Slugger O'Toole supports the Northern Ireland Councillor Website project,

Find your local councillor on this postcode search:

Councillors of the week:

Colin McGrath
Roberta Dunlop
Clive McFarland
Domhnall Ó Cobhthaigh

Next or Previous

Next entry: The public have spoken.. apparently..

Previous entry: Who is anti agreement now?

Slugger Awards logo

Come along, book your place!

18 Doughty
Street

Highly recommended:

More books...

Syndicate

RSS 1.0 RSS 2.0 Atom

Wednesday, November 28, 2007

“I have spoken to the IRA in his area..”

On Newsnight tonight, BBC2 10.30pm, Liz McKean will have a report on political tensions following the killing of Paul Quinn.  From the Newsnight blog

Liz MacKean has a report on increasing paramilitary violence in Northern Ireland. The story centres on the murder last month of Paul Quinn in South Armagh.  Both his family and the Independent Monitoring Commission point the finger at members of the IRA but politicians on all sides reject the claims. We’ll also be speaking to Northern Ireland Secretary Shaun Woodward.

They’ve already spoken to the Northern Ireland Executive’s Minister for Regional Development, Conor Murphy, MP, MLA.

“I have spoken to the IRA in his area and I am satisfied with the assurances they gave me, very solid assurances, that they weren’t involved in his death,” [Conor Murphy] says.

Indeed..

Adds The BBC reports that more than 200 people attended a public meeting tonight in Cullyhanna.

Update In the Newsnight report, available here [RealPlayer file], according to Conor Murphy, MP, MLA, the Provisional IRA is in the process of “requires a managed transition”.

And From today’s Irish Times [subs req]

Mr Murphy yesterday evening called on Mr McAllister and the Quinn support group to “take decisive action” to end the campaign of “violence and intimidation” against Mr Treanor.

He said people associated with the Quinn group had falsely accused Mr Treanor and his family of involvement in the killing.

Mr Murphy repeated his call for anyone with any information relating to the murder of Paul Quinn to bring that information forward to the Garda and PSNI.

Mr McAllister, however, rejected Mr Murphy’s complaints, saying members of the group were not involved in any intimidation or attacks, and that the group condemned such actions.

He accused Mr Murphy of trying to create a “smokescreen” to distract attention from the IRA’s alleged involvement in Mr Quinn’s murder.

“Conor Murphy is struggling to cope with the fact that the majority of the people of south Armagh believe in their hearts the IRA murdered Paul Quinn, and that sadly their MP is trying to give them cover,” said Mr McAllister.

Pete Baker @ 07:39 PM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >
  1. is it likely that c murphy would say??................ “i spoke to the IRA in my area… and ACTUALLY they did to it”

is the IRA a legal organisation now????? if conor was speaking to them.. did he pass on their details to the cops??

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 09:09 PM
  2. ............... legal according to who?

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 09:18 PM
  3. legal according to the laws of NI upheld by the PSNI< who SF now support

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 09:33 PM
  4. afaik the IRA (provisional) is not a proscribed organisation. If an organisation isn’t procribed; talking to them or even membership isn’t illegal.

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 09:42 PM
  5. Conor Murphy spoke to the IRA in his area???

Now as a republican who knows the crack about the complexity of things around the border I can tell you people clearly that the man MURPHY is LIAR!

Lets be clear:-

(1). No one moves in SA without the IRA knowing
    about it.

(2). No one has the capability to abduct an
    individual like his IRA friends have!

(3). No one has the capability to had out
    punishment without Mr Murphys friends
    being involve

& Finally NO ONE has the capability to put up a wall of silence up when the cops come enquiring like the FORMER IRA!

The people who killed Paul Quinn once fought for Ireland now they fight for personal financial gain.

Now if the sources I know in Mullabawn are correct then his murderer is out on licence having previously been jailed in Long Kesh - Again for Financial gain or maybe because it was then for Ireland he’s a hero?

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:11 PM
  6. Harry, old bean, when you don’t accept the right of the statelet of ‘Northern Ireland’ to exist, it sort of hits your definition on the head. Any insurgent body of native Irish have more right to bear arms than the mercenaries of a foreign colonial power and what New SF do or don’t do is irrelevant to Republicanism.

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:15 PM
  7. Well then Rory off to the PSNI with you before you are accused of being part of the problem and not part of the solution

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:16 PM
  8. I see collusion is still rife in south armagh.  This time between local government and the local ‘peacekeepers’. 
    ‘They haven’t gone away you know’.

McCartney, Donaldson, Quinn… The usual pattern will no doubt return, whereby all will be quiet for 6 months, then a couple of the ‘lads’ will get a bit frisky and beat some other poor sod to death.

How can such a barbaric act in such a small community go unchallenged.  Are SF actively on the streets in south armagh demanding justice?  They are usually pretty good at running off a few flyers and getting the odd protest going, or would it be in their best interest to see this one getting swept under the carpet?

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:16 PM
  9. Frnak

“afaik the IRA (provisional) is not a proscribed organisation.”

Eh? I must’ve missed that announcement?

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:19 PM
  10. Shawn

Now I am not a tout and it is not my place!

But I am sure that many members of Provision Sinn Fein known the facts and surely as good wee servants of the British Crown it is their place to take the thirty pieces of silver!

[See commenting policy - edited moderator]

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:20 PM
  11. Terrorism Act 2000? Groups are only illegal if specified? If the ‘SoS’ recognises a ceasefire they become technically legal? Membership of itself isn’t illegal if not specified?

Maybe I picked it up wrong, I’ve had it in my head since Tohill that an IRA (provisional) membership charge of itself won’t get a conviction in a British court.

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:28 PM
  12. Isn’t it a big pity that the moderator has to step in and stop the felon-setting. You should be ashamed of yourself, Roger from Londonderry.What do you hope to gain by bandying names about like that?

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:29 PM
  13. Terrorism Act 2000? Groups are only illegal if specified? If the ‘SoS’ recognises a ceasefire they become technically legal? Membership of itself isn’t illegal if not specified?

Maybe I picked it up wrong, I’ve had it in my head since Tohill that an IRA (provisional) membership charge of itself won’t get a conviction in a British court.

IS THIS NOT GIVING THE PROVO’S A RIGHT TO CARRY OUT STATE (& BRITISH IF YOU DON’T MIND) TERRORISM!

BRIT LACKIES!

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:31 PM
  14. Pancho’s Horse

Get a life pal!

Paul Quinn was killed by so called reformed characters! (The clue to his identity was given earlier)!

Days leading up to his murder people were threatened, and terrorised about desiel smuggling and then this kid gets done in by thugs who all are Provisional IRA activists!

Remember the WAR MAY BE OVER but the thuggery goes on!

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:38 PM
  15. Rory
    Just to clear up your position, you want the provos to do that which you wont?

Very ummm convenient for you

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:41 PM
  16. Shawn

I just would not except any better!

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:44 PM
  17. Nobody can be comfortable with Paul Quinn’s death but if you know everybody involved, maybe you should go to the PSNI or else shut your mouth. I haven’t a big pile of time for the Provisional Alliance BUT they fought and died for 30 years and if this is their chosen path then so be it. We have endured enough hurlers on the ditch in the past.

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:46 PM
  18. I can’t work that bit out either, Rory is against recognising British law in Ireland but seems to have a problem when he perceives others not complying fully with that law and even goes as far as trying to present a case that would be useful to the law he rejects.

Go figure.

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:47 PM
  19. Frank,

I think it was a real ira person that got off on that front. Although the legislation afaik now refers to any organisation calling itself the IRA or whatever. But didn’t when the people who got off were charged.

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:49 PM
  20. Frank Sinistra

I have a problem with the Hypocritcal Bastards like Conor Murphy who lie through their teeth and people like you and Pancho’s Horse who condone them!

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:58 PM
  21. years and if this is their chosen path then so be it. We have endured enough hurlers on the ditch in the past.

but Mr Horse,

if they do decide to down the road, well it is their own business, but why do they inist people inform to the cops on the activities of others.

they didnt have a high opinion of informers when they were in business.

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:58 PM
  22. Gari,

It was this that had me thinking being a member of a non-specified organisation wasn’t illegal of itself. What changed since 2004?

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:59 PM
  23. Harry,old bean, it’s Ms horse actually and I agree with you 100% but so what? The point I’m making is that Sinn Féin have tried one way and now they’re trying another. It’s their business. They have proved that they can endure. Their pedigree is intact as they see it. No one can challenge their chosen route.Leave them be. If there’s a viable alternative let it show itself and the people will decide if it merits support. And don’t presume that people who no longer support New SF are in the Real/Continuity camp.

Posted by  on Nov 28, 2007 @ 11:38 PM
  24. wil shame fein be on the streets in large numbers demanding something is done like they wer when that poor old man in belfast mr holland was murdered.they took to the streets in force then but not a shame fein man to be seen when young quin was murdered.in my opinion there wil come a time when the ordinary person on the streets wil cop on to shame fein for who they really are and stop voting for them .what ever happened to tiocfaidh ar la i havent heard that war cry in ages.

Posted by  on Nov 29, 2007 @ 12:00 AM
  25. I am puzzled by Franks claim that membership of the IRA[P] is no longer a criminal offense in the north.

The legislation that covered this offense in the north and south were very similar.[in the past] I do not believe they even referred to the PIRA/whatever but used the correct term Óglaigh Na hÉireann.

Indeed only a week or so ago in the south a volunteer of that organization was sentenced to jail time for membership, admittedly not membership of the organization we are debating.

Perhaps someone who knows this legislation could enlighten us here. i e is membership of Óglaigh Na hÉireann still a criminal offense in the north? I would be most surprised if this law was not still in force as the whole point of naming Óglaigh Na hÉireann specifically in the legislation, was because all volunteers believe they belong to the genuine article, as the organization they signed up to went by the name Óglaigh Na hÉireann, not provo, real or continuity.

Or perhaps Im mistaken here, but if not then it raises the question whether members of the Provos have been given an amnesty that has not been made public? It would also explain some of the incidents mentioned in this thread.

A very interesting thread.

Posted by  on Nov 29, 2007 @ 12:08 AM
  26. Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy