Slugger O'Toole supports the Northern Ireland Councillor Website project,

Find your local councillor on this postcode search:

Councillors of the week:

Colin McGrath
Roberta Dunlop
Clive McFarland
Domhnall Ó Cobhthaigh

Next or Previous

Next entry: Another party of Government in Northern Ireland..

Previous entry: It was lack of southern Protestants 'wot lost it'...

Slugger Awards logo

18 Doughty
Street

Syndicate

RSS 1.0 RSS 2.0 Atom

Thursday, May 31, 2007

New Norn Irn manager named…

NIGEL Worthington is to be the next Northern Ireland manager, according to reports.

Belfast Gonzo @ 04:32 PM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >
  1. Could have been a lot worse. An acceptable if uninspired choice from what was most likely a limited pool.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 04:50 PM
  2. Great, after eatting steak for the past 2 years we’re gonna have to go back to pot noodles.  I don’t want to start on a negative but there is no way Nigel will motivate his players the way Lawrie did.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 04:59 PM
  3. A good choice. A solid manager who has a similar style in terms of tactics as Lawrie. Hopefully he will improve relations with George McCartney and others as well.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 05:28 PM
  4. If wasters like McCartney are welcomed back into the NI squad with open arms, Worthington will have done himself no favours.

Not excited by the appointment, but as always, we’ll be 100% behind him and the team come the next game.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 05:45 PM
  5. I’m pretty happy. He did well in getting Norwich promoted to the Premiership and is more than capable of continuing Lawries’ good work. As George says, he was probably the best that we could have hoped to get. Best of luck to him.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 06:33 PM
  6. WHERE ARE YA ? WWHHEERRREE AARREEE YAAA ?? COME ON… LET’S BE ‘AVIN’ YA !

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 07:02 PM
  7. Let’s hope he has a good tactical brain because he certainly has no charisma

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 07:04 PM
  8. I’d trade ye Staunton for him!

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 07:27 PM
  9. Nice to see yet another six-county Catholic getting the manager’s job.

Fifty-Fifty recruitment and all that...........

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 07:38 PM
  10. Dude I don’t care if they employ a muslim, jew or devil worshipper.  Just as long as he doesn’t screw up and keeps the results coming in.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 08:12 PM
  11. Yup - he was spotted on the bmi flight home tonight, travelling across for tomorrow’s annoucement with the IFA’s Jim Boyce.

Posted by Alan in Belfast on May 31, 2007 @ 08:58 PM
  12. Im with Pounder, all the guy has to do is not fuck up what Lawrie has done. Lets hope he can leave well alone.

Im kinda scared ‘cos its true he does lack charisma and like McClaren will probably do something drastic so that people take him seriously like put Healy on the bench.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 10:02 PM
  13. Thats qualification well and truely over, Danny Wilson was the correct choice.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 11:42 PM
  14. For fucks sake relax, it’s not as if they have given the job to Sinn Feins director of elections

***** COS THEN YOU WOULD HAVE PLENTY TO PANIC ABOUT ****

Posted by  on Jun 01, 2007 @ 12:22 AM
  15. Is Steve Staunton a member of Sinn Fein???? cos that would explain the fucking awful results lately!!

Posted by  on Jun 01, 2007 @ 12:24 AM
  16. ‘Is Steve Staunton a member of Sinn Fein???? cos that would explain the fucking awful results lately!!’

As a WP supporter, I did enjoy the Sinn Fein joke.

However Stan’s results have been that awful that Ireland is joint top of the Group and are ranked above Northern Ireland at present.

By the way to prove an earlier sectarian poster wrong, can anyone tell me the names of all the NI managers who are drawn from the catholic community and were born in Northern Ireland?

I’m sure there have been at least a couple.

Posted by  on Jun 01, 2007 @ 07:18 AM
  17. ..the greatest of them all, rosebud-Peter Doherty from Maghera who was also one of our finest footballers. But frankly, I don’t think the perceived religion of managers is the slightest important, and I don’t imagine Sammy McIlroy or Bryan Hamilton is particularly devout

Posted by  on Jun 01, 2007 @ 07:33 AM
  18. The name of the game for Worthy is evolution, not revolution. He needs to keep the ship steady and he needs to speak to Sanchez about how to achieve this. Reintroducing personnel into the squad, whether it be McCartney, Mulryne or whoever, would be counterproductive and undo the good work Lawrie has achieved.

Anyway, good luck Nigel, great to see a Ballymena man getting the job! As they say our direction “keep her steady”.

As for the man’s religion (and at the risk of feeding the troll), I believe he is experimenting with Taoism. ;-) Please note Jim Magilton / Martin O’Neill would have got the job if they’d been realistically available.

Posted by  on Jun 01, 2007 @ 07:53 AM
  19. that would be one NI-born catholic manager out of how many managers in total, exactly?

Posted by  on Jun 01, 2007 @ 08:04 AM
  20. I hope the First/Deputy First Minister will be issuing a statement of welcome and good luck to our new international football manager.

Posted by  on Jun 01, 2007 @ 08:41 AM
  21. A catastrophic appointment!  It shows the total lack of ambition of the IFA.

I watched Worthington’s last came in charge for Norwich live on Sky when they were hammered 4 or 5 at home. He looked a forlorn figure and Delia Smith had him sacked less than 60 minutes after the game ended!

When he was appointed caretaker manager at Leicester in April he was interviewed on Sky News and said he was confident of getting the job. 5 weeks later he was shown the door…

Posted by macswiney on Jun 01, 2007 @ 09:23 AM
  22. Good solid choice, much much better than potential named eejits like Neil Warnock or Graham Taylor.  Keep ‘er lit big man.

Oh, and I hate feeding trolls as well but does anyone know what foot Lawrie Sanchez kicked with, what with his Ecudorian parentage and all that?  Don’t recall Lawrie’s religion ever being an issue, but then it wouldn’t be with the NI supporters.  Bet the narrow-minded slabbers looking to run us down at every opportunity were disappointed that no NI supporter wanted Sanchez out because of his perceived religion.

Posted by  on Jun 01, 2007 @ 09:31 AM
  23. When he was appointed caretaker manager at Leicester in April he was interviewed on Sky News and said he was confident of getting the job

He did keep Leicester up don’t forget, MacSwiney.

Uninspiring, safe choice but I think it’s a bit early to say “catastrophic” before he’s even had a chance to pick a team!!!

Wonder if Mccartney will be bcak in the reckoning?

Posted by  on Jun 01, 2007 @ 09:38 AM
  24. I repeat that would be one NI-born catholic manager out of how many managers in total, exactly?
    The deafening silence tells its own scandalous tale.

Posted by  on Jun 01, 2007 @ 09:43 AM
  25. McCartney will be breaking his neck to get back in the fold.  Byt the thing is will he get in?  He didn’t want to play for us when we where doing crap.  Lawrie built a good team, they aren’t the best we can put out, but they take pride in playing for their country and that’s why we’re beating the likes of England and Spain.  Team spirit is as good as a goal up.

Posted by  on Jun 01, 2007 @ 09:44 AM
  26. Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland, the Republic and Britain.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy