Previous entry: Now is the winter of our discontent

Slugger Awards logo

18 Doughty
Street

Syndicate

RSS 1.0 RSS 2.0 Atom

Tuesday, March 04, 2008

Edwin stumbles

Culture Minister, Edwin Poots, has admitted to refusing to attend every Irish language event he has been invited to since taking office on the grounds that he was “not a speaker of Irish.”
However, his lack of knowledge of the “wee dafty wean” lingo has not prevented him from attending five Ulster Scots events in his time as Minister. Before the Chinese, Polish and other ethnic minority groups rip up their glossy invites to the Culture Minister, his spokesperson did inform the Irish News that he decides “on each event as it comes in.”
In which case, I think we can safely conclude, it’s a case of “No Irish Need Apply.”

Chris Donnelly @ 11:35 PM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 3 of 6 pages « First  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »
  1. Oilibhear,

I have to say I was quite surprised to hear that there ‘would be’ an Irish language act as a result of St. Andrews and I have no doubt you have read accurately the British government’s intention. As to the others I think you go to far.

But I does surprise me that SF still maintain that somehow there will be an ILA despite the fact that it is a mathematical impossibilty given the demographics of Northern Ireland.

I believe SF should go back to the British and discuss specific and individual legislation regarding the language, minus the ILA label, which is what the unionists specifically oppose in itself.

I think that unionists would find it difficult to argue againist very specific aspects.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 02:04 PM
  2. RG Cuan,

I feel sorry for people like yourself who are interested in Ulster-Scots speech.

If you were trying to attract a few pounds to put together a project on Ulster-Scots speech you could well be struggling and would be competing againist a host of perhaps more attractive non-language based projects.

But the fact the the Ulster-Scots agency is part of the ‘language body’ is quite baffling, how do they justify all these events under their remitt? Why are they unquestioned.

But perhaps there it is a reflection of what many unionist believe the work of say Foras na Gaeilge involves? Perhaps it is thought that FnaG promote an identity, dance, music etc.

W’eel hae tae fire tigether a wee beggin form a gie a try til fin oot fur oorsels.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 02:16 PM
  3. RG

You’ve forgotten the Orange Order song cd which was part funded by the Ulster Scots Agency.  Not a word of Ulster Scots on it - it was a cultural thing you see. 

The Irish Language has often been accused of being ‘political’ - unfairly so in my judgement - but its worst excesses have not come close to the politicisation of the ‘Ulster Scot Language and Culture’ by the DUP.

Posted by OILibhear Chromaill on Mar 05, 2008 @ 02:35 PM
  4. “Keep the Irish language out of Northern Ireland”
    Been mulling about that bizarre statement ever since he said it on the tele.
    He must know that the Irish language is “in” Northern Ireland and has been for centuries. The only possible spin you can take on this is that it was a naked appeal to the percieved mindset of the Unionist voter.
    I compare this sort of language with that used on race in the bad old days. To get rid of racist attitudes you first eliminate the language of Supremacist thought and maybe a generation later the thought itself is eliminated.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 02:38 PM
  5. ‘The Irish Language has often been accused of being ‘political’ - unfairly so in my judgement - but its worst excesses have not come close to the politicisation of the ‘Ulster Scot Language and Culture’ by the DUP. ‘

Riddle me this, OILibhear - exactly which loyalist paramilitary grouping did their sloganising in Ulster-Scots? So all the ‘tiocfaidh ár lá’-ing of the ‘80s and ‘90s has come back to bite the Irish language brigade on the bum - what a shame. Still, maybe some day ‘tiocfaidh bhur lá’ - as Ms Nic An Bhaird would have it, no doubt.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 02:48 PM
  6. Perhaps you need to give the NSMC Language Body a little more time, RGC.

Posted by Nevin on Mar 05, 2008 @ 02:48 PM
  7. Great links Nevin and Dewi!

The real shame is that though I would speak these words(well maestly, as sum wur a guid bit yokely) i have to slow right down to enable me to read. So unfamiliar am I to seeing the words that I speak wrote down thus.

Oh and Dewi i share yourr incredulity over how being hard on the native language is a political plus for Unionist politicians.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 02:58 PM
  8. The excuse that he doesn’t understand Irish just doesn’t hold any water. I’m sure his role means that he has been invited to some events hosted by minority ethnic groups - has he rejected these on similar grounds or would that be seen as racism?

He knows rightly that he is just expected to turn up as a courtesy - no one will speak him only in Irish to him and no one is going to force him to become a Gaeligeoir.

It just about being treated fairly and equally.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 03:08 PM
  9. Eeeksi-peeksi fae all!
    Bratash cash frae takkin shite!

Sammy, I have only just stopped laughing at that. Why, on why can the people who would promote this abomination of childish dialect not learn proper Scots Gaelic if they wish to maintain the cultural connection with Scotland.
    Edwin would then find that he was well able to communicate i n-gaelige at any Irish event to which he was invited. As with traditional music in the two countries, there are only superficial differences in the native languages.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 03:18 PM
  10. There is no evidence, Star, of Ulster Scots slogans being used by loyalist paramilitaries.  There is plenty of evidence, however, of Orange Order members engaging in acts of terror when swapping the sash their fathers wore for balaclavas and Orange halls for romper rooms. 

And this is the same order, which never disciplined its paramilitary members, which is in the receipt of funds to finance English language party songs from the Ulster Scot wing of the North South LANGUAGE body.

Posted by OILibhear Chromaill on Mar 05, 2008 @ 03:41 PM
  11. Could you imagine trying to explain Ulster Scots to a member of the UDA.

“Duuhhhhhhhhh, and whats that mean, how much will we make on it and can it get you high”

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 03:51 PM
  12. Tak Ulster-scots fae big dafty big yins

Read as

Ulster Scots calsses for Loyalist Paramilitaries

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 04:00 PM
  13. Could you imagine trying to explain Ulster Scots to a member of the UDA.

“Duuhhhhhhhhh, and whats that mean, how much will we make on it and can it get you high”

Posted by cut the bull on Mar 05, 2008 @ 03:51 PM

Really - comments like this cement bad feeling on both sides don’t they....what’s the point? - Shouldn’t you be revising a pop song with anti-Unionist drivel lyrics or something Cut The Bull -I mean - that really never gets boring - even after months and months - and you are so good at it too.......

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 04:05 PM
  14. Some nationalist/Alliance commentators really are showing themselves up here. The DUPesque ignorant and patently unfunny attacks are tedious to say the least.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 04:18 PM
  15. On a positive note this is an example of how Scots is used in Glasgow. It is quite humorous, and details the angst felt from moving into the far flunf schemes(housing estates) on Glasgow’s periphery.

http://www.roblightbody.com/scotland/scotlandjeely.htm

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 04:27 PM
  16. Really - comments like this cement bad feeling on both sides don’t they....what’s the point? - Shouldn’t you be revising a pop song with anti-Unionist drivel lyrics or something Cut The Bull -I mean - that really never gets boring - even after months and months - and you are so good at it too.......

OOOhhh I seemed to have hit raw nerve I dont see how making hard hitting remarks about Gangsters who ripped off Loyalist Communities and are continuing to murder kids with Loyalist blues is cementing bad feeling with any one other than those cretans which the remarks are aimed at.

I’m glad you seem to enjoy the songs going on for months and hopefully contiuing, for a long time to come. By the way they are not all anti unionist if truth be told. Perception can be a dangerous thing reality is usually different though,

Un a true democracy people have a right to express their views and sing until their hearts are content. Any way all the best Democratic or is that Democratic Unionist, just asking.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 04:30 PM
  17. “The Clydeside Reds huv goat me wi’ a breid-an-jeely bomb.”

Funny Tony

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 04:41 PM
  18. No raw nerve hit Cut the Bull I promise - I just don’t see what relevance your schoolyard level remarks have to any debate. Trying to link Ulster-Scots with the preserve of Loyalist terrorists in such a way is akin to me reminding you of the eejit that blathered on about “Every word spoken in Irish is another bullet fired in the cause of Irish freedom” - a certain Mr Morrision wasn’t it?
    However I do know people involved in Ulster Scots activities and contrary to what you may think they are neither Loyalist paramilitaries nor retarded morons! The fact that people on this thread laugh and jibe about Ulster Scots is fine - but when the same people throw a wobbler when the other side don’t treat Gaelic with the respect it deserves (note my langugage please)then I find my sympathy in short supply....
    P.S. - Can’t wait to see some new musical material - those ditties are as fresh now as they were 6 months ago I tell you.....

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 04:42 PM
  19. Dewi

Reminded me of the night in the Clutha, ye remember the poet reading in Scots. Ye canny help bit smile.

And personal stuff aside Democratic is right.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 04:47 PM
  20. I’ve never made it through the first verse of one of ctb’s ditties without wanting to tear my eyes from my head. You might have some very valid points but fella, c’mon, those adaptations, brutal...still, each to their own,

Mr Poots as Culture Minister....we may as well appoint Alex Higgins as the Minister for Health ffs. Most depressing. I wonder if he was invited to a Chinese or Polish cultural celebration would he turn it down as he didn’t speak the language. Currently vying with Ms Ruane for the ministerial wooden spoon.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 05:31 PM
  21. Could you imagine trying to explain Ulster Scots to a member of the UDA.

On the (admittedly UVF controlled) “Gae Lairn” centre on the Newtownards Road, they used to have to explain that was Ulster Scots for Go Learn.  Better than Ballybeen, where Castlereagh Council’s bilingual street signs were removed by Loyalists who tought they were in Irish.

Some nationalist/Alliance commentators really are showing themselves up here.

Get off your high horse, Eoghan.  I am all in favour of preserving and promoting our Scots and Scots influenced dialects; and while I’ll never be converted to Scottish country dancing, if that’s your thing, go for it (and get state funding on the same basis as any other community arts group).  But please don’t make me accept the MOPE nonsense promoted by the Boord O Leid and various Unionist politicians.  It’s motivated by resentment of the Irish language and a desire for ever more state cash.  If the Taigs have to have a special secret language, then the Prods have to have one too.  What a load of shite.  As they used to sing when Mandelson was colonial governor:

Mandy, Mandy, give us a language do,
    The Fenians have one, so we have to have one too
    It might be invented,
    But our confidence is not dented,
    That parity of esteem and equality schemes mean that we can get cash for poo!

Oh, and you do realise that some of the posters slagging off the Ulster Scots gravy train are Unionists, don’t you.

Posted by Sammy Morse on Mar 05, 2008 @ 05:31 PM
  22. Of course Sammy, but isn’t ignorance supposed to be a Unionist preserve?

And you seem to be attacking motive here for some Unionists, fair do’s. Doesn’t really give a pass for all the preceding childish ignorance though.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 05:47 PM
  23. Democratic you must only read some of the posts or you would know that I was responding to a Point made in another post by OILibhear which read “There is no evidence, Star, of Ulster Scots slogans being used by loyalist paramilitaries”.

Believe it or not I too know people who partake in Ulster Scots events and I fully respect their right to do so. Although i think the Ulster Scots spekaers should have articulate spokes persons which they sadly seem to lack and I think this does their cause an imeasureable amount of damage.

Lord Laird is a prime example of this.

I was not lumping Ulster scots speakers in with Loyalist Paramilitaries but I was following on with a question asking people to imagine trying to explain Ulster Scots to a UDA man, and the rest is history

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 07:07 PM
  24. “Mandy, Mandy, give us a language do,”

Have you been browsing too many PRM websites, Sammy? :)

Why can’t you adopt a more civilised approach like Eoghan?

Posted by Nevin on Mar 05, 2008 @ 07:17 PM
  25. Good grief.  I’m having trouble typing here, I’m in fits of laughter. Aye and you’re right so I’ll just keep singing mind your eyes now leave them alone.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 07:40 PM
  26. Page 3 of 6 pages « First  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland, the Republic and Britain.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy