Slugger O'Toole supports the Northern Ireland Councillor Website project,

Find your local councillor on this postcode search:

Councillors of the week:

Colin McGrath
Roberta Dunlop
Clive McFarland
Domhnall Ó Cobhthaigh

Next or Previous

Next entry: What the Wright inquiry won't see...

Previous entry: "Please vote now before the poll closes.."

Slugger Awards logo

18 Doughty
Street

Syndicate

RSS 1.0 RSS 2.0 Atom

Wednesday, May 30, 2007

DUP Minister for Gay Equality voices homosexual hatred…

AFTER one DUP minister spent most of the day lecturing other parties that they were in breach of the ministerial code, another DUP minister appears to be in breach of, um, the ministerial code. Junior Minister, Paisley Junior, says he’s “repulsed” by gays and added: “I think it is wrong. I think that those people harm themselves and - without caring about it - harm society.” As part of his daddy’s office, Junior is partly responsible for delivering equality - as well as £180,000 grant aid to gay, lesbian and bisexual support groups - and his Pledge of Office includes a commitment to “act in accordance with the general obligations on government to promote equality and prevent discrimination”, while the Code obliges him to “operate in a way conducive to promoting good community relations and equality of treatment”. Paisley Minor is entitled to his views, but as a minister isn’t he bound by a code that requires him to keep the prejudiced, bigoted or sectarian ones to himself? 

Belfast Gonzo @ 04:52 PM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 3 of 9 pages « First  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »
  1. I have previously been accused of talking out of my arse - which only goes to prove that many of these areas are multi functional.

Posted by  on May 30, 2007 @ 10:29 PM
  2. no sammy, i said you were talking shite out of your mouth

Posted by  on May 30, 2007 @ 10:34 PM
  3. Sign a petition to voice your disgust at amateur politicians continuing to voice personal and outdated views.  Thanks for your support.

http://www.petitiononline.com/NI987653/petition.html

Posted by Dave on May 30, 2007 @ 10:39 PM
  4. gn a petition to voice your disgust at amateur politicians continuing to voice personal and outdated views.  Thanks for your support.

http://www.petitiononline.com/NI987653/petition.html
    Posted by Dave on May 30, 2007 @ 11:39 PM

dave , please peddle your intolerance somewhere else. Why should everyone conform to your narrowmindness?

Posted by  on May 30, 2007 @ 10:54 PM
  5. Who’s narrowminded?

Posted by  on May 30, 2007 @ 11:00 PM
  6. I’m not saying anyone has to conform to my views, that’s the whole point.  I am saying that our politicians should be more careful about expressing their own personal opinions when they can be damaging to our society and hurtful to our citizens.

If he had have said the same about any other group such as black people, women or any other group there would have been a greater outcry.  He wouldn´t have dared though, not while there are still so many invisible, closeted gays in our society who aren´t able to defend themselves.

Our politicians need to remember that they are now in government and should act accordingly, respectfully and responsibly.

Posted by  on May 30, 2007 @ 11:02 PM
  7. Just Rite,

Leaving my mouth and/or arse out of it for a moment can you just clarify the bit about ‘unnatural’ - are you against all anal and oral sex?

Posted by  on May 30, 2007 @ 11:04 PM
  8. In that vein Just Rite, no sex is natural other than male female penetrative sex for the purpose of conception.

I hope you´ve never had oral sex, or used a condom, hardly very natural is it?  Sexuality comprises a lot more than what goes on in your hear, and more than what goes on in mine.  We´re all individuals and have rights, something that Mr. Paisley seems to think he has a monopoly on.

In all fairness I don’t care what the man thinks, it’s when he starts to express these views publically that I take offence.  I don’t want to know anything about his sex life, why should he even care about mine?

Who’s Paisley Jnr to start taking the moral highground?

Posted by Dave on May 30, 2007 @ 11:13 PM
  9. What about the Gay flamingos?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/gloucestershire/6679315.stm

Like me they look best in pink. Baby Doc can bill and coo with me anytime!

Posted by  on May 30, 2007 @ 11:20 PM
  10. Just enough rope to hang himself......

I have to be honest, I love it when unionists make comments like this. I think it says more about the man’s intelligence than anything else though. Imagine a minister saying something like that in ANY other western country. He’d be fired and shunned.

It’s 2007 ffs.

Posted by  on May 30, 2007 @ 11:24 PM
  11. Baby Doc is a devout Free P.  Why do so many people find it surprising that he shares the same disgust as the Pope when it comes to sodomy.

It disgusts me, and the moral issues concerning this vile practice doesn´t enter into it.  Having said that some of the best people I know take it up the wrong un.  I don´t hate them, but I do silently detest their unnatural practices.

Baby Doc was just answering questions honestly and without ambiguity.

Posted by  on May 30, 2007 @ 11:38 PM
  12. Cahal I agree,

there has to be an opening for the tourist board here - come to Non Iron and get a free visit to the 18th century thrown in.

Posted by  on May 30, 2007 @ 11:38 PM
  13. arriba del culo

To be fair the former nazi youth chap in the vatican is probably worse - he does not even support contraception - but the thing is - he aint a minister in Stormont. Its a sad day when Unionists take their standards from the whore of whatit’sname - or whatever term the boy Paisley uses. 

p.s.Do the Free Ps wear skirts?

Posted by  on May 30, 2007 @ 11:45 PM
  14. He has picked this stuff up from his owl fella who has been quoted as saying he hates catholicism but doest hate individual catholics. Which is a bit like saying I don’t hate you but I hate what you are. Strange, isn’t hating what someone is the basis for hatred?

I propose a motion to stop electing Bible Thumpers and Terrorists. Down with this sort of thing.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 12:03 AM
  15. I got a blowjob from Ian Jr when we were at Methody in the early 80s.  He’s been homophobic ever since.  Go figure.

(Ok, it was a joke.)

(Or was it?)

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 12:12 AM
  16. Well, there are some munters about.

Kensei, trust me mate, Ian Paisley Jnr. is not exactly most gay men’s idea of masturbation material…

Posted by Sammy Morse on May 31, 2007 @ 12:17 AM
  17. ALL sexual acts whether homosexual or heterosexual are equally abhorrent and should be punished by a ten pound fine.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 12:35 AM
  18. good value for money

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 12:40 AM
  19. Sammy Morse,

perhaps you should do a DUP Desirable top 10 - with an outright winner and a prize each year presented in the waterfront. 

PS Do Free P ministers go in for x dressing?

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 12:46 AM
  20. Sammy Morse

“trust me mate, Ian Paisley Jnr. is not exactly most gay men’s idea of masturbation material…”

Do you do a bit of up hill gardening Sammy, fair play to you big fella.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 12:48 AM
  21. “Just rite” there are equally many homosexuals who find the thought of sex with a women “repulsive” but we don’t go around demonising straight people. Live and let live.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 12:55 AM
  22. Brian

Why would the natural bond of lovemaking be repulsive to anyone.

There are many gay men who find the act of sodomy disgusting and rightly so.  Trying to compare the savage act of buggery between two men and the gift of intercourse between man and women is laughable.  Although I am partial to a few of those lesbian movies, as long as they are good looking.

Why not seek help for your desease.  Having said that, “It doesn´t make you a bad person” as Rod Steiger once said in character.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 01:04 AM
  23. arriba del culo

Pro Lesbian but anti-gay? Eh?

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 01:14 AM
  24. The filthy disgusting language of the sodomites on here only proves what Ian Jr has said.

The Good Book describes them as going after “strange flesh” - a very apt description. These people are unnatural and it amazes me they are desperate to get married like heterosexuals even though they claim to be different.

Thankfully Ulster is one bastion of Western Europe that has not capitulated to the pink liberal elite so with Abu Hamza the pink fascists will be very welcome to sling their hook!

It is going to be interesting when the Muslims take control as demographics indicate - thanks for the most part to abortion and the sodomites. The Belfast Gay Pride march will be the site of the first public executions. Wonder will all the queers be longing for the day Ian Paisley Jr was in control then.

Posted by  on May 31, 2007 @ 01:22 AM
  25. Do you do a bit of up hill gardening Sammy, fair play to you big fella.

No shit sherlock.  You don’t read this blog very often, do you?

The filthy disgusting language of the sodomites on here only proves what Ian Jr has said.

Sam, I know you have a terrible sex life, and you’re entitled to it, but give us all a break and don’t let it get you all upset on public fora.  There’s a good fella.

Posted by Sammy Morse on May 31, 2007 @ 01:35 AM
  26. Page 3 of 9 pages « First  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland, the Republic and Britain.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy