Saturday, February 25, 2006
Blogging the riots…
The eye witness accounts have been stunning from Back Seat Drivers and Dossing Times, along with DT’s great capture of the scene ripped from the City Council’s traffic cameras. Take a bow lads! Strong shot from Flickr of a Guard apparently about to be hit with a brick - with, bizarrely, a Villa fan in foregrond). More from Celtic Freedom; Chris Logan thinks RSF are a disgrace. Dublin Met Blogs has loads of stuff. Kevin was on the ground too. Thesme feels sick. Chris is annoyed. Beano says, so much for a new Ireland. The big man is disgusted. Richard calls it a wake up call for the State. El Blogador with a round up of reaction. Citizen photos here, here, here, here, here, here and here.
Update: BBC video of the riot. And some very good stuff on Indymedia.
Mick Fealty @ 08:50 PM
Ultonian Scottis American
You have already been requested not to bring arguments from other sites onto Slugger.
See Commenting Policy for future reference
You have already been requested not to bring arguments from other sites onto Slugger.See Commenting Policy for future reference
Moderator.
Posted by on Feb 27, 2006 @ 04:54 PMThis does not happen at Rossnowlagh. This was a freak event. In future, hopefully the Gardai will be better prepared.
Posted by on Feb 27, 2006 @ 05:42 PMA TV3 news poll says 84% feel the Gardai should have baton-charged the rioters. See the rioters do not represent us. :)
Posted by on Feb 27, 2006 @ 06:03 PMI have to laugh at people when they argue that allowing the protestors access to a building site full of handy riot equipment was a bad idea.
Why do they stop there?
Hasn’t it occured that the Irish medias coverage in the run up to the event was basically fuelling sectarian tensions?
And not just the official media, even here on Slugger we see it.
Orangemen are a hate group, that’s it, no compromise.
And when you can’t think of something to say about other unionsts, simply link them to the Orange hate group, and hey presto, it’s OK to hate them.
This march was touted as a loyalist march from the outset, there was practically a riot in the rush to airbrush the victims out of the picture and replace them with rumours of Loyalist bombers of Dublin being eulogised on the march.
Sinn Feins line from the beginning is that the march was provocation, because after all, the very existance of Unionists is provocation to Irish republicanism.The official line from moderate Ireland was that they weren’t going to be provoked by these nasty Orangemen.
When you take all these factors together, is it any wonder that the underclass got so het up and came out to kick a few heads?
Where in the name of christ do you think they got the idea that they were being “invaded” in the first place?From all those people now shedding crocodile tears and condemning the march, that’s where.
Posted by on Feb 27, 2006 @ 06:23 PMKathy C,
Will you be lobbying for the Orange bit to be removed from the Republic Of Ireland’s flag, in view of your revelations that it represents a culture akin to the KKK and Neo Nazism?
Much of the republican movement mirrors nazism, but that’s another story.
As Tom Kelly quite rightly said in his Irish News column today:
“...if we cannot cherish all the children of the nation equally as stated in the proclamation, then we need to take a second look at the symbolism of our national flag - for there is no Ireland if green cannot reconcile with orange. The aspiration of a united Ireland will remain just that unless Orange demonstrations are as welcome in Dublin as they are in Ballymena”
Tom is a smart man.
Posted by on Feb 27, 2006 @ 06:28 PMUltonian Scottis American said...
Moderator:
Re the 2d post of mine that you deleted:
Fair enough. Posters cannot cite another blog’s comments. What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas. Although this apparently doesn’t apply to a Slugger original topic itself.BTW, none of this is spelled out in the Slugger Commenting Policy.
--------------------
Re the 1st post of mine that you deleted:
I asked re a post actually made on this topic by another poster. It seemed to be “playing the man”, and to be Off Topic.It is still there.
Double standard?
Posted by on Feb 27, 2006 @ 06:57 PMposted by Kathy C
Hi all,
Realist, personally I wish the Irish flag was white with a green shamrock....but that is just me ;o)
Ballymena is largely a protestant town and has been a town with much anti-Catholic behavior from disrupting daily Mass, taunting Catholics, arson attacks against Catholic Schools and homes,....it is logically that the orange order is welcomed in Ballymena...just as the kkk were welcomed in white dominated clan towns in the south....
I oppose the orange order and state it is a hate group because membership in the orange order is based upon “opposing the fatal errors and doctrines of the Church of Rome, and scrupulously avoid contenancing any act of ceremony of Popish worship.”If the orange order had in it’s requirements for entry the line saying membership was based upon, “opposing the fatal errors and doctrines of the Muslim Church and scrupulously avoid contenance any act of ceremony of Mohammed worship.”....can you just hear the out cry that the orange order are bigots ....
posted by Kathy C
Posted by on Feb 27, 2006 @ 07:02 PMposted by Kathy C
Hi all,
I just posted and saw that a word was #####…
just to be clear the word I used wasn’t bad ...the word I used was big ot and to show all the #### and censure the word...implies I stated something else, which I did not do.
posted by Kathy C
Posted by on Feb 27, 2006 @ 07:07 PMKathy C,
I am glad you are honest about the flag of the Republic Of Ireland.
Selective qouting from the Orange Rules there...you missed the bit about being nice to Roman Catholics, but never mind.
Should the hate group Ancient Order Of Hiberians (big in your part of the world) be banned from parading also?
Republican neo nazi parades in Glasgow, London and other mainland UK towns...should they go to?...Afterall, they are attended by paramilitaries, their apologists and a variety of thugs in republican flute bands dressed in paramilitary style uniforms.
Posted by on Feb 27, 2006 @ 07:16 PMposted by Kathy C
Hi all,
Realist, glad that we are having a good conversation to understand how we each feel about things.
I see the orange order and the requirements for joining...is to (for lack of better word) defeat the Catholic Church. and organge order members take an oath against the Catholic Church and the errors they see of the Catholic faith.....
I see the Ancient Order of Hibernians...as a group to promote their culture...there is no requirements for membership a duty to destroy the protestant churches...or the errors of the protestant faith.
As for fascism...a fascist is one who exaults his race above all others and wants a dictator...I don’t see republicans exaulting their race as better than someone elses or want to follow laws that make it illigal to marry someone due to their religion or wanting a dictator to rule them.
Because the Irish flag has green white and orange...and what the colors represents...it really is a flag seperating people into religious groupings...Catholic....Protestant...and I would rather see the shamrock as the symbol of Ireland...rather than religious colors....it has nothing to do with getting the protestants out of the flag...but getting all religious grouping out of the flag.
I hope you understand me a bit better now.
Posted by Kathy C
Posted by on Feb 27, 2006 @ 08:34 PMRealist,
I have no time for unionists in this country who feel a need to force hatred onto others which they have been doing before and after the partition of Ireland and unfortunately the minority of the “law abiding” Unionists are dragged along with their bigoted brothers
You think we should accept “A protestant State for Protestant People” or Loyalist/Unionist protests against our children going to school?
Posted by on Feb 28, 2006 @ 12:10 AMIDL1:
What impressed me about the blog accounts of Saturday was their attention to precise detail of the events as they saw it.
The one exception to that was concrete reference to the character and demenour of the marchers. Largely because they weren’t permitted to march.
But what relevance is there in a reference to a speech make by James Craig in the 1932 in response (it is said) to an earlier speech by de Valera. Craig’s words were:
They still boast of Southern Ireland being a Catholic State. All I boast of is that we are a Protestant Parliament and a Protestant State” As NI Prime Minister, at Stormont.
The reference to Holy Cross also begs some kind of explicit statement of relevance to this particular march. If you can find a way of pulling these references specifically into the context of Saturday’s march well and good.
But as it stands it reads like a illreferenced sectarian rant.
Posted by on Feb 28, 2006 @ 12:42 AMAt least we don’t have a state church, unlike the UK.
Posted by on Feb 28, 2006 @ 01:07 AMThe love ulster campaign was launched with the help of uda godfather, Jackie McDonald, it’s leader Willie Frazer was refused a personal issue weapon because the btitish security forces belive he has connections to people within loyalist paramilitarism, f.a.i.r call the UDR/UVF members of the Gleanne Gang,who killed dozens of people on the streets of Dublin, victims.Loyalist paramilitary bands were part of the shankill road love ulster parade and on saturday, the bands played sectarian tunes before getting back on their buses.
The orange order are quite happy to have loyalist paramilitaries as members, shankill butcher eddie McIlwaine to name but one. The Shankill Road Protestant Boys band and The Shankill Star flute band are regulars at orange parades, they carry banners glorifying uvf terrorists like sectarian killer, Brian Robinson.
The old boyne island defenders orange lodge in Belfast commemorate uvf killers every july,including mass murderer, Bobby ‘basher’ Bates.
Dawson Baillie, when questioned about orangemen(in full regalia) taking part in a uvf memorial on the Shankill Road said
``The Orange Order is a very broad church and it’s not my responsibility to say to people they can’t be members of various organisations,’’
Deputy Grand Master of Belfast, McMordie said in july last year
“They are on our side (uvf/uda) and continue to defend the orange order”
Senior Belfast orangeman Billy Mawhinney said last summer that the uvf & uda were an integral part of the unionist commuinity and are the protectors of the protestant people
Do these people have the right to march through Dublin ?
Should the uvf or uda be allowed to march through Dublin ?
I don’t think so.
Posted by on Feb 28, 2006 @ 01:17 AMIt was obvious the riot was going to happen. What were the southern authority’s thinking buy not applying restrictions on the parade such as no flags, bands, lambegs playing sash. It would have been acceptable to everyone if they had of applied a condition that it must be a cross political and religious parade were ALL victim’s of those murdered during the troubles north and south were represented.
RIOTERS
Was it 300 rioters or 300 brain cells!. Can only assume they were nobody’s with nothing to lose getting a buzz from the excuse to use violence. It would have been far more effective to counter with a peaceful silent rally of their own for ALL the victims. It might have got more media attention.
LOVEULSTER
Heaven knows what they are trying to achieve?
Also disgraceful that they are using the name of dead Protestants to make cheap political points. How low can they go?
The actual victims must be turning in there graves. Don’t the members of loveulster have any respect for the dead, they should realise everyone in the graveyard votes the same?I was also wondering how parading , flag waving, lambeg beating etc advance’s or remotely represents victims and what actual help are they giving victims on the ground. What are they doing to build peace and create a situation were we never never never have Victims.
Good to see the DUP openly involved with the sectarian orange order/ ex-loyalist paramilitaries who murdered lots of innocent people of both religions. Hypocrisy extreme
The vast majority of ordinary decent unionists should remember this when they cast there next vote and send the DUP packing. Where is the leadership, and progress, what have they done for peace and prosperity?
Posted by on Feb 28, 2006 @ 01:31 AMGood gosh! Whatever did those sinn feiners do to Sackville Street?
Posted by on Feb 28, 2006 @ 03:23 AMBrian Boru (??): At least we don’t have a state church, unlike the UK.
There is no state church in the UK. There is an established church (CofE) in England, and a different established church (Presbyterian) in Scotland. There is no established church in either Northern Ireland or Wales.
Reader
Posted by on Feb 28, 2006 @ 08:47 AMThere is a very good reason why the Irish flag is GREEN, WHITE and ORANGE. We have to live together or die together. Either way we will always be together.
Posted by on Feb 28, 2006 @ 06:02 PM