Previous entry: Now is the winter of our discontent

Slugger Awards logo

18 Doughty
Street

Syndicate

RSS 1.0 RSS 2.0 Atom

Tuesday, March 04, 2008

Edwin stumbles

Culture Minister, Edwin Poots, has admitted to refusing to attend every Irish language event he has been invited to since taking office on the grounds that he was “not a speaker of Irish.”
However, his lack of knowledge of the “wee dafty wean” lingo has not prevented him from attending five Ulster Scots events in his time as Minister. Before the Chinese, Polish and other ethnic minority groups rip up their glossy invites to the Culture Minister, his spokesperson did inform the Irish News that he decides “on each event as it comes in.”
In which case, I think we can safely conclude, it’s a case of “No Irish Need Apply.”

Chris Donnelly @ 11:35 PM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 2 of 6 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »
  1. Taking a lead from Fair-Deal, I had a peek at a few Ulster-scots translations of application forms. Out of many highlights this one caught my eye:

Senior Executive level - tap offis jab

Good to know that my taxes are being spent on fruitless promotion of a dialect that appears to have been originated by and squarely aimed at east Antrim halfwits.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 10:31 AM
  2. Lugsy Poots obviously feels more comfortable at Ulster-Scots events than at Gaelic ones, and therefore is more likely to accept invitations to the former than the latter. Also, he knows he’s going to get an earful about the Irish Language Act at the latter events, which is another reason to avoid them.

Not being able to understand Gaelic is, on the face of it, an understandable reason not to attend. And even if he doesn’t understand Ulster-Scots, I imagine many of those events are more “cultural” than specifically language-related, with English being spoken as the main language.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 10:32 AM
  3. ‘You mean like Poot’s gun-running soon to be leader, or his soon to be ex-leader for that matter Gerry??’

I was actually thinking of a certain mid-ulster MP who was caught in possession of a 250lb car bomb and 5000 rounds of ammunition mayoman.
    All for his own personal use of course.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 10:33 AM
  4. Senior Executive level - tap offis jab

Says it all, doesn’t it.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 10:35 AM
  5. Fair_deal,

I have taken a life long interesnt in the languages of Ulster and I have never, ever recorded ‘Eksie peeksie’ or any variant thereof in any Ulster dialect.

Has anyone here?

Just an observation (am ony sayin’)

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 10:38 AM
  6. gael

“I have taken a life long interesnt in the languages of Ulster and I have never, ever recorded ‘Eksie peeksie’ or any variant thereof in any Ulster dialect.”

Not that I am aware of but IIRC the person who did that particular translation was a Scot.  From what I can remember US ones weren’t happy about it’s use.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 10:50 AM
  7. So desperate to have a pop at Ulster-Scots you have to resort to repeating a fabrication.  The claim that wee dafty weans was used to describe children with disabilities in a US translation was false and the BBC had to apologise about it.

That’s it FD deflect the thread away from Poots aversion of the Irish language.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 10:56 AM
  8. Ah yeah, see what you mean Gerry. Seems people voting for people directly involved in murder goes on in both sides. More alike than you would (like to?) think hey!

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 10:57 AM
  9. I’ll ask again seeing Idid’nt use a qusetion mark the last time.

So is Edwin a bit short of the Eeksie Peeksie when it comes to the Irish language?

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 10:59 AM
  10. CTB

Apologies. 

Do I personally think Poots should have went to a few Irish language events by now.  Yes

I can’t imagine it’s much fun going to an event which will involve lots of people badgering you to do something you don’t want.  However, that comes with the job. 

One possible point to note, Chris may not be comparing like with like.  The US events that Poots has attended may not have been language focused but without the full article or schedule I can’t be sure.  For example, Poots has engaged with the GAA attending a match and speaking at the Conference. Therefore the difference may not be as stark as outlined (but can’t be certain).

overhere

CD could have made his criticism of Poots with no need to take a swipe at US.  He chose not to.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 11:09 AM
  11. overhere, I think you’ll find it was Chris who “deflected” the topic in the direction of Ulster Scots (if, of course, an OP can be considered to contain a deflection). FD merely corrected a mistake.

Posted by beano on Mar 05, 2008 @ 11:13 AM
  12. Are yous nuts Senior Executive level - tap offis jab what is this crap this bullshit there are people in real need of this money why are the people letting them away with this.Paisley robinson adams et all are so fekkin clever we ended up paying for four useless victims commisars plus four staffs travel allowances to go all over the world meeting other victim commisars.THERE ONLY IS SO MUCH MONEY THE OLD AND THE DEPRIVED NEED IT. What the victims need are friends to talk to.Not a load of high priced dickheads swanning around pretending to care.If they care so much go and get a job and do it for free in their spare time.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 11:36 AM
  13. Chris, why didn’t you link to the Assembly website? The Irish News item is limited to subscribers.

“Mr P Butler asked the Minister of Culture, Arts and Leisure to detail the number of (i) Ulster Scots events; and (ii) Irish language events, he has attended since becoming Minister.

(AQW 4045/08)

Mr E Poots: I have attended a total of 5 Ulster-Scots events as the Minister of Culture, Arts and Leisure. To date I have received 4 invitations to Irish language events but have not attended any.

Mr P Butler asked the Minister of Culture, Arts and Leisure, pursuant to his answer to AQW 4045/08, to detail the reasons why he has been unable to attend an Irish language event since taking up office.

(AQW 4300/08)

Mr E Poots: While I would, diary permitting, be happy to attend events of a cultural nature, I am not a speaker of the Irish language and could not contribute in any meaningful way to an event conducted in Irish.”

So why was he given the CAL post? Surely a minister is obliged to accept a selection of invitations from across the CAL spectrum. On a slightly positive note the organisers didn’t have to provide translation facilities.

Posted by Nevin on Mar 05, 2008 @ 11:45 AM
  14. I was present at a public debate in which Mr Poots participated. One of the other participants in the debate had an Irish sounding name and, in his speech, Poots proceeded to mock the name as best as he could for a half wit.  He subsequently lost the debate....

Poots as Culture Minister is an oxymoron.  I don’t mind that the attends Ulster Scots events but his refusal to attend Irish language events to which he has been cordially invited speaks loudly about his aversion to the fulfillment of his ministerial code of conduct, which obliges him to be a minister for all the people. 

I don’t blame Poots as much as I do Sinn Féin who allowed him take that exalted position even though they had it for the choosing.  It’s a no brainer that Poots is in there specifically for the sole purpose of winding up those who value Irish culture in the North, not to mention culture. 

Incidentally, Ruth Patterson, a protege of Peter Robinson, attended an Irish language event in City Hall the day the St Andrew’s Agreement was ‘agreed’.  She spoke in Irish and fondly of the Irish language. 

It’s a pity the DUP doesn’t have more like her in leadership and ministerial positions.  Perhaps Peter can do something about this and dispose politically of the embarrassment that is Edwin.

Posted by OILibhear Chromaill on Mar 05, 2008 @ 11:45 AM
  15. ‘Poots as Culture Minister is an oxymoron.  I don’t mind that the attends Ulster Scots events but his refusal to attend Irish language events to which he has been cordially invited speaks loudly about his aversion to the fulfillment of his ministerial code of conduct, which obliges him to be a minister for all the people. ‘

Potty Poots must resign . There is clear evidence that he is discriminating against a large section of the supporters of the present coalition. Sinn Fein should demand his resignation immediately or else pull out of the Assembly. 

The SDLP should back SF in demanding Poots head . Whatever slim chance NI has of maintaining an imperfect peace will be destroyed by Poots and his ilk ! Potty Poots has got to go !

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 11:56 AM
  16. OC

While Ruth Patterson has previous form in gross insensitivity (eg her peculiar views on the links between the PUP & UVF), I seem to recall her attending the world Irish Dancing championships and being gracious and welcoming. Poots would not be the first DUP minister whose personal convictions/views appear to be in conflict with the ministerial code of office.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 12:00 PM
  17. Eeeksi-peeksi fae all!
    Bratash cash frae takkin shite!
    Dafty weans reward our gall,
    Sos we disnae wanna fight.

Posted by Sammy Morse on Mar 05, 2008 @ 12:04 PM
  18. Fair deal Of course it would’nt be much fun getting asked questions in relation the ministers continued refusal to support an Irish language act.

Being the man who is responsible for such actions or inactions there is a duty on him to meet those directly effected, thatis Irish languge speakers, school teachers, pupils and parents who use the language on a daily basis.

That most certainly is part of his job. His continued refusal to attend Irish language events can only lead to the logical conclusion that in his thinking the Irish language is irrelevent and those involved with it are lesser beings.

The events that I have been to take in not only the language itself but also art,drama,and various other aspects of Irish culture.Not being a fluent Irish speaker Iwas able to feel comfortable and had an understanding of what was going on.

If you really want to understand you can.

The Culturlann on the Falls Rd would be recognised by many as the hub of Irish language in Belfast. I would suggest that you visit it if you have not done so and you will see a multitude of atr work,books and hopefully events that will give a broader grasp of the whole cultural identity that Edwin is unashamedly trying to ignore.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 12:22 PM
  19. >>Senior Executive level - tap offis jab<<

Sounds like some variation of Dumfries and Galloway speak. In Scots we would probably say high heid yin, there would be other regional variations I’m sure.

The Scots language(for language it is) was kept alive mainly amongst the poor folk and in the countryside. It developed separately from what is now English, and is at last beginning to thrive even in acadamia despite many brainwashed colonial mindset types(my own partner included) telling the weans to speak properly. As if our language is not speaking properly.

I’m not sure how well used Ullans/Ulster-Scots is used in the north of Ireland, but in Scotland out with the highlands(who really do speak the Queens English) Scots is used by most people, at least in some way.

What can be said about Poots that hasn’t been said. His bitch fight with Allister to me typified the man.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 12:32 PM
  20. Prince
    scots in Parliament

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 01:00 PM
  21. Eoghan, the Scottish Parliament website has this to say:

“Forby yon, ye can telephone the Scottish Pairlament on 0131 348 5000.

Hooanever, at present we can tak telephone and textphone caws in English and Gaelic juist.

Forby yon, gin ye’re deif or speech impairit and a textphone uiser, ye can contact the Pairlament ‘s textphone nummer. Yon nummer is 0131 558 7676. Ye’re walcome tae contact us uisin the RNID Typetalk service and aw.”

Also the much more guttural ‘heich’ rather than ‘high’ in north Antrim.

Posted by Nevin on Mar 05, 2008 @ 01:07 PM
  22. Dewi, we shared a thought!!

Posted by Nevin on Mar 05, 2008 @ 01:08 PM
  23. CTB

“Being the man who is responsible for such actions or inactions there is a duty on him to meet those directly effected,”

As I acknowledged when I said “However, that comes with the job”

“I would suggest that you visit it if you have not done so”

I’ve been there on about three (maybe four occasions).

“The events that I have been to take in not only the language itself but also art,drama,and various other aspects of Irish culture.”

The wording of Paul Butler’s question is narrower than the type events you have experienced.  It also goes for a broad term - US events - in one context and a narrower term in another “irish language events”.  Although it may have been PB’s unwillingness to use the phrase Ulster Scots language that contributed to the distinction. Hence going to the GAA doesn’t count for irish but going to a piping event does for Ulster-Scots.

However, this is too much hair splitting as I said I would have expected to have got to a few by now.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 01:28 PM
  24. I’m not ruling out the possibility that Edwin’s attitude to Irish is part of a greater plan.

Considering that Ian Paisley has mentioned specifically fears about ‘language change’ as one of the grounds for his dramatic about turn on entering government with Sinn Féin, is it possible that the Irish Language Act was conjured as a big stick by the two governments and Sinn Féin to frighten the DUP horses into bolting into government with SF? 

the idea then would have been to lure the DUP into government on the promise that the Irish language community would be led up and down the garden path for a while until the DUP could bring the hammer down on the proposal.

Posted by OILibhear Chromaill on Mar 05, 2008 @ 01:50 PM
  25. Ulster Scots events have little or nothing to do with the Hamely Tongue. Ulster Scots bosses, or heid wans, have realised that there is little on which to base their language events and that the population in general is not really interested. Therefore they take to the halls and fields and dance around in Highland Gaelic tartan and bang a few drums.

So while it is true that Ulster Scots events are held in English and this maybe a reason why the Poots was more willing to attend, it is also a reason to stop funding for the Ulster Scots ‘language body’ and to rewrite their remit to only include drum banging, Highland dancing and Robbie Burns’ poetry.

Posted by  on Mar 05, 2008 @ 01:57 PM
  26. Page 2 of 6 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland, the Republic and Britain.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy