Saturday, February 25, 2006

Blogging the riots…

The eye witness accounts have been stunning from Back Seat Drivers and Dossing Times, along with DT’s great capture of the scene ripped from the City Council’s traffic cameras. Take a bow lads! Strong shot from Flickr of a Guard apparently about to be hit with a brick - with, bizarrely, a Villa fan in foregrond). More from Celtic Freedom; Chris Logan thinks RSF are a disgrace. Dublin Met Blogs has loads of stuff. Kevin was on the ground too. Thesme feels sick. Chris is annoyed. Beano says, so much for a new Ireland. The big man is disgusted. Richard calls it a wake up call for the State. El Blogador with a round up of reaction. Citizen photos here, here, here, here, here, here and here.

Update: BBC video of the riot. And some very good stuff on Indymedia.

Mick Fealty @ 06:50 PM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 3 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >
  1. Brian,

Now now please don’t avoid my question…

Jo,
    I think its rather strange that when I respond to a question, that I am criticised for going off-topic? I dont think I’ll respond to you any more. As for *shameful*, perhaps you could explain how marching with Orange bands and UDA men in Dublin was showing respect to genuinely innocent victims?

Point is you weren’t responding, you were avoiding the point by making a completely irrelevant statement.

Orange bands, maybe because orange victims…

UDA, probably could have counted them on one hand, different from a republican parade…

And as for you not responding anymore… glad to hear it!! For if i had heard much more from you I would have begun seriously considering the mentality of so called unionists like yourself! Oh and btw I read the sort of stuff you put on ATW…!

Brian: Don’t forget!

Posted by Fermanagh Young Unionist on Feb 26, 2006 @ 03:23 PM
  2. Once again moderator called for I think.

Posted by Jo on Feb 26, 2006 @ 03:47 PM
  3. FYU:

Remember to keep your eye on the ball.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 26, 2006 @ 04:02 PM
  4. I came upon this page from a link on an American news aggregation site.  Needless to say, none of this appeared in the US press, other than (perhaps) in Boston.  Quite suprising.  Americans, even those of Irish parentage, have very mixed feelings about the IRA and Sinn Fein, but generally roundly condemn orange AND green atrocities. 

Yes, I agree.  Quite ironic, considering the shame of my country.

Posted by Lurch on Feb 26, 2006 @ 05:14 PM
  5. Alfredo they are very strong words coming from someone who really doesnt know what he/she is talking about.

Catholics did not wage a war, that was republicans and it was all down to the lack of Civil Rights for Catholics - dont tell me you are someone who agrees that Bloody Sunday was an act against the IRA?

Read up on your history facts and not what DUP have been forcing down the throats of protestant people over the past 30 years.

Before posting stupid comments like you do please add your source of information to backup your lame comments.

Posted by GoPaddy on Feb 26, 2006 @ 06:48 PM
  6. Catholics did not wage a war, that was republicans -
    how many protestants are in the IRA or INLA , so it was a catholic war

it was all down to the lack of Civil Rights for Catholics -
    working class protestants had the same rights as working calss catholics, middle class catholics had more rights than working class protestants, please read your shistory not what SF has taught you

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 26, 2006 @ 07:54 PM
  7. FYU:

Remember to keep your eye on the ball.

Apologies Mick, its just I find so-called unionists claiming Protestant victims dont have rights to be some what repulsive

Posted by Fermanagh Young Unionist on Feb 26, 2006 @ 08:03 PM
  8. Unionist….

When you say “working class catholics, middle class catholics”

What era do you refer too? Not the 50,60’s and 70’s I hope? Middle Class Catholics in the North? Aye all 15 of them!

By the way I am not a SF supporter so before passing comment on whom I listen too please make sure you know what your talking about.

Maybe its time you should change your source of information from DUP bull* to facts:

http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/issues/index.html

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 26, 2006 @ 08:12 PM
  9. paddy, evenone had the same rights unde the law, just as today what right or law exists to a protestant that does not to a catholic

the only discrepancy was under the old voting regulations which were based on property and not the person and which discriminated against working class protestants as much as catholics

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 26, 2006 @ 08:24 PM
  10. Paddy
    Why did catholics kill ordinary protestants ? Just to get a house…nice people

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 26, 2006 @ 08:31 PM
  11. Well isnt it a pity that those “laws” were not followed through-out the years?

If you are talking about gerrymandering then what your basically saying is that it was wrong and also it was the fault of Unionists?

Please show us all statistics proving your findings that working class protestants were discriminated as much as catholics - from I could on-line source I must add.

Dont get me wrong, I know Protestants were discriminated against by their own leaders and the British Gov but to say as much as Catholics is truly blowing it out of proportion.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 26, 2006 @ 08:38 PM
  12. Ding Ding we have a winner for the **Blame Game**

Here, sure I can add why was 2000 Catholics burnt out of their homes in Belfast?

What about May 17, 1974 in Dublin and Monaghan Bombings against 33 civilians?

What about “Miami Showband massacre” of 31st of July 1975?

If you want to play the blame go right ahead but to be honest Unionism needs to take its head out of the sand and face up to their responsibilities, if not for the Love of Ulster then at least for the ordinary protestant people.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 26, 2006 @ 08:51 PM
  13. “If you want to play the blame go right ahead but to be honest Unionism needs to take its head out of the sand and face up to their responsibilities, if not for the Love of Ulster then at least for the ordinary protestant people.”

Gopaddy,

According to you, they shouldn’t be here in the first place and should all go home to the fatherland.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 26, 2006 @ 08:55 PM
  14. “paddy, evenone had the same rights unde the law, just as today what right or law exists to a protestant that does not to a catholic

the only discrepancy was under the old voting regulations which were based on property and not the person and which discriminated against working class protestants as much as catholics”

Nonsense. Unionist controlled local authorities discriminated against Catholics in local-housing, thereby helping ensure that proportionately fewer Catholics owned property than Protestants. Also, the greater wealth of the Unionist community meant that fewer proportionately of them were “working class”.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 26, 2006 @ 09:09 PM
  15. True they shouldnt be there in the first place, it was an invasion from the start.

I couldnt care if my next door neighbour was protestant but if one decides they want to bang their lambeg drum in my front garden with 20,000 Catholic haters then its a different story.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 26, 2006 @ 09:09 PM
  16. Brian,

Im still waiting for your answer on another thread…

Posted by Fermanagh Young Unionist on Feb 26, 2006 @ 09:12 PM
  17. Realist, regarding you remark to GoPaddy:

“According to you, they shouldn’t be here in the first place and should all go home to the fatherland. “

We Southerners have no problem with Protestants living anywhere on this island. Of course we are conscious of the suffering of our ancestors - it is an inescapable part of our history. However, we don’t believe in holding grudges for the sake of it. The vast majority of us are not anti-Protestant. We are constitutional nationalists and are outraged at the defiling of our flags by those who debase the name of republicanism in our capital city.

Was reading today that busloads of Northern Republicans were bussed down from Newry and Belfast to stir up trouble. See many were not even Southerners.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 26, 2006 @ 09:14 PM
  18. apologies Brian, this is the thread with the question…

Now staying on the topic of victims campaigners…. what about Raymond McCartney?? Murderer of 2 innocent men including a RUC man…. yet he is very much so involved in campaigning on behalf of the Bloody Sunday victims! Whats your opinion of him?

Posted by Fermanagh Young Unionist on Feb 26, 2006 @ 09:17 PM
  19. However I will concede on one point of criticism that could be made. The authorities demonstrated a laughable level of stupidity in planning for security at the parade. The govt probably observed that everything was peaceful at the annual Rossnowlagh marches and therefore surmised that extremists would not attack this march. Consequently, building sites were not adequately secured and the resource-strapped Gardai were not deployed in sufficient numbers.

The theme of Gardai being deployed to desk-clerkery instead of being deployed in a visible manner is not exactly unfamiliar down here. The Garda traffic-corps being an obvious example. There is hardly any Gardai to be seen on our roads. I recall a few years ago driving from Wexford to Cork and back again and coming across no Garda checkpoints. If the Southern govt is guilty of anything, it isn’t malevolence. Stupidity and complacency in planning the security arrangements would be a fairer charge.

By failing in this, they have allowed a tiny rump of extremists to run riot and blacken the honorable name of constitutional republicanism and of this great country. Shame on them.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 26, 2006 @ 09:23 PM
  20. Fermanagh Young Unionist, while welcoming his conversion to the cause of human rights and peaceful activity, I would still say that eulogising him in a Loyalist march would be unduly offensive to his victims. I would say the same about Republicans in that position.

I think that in the context of the Northern peace process, people are entitled to a second chance of course, as the GFA envisages through its provisions for releases of paramilitary prisoners. McCartney’s campaigning on behalf of the Bloody Sunday victims would be something I regard as steps towards giving something back to a community he took something irreplacable from. Satisfied with my answer yet?

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 26, 2006 @ 09:29 PM
  21. Lurch, Actually, this did get play here in the States. It was on both CNN and Fox,and a half page was devoted to it in my Sunday paper. From what is being said here, IRA thugs were bussed in from the north to disrupt a legal march, and this does not reflect on Dublin or the RoI. None of the political ins and outs were discussed, however.

Posted by ch in texas on Feb 27, 2006 @ 01:55 AM
  22. Well any report which fails to mention the links of some in LU with Loyalist paramilitaries is an incomplete and thereby misleading report, ch.

Brian Boru

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 27, 2006 @ 03:07 AM
  23. Brian Boru, I went back to the newspaper, where the story was from Associated Press. It started,
    “Several hundred IRA supporters attacked police in Dublin on Saturday to protest an unprecedented parade through the capital by Protestants from Northern Ireland.”

It mentions “Protestants,” “protestant hard-liners,”  and “Unionists.”

So yes, the story was quite one-sided. Oh, and the quote that rioters had come from Catholic areas of NI, it was from Jeffrey Donaldson!

Posted by ch in texas on Feb 27, 2006 @ 04:11 AM
  24. GoPaddy,

You are toning things down a little from your exprssed sentiment of only yesterday.

Let me remind you of the sentiments that you confessed you “couldn’t have said better” yourself:

“And what makes you think that your biggoted views should be respected?

You shower have dictated the rules for long enough. If you don’t like it in the country which you’re occupying then fuck off to the mainland, I wonder if they will welcome yer drums and flutes there. I doubt it. Ye are a race without a country. Give up.”

With all due respect, my “shower” have just as much right to be here as you and will be going absolutely nowhere.

Because my “shower” (a very broad church) oppose the myopic worldview of Irish Republicanism, that does not make our views all bigoted.

Tell readers clearly what future you have in store for unionists on this island…they ain’t going away you know.

Tell us of your “Ireland Of Equals”.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 27, 2006 @ 07:38 AM
  25. Posted by Kathy C

Hi all,

Realist, you stated that you think I don’t cherish all children equally or that I don’t want an United Ireland….you couldn’t be further from the truth.

Because I do cherish ALL children equally…I want to see the hate organization of the orange order and all it represents defeated as it is….a hate oragnization. Just as I want to see other hate organziations defeated such as the kkk and the neo-nazi’s….These organizations preach as does the orange order that they are superior to others…and that is a wrong message to send to children of all races and relgions and societies….

As for the idea that to pursue a united Ireland agenda one must sit back silently and let the orange order march in Dublin to show that the Irish are tolerant…is rather naive. A hate oragnaization should not be tolerated any place. The Neo nazi’s marched this weekend in Orlando and people counter-demonstrated against them ....the people of Orlando stood up to hate…and it’s too bad that so many Irish feel they are still second class citizens and can’t stand up to the hate of the orange order but must be good little paddy’s and let them march.

posted by Kathy C no matter what name comes up ....

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Feb 27, 2006 @ 02:21 PM
  26. Page 3 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland, the Republic and Britain.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy