, people will be looking for justice for publicans and politicians next.

Posted by Mark Dowling on Aug 12, 2008 @ 05:16 PM
  23. ‘But is racism, particularly racist attacks not more prevalent in unionist/loyalist areas?

Can anyone explain this trait or the reasons for it? ‘

Firstly, one racially motivated attack, wherever it occurs, is one attack too many....

and now climbing off the moral high horse,

RepStones, good question, with no easy answer.

If the propensity for ‘foreigners’ is to live in predominantly loyalist areas, then it might follow that the there is a greater likliehood for racist attacks in these areas. 

an admittedly crude example, say if 90% of ethnic group X lives in loyalist areas, then 90% of attacks against households of ethnic group X may occur in loyalist areas.  That said, back to the point at the top, any attack is unacceptable and inexcusable.

My own impression.  The district I live is essentially nationalist/catholic whatever.  A few years ago in the are there were attacks against the households of ethnic minorities working in the health service.  There was a prompt and well attended local demonstation in support of the effected people and against racism.

Question, how many racist attacks in loyalist areas have resulted in the local community actively demonstrating their support of ethnic minorities and condemning the attacks?… hmm

shit, my daughters high school musical crystal ball has just flashed ‘ B Ware of B Fair’

Ciao

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 05:30 PM
  24. ‘If the propensity for ‘foreigners’ is to live in predominantly loyalist areas, then it might follow that the there is a greater likliehood for racist attacks in these areas.’

Because there are more racist attacks in loyalist areas, it does not mean there are essentially more foreigners present. Thats akin to saying an area infamous for rape attacks is an area with a high ratio of women living there. In a word, nonsense.

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 05:37 PM
  25. Arguably loyalism, in its ideological constitution has an element of imperialist superiority about it. That’s not to say that all loyalists are supremacists but there is a tendency…

Posted by  on Aug 12, 2008 @ 05:38 PM
  26. Page 1 of 8 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland, the Republic and Britain.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy