Saturday, March 24, 2007
Alliance: Northern Ireland must become economically self suffient
Here’s a proposition that will go down like a lead balloon at Connelly House, and Dundela Avenue. The Alliance party had their AGM today, and resolved that…
...Northern Ireland must set itself the objective of becoming economically self-sufficient, and no longer relying on subvention from London. The call was passed unanimously at a meeting of Party Council in Castlereagh.
Proposing the motion, new Party President Colm Cavanagh stated: “We have seen yet again this week parties going to London and demanding more money. They will then come back and say ‘Oh look, we secured more funding’. Yet there is no thought going into how we make our economy truly competitive.”
Seconding the motion, North Down Councillor Ian James Parsley stated: “We have to recognise how important this is not just financially, but also politically and socially. We cannot allow our government to continue being hindered by the fact it is reliant on London for the money it wants to spend. If we create the wealth right here, we will be able to go to London and look the UK Government straight in the eye. This ability has led to self-confidence in the Republic, and there is no reason we cannot aim for the same.”
Former Belfast Lord Mayor Tom Ekin added: “We can have no more begging bowl politics. We need a widespread review of economic policy, planning, infrastructure and everything else if we are to stand up on our own two feet. We must make this a priority in the new Assembly.”
The motion means the seven Alliance MLAs will pursue the objective of a self-sufficient economy as a priority, as it becomes the leading opposition party to a four-party Executive, now likely in May.
The meeting also saw David Ford MLA and Naomi Long MLA re-elected as Leader and Deputy Leader, and Coleraine representative Yvonne Boyle agreeing to continue as Party Chair until Party Conference, on 3 November. Party activists applauded the work of candidates, election agents and party workers in securing recent electoral gains, and called for urgent further action to grow the party.
Mick Fealty @ 08:51 PM
How can a party that presents itself as the ‘opposition’ in a future Assembly embrace a ridiculous and hardline fiscal objective that goes even further than anything dreamt up by Gordon Brown and the Treasury.
Its only a matter of time now, before Prime Minister Brown is quoting the Alliance line at hapless Ministers from the new Executive.
I can see it now. Gordon waving the finger over the desk at Martin and Ian: “Look lads, if Ford can swallow more Treasury discipline, why can’t ye…??”
Opposition ???? MMMMmmmmmm
I think others will have to deliver that mandate.
Posted by on Mar 24, 2007 @ 10:12 PMIs the APNI intending to reinvent itself as an Norn Iron Nationalist party?
Though who seriously can be against more jobs and industry?
Only APNI are against seeking assistance while it happens, or support if it doesn’t.
Will they also reject EU assistance to our farmers, fishermen etc. as part of this stand on your own two feet agenda?
Or is it just soundbite politics?*
*I’m not asking. It is.
Posted by on Mar 24, 2007 @ 10:21 PMNorthern Ireland must become economically self sufficient
I would be interested to know how, what are the proposals? We don’t have control over the purse strings. We cannot introduce more competative tax structures, we cannot join the Euro and benifit from lower interest rates, we cannot reduce duty on petrol so our haulage industry continues at a disadvantage, it is even cheaper to fly out of Dublin than it is Belfast. I could go on.
So pray do tell me how we do it?
Posted by on Mar 24, 2007 @ 10:36 PMI interpret this to mean that they want to grow the economy - so that NI is richer and therefore pays more taxes - rather than to cut back on public services. All parties want to do this, I would guess.
I would argue that public spending isn’t necessarily bad but it depends on whether it is government investment (e.g. in road, rail, education, health facilities) or government consumption (civil service salaries, etc). The former can help private sector while the latter just takes potential employees away from it.
Posted by on Mar 24, 2007 @ 10:42 PMAlliance have handled quite well the replacement of their big names, with Alderdice now securely replaced by Long, and Bell and Close replaced. Whether Lunn and Farry bed in will be important. IJP comes across well (form my previous discussions with him here) and I would hope that he can be promoted up.
Posted by on Mar 24, 2007 @ 10:46 PMAt last a political party that sounds as if it has some semblance of self respect and policy ambition . Easier to say than do but at least it’s a step in the right direction .
Where there’s a will there will eventually be a way . Where there’s no will there’s always a won’t !
Posted by on Mar 24, 2007 @ 11:15 PMIf they Alliance Party are to be taken seriously then they have to ditch nose picker wilson, he is far to green for them.
Posted by on Mar 24, 2007 @ 11:19 PMSoupy:
Though who seriously can be against more jobs and industry?
Neither SF nor the DUP have attempted to formulate a policy for creating jobs and securing industrial development. They have merely asked for more money - they have not stipulated what it is to be spent on. We should be going to the British government with a business plan, not a plea for a handout.
Kinda silly that the republicans seem to be making an argument for our reliance on the UK exchequer. Equally, it’s silly that the DUP seem to be suggesting that the union gives us some sort of right to a pile of cash, and if we don’t get it we’ll shoot ourselves in the foot.
Posted by on Mar 24, 2007 @ 11:25 PMStalin,
APNI haven’t outlined a plan either, merely asked for less money?
Posted by on Mar 24, 2007 @ 11:36 PMCan NI achieve such a thing without fiscal autonomy from GB? I’d be surprised if it could to be honest and the chances of gaining fiscal autonomy within the Union are nil.
I’m afraid that, if NI stays in the Union it’ll be more of the same. NI redefines the term ‘The Welfare State’. It exists on hand-outs. Great for the collective self-esteem. ‘Please sir, can I have some more?’ Pathetic.
Posted by on Mar 24, 2007 @ 11:52 PMI wonder what colour the sky is on planet alliance
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 02:35 AMThe Alliance Party, AFTER THE ELECTIONS, now reckons that the North should “set itself the objective of becoming economically self-sufficient, and no longer relying on subvention from London”.
Does this mean that Alliance party members will immediately and collectively resign from all those QUANGO’s where they currently sit in numbers which are disproportionate to their electoral strength, or is several grand a year per job for one or two days a minths too big of a bribe???
Can Alliance survive without this NIO subvention ???
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 03:09 AMAt least some of the parties are looking beyond the begging bowl.
“Is the APNI intending to reinvent itself as an Norn Iron Nationalist party?”
“Will they also reject EU assistance to our farmers, fishermen etc. as part of this stand on your own two feet agenda?”
It might be better to look at it in the context of the broader picture. Is this policy not similar to the Euro-statist positions being considered in Iberia?
If power were to transfer incrementally from London to Brussels then NI would become another slice in the EU pie.
NI in the Eurozone would be a big step.
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 03:55 AMAs there can’t be a united Ireland without a self-sufficient Northern Ireland first, the sneering of republicans here is quite surprising.
Perhaps republicans are having trouble reconciling the economic preconditions for a united Ireland with Sinn Fein’s stated economic policies, or lack thereof.Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 06:50 AMA main priority should be to improve literacy and to emphasise the importance of correct spelling of difficult concepts such as ‘sufficiency’!
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 08:19 AMDiversifying slightly, but still on the subject of economic success, many congratulations to the much lambasted Maginnes Bar who have managed to survive the awful consequences of the McCartney murder and who are now trading in full flight attracting hundreds of local office workers (from both communities) with their excellent lunctime menus and regular nighttime entertainment. Despite the “advice” of many critics (most of whom had never ever frequented it’s doors), this historic bar refused to die and has retained all of its historic characteristics. Long may it continue and prosper…
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 10:15 AMShore Road Resident:
As there can’t be a united Ireland without a self-sufficient Northern Ireland first….
How have you arrived at this conclusion? To be honest I don’t think you’re right, but I’d be interested in hearing your reasoning.
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 10:16 AMRoisin:
APNI haven’t outlined a plan either, merely asked for less money?
I see no part of the above article that says “give us less money”. The point is that the large parties are basing the future of NI on a sponging operation. We need to get together and start thinking about how to do it ourselves.
Damien:
Can NI achieve such a thing without fiscal autonomy from GB? I’d be surprised if it could to be honest and the chances of gaining fiscal autonomy within the Union are nil.
In the early 1990s I remember people saying to me that the Irish economy was fundamentally agrarian and that it would always rely on handouts from the EU. How wrong they were. I don’t believe there is anything specific about the Irish celtic tiger success story that we cannot replicate up here. In fact I think there is a chance that we could outrun them, given a head of steam and a chance. The trouble for the RoI is that they are facing serious issues with competitiveness. Goods and services are getting expensive, and obviously property is utterly insane.
I’m afraid that, if NI stays in the Union it’ll be more of the same. NI redefines the term ‘The Welfare State’. It exists on hand-outs. Great for the collective self-esteem. ‘Please sir, can I have some more?’ Pathetic.
Indeed it is pathetic, and that crap needs to stop. We need to wean ourselves off the handout tit.
I’d start by closing down InvestNI and creating a new Industrial Regeneration Board (IRB, I love it) as part of the Department for Enterprise, Trade and Investment. I think that industry grant and training activities need to be brought under the direct supervision of the assembly/executive rather than farmed out to civil servants. InvestNI’s strategy is completely wrong.
Aisling:
Does this mean that Alliance party members will immediately and collectively resign from all those QUANGO’s where they currently sit in numbers which are disproportionate to their electoral strength, or is several grand a year per job for one or two days a minths too big of a bribe???
I dare you to list those quangos ?
I don’t really think you want to have a fight over which politicans are the biggest sink of taxpayer cash. I’d just redirect you to the NI Assembly remuneration & expenses page. And that doesn’t even begin to look into the community associations where SF members are paid £20K a year to drink tea and take classes in street art and graffiti.
Wilde:
“Is the APNI intending to reinvent itself as an Norn Iron Nationalist party?”
To some extent, we all are. I don’t believe in patriotism or nationalism, or any of that nonsense, but I do have a feel for what we are capable of up here. I remember a few years ago that both Gerry Adams and David Trimble attended an Ulster match at Lansdowne Road. It’s a small example, but I think it showed that trumpeting our regional capability is not confined to any one party or political creed (or indeed to rugby).
macswiney:
Diversifying slightly, but still on the subject of economic success, many congratulations to the much lambasted Maginnes Bar who have managed to survive the awful consequences of the McCartney murder and who are now trading in full flight attracting hundreds of local office workers (from both communities) with their excellent lunctime menus and regular nighttime entertainment.
Are you the guy who bought it ? I’ve been past it a few times and it hasn’t seemed busy to me. The only way you’ll get people back in there is to put bouncers on the door and stop the hoods from the Markets getting in. I didn’t think they’d done that. I was also a bit put off by the advertisement of blatant touristy fiddledy-dee stuff on the signs outside.
Damien:
How have you arrived at this conclusion? To be honest I don’t think you’re right, but I’d be interested in hearing your reasoning.
I don’t think self-sufficiency is a precondition for reunification, but surely people have to have some self respect. “Yes, we want you to be reunited with us and then start paying through the nose for our hospitals, schools and welfare state, because we can’t be bothered getting off our backsides and doing it ourselves” ? Doesn’t sound compelling to me.
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 10:55 AMThanks Mick for raising this important thread.
It shows, in fact, how the Alliance Party has changed since the “near-death experience” of ‘03. The idea of such a motion passing unanimously 4-5 years ago in our party would have been, well, unlikely to say the least.
Peter
If the Green Party is content for NI to become permanently dependent on hand outs from other places and therefore permanently to lack any self-respect, I think we should be told…
SuperSoupy
Politics in practice is much more about priorities than about actual positions.
I myself said to Council in my speech that everyone would agree NI should develop more industry/services/enterpreneurial culture. But everyone agreed that 30 years ago, and 60 years ago, yet precisely the opposite has happened.
The position adopted yesterday was that this should be top priority. For without at least this objective, NI will be forever reliant on hand outs. Increased spending on health, education, infrastructure etc will forever be dependent on the whims of London (or Dublin or Brussels). That’s not good.
Slug
Thank you for your kind words.
I am, however, quite content as a humble local councillor!
T&J
Brian Wilson cannot be ditched by Alliance because he’s not a member of the party.
The Assembly Group has simply agreed to share out committee places with him and designate the same way, ensuring all bar one of the committees have one MLA of that designation.
Aisling
Really tired stuff. Try reading what we said BEFORE THE ELECTIONS, and BEFORE THE BUDGET… ideas such as abandoning segregated public spending, cutting back on education/health administration, “smarter spending” etc etc.
Can Alliance survive without this NIO subvention
Which NIO subvention is this, precisely?
If you mean the hundreds of thousands of pounds given to “ministerial special advisers” even though there are no ministers, you’ll find we don’t receive that - although the Ulster Unionists and SDLP do.
Have you referred your question to them? What was the response?
Wilde Rover and shore road resident
100% correct.
Anyone who denies NI is distinct from GB and from RoI is denying reality. Iberia is quite a good model, at least in terms of our thinking.
One of the reasons we must become self-sufficient is to make our own decisions on health, education etc (above).
But another is indeed that it is the only context in which the “constitutional question” can be seriously and confidently addressed…
Damien Okado Gough
... because cash-rich and all as it is, RoI does not have €10 billion spare each and every year, and even if it did I suspect those in the 26 counties would have an idea of a few better things to be done with it!
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 10:57 AMComrade
InvestNI’s strategy is completely wrong.
Strategy…?
Sorry, another cynical moment, I really should get some self-respect…!
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 10:59 AMWhy doesn’t Alliance become self-sufficient?
For example, I have heard they are always asking for money from their members to cover brief election shortfalls and running costs.
You would think, would you not, that their MLA’s would re-direct money from their salaries to cover such short-term Party debts.
But No, of course they wouldn’t do that because they don’t practice what they preach and they don’t want their own money messed with.
Nice abstract idea but Alliance men and women don’t do what they want others to do when it comes to money that would go or is about to go into their own accounts.
It remains to be seen whether such bold talk is matched with action in respect of fiscal arrangements within the Alliance Party itself.
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 11:55 AMI suspect all Alliance MLAs should draw the European average salary and re-invest the rest into the party. A bit like the Sinn Fein method.
Maybe that might make the Alliance Party more credible when it speaks like this. Maybe even attract more members that way also?
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 12:09 PMDamien Okado Gough
Can NI achieve such a thing without fiscal autonomy from GB?
This has also been ratting around in my head for some time. I cannot see how we can do what is necessary unless we do have fiscal autonomy. So how do you achieve that?I am not adverse to taking any money on offer but long term that position is neither sustainable nor desirable.
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 01:00 PM“I am not adverse to taking any money on offer but long term that position is neither sustainable nor desirable.”
We need to adopt a variation on the Golden Rule - any subvention from wherever should not be used to fund current expenses. The money should go straight into infrastructure and investment and the budget should balance over the course of a cycle.
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 01:53 PMI’ve always been disappointed with Alliance as they spent most of the period from their foundation until the GFA merely following the fashionable political orthodoxy without doing any thinking of their own.
The ridiculous d’Hondt/communal voting designation farce that was agreed in the GFA is partly as a result of the lack of serious thought from Alliance (and to a greater extent from the SDLP) as to how the “executive power sharing” slogan could ever be made into a practical political reality. Since 1998 they have been marginalised by the Frankensteins monster of a constitution that their smug negligence helped to create.
Despite this I am quite impressed by this Alliance motion. At last they have decided to come up with some new ideas, rather than join the queue at the NIO with their begging bowl in hand.
With the increase in the Alliance vote in the last election and this new policy, maybe there is some hope for the party yet.
Posted by on Mar 25, 2007 @ 01:56 PM