Slugger O'Toole supports the Northern Ireland Councillor Website project,

Find your local councillor on this postcode search:

Councillors of the week:

Colin McGrath
Roberta Dunlop
Clive McFarland
Domhnall Ó Cobhthaigh

Next or Previous

Next entry: "There is a great deal at stake - nothing less than the future itself."

Previous entry: GAA and Orange in shared space...

Slugger Awards logo

18 Doughty
Street

Syndicate

RSS 1.0 RSS 2.0 Atom

Friday, June 22, 2007

“It’s high time we all learned to love all of Ulster”

Fergus Black welcomes the second Love Ulster march as a rare opportunity for Dublin show affection for its northern neighbours by simply letting them walk through the centre of town.

WE never were given the chance to embrace, let alone love Ulster last year. Never given the opportunity to allow unionist victims of the Troubles have their say. Never even allowed to appreciate the sights and sounds of a good Northern marching band beating its way through the capital. Instead, intolerance and thuggery raised their ugly heads. With everyone caught on the hop Dublin was treated to the some of the worst rioting the city has witnessed as counter-demonstrators went on the rampage.

Mick Fealty @ 08:34 AM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2
  1. what else did you expect in Paisley, Scotland ?

Posted by  on Jun 22, 2007 @ 09:42 PM
  2. Looking at willies website I would have to worry about his mental state( if I gave a shite that is). If he really wants a peaceful parade maybe he should leave the orange order and loyallist bands behind.

Posted by  on Jun 22, 2007 @ 10:27 PM
  3. Glensman - “Willie Frazer.  What can you say, if I was a Unionist I would be very embarrassed to have this man claim to represent me.”

Well, you’re not a Unionist and I think he should be commended for all the work he does to highlight issues affecting victims. Typically on Slugger, Sinn Fein IRA supporters and other Pan-Nationalists focus on the man not the ball. They don’t bother to mention the fact that the Sinn Fein IRA terrorist group they support murdered many of his relatives. They don’t like being reminded of their hate crimes against Protestants.

The Sinn Fein IRA campaign of murder, torture and ethnic cleansing needs to be highlighted. I think Willie Frazer has every right to speak about the hate crimes committed against his family and the wider Unionist community. It’s nothing to do with how many votes he got at an election. Most Unionists would like to hear more from the DUP about issues affecting victims. But it might be a bit awkward for Paisley to ask his Deputy about his past sectarian hate crimes against Protestants.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=opinion-qqqm=opinion-qqqa=general-qqqid=35646-qqqx=1.asp

Posted by  on Jun 24, 2007 @ 10:29 AM
  4. p&j;not more of this crap.Ethnic cleansing my arse.Ethnic cleansing refers to various policies or practices aimed at the displacement of an ethnic group from a particular territory in order to create a supposedly ethnically “pure” society.If there was any attempt at cleansing it could be argued that it was protestants who tried it when they burnt catholics out of their homes and murdered those who didn’t get out quick enough.What occured here was a series of tit for tat murders on both sides as the levels of violence escalated.As for willies murdered relatives you don’t mention the fact they were ruc , udr,.I am not trying to justify their killings , neither am I trying to make them look like innocent victims. And if willie is really interested in helping victims of violence why is he only helping one group. No other support group is so rigid in their stance as to who they will help.

Posted by  on Jun 25, 2007 @ 12:11 AM
  5. ciaran - “Ethnic cleansing refers to various policies or practices aimed at the displacement of an ethnic group from a particular territory in order to create a supposedly ethnically ‘pure’ society.”

That’s exactly what Sinn Fein IRA did along the border - murdering the only son of Protestants and forcing families to flee. Will those Protestant families be compensated?

ciaran - “as for willies murdered relatives you don’t mention the fact they were ruc , udr,.I am not trying to justify their killings , neither am I trying to make them look like innocent victims.”

So what are you trying to do? They were innocent people serving their community. Compare that to Sinn Fein IRA death squads murdering people in front of their families.

ciaran - “No other support group is so rigid in their stance as to who they will help.”

There are many SF-IRA support groups only interested in what they call ‘state violence’. No mention from them that Sinn Fein-IRA were involved in hate crimes against decent Protestants.

You’re obviously on Planet Republican.

Posted by  on Jun 25, 2007 @ 01:26 AM
  6. “They were innocent people serving their community.”

Does anyone here ("P&J;" for instance) recall SF councillors such as Eddie Fullerton and do they similarly fall into this category?

Posted by  on Jun 25, 2007 @ 06:33 AM
  7. PJ, here you go with more of the same crap. To say there was ethnic cleansing on either side is nonsense. You know as well as I that it was ,as I said before, tit for tat killing which occurred all over the six counties committed by both sides. You say frazers family were innocent victims serving their community, about as innocent as ira members serving their communities. The frazers, as members of the ruc, udr and glenane murder gang were not innocents.Wether that makes them legitimate targets is something else, but innocents they were not.

“There are many SF-IRA support groups only interested in what they call ‘state violence’. No mention from them that Sinn Fein-IRA were involved in hate crimes against decent Protestants. “

Yes interested in state crimes but not excluding protestants as victims.And what hate crimes are you refering to.

Posted by  on Jun 25, 2007 @ 08:20 AM
  8. This time round there are about 25 or so marching bands and about 3,000 people proposing to take part.
    Me, I think it is a bit too soon. I think the issues of parades should be resolved in Ulster first. Make the peace with your Catholic neighbours first in NI, as the good book the Bible says.
    I saw the bands last year in Dublin and they were bedecked and banging away in full regailia, wearing those Trumpton outfits, Union flags etc… Kinda strange for such a solemn occasion of remembering those who were murdered by the IRA. Is that the Ulster Protestant approach to such? Besides, the website for the group FAIR is totally biased and quite slanderous.
    Also strange too that they want to march in a ‘foreign country’ as they call Eire or the Republic of Ireland. A place that some Unionists sneer and snub on any given occasion.
    Last year the riots that broke out were the fault of juveniles; young thugs as such who’d riot for any reason. The building materials that were close by provided them with instant missiles. The gardai expected no trouble that day and were undermanned. Full riot gear will be employed this time as Dublin will become what NI is on such occasions of the 12th. I believe FAIR want to make a political issue with this. Why can’t a more dignified procession of the victims families be held minus all the thumbing drumming bands and regalia, which ye wouldn’t even see with other communities in the UK.

Posted by  on Jun 25, 2007 @ 09:49 AM
  9. Don`t disapoint Willie lads -he`s counting on being attacked again. 

The absolute worst thing for Willie is to have the parade welcomed and finish with a beaming bertie stand at the finish line to whip in into arcarsehole ( I may have mispelled the name of the building)for tea and sympathy.

Don`t let him down-- get out there and chuck bricks

Posted by  on Jun 25, 2007 @ 10:28 AM
  10. Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland, the Republic and Britain.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy