Friday, August 25, 2006
Getting into the Sam Maguire!!
Great photograph that captures one of the reasons for the GAA’s success amongst the communities that play it - it remains close to the amateurs on the ground. For all the glamour of the All Ireland Championship, the Sam Maguire Cup has been hosted in gardens and pubs the length and breadth of the island.
Mick Fealty @ 03:20 PM
Mick,
I see your point on this. Equally, one could interpret it as the fact that Ireland, and especially the 26 counties, remains a gombeen society, where if you know the right person you can get access to a national treasure and mistreat it.
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 03:33 PMGaribaldy,
Would you prefer if people were made pay,say, €10 just to have their photo taken with it and alongside a player who kisses the team crest everytime he scores,swears undying loyalty to the side and is transferred to some other side as soon as a more lucrative offer is made ? Knowing the right person doesn’t come into it.For instance,last week, the Cork county GAA board announced details of 4 training sessions for the Cork Hurlers ( in All-Ireland final on Sept.3rd ) which are open to the public.This is a great opportunity for kids to come along and mix with their heroes ( all amateur ).The players usually spend a long time after the training sessions signing autographs and having photo’s taken.Perhaps the concept of a community-based,amateur sport is something beyond the comprehension of some.Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 03:48 PMUp the Dubs!
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 03:51 PM“comunities”.......odd place for a plural there....
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 03:54 PMGood point Mick.
I still have vivid recollections of the time Barry Breen brought the Sam Maguire into my school for us pupils to see up close after Down’s initial triumph in the early 90s.
I’m hoping that I’ll live to see the day an Antrim player can have the pleasure of bringing this esteemed trophy around the county....
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 03:56 PMJerry,
It is very often about the person you know. For example how did it come about that the captain of the All-Ireland winning team brought Sam Maguire to Joe Cahill on his deathbed? Does this happen for everyone?
In case you didn’t notice, I didn’t criticise the concept of amateur sports or the GAA. What I did suggest was that the corrupt culture that permeates Irish society also extends to the GAA. There are certainly positive aspects to the Sam Maguire turning up in people’s back gardens but let’s not pretend there are no negatives. We saw an instance of unaccountability recently that damaged the GAA.
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 04:05 PMAnother child brought up to love, honour and cherish republican murderers and hate the “godless”, “Nazi” Protestant community. Sad but true…
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 04:08 PMCL,
Wasn’t Sam Maguire a Protestant?
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 04:11 PMDear Lord
There is no pleasing some people:
Garibaldy: if you want to see corruption just take a look at South Africa or perhaps read your bible and note the passage about moats and beams“Corncerned Loyalist” See above
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 04:14 PMI’m well aware that the ANC has sold its people down the river, and disgraced itself and those who gave their lives to see all people treated equally.
I’m also well aware that Irish society, especially in the south, is riddled with corruption at every level from the petty to the major. At near-Italian levels. What’s worse is that there is a culture of acceptance, nodding and winking and the loveable rogue. Fuck the loveable rogue.
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 04:19 PMI wouldn’t defend bringing cup to the deathbed of a Provo murderer,but the point I am making is that the chance to have your photo taken with the trophy is one that is given to just about every school student and every club member in the winning county.For instance,there are a hell of a lot more Gardaí in the GAA than there are Provo.’s ,yet the stupidity of some is used to blacken the entire association.
Again,knowing the right person doesn’t come into it.The GAA is far from perfect (name one organisation that is) but it has a hugely positive influence on society,especially because of it’s community basis and it’s amateur ethos.Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 04:28 PMI’m well aware that the ANC has sold its people down the river, and disgraced itself and those who gave their lives to see all people treated equally.
I’m also well aware that Irish society, especially in the south, is riddled with corruption at every level from the petty to the major. At near-Italian levels. What’s worse is that there is a culture of acceptance, nodding and winking and the loveable rogue. Fuck the loveable rogue.
in the south ?? do u mean the south of the Island or what ? tis good u refer to the ANC then again ur from a society which would have more in common with south africa in the past like them idiots u will lose ur grip with time
Dubs for Sam
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 04:49 PMI meant the free state, as is perfectly clear.
I’m unclear if the word “like” should be between idiots and u in your post, suggesting that I am an equivalent of an Afrikaaner. Can you clarify that for me?Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 04:54 PMCan I just say that St Pauls (Holywood/Bangor) are playing at 6.30 tonight in Holywood. If I’ve understood this correctly, they are one point away from their first ever promotion from Division 4 to 3, along with their arch rivals from the north of the county Bredagh.
It’s a long way from the day when by everyone’s reckoning we beat Ballinahinch, and a near riot ensued because the ref had miscounted the points and put them ahead by one. A long and vociferous protest forced a compromise, and we got a draw out of him.
Now, instead of relying on the local soccer clubs to give them their training the local facilities are in use most nights and right through the weekend.
It is great that there is such tremendous focus and local pride, it is the GAA at its best. But it is also noteable that in an area where community relations are generally very good, there is virtually no crossover participation from the unionist community.
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 04:59 PMA writer from Annsboro, Co Down to the Irish News today made a very interesting observation.
He/She informed readers that:
“Sinn Fein now calls the shots in four or five of our leading GAA Clubs”
“These Clubs are no longer exclusively devoted to the principles of the GAA but are also used as recruiting dens bt covert Sinn Fein members beavering away to their own agenda”
He/She asks, “with all their wealth, why doesn’t Sinn Fein build their own halls or club houses?”
Community based amateur sports, providing you adher to the republican agenda.
Unionists need not apply.
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 05:00 PM“But it is also noteable that in an area where community relations are generally very good, there is virtually no crossover participation from the unionist community.”
Catch yourself on. This is the GAA we’re talking about here. The organisation that hosts parades, gatherings and god knows what else for the provos, and you’re wondering why unionists won’t go near it.
Maybe this could be presented as more proof of the Protestant lack of culture.Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 05:47 PMPeking,
Whilst I most decidedly did not apportion blame, nevertheless you make a valid point. Institutionally the GAA does not yet appear to be ‘up’ for serious cross community engagement, though there are some moves on the edges that indicate some would like to move that way.
I know several Protestants who have played GAA at junior level, but the wider culture of the organisation routinely squeezes them out before they get to play the game seriously. I know more who routinely watch the game on television, but would not go to a match because they perceive the organisation roughly in the way you describe.
However it is not really a problem for Unionists. Neither is it a problem for Nationalists who believe that cross community engagement is an minor irrelevance.
In the strict context of NI neither is Rugby cross community in the way that soccer, cricket (in western parts at least) and a range of minor sports are, but it does have broader support in the rest of the island, and is one of the few codes capable of unifing sporting sentiment across the island.
All of which leaves the GAA (for all its grace, beauty and amateur integrity) as something of a sporting anomaly.
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 06:06 PMI always thought it odd that the singing of the Irish National Anthem at Croke Park, was a sort of karoke affair.
The words go up on the big screen....just a little, sure we’re oirish, but just not sure of the lingo!Alan
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 06:09 PMWas not Jack Boothman (former GAA President) Protestant?
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 06:17 PM“Was not Jack Boothman (former GAA President) Protestant?”
Well that’s everything sorted then.
The same way as Sir John Gorman being both Catholic and unionist proves that unionism is non-sectarian.Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 06:21 PMFair point, Peking, in a way, sort of..though my question, was merely that i.e. a query..
I wouldn’t have gone so far as to say that Jack Boothman being a Protestant proves that the GAA is non-sectarian though..
For what it’s worth, I think there is a very different perception of the GAA either side of the border - though I think that points been made elsewhere.
Where I live everyone plays everything, no questions asked about religious affiliation. Many of the same people play both rugby and GAA and follow both - no, it’s not Disneyland, it’s Munster..
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 06:32 PMThere is a big, big world outside Belfast, if you could only see it.The GAA is played in 32 counties, and with the exception of part of Belfast, and a couple of wing nuts in other parts of the north, it is a sport for all. Billy Wright played Gaelic football.
As for the crass statement about another child brought up to hate prods etc, the majority of children, and adults, in the Republic know absolutely nothing about N.Iteland, and care even less. But that would be part of that bigger world.
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 06:52 PMThis corruption rant is nonsense Mr G. One metric is provided by Transparency International: the RoI ranks 19th clustering with ‘corrupt’ countries like the US, France and Belgium (mid 7.0) with your comparable, Italy scoring 5.0, ranking 40th.
http://ww1.transparency.org/cpi/2005/cpi2005.sources.en.htmlOn what basis do you link Italy to Ireland? And how do you get from a wee kid enjoying a moment of fame to “Ireland is corrupt”?
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 06:56 PMMost cups will usually end up in every school in the country. If that is corruption what is not corrupt
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 06:58 PMThat survey rates Ireland there, others have rated it as around the same as Italy. I saw reports at the time, but amn’t going to chase references as I haven’t time.
To be clear, I’ve no objection to the GAA, its ethos, or its outreach programmes, and fully support taking Sam or the Mc Carthy to schools. What I am slightly curious about is how the most prestigious cup in Ireland ends up in people’s back gardens with their children climbing inside it. Hardly respectful of a valuable item, with immense cultural significance. And indicative of the cute hoor gombeen attitudes of lots of Irish people.
I’m saying it’s symptomatic of systemic corruption problems in Irish society. Ireland is comparable to Italy in people’s attitudes to ignoring or getting round the rules. We’ve seen the various tribunals on a huge range of issues, the recent reports on the Gardaí (and I know of several instances of low-level corruption there and in the police in the north myself), the continued election and popularity of numerous corrupt politicians etc. And there are a lot of stories to come out of the north regarding corruption in planning and such like as well. Never mind the whole black economy issue, where people fund paramilitarism and organised criminality. To suggest Irish society north and south is not riddled with corruption is to bury one’s head in the sands.
My code for this is ‘soveit27’. A timely reminder of the dangers of corruption.
Posted by on Aug 25, 2006 @ 07:12 PM