18 Doughty
Street

Highly recommended:

More books...

Syndicate

RSS 1.0 RSS 2.0 Atom

Sunday, March 23, 2008

Niall O’Dowd also talks of Adams’ departure

Mentioning this in passing, as it is interesting that in the same week, two notorious Adams cheerleaders/Sinn Fein mouthpieces have both publicly questioned Adams’ future as leader of the party and Republican Movement. This blog report of a Belfast tour ("Professor") O’Dowd led notes that, before the group were to sit down for a one-on-one session with Adams, O’Dowd suggested Adams could not take things “to the next level”, and would need to be replaced by someone with less baggage. Coincidence for O’Dowd and Squinter to still be singing from the same hymn sheet, albeit a different tune than usual? Would O’Dowd be saying such things if it were not party approved - if not by Gerry Adams, by who? 

O’Dowd prepared us for our ensuing visit with the politician, acquainting us with Adams’ background and contributions to the peace processes. Describing him as a defining figure in Irish nationalism, O’Dowd discussed how despite all odds, Adams was able to hold the movement together with Mark McGinnis, current deputy minister. After years of imprisonment, Adams didn’t even see his son till the boy turned four years old.

“Can he take it to the next stage?” O’Dowd questioned. “I don’t think he can.” He explained that Northern Ireland will probably need a younger successor to follow Adams and McGinnis in bridging the gap towards peace, someone who has less baggage and is unassociated with violence of years past.

Please note I am aware that the blogger made a mistake by referring to “Mark McGinnis”. I do not think that takes away from the substance of what they reported Niall O’Dowd said.

Rusty Nail @ 05:56 PM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >
  1. Steve/ Unimpressed

John Oconell you can’t ride two horses is he the anti-christ or is he a lackey for international newspaper men. I think your train has jumped the rails son

“There I saw a woman [the whore of Babylon] sitting on a scarlet beast… that has seven heads heads and ten horns.” (Rev 17:3)

Capitalism’s invention is violence and the woman is predicted to sit on i.e. oppress the beast. The beast is not the main source of leadership or power. People like O’Dowd are with their support for the oppressive violence in society. He likes his lackey, that’s why he cheers him on.

Note that there are “seven heads” - army council has seven heads. “Ten horns” - the ten hungerstrikers conceived of as sexually arosed organs as if to equate them with male features.

The beast is violent, conspiratorial, and extremely masculine.

For further information why not visit my website -click on my name below.

Posted by John O'Connell on Mar 24, 2008 @ 01:11 AM
  2. You’re making it up as you go now, John.

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 04:10 AM
  3. Steve,

“John Oconell you can’t ride two horses is he the anti-christ or is he a lackey for international newspaper men.”

Ah Steve, did you not click on John’s name? He is “the returned Christ,” so I’m guessing that riding two horses would be a pretty small trick for Him.

“I think your train has jumped the rails son”

That’s Son of God to you Steve. 

I’m guessing that, with the messiah appearing in the comments section, Slugger is a shoe-in for loads of blogging awards this year.

Let the good times roll.

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 04:14 AM
  4. Unimpressed

You’re making it up as you go now, John.

Do you not believe me about Gerry Adams. Perhaps this will help.

Why I believe Gerry Adams is the Antichrist (and Ian Paisley the false prophet)!

First of all, I believe that Gerry Adams is the Antichrist because of the coincidence that his name comes out at 666 on my numeric alphabet (see website http://johnoconnell.org/number_of_the_beast_calculat.htm), a numeric alphabet that I discovered during my years at St Columb’s College in Derry and further investigated during my years at University College Galway. If his name didn’t come at 666, using some reasonable means, then I would not believe that he is the Antichrist. He would simply be to me just another delinquent who leads a very large conspiracy to undermine Ireland.

Second of all, due to another pertinent coincidence his name contains “Adam”, the name of the first man, and from a theological point of view, this adds much to the basis of him being the Antichrist. Adam coincidentally means ‘man’ in Hebrew, and the number of the beast is specifically described as “man’s number” (Rev 13:18).

These are extraordinary coincidences and not to dismissed by any means by any intelligent observer of matters theological.

The apostle Paul wrote: “For as in Adam all die, so in Christ all will be made alive” (1 Cor 15:22). Adam therefore symbolises death, and thus the question must be asked, is there significance to the ‘Adam’ in Gerry Adams’ name? Does Gerry Adams, the effective leader of the IRA’s republican movement, symbolise death?

The descriptions of the beasts in the Book of Revelation are interesting.

‘The inhabitants worshipped the first beast, whose fatal wound had been healed,’ (Rev 13:12). Coincidentally, Gerry Adams was shot and wounded in 1984, but recovered. Afterwards, he became Sinn Fein president and one of the foremost politicians in Northern Ireland. The use of violence for him is a matter of tactics. That is a matter of fact and record. Gerry Adams has not stepped away from violence. He believes in his own words that “there is a time for peace and a time for war”, mocking the Prince of Peace and equating Christ with the Antichrist, good with evil.

The first beast, who is said to be the Antichrist, is prophesied to have “seven heads” (Rev 13:1), which is coincidentally the number of heads on the IRA army council, including Gerry Adams’ allegedly.

“Who can make war against him?” (Rev 13:7). The IRA has been described as ‘the most sophisticated terrorist organisation in the history of mankind’. Their structure makes it impossible for a conventional army to defeat them.

Gerry Adams fulfilled another prophecy during the run-up to the 2007 Assembly election campaign in the North of Ireland. This involved him requesting the use of Clonard Monastery (Roman Catholic) church in West Belfast for a political meeting discussing his party’s policy. He still believed that armed struggle was a legitimate means of resolving differences.

When Gerry Adams took to the altar of Clonard monastery while his beliefs were in conflict with Christ’s teaching, he was proclaiming himself to be wiser than God and better than Jesus Christ. He was in logic proclaiming himself to be God. 

“[The man of lawlessness or the Antichrist] will oppose and will exalt himself over everything that is called God or is worshipped, so that he sets himself up in God’s temple, proclaiming himself to be God.” (2 Thes 2:3-4)

When you think of all the violent activity, brutality and attacks on old people in West Belfast, you must think “man of lawlessness” as the beast or Antichrist is decribed. 

Fror further information, see http://www.johnoconnell.org/ or click on my name below.

Posted by John O'Connell on Mar 24, 2008 @ 11:36 AM
  5. Wikipedia suggests that during a manic episode, sufferers of manic depression “[..] may feel they have been “chosen”, or are “on a special mission”, which are considered grandiose or delusional ideas.”

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 11:40 AM
  6. Comrade Stalin

Wikipedia suggests that during a manic episode, sufferers of manic depression “[..] may feel they have been “chosen”, or are “on a special mission”, which are considered grandiose or delusional ideas.”

Et tu, Brute.

The above applies only if they are ill. If I am ill then I’ve been ill writing nine books, articles and letters. People with MD suffer episodes of illness which, for me, stopped eleven years ago by and large.

Can you not just accept that you lived through the Apocalypse and that it is nearing an end now because God has been in control all along and is now intervening to take command of the situation? God is about to punish Paisley and Adams, and the face of the Lamb will be seen soon.

Posted by John O'Connell on Mar 24, 2008 @ 11:51 AM
  7. JO’C

As it is Easter it is only approprite that this site should have a decidedly religious slant on these issues. My own grasp of biblical mattters is very wanting considering I was brought up in a devoutly Catholic part of Ireland. I also feel that certain aspects of the bible were deliberately avoided in school disucssions particualrly by Catholic clergy - but subsequent revelation about their activities at the time do help to make this more understandable.

I had long understood that the evangelical wing of Unionism and the conservative wing of the Catholic Church had very strong views on same sex sexual actitivity and am now shocked at the ‘alleged’ use of the DUP ‘back channel’ by SF.

As a Christian scholar yourself with obvious a deep understanding of politics and religion in Non Iron are you not suprised that this ‘allegeged’ sexual activity has not lead to more resignations than that of Ian Paisley and the current calls for the removal of Gerry Adams? Surely this behavious is completley outlawed in the old testament or has there been a more modern version of that part of great book released? Please advise.

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 12:01 PM
  8. It was Sammy McNally what done it

I think I’ll pass on that one.

Posted by John O'Connell on Mar 24, 2008 @ 12:25 PM
  9. The biblical phrase “turning the other cheek” rather (inappropriately ) springs to mind here

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 12:32 PM
  10. If you lay down with dogs you are likely to get covered in fleas, time Gerry got back amongst his own people, before it becomes to late.

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 12:38 PM
  11. Cheers, Dewi, no harm done—they were not my personal otters.

Thanks for the clips.  The brothers I’d never seen; I love the big puddin’ heads on them.  “Little Becky” I remember was circulating a few years back as an mp3, along with 9 minutes of the poor sleep-deprived man on the night shift bellowing into the answerphone at Clonard.  I just found that Hugh Green has posted an edited version of that on YouTube, but it still would be a bit harsh to post on Slugger.

Thanks, Dewi. :o)

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 01:34 PM
  12. Baslamak

time Gerry got back amongst his own people, before it becomes to late.

It is too late.

Gerry Adams’ secret fear

I was a student at university in Galway this time twenty-two years ago when I had the most amazing spiritual experience that any human being could have. While writing an essay as an entry to the UCG Philosophical Society’s competition, I felt the most amazing sense of peace descend on me. I felt an absolute sense of love for all people and an overwhelming sense that I was loved too. I was filled with love.

My essay concerned two babies, whose nametags were switched at birth, and who grew up in families that opposed each other, one a republican and the other a loyalist. These two children ended up murdering their natural fathers in violent incidents during the Troubles. The moral of the story was straightforward, I felt, and in a philosophical sense it meant that all violence was futile and that sectarian violence was simply patricide – or a desire to simply end the human race.

But the feeling of love would not go away after I wrote the essay. I felt that I was in the midst of something really profound and my mind began to search for what that overwhelming significant matter could be. Then it struck me.

It was like lightning struck me. It was to do with the other part of a calculation a friend had shown me in my days at St Columb’s College as a fifteen year old. That calculation worked out the name of Ian Paisley at 666. I had checked the references in the Book of Revelation at that time and I knew that there were to be two beasts.

“Gerry Adams! It has to be!” I roared to myself in the kitchen of the small flat where I had my experience of great love and peace.

I set down the same numeric alphabet, and calculated Gerry Adams’ name at 666. It was the icing on the cake. I now had an equation to back my essay up. My thesis, which in large part was the SDLP thesis, was being validated by God.

I never had any doubt that the SDLP thesis was Christian in orientation, or that the republican campaign of violence was evil in orientation. But now I had the proof. I tried it out on a few people, mainly Sinn Fein members at UCG and they were very interested (and worried). It seemed that I had something on them.

But it only impacted on them. It never impacted on others because others didn’t consider themselves to be doing anything wrong, as opposed to the Sinn Fein members who were assisting the IRA in their campaign of violence. I was left in no doubt that my discovery had gone straight to Gerry Adams.

It wasn’t long before I heard from Sinn Fein. Others may make up excuses but I know that the attack on our home, smashing several windows, in August 1986 was a warning from Sinn Fein. But it was too late. Their war was over. I had taken out their king and all good chess players will know that that is the game over.

Within months of that time, Gerry Adams was sending signals through Fr Alec Reid that he was prepared to end the IRA campaign. My experience had sown the seeds of doubt in Adams’ mind and unnerved him completely. He didn’t want to the Antichrist. More accurately, he didn’t want to go down in history as the man who was regarded as the Antichrist.

In Spring 1987, a year after my experience, the peace process began in earnest with talks between John Hume and Gerry Adams arranged through Fr Alec Reid, and so the history books record a rational explanation of the ending of the IRA campaign.

No-one – especially not republicans – really wants to contemplate the possibility that something got to Gerry Adams to make him decide finally, after months of dithering, to give up the violence.

That something was God. Gerry Adams was confronted with what he had become by God – through me, his instrument – in 1986 and he very quickly developed a yellow streak. They say that Gerry Adams was never all that hot about the war and that has led to all kinds of speculation that he was a top level agent of the British and so on.

But I can end that speculation. Gerry Adams finally came to the conclusion that the war had to end when he realised that history will record him alongside Ian Paisley as the one of the two beasts of Revelation.

God had hit the Republican Movement at its weak point. It was thought that Sinn Fein was impenetrable because of its egalitarian structure which meant that Adams could have been replaced if got to. But the republicans had made a big mistake. They had relied heavily on Adams to fight their case in the public domain so he came to matter more than all the others. God got to Adams and it was checkmate.

It’s all over for Adams now that his secret is out.

Posted by John O'Connell on Mar 24, 2008 @ 02:05 PM
  13. Clearly, there would be a conflict of interest if the President of a republican party were found to be the Antichrist.

How could the faithful be expected to have any respect for him if he were going around with a blatantly monarchist title like Prince of Darkness?

Also, as Antichrist, would his policy of instigating global Armageddon not necessitate that he work against the best interests of his constituents in WB?

Finally, would he not feel under pressure about any negative publicity his party would attract were he to bring about the End of Days?

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 02:07 PM
  14. JO’C

that’s really weird because around the time you speak of I has holidaying in Haiti and became quite friendly with a dusky maiden who was the housekeeper for the Doc family - remember Papa Doc and Baby Doc. She was the leader of a cult that believed in free love and I have to say I was won over to this religion not least because at the time there was a severe shortage of male participants. Part of the cult’s beliefs concerned a type of voodoo that involved trying to get people who disliked each other intensely to become lovers. At first I was sceptical but after some persuasion decided to try it out with 2 figurines that I always carried with me in case I was asked questions about the Non Iron conflict - yes you have guessed it - the Rev Ian and Grizzly. I soon realised that I could manipulate the peace process via these 2 ‘pawns’.

Amazingly I spent less time in the cult - even though I had gained control over the admissions policy and refused to allow any more male members to join - and instead increasingly found myself under a palm tree trying to bring peace to my tortured home land.

With a bit of ceramic manipulation I managed to ‘lock’ the 2 figurines together in a way not popular amongst many Christians and the rest as they say is history.

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 02:31 PM
  15. John,

I remmber hearing Adams years ago articulating his philosophy ...

“It is better to be a dog than to be a Buckna man’s jersey cow.”

I think it meant that Sinn Fèin are setting themselves up as pets in the new order whereas others will be food and objects of satanic sodomy.

He was wearing a red cape at the time and Martin McGuinness was chanting mullarum shugarum doogarum.

What does it mean? Why did they make me give blood ‘for wounded volunteers’?

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 02:39 PM
  16. Using a numerical calculation revealed to as a result of a Buckfast related head injury, I discovered Gerry Adams name is related to the number 02890254517 after experiencing a further warm glow, possibly related to cider, I realised this was the number of the Traffic Control Centre and the entire Provo campaign was an attempt to interfere with road management. Once the IRA became aware of my revelation they knew the game was up and prompted stood down their campaign investing heavily in hybid car technology with strong emphasis on the Toyota Prius.

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 02:53 PM
  17. Wild Rover

Also, as Antichrist, would his policy of instigating global Armageddon not necessitate that he work against the best interests of his constituents in WB?

Armageddon is misunderstood

Many people have often bizarre misconceptions about the prophecies surrounding Armageddon as they do about all the prophecies of the Book of Revelation. But Armageddon is in reality the prophecy which gives rise to the most terrifying images when misinterpreted, as it often is. It is often said to be the final conflict which will result in the end of the world. A nuclear holocaust is the typical definition of Armageddon. But that holocaust can never be because that can only be defined as final victory for Satan. Revelation is about victory for God.

Some historians believe that more battles were fought at the place known as Armageddon than at any other place in the world, presumably because it was a hillside pass where conflict often arose. It is therefore said to be the most appropriate place for the final struggle between good and evil. Yet good can only win when there are no casualties of war and no violence. Therefore, a battle, if it takes place at all and human beings are hurt, signifies victory for evil.

The Book of Revelation is all about the victory of good so the final conflict does not result in a great many tragic deaths. It can only result in a battle that never takes places.

The major battle in our sphere here in Northern Ireland that ended in a damp squib was the Battle of Drumcree, in county Armagh, where Orange and Catholic forces were in conflict over the right of an Orange march to go through a Catholic area in early July each year from 1995 onwards. Each July this battle threatened to escalate and involve the 12th July Orange parades, causing civil war on our streets. But common sense prevailed and the matter is all but settled now.

Was it the battle of Armageddon? Is the “Armag(h)” significant in Armageddon? Certainly “three evil spirits” (Rev 16:13), emanating from the Antichrist, the false prophet, and the dragon, were present at Drumcree in that Adams, Paisley and Britain/Babylon were all represented in the triangular conflict. Of course, none of them represented good, or were doing the good thing. All were only interested in their own selfish strategic interests. But nothing happened and the dispute fizzled out because good was brought to bear on all the protagonists in the form of compromise and dialogue elsewhere.

But Armagh was important. “The kings of the whole world” (Rev 16:14), as they are almost mockingly referred to, gathered there in the midst of this divisive and potentially dangerous crisis. Those undisputed kings of the whole world, Britain’s Prime Minister Tony Blair and US President Bill Clinton, held a public meeting in Armagh in the late 1990’s.

After the Cold War these two leaders had become the undisputed “kings of the whole world”, and shortly after leaving Armagh they restated their supremacy over Russia and China. This was done over Kosovo when US and UK forces were used to attack the friend of Russia, Slobodan Milosevic, PM of Serbia. In the process of dislodging Milosevic, US fighter pilots managed to “accidentally” destroy the Chinese embassy in the Serbian capital. This was a clear act of provocation and Russia and China decided that discretion is the better part of valour. Armageddon turned out to be just another damp squib despite the best efforts of the Babylonian British and American armies.

Good won the day in terms of the international catastrophe that might have been had certain people got their way. So the final conflict between the Superpowers resulted in a battle that never took place and was therefore undoubtedly Armageddon. So good prevailed and the Book of Revelation continued to guide us to a Christian paradise and away from war.

AF, I dunno.

Posted by John O'Connell on Mar 24, 2008 @ 02:55 PM
  18. Ah, but surely as Antichrist it would be part of policy to say he was going to bring about a Global Armageddon, some time in the future, rather than something he would have to follow through on, sort of like an election promise on a UI.

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 03:24 PM
  19. Is John O’Connell out on a weekend pass?

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 03:47 PM
  20. Joe, no, but I think he’s in the midst of a manic episode.

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 03:59 PM
  21. Joe and Comrade,
    On behalf of Mick, play the ball and not the mans, lads.

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 04:17 PM
  22. Joe and Comrade

Its not fair to play mind games with the unarmed

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 04:45 PM
  23. It might be past time to put this thread to bed?

Here’s a link, however, to the Columbia Spectator, that provides some helpful context on the students’ trip and comments. The course (in NYC) is co-taught by both Goldman and O’Dowd for students considering covering the religion beat in their professional careers.

http://www.columbiaspectator.com/node/28366

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 05:04 PM
  24. Sorry.  Meant to say the course was taught in Ireland by Goldman and O’Dowd, not in NYC.

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 05:07 PM
  25. Dewi,

Ospreys v Munster looks like it could be a runner - saw Ospreys demolish Saracens and Munster demolish Ulster - this will be revenge of the sweetest type and in Wales’s backyard.

Irish players for Munster look as if they have really big point to prove having taken so much criticism after Ireland’s abject displays - and when you add in the hype sorrounding the little red feckers - the stage will hopefully be set.

Posted by  on Mar 24, 2008 @ 05:55 PM
  26. Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy