Slugger O'Toole supports the Northern Ireland Councillor Website project,

Find your local councillor on this postcode search:

Councillors of the week:

Colin McGrath
Roberta Dunlop
Clive McFarland
Domhnall Ó Cobhthaigh

Next or Previous

Next entry: Eames/Bradley group hold meetings in London..

Previous entry: Irony-free zone ahead

Slugger Awards logo

18 Doughty
Street

Syndicate

RSS 1.0 RSS 2.0 Atom

Wednesday, August 22, 2007

Another Good Night all round for the Irish

Both Irish international teams recorded victories tonight, with the two most prolific Irish strikers in history each adding a brace to their growing tallies. The Northern Ireland team, who won 3-1 in Belfast, will also be bouyed by the impressive 4-0 hammering dished out by the Republic of Ireland to the former’s Group opponents, Denmark. Special congratulations to Derry’s Darron Gibson, who made his international debut for the Republic making an immediate impact with his first touch of the game, setting up the third goal after coming on as a second-half substitute.

Chris Donnelly @ 08:49 PM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 1 of 8 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »
  1. Ah there is the thread....was wondering where it was.

Anyway....one more result of note..England 1 Germany...2.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 09:02 PM
  2. Bulgaria 0 Wales 1

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 09:07 PM
  3. Gibson only made it on as a sub, hardly makes his trot down south worthwhile.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 09:20 PM
  4. Chris are you provoking an argument.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 09:23 PM
  5. “Chris are you provoking an argument”

Lol - of course he is ! - And he’ll be snickering in the background for days !

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 09:26 PM
  6. Chris are you provoking an argument.

Of course he is why would he compare a competitive European qualifier with a friendly and mention a defector who played part of the friendly.

I noticed his post was free from singling out the name Healy although he did allude to him but not by name.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 09:28 PM
  7. Dr Who/Outsider

It seems to be you that is looking for an argument.

Chris is only stating facts. I fail to see why it should provoke an argument, unless of course you are looking for one.

NI had a good win as did the RoI, who Chris (and I) support.

Chris mentioned that “with the two most prolific Irish strikers in history each adding a brace to their growing tallies.” He didn’t mention either by name - of course Outsider sees this as being insulting to Healy but not Keane (That chip on your shoulder must really weigh you down).

As the RoI team are going through a transition, I’m sure all fans like to know how the young players are coming through.

So it’s heartening to know that Darron Gibson did come on, played very well and set up the third goal.

In fact, he was singled out for praise by the RoI head coach at the after match press conference.

Can’t you just be glad that both teams got good results and leave it at that?

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 09:37 PM
  8. Well done lads.Excellent stuff from both sets of greens.Healy and Keane absolutely mint.Big credit due to Gibby as well.I’m off to bed a happy man!!!!!

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 09:45 PM
  9. >>Both Irish international teams recorded victories tonight<<

Wait a minute what is so special about Erin’s green isle that she should have two teams. Why can’t England have two teams? Aye I know the answer to that they are shenghis!

Well if Ireland is good enough to have two teams, Scotland and Brazil should have at least five teams each.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 09:49 PM
  10. Prince - Shenghis ? A Scottish term for some form of human waste ?

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 09:54 PM
  11. Naw! It’s the eggy language ya numptie! Is Wales a cultural wasteland? Surely you must have grown up confusing the adults with the eggy language, perhaps it was just Glesga half-wits like us.

Still means shite right enough.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 09:58 PM
  12. Chris it semms you and Rocky Mcbatts are the heroes of the narrow minded Republican internet brigade.

Congratulations.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:01 PM
  13. #

>>Both Irish international teams recorded victories tonight<<

Wait a minute what is so special about Erin’s green isle that she should have two teams. Why can’t England have two teams? Aye I know the answer to that they are shenghis!

Well if Ireland is good enough to have two teams, Scotland and Brazil should have at least five teams each.
    Posted by Prince Eoghan on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:49 PM

Because Ireland has 2 football associations they are entitled to 2 international teams, get over it

As for the matches I was pleased with both results.  wee David again is outstanding as was the rest of the team.  A good match and a good result to get Worthy settled in.

It should also be noted that it was a good victory for the Other Ireland, a 4-0 drubbing means that Denmark have the wind taken out of their sails before Norn Iron plays them and it’ll do Stauntons squad the world of good after some dodgy results.  Indeed a good night all round for all.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:01 PM
  14. Great second half performance from Gibby, and a great shot to set up Long’s third.

Darron Gibson - Derry’s no. 1.

And what a reaction in my local when he came out for the 2nd half.

Squad position at least for the away trips next month.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:02 PM
  15. >>Because Ireland has 2 football associations they are entitled to 2 international teams, get over it<<

Pounder, our very own SFA can be incompetent bampots from time to time - George Cadette anyone? but we have never needed two associations. Maybe your guys are super incompetent?

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:07 PM
  16. I supported both Irelands tonight but I really think SF or some other Nationalist representatives need to lobby whoever needs lobbied to have God save the queen removed before NI play.

It is an absolute two fingers to the nationalist community .

The IFA can sing and dance about the fact that the fans don’t want to be up to their knees in my blood any more but if they want to make it truly acceptable and appealing to all sides then remove god save the queen and ban all flags......Arsenal have just done something very similar, so should the IFA.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:12 PM
  17. Sean West Belfast

Now is there anything else you would like.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:20 PM
  18. franklin

“And what a reaction in my local when he came out for the 2nd half”

A genuine question.  Would Darron have got the same reaction in your local had he turned out for Northern Ireland tonight.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:22 PM
  19. Outsider,

I’d like the NI fans to be on their best behaviour at all times.

The other thing I’d like them to stop doing is the mimmicking of Rangers fans doing ‘the bouncy’, the roots of which is found in Flute bands mocking the death of Robert Hamill in Portadown.

I would also prefer if they kept the world war two stuff out of Windsor.

I think these are pretty sound requests.  Do you not also?

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:25 PM
  20. I have just had information from a former work associate in RTE that calls were made to the staation from ROI supporters making death threats to Darron Gibson.

If this is true why hasn´t it been reported in the media and could it be the same people or person behind the Neil Lennon fiasco.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:32 PM
  21. As Northern Ireland is accepted as part of the UK under the Good Friday Agreement, which is supported by Sinn Fein, it is entirely appropriate that the national anthem and flag is present when the national team plays.
    Well done lads!

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:33 PM
  22. Sean

‘The other thing I’d like them to stop doing is the mimmicking of Rangers fans doing ‘the bouncy’, the roots of which is found in Flute bands mocking the death of Robert Hamill in Portadown.’

Ah - the blood libel of the more rabid Celtic/RoI fans.

As for your other requests, maybe they’ll come to pass around the time the Dublinites quit anti-Semitic abuse and the booing of Rangers players.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:35 PM
  23. jw

I’m sure he- and plenty others- are weeping at the butcher’s job you’re making of the English language with those two posts.

As for the ‘content,’ kinda speaks volumes now, doesn’t it?

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:36 PM
  24. ‘A genuine question.  Would Darron have got the same reaction in your local had he turned out for Northern Ireland tonight.’

Hard to answer because we were watching the Ireland v Denmark game but there are several Ireland supporters clubs in the city and i doubt if many would have much interest in the northern ireland team.

But good luck to any young player who makes a future for himself through the game.

Posted by  on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:38 PM
  25. I’ve lost touch a bit. i’m sure there was some controversy about a Sweden v Denmark game in this group some months ago and talk about a result being reversed. What happend in the end?

Posted by ejh on Aug 22, 2007 @ 10:41 PM
  26. Page 1 of 8 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland, the Republic and Britain.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy