Saturday, June 24, 2006

A peaceful parade and a peaceful protest

I have just returned from the annual Whiterock parade.  Both the parade and protest went off without a hitch (as far as I could see).

I must admit that today made me genuinely hopeful.  I don’t care about “They only did it because….” or “But what about…” . Both sides delivered.  After just missing total success at the Tour of the North and a total success at the Whiterock two good precedents have been set.  I can remember debating on here with many who said that the democratic standard of a peaceful parade with opponents protesting peacefully was something that would be very difficult/impossible to achieve.  Today it was achieved and in an area hard hit by the troubles.

PS I am promised some video footage in the next couple of days.

Fair Deal @ 03:25 PM

Advertise on Slugger O'Toole
    Page 1 of 4 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »
  1. People would’t have to protest if you did not walk where you were not wanted. Whats next Garvaghy?

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 04:52 PM
  2. The mark of a civilised society is a balance of rights. I think that that has worked here- the right to free assembly in a public place has been exercised responsibly as has the right to protest. I stand to be corrected, but none of this took place in anyones’ front garden.

Posted by pakman on Jun 24, 2006 @ 05:02 PM
  3. I think whiterock was a positive move forward - the orange were restricted to a respectful parade, and the residents were able to observe a peaceful protest.

The orange dont view this as a victory and neither do the residents, thats the nature of compromise and the result epitomises the values of mutual respect and toleration.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 05:09 PM
  4. As Tim Attwood points out, ‘‘The good behaviour of the marchers and supporters this year does not take away from the fact that the parades commission effectively rewarded them for their atrocious behaviour last year.’

Even Adams said the PC surrendered to loyalist threats.

This parade took place peacefully, because the residents had no choice, they did not want any trouble, unlike the orange who if not granted to walk nationalist streets subject the community to four days of violence at a cost of £3million to the tax payer. Hardly a balance of rights.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 05:14 PM
  5. As Tim Attwood points out, ‘’The good behaviour of the marchers and supporters this year does not take away from the fact that the parades commission effectively rewarded them for their atrocious behaviour last year.’

Sean Murray said on BBC that the residents have been taken for granted and this must end

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 05:16 PM
  6. Now the Provos have decommissioned, expect more of the same. The PC has always given into the threat of force from whatever side. Republicans no longer have the wherewithal to play that game. Also it’s clear that SF didn’t want any trouble ahead of the talks which are going to involve an inevitable signing up to policing. So the last thing they needed was pictures of nationalists fighting the cops.
    Unionism just keeps on winning, and its inability to publically concede that provides the cover for SF to keep moving into full acceptance of NI as a state.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 05:19 PM
  7. Wait for Garvaghy. 100 to one they walk down Garvaghy.  It’s a dead cert.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 05:22 PM
  8. Brenda

“Wait for Garvaghy. 100 to one they walk down Garvaghy.  It’s a dead cert.”

Why would a token march with a legal protest in Portadown be so bad?

Posted by pakman on Jun 24, 2006 @ 05:40 PM
  9. Seems to me the shinners don’t want any trouble in the lead up to the general election in the south. May well be a different story next year.

Perhaps the orangemen will try to walk down Garvaghy, if only as part of a strategy to make sinn fein seem so soft in the face of unionism that many of their potential supporters in the south may become disillusioned. I don’t know how truly independent the Parades Commission is but I imagine that at the end of the day these decisions are really taken by the government. Hain’s desire to get 2 orangemen onboard in the run up to garvaghy may indicate that there is indeed some truth in the idea that this strategy is being undertaken.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 05:48 PM
  10. ‘I must admit that today made me genuinely hopeful.  I don’t care about “They only did it because….” or “But what about…” . Both sides delivered.’

Loyalists delivered absolutely nothing.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 05:50 PM
  11. The more I listen to nationalist negativity, in the face of every eventuality, the more I am convinced they are simply not up to the job of peaceful coexistance with their neighbours.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 05:53 PM
  12. Then you need to do more thinking, to comprehend the situation more accurately, thereby to have more of a clue, so as to better question your mores…

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 05:58 PM
  13. See…

it’s always someone else fault.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 05:58 PM
  14. the saying you get the politicians you deserve, well what the fuck did the nationalist people do to deserve the shower of shit and the rat bags who call themselves community reps, 30 odd years and all we get “I nominate Ian Paisley for first minister” a big house in Donegal and the hell with the people .the orange men will walk where they want so get used to it , Gerry Kelly will be minister for policing and he will bring back the broy harriers, that will teach ye reps for not voting s/f brenda is right wait for garvaghy 100

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 06:03 PM
  15. “Unionists keep on winning…...”
    What have they won?
    Over thirty years they’ve lost everything.
    They dominated and controlled their own government, police force, jobs, media - now what have they got?
    No government, no police force, no employment,
    worst educational standards in these islands.
    Areas controlled and run by paramilitaries.
    And all they want is to be able to march through catholic areas - let them march. Our day will soon come.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 06:37 PM
  16. Difference with Garvaghy is about two miles past 60 houses and the shear violence inflicted on that community by the OO/UDA/UVF from the mid 1800’s during thier “civil parade”.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 06:42 PM
  17. 50%

I think it already has!

Tonight was very hopeful, but as with all these things it is the aftermath and analysis is all important. I think Tim Attwood missed a stroke. This came at the end of dialogue which the OO have had to accept. Last year’s violence did them great harm and they have had to bend. Instead he has just been SF-lite.

The story is the further splitting between pragmatists and fundamentalists on both sides. It is just becoming more clear who will win in the end. The Governments will grind down the extremists in the end.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 06:49 PM
  18. As Tim Attwood points out, ‘’The good behaviour of the marchers and supporters this year does not take away from the fact that the parades commission effectively rewarded them for their atrocious behaviour last year.’

...obvious really isn’t it? A simple point very well made.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 07:04 PM
  19. Just logged on to Slugger and saw the Orange,

Are Holland playing football in Belfast tonight??????

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 07:20 PM
  20. 50%+ mo cara wake up and smell the coffee,unionists have their stormont back. and now its cooperfastened by int law the republic has dropped its claim to sovernity, ie., articles 2+3 of the constitution,same police but another name, the s/f reps are now nothing more than houseboys to Paisley ,er,umn. if its ok please can I on behalf of the people we betrayed now nominate his greatness the very rev Ian
    Paisley lord Divis street as first minister,poor /no employment fuck work when the dummy tits are giving us 80 million for burning busses and Mc Aleese is arse licking gangesters arses,area,run by paramilitaries they haven gone away you know?and to make it all worse I predict Gerry Kelly minister for home affairs will be the next person on this island to sign internment papers on the nationalist people with information supplied by the local chucks/mi5 yip your right 50%+ things have changed we were once a proud people getting up of our knees, now those big house people have put the cause of Irish freedom back at least 50 years /

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 07:32 PM
  21. Just logged on to Slugger and saw the Orange,

Are the mobile phone giant’s employee’s taking strike action in Belfast??????

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 07:39 PM
  22. Does the lead banner say:

500 Free Texts and 200 Free minutes When You sign up to ORANGE??????????

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 07:41 PM
  23. The banner should read - we suport & commemorate a fully armed & active paramilitary organisation who are the biggest drug suppliers in the country and who are still killing catholics, protestants and their own.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 08:57 PM
  24. Mastermind comes to Belfast.

First contestant, Grand Master Orange Order.

Question one: Who invented the mobile telephone???

Grand Master Orange Order:

William of Orange!!!!

If you take the Orange Order and apply them to history,
    a clear translation are the words VICHY, or Quisling!!!!!

If you take Ian Paisley and apply him to history, a clear translaltion is Henri-Philippe Petain or Vidkun Quisling.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 09:22 PM
  25. Good news Fair Deal

I trust you behaved yourself ;o)

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on Jun 24, 2006 @ 09:58 PM
  26. Page 1 of 4 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.

Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland, the Republic and Britain.

Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design

News, tips or crits here: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) (change "-at-" to "@")

Commenting Policy