Monday, February 18, 2008
DUP taking a lesson from Dromore?
Yesterday Suzanne Breen was predicting big changes and they seem to have started to come to fruition quickly. It would appear the DUP is taking the Dromore result seriously.
Fair Deal @ 01:02 PM
Yes is the short answer to the question. Clean sweep - new faces, new approach etc.
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 01:13 PMSeems Paisley jumped before further allegations come into the public domain.
After the Greens’ motion of no confidence in Junior at the weekend, the DUP will have to take ‘green power’ more seriously…
He resigned within 48 hours of the Party’s vote of no confidence at the Wellington Park Hotel!
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 01:23 PMThe can make Junior a scapegoat all they like. The fact is all the DUP are dodgy, Junior was simply the one that didn’t cover his backside enough. Scratch the surface of the DUP and you will see corruption to the core.
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 01:27 PMThen scratch more!
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 01:30 PMSeems Paisley jumped before further allegations come into the public domain.
After the Greens’ motion of no confidence in Junior at the weekend, the DUP will have to take ‘green power’ more seriously…
He resigned within 48 hours of the Party’s vote of no confidence at the Wellington Park Hotel!
Posted by Peter Doran on Feb 18, 2008 @ 01:23 PM
Did you manage to keep a straight face while you wrote that? The Green Party rate just above the cleaning lady of the OFMDFM’s office in terms of influence.
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 01:35 PMhttp://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/Paisley-Jnr-steps-down-as.3788558.jp
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 01:35 PM“Did you manage to keep a straight face while you wrote that? The Green Party rate just above the cleaning lady of the OFMDFM’s office in terms of influence.
“Putting them on a power with the Alliance
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 01:40 PM“It’s not just the Doc. There are too many smiles on too many bakes among our people at Stormont. We appear smug and pleased to be in power.”
At least there’s one DUPer with some self-knowledge. You have to remember the great esteem in which DUPing people hold themselves. Just as the Great Leader came to believe all the adulation his party gave to him, his party believes they are the ones who saved Ulster, without whom Ulster would have been lost, (etc. etc.) This distinct lack of humility helps to explain the enthusiasm for a political settlement over which they would once have roasted Captain O’Neill on a spit. With a lack of humility goes smugness and administrative incompetence. No wonder Allister was able to rattle them so badly.
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 01:41 PM““Did you manage to keep a straight face while you wrote that? The Green Party rate just above the cleaning lady of the OFMDFM’s office in terms of influence.
“ Putting them on a power with the Alliance”...but still above the Ulster Unionists!
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 01:42 PMWe all can sneer at the other parties darth, but the DUP has now the proud boast of being the first Party having a minister forced out of office.
When we consider some of the other incompetents around - Ruane for instance its really some boast!
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 01:54 PMRe. Oxtering oot of Junior.
As a keen Oolster Scots language fan could someone please confirm that the final word in the statement “There are too many smiles on too many bakes” ( posted above ) is a prime example of same.
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 02:06 PMPerhaps that might be a Nigella Dodds’ Portballintrae bake, Sammy.
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 02:15 PMPeter Doran,
No one listens to the Greens. whose performance in Dromore was hilariously poor. But the poor old DUP have been forced to sacrifice the Lobster-fishing enthusiast as Robinson and co circle the failing Doc. Pounder’s first comment is spot-on, this is merely indicative of how “our” politicians behave. Isn’t it just grand to have our own wee trough, I mean, or own wee Assembly?
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 02:28 PMThe Green Party.
I wonder how many people in N.I. think that they are some sort of republican party and will never vote for them.
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 03:12 PMPounder (APNI hack)
DUP corruption eh? Trevor Lunn just admitted on Stormont Live that he enquired from party colleagues if he could pay rent to himself/a property company!
ROFLMAO!
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 03:17 PMPounder (APNI hack)
DUP corruption eh? Trevor Lunn just admitted on Stormont Live that he enquired from party colleagues if he could pay rent to himself/a property company!
ROFLMAO!
Posted by Blooper on Feb 18, 2008 @ 03:17 PM
You know fine rightly thats not all he said. As a newly elected representative he asked clarification from more experienced colleagues and from the Finance Office before he acted. If others had followed the same example they’d still be Junior Minister.
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 03:49 PMbake = beak (mouth)or face
As in “I’ll hit ye a smack in the bake”
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 03:53 PMBig decisions
Move too far towards Allister and lose ex UUP voters who wany progress or stay where they are and lose out to Allister.
Life isn’t easy when you actually have to make things work..........not throw stones at those who are trying. If the UUP had a leader and were organised with policies they could be reaping in a large harvest. Rules changes in the UUP aren’t a substitute for policies they are rule changes and won’t gain a single vote.
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 03:59 PMFrustrated Democrat
It was a query relating to the word’s etymology rather than it’s meaning - is it Oolster Scots?
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 04:16 PMYes It is Sammy.
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 04:30 PMI think the DUP should follow Iris Robinson’s brave example. Just read Mark Davenport’s report of her very traumatic school experience at the hands of a ‘very small male teacher!’
http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/thereporters/markdevenport/2008/02/bullying.html
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 04:50 PMThe fact is all the DUP are dodgy, Scratch the surface of the DUP and you will see corruption to the core.
Posted by Pounder on Feb 18, 2008 @ 01:27 PMI am sure this must be libelous for Alliance Youth to make such a statement. As an executive member of the DUP I take great exception to this outlandish statement I would expect Slugger to remove this post before it is in trouble as well
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 05:25 PMPounde
Wriggle, wriggle! He said he enquired about paying rent to himself! Maybe you didn’t hear him all the way up their on your high horse!
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 05:40 PMI am sure this must be libelous for Alliance Youth to make such a statement. As an executive member of the DUP I take great exception to this outlandish statement I would expect Slugger to remove this post before it is in trouble as well
Posted by dupsupporter on Feb 18, 2008 @ 05:25 PMFirst of all I’ll restate my position that I am not here speaking for all of Alliance Youth, just as myself, Stephen Herron AKA on this site as Pounder. Post under a real name with a real email address if you want to play legal games. DUP and SF types seem to be very capable of throwing arround all sorts of legal threats then doing sweet fanny adams about it when push comes to shove. Seems that almost the DUP are terrified of free speech, complaints about use of the Freedom of Information Act and now faceless threats of legal action. Don’t sing it, bring it.
Wriggle, wriggle! He said he enquired about paying rent to himself! Maybe you didn’t hear him all the way up their on your high horse!
Posted by Blooper on Feb 18, 2008 @ 05:40 PMYes he enquired, where did I say he didn’t. The fact is he enquired, was told it was a bad idea and he dropped the matter, he didn’t persue it, he didn’t pay himself any rent, he isn’t the one who had to resign of overwhemling amounts of corruption and abuse of power. What is your problem in comprehending that?
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 05:58 PMTemper, temper! I have no problem in comprehending anything - least of all your holier-than-thou approach.
4 out of 7 APNI MLAs employing family members.
1 MLA admits to enquiring he could pay rent to himself.
People in glass houses and all that Pounder. LOL!
Posted by on Feb 18, 2008 @ 06:27 PM