|
|
Saturday, February 28, 2009
Apparently Bertie arrived with his old mate Paddy the Plasterer… The Irish Tenors took seven minutes to sing the town I loved so well. And here’s the Lambegs at Croke Park... Maybe that’s what freaked Mr O’Gara?

Too good to miss… Your captions please..?
Mick Fealty @ 09:44 PM
RTÉ does a good job of collating the speeches at the Fianna Fáil Ard Fheis today [Check against delivery - Ed] with Taoiseach Brian Cowen promising a new financial watchdog, warning that in this fight for Ireland’s economic life taxes would rise and services would suffer in the short term, and that recovery will be tough but as a small nation Ireland can adapt radically - “we have submitted our targets and proposals for this to the European Commission. And they have accepted them.” Hmm.. With reservations. From Brian Cowen’s speech. During the good times, we developed a fairer and more progressive tax system that allowed people to keep more of their own money. Everyone had a better standard of living. That tax model was based on continuing growth. It works best when we have high employment and a thriving economy. Unfortunately, we are not a thriving economy for now, and we need to adapt our tax system to fit our new circumstances. Everyone will need to pay more.
Timely then for the Irish Times’ Colm Keena’s article on the “good old days” A key point about this is that a large percentage of the Governments tax take was from property or construction-related taxes and the people who were paying these taxes were borrowing the money from the banks, who were in turn borrowing the money abroad. The Ahern era pro-cyclical credo, if you have it, spend it, is considered a very unwise economic strategy by many economists, but there must be few if any on the globe who advocate a policy of borrowing abroad to pay taxes during a boom era, so you can pay off the borrowings later when youre in a bust.
The result has been a type of perfect storm with a collapsed property market bringing with it a sharp contraction in the economy and public finances that are badly in the red. Meanwhile the people who took out mortgages and other property-related loans during the boom years are left with their long-terms debts, while also being faced with the likelihood of increased income tax rates.
As well as claiming credit for running a can do low-tax entrepreneurial economy, the Government also has a tendency to point out that we have a debt to gross domestic product (GDP) ratio that is low compared to other European economies, putting us in a strong position for weathering the storm in which we now find ourselves.
But this, too, is a bogus claim to some extent. Much of the more wild borrowing by builders, property developers and property speculators that occurred during the boom will most likely never be paid back. Many ordinary mortgage holders will also not be able to pay their debts. The resultant hole in the finances of our banks is a problem that the taxpayer, via the exchequer, looks likely to have to fix. No one has as yet put a figure on this black hole but it will no doubt be huge.
Has anyone told Bertie?
Wrap up...
Pete Baker @ 08:38 PM
This is doing the rounds. Have a go and give your result (remember cheaters never prosper)
You’ve ten minutes to get all 32.
I got them with 5.54 remaining
Mark McGregor @ 06:23 PM
politics.ie has tomorrow’s SBP/RedC poll:
FG 30 (-3)
FF 23 (-5)
LAB 22 (+8)
Green 6 (-2)
SF 11 (+2)
IND 8
Lisbon 70/30 Yes/No
Mark McGregor @ 04:34 PM
“So youre a Nipple then?”
Id barely been sat at the desk in my first job in Edinburgh when this question was asked. I wondered what insinuation I was missing out on. Was there something about my appearance that indicated a certain sexual kink ? Quickly I checked my attire to ensure that my chest had not inexplicably become exposed.
Obviously none of this took place quickly enough. Or the blank look of confusion gave it away. After all my inquisitor was a social worker and new colleague, she was bound to pick up on such facial and bodily nodes. She went on and explained, “Northern Ireland Professional Person Living Elsewhere.”
The penny dropped and relief washed over me. I did wonder how after 8 years in London, that upon that day 8 years ago just starting out in Scotland, that this was the first time Id heard the acronym. But then I realised that it was incredibly true. You can take the boy out of Norn Iron, but you cant take Norn Iron out of the boy.
So I started to reflect. I used to leave London with a Ulster accent to land at Belfast with a London accent. Id once trudged the whole way across London to Kilburn to get to an Irish bakery to get my soda bread and potato farls for a St. Patricks day breakfast treat, only for my local Tesco to start stocking both items weeks later. When I worked taking customer service calls I used to love hearing that a postcode started BT as then I knew I could talk “normal like” and not in some sort of clipped universally understandable tongue. So there clearly was a part of me that was forever where I grew up.
Some of you back home have already picked up occasional items from my political blog they even appear in the odd Blogburst here. But this column will reflect more on the cultural differences us yer man and yer woman or Norn Iron will face while living or working elsewhere. Of course being heavily involved in politics I can guarantee that it will pop up from time to time, either in passing comment or as the subject for that week. However, this is a little bit of light relief for me and hopefully rather fun/informative/readable [delete any that are not applicable] for the readers of Slugger. So thanks to Mike for hosting this I hope you enjoy the ride. Trust me over 16 years of living on the British mainland there is plenty to come.
I was considering some background biographical details for this intro. But realised it will probably be more intriguing and a greater surprise to the reader as I meander through my experiences to probably break down some stereotypes as I go. For the record this wasn’t written during the first half of the Ireland v England game even if I will be submitting it during half time and it may have been a better use of time.
Stephen Glenn @ 03:58 PM
I must admit to welcoming the Ulster Conservative and Unionist New Force. If it produced a new mould breaking era of non sectarian politics I would be delighted. However, I would suggest that there are worrying echoes of the past in this new set up. I am of course referring to Trimbles UUP: I know the comparison is far from exact but there are dangers lurking.
Trimbles leadership of the UUP was a triumph. This was the man who helped negotiate a new devolved form of government: he managed to move his party from opposition to power sharing and into the leadership of devolved government. He himself, managed to move from being the rather prickly, difficult, highly intelligent academic and sometime Drumcree marcher to being an internationally respected leader, welcomed at the White House and recipient of a Nobel Peace prize. He then went on to pioneer moving the UUP out of sectarian Northern Ireland politics and to a new future where Decent People Vote(d) Ulster Unionist and the UUP was for all of us and Simply British.
Of course then there is the reality: Trimble was the most unbelievably appalling negotiator; even his own supporters gave up any pretence of believing his assorted lines in the sand. He complained and complained and then failed to stop concession after concession to republicans. He was lauded by assorted people outwith Northern Ireland and indeed congratulated by Gerry Adams within it. He then presided over the most flawless destruction of a political party in recent British history, taking his count of seats from 10 to 1 in only two general elections; assisted by a manifesto which the 1983 Labour party would have regarded as inept.
Why do I bring all that back up again?
I am concerned that the spring in the New Forces step is in part based on the favourable attention which they have received amongst moderate unionist politicos. These usually very nice, highly intelligent and well educated people from the Pale see themselves as simply British and as non sectarian, reasonable people. The sad reality for them is, however, that most people in Northern Ireland are less interested in politics. I am unconvinced that terribly many will see this new force as anything terribly exciting, fronted as it is by the same rather tired and indeed sad UUP leadership. Many middle class unionists within the Pale are not that moderate (I used to be one). Also moving outside the Pale the simple reality is that non tribal politics is not viable out west where there be dragons and I see little sign of it in the north of Northern Ireland where the Presbyterians of North Antrim and Orangemen of East Londonderry are unlikely to be easily convinced.
The New Force clearly wishes to attract pro union Roman Catholics: again a very laudable aim but again one which Trimble tried in the past. The New Forces supporters can of course counter that they have lost the baggage of Trimbles jig up the Garvaghy Road: but he had pretty comprehensively dumped that years before and the pro union Catholics showed little inclination to ride to his rescue on 23rd May 2005. In addition the senior UUP leaders who were there when Trimble performed political voluntary euthanasia on himself and involuntary euthanasia on his party are still there; convincing large numbers of nationalists and pro union RCs of their completely non sectarian nature may be difficult.
Another potential problem is the apparent slight differences between the two parties in this match made in heaven. Even leaving aside Sylvia Hermon (their only significant politician who can legitimately claim to have defeated a DUP candidate) there do seem to be some subtle differences between the UUP and the Conservatives. These are differences which may become more evident during an election campaign and will undoubtedly be mercilessly exploited by their opponents. It must be remembered that the public do not like divided political parties: again one need only look back to Trimbles leadership to remember that for much of his time he had internal opposition and that air of division and uncertainty is always politically corrosive.
The other thing which worries me for the New Force is the appearance of shiny English Tory types. I know I have discussed this before but I do feel at times that some in the UUP are bewitched by a bit of Received Pronunciation, ideally along with a public school education and an Oxbridge degree. I well remember many of us the same age as Steven King suggesting that although he was hard working, intelligent and affable; the fact that he was popular with the media especially in GB and RoI did not mean his ideas were going to take the UUP to heroic successful glory (unless one regards the Charge of the Light Brigade in that context). Again I fear that the New Force could be bewitched by party advisors etc. brought in by the mainland Tories. These people are extremely good at their job; however, that job is in England (and to a limited extent in Wales and an even lesser one in Scotland). They use things like polling data and such like which are notoriously inaccurate in Northern Ireland. Much as the New Force supporting denizens of the Pale may wish it: in electoral terms Ulster is not the same as Finchley.
There is a danger that the New Force is repeating exactly the same mistakes as Trimbles UUP did: by focusing on and listening to themselves and sympathetic politicos and journalists; believing their own propaganda and spin and losing sight of their own electorate. By doing this they may manage to alienate a considerable proportion of their core support and yet pick up very few new voters: just because they think that they are presenting a New Force does not mean that the Northern Ireland electorate will agree with them. It is of course possible that this New Force may break the mould of NI politics; alternatively it may have no effect or even decrease Jim Nicholsons chances of election. Clearly I am biased but there is a warning from recent history.
Wrap up...
Turgon @ 03:27 PM
Like Reason‘s Jesse Walker it’s been a while since I’ve read Philip José Farmer’s Riverworld Saga series, but his “To Your Scattered Bodies Go” was an early, and breathtaking, example of the possibilities of the sci-fi genre for a stunned 11-year-old living in rural Northern Ireland. The 91 year old author, who received a Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America grand master prize and a World Fantasy lifetime achievement award in 2001, died earlier this week in his home town of Peoria, Illinois. Boing Boing’s Cory Doctorow pays tribute, and try this from C P Carey - “And that was Phil. The smartest, nicest Trickster you could ever meet.” The Guardian’s obituary recounts the setbacks in the career of the “most underrated SF writer of all time”, and from the Guardian’s Book Blog It’s a testament to Farmer that he continued in his revolt against the real for his entire writing life and beyond. Precisely because his name never accrued the same aura of many of his peers, his novels still manage to sneak up on unsuspecting readers. They have not been consigned to the intellectual ghetto of “literature” as Vonnegut has, or repeatedly corrupted by the watered-down vision of Hollywood as Philip K Dick has been. They can still be found left lying around for impressionable minds to stumble upon, ready and waiting to deliver a much needed slap in the face.
Indeed.
Pete Baker @ 01:00 PM
Just heard that Ian Parsley, Alliance Councillor in North Down and current Deputy Mayor is to fight for a seat in the European Parliament.
UPDATE: Offical statement here
Andrew Charles @ 10:28 AM
The post-mortem of last night’s Welsh defeat is underway. [France’s victory, surely? - Ed] Don’t call me Shirley. Today, Ireland will be hoping that England’s form, and their discipline, doesn’t suddenly improve at Croke Park and that Ireland’s unchanged side become the team they’ve threatened to be - Kick-off 5.30pm - G’s live-blogging it. First up though, Scotland will try to send Italy home with the wooden spoon - despite Brendan Cole’s prediction. Kick-off 3pm. Half-Time at Murrayfield. Scotland 16 - 3 Italy. Final Scotland 26 - 6 Italy. Now 12min in. A bit uninspired so far and O’Gara misses a penalty. 21min. A better passage of play brings another penalty. And another O’Gara miss. 29mins. First points from O’Gara’s boot. 38mins. England level. Half-Time Ireland 3 - 3 England. Worryingly, 3-3 is a fair score at this point. Despite more possession Ireland look vulnerable and seem to be waiting for a miracle play. 2nd Half 42min O’Gara misses again. 45min. A drop-goal from BOD! 54min. Pressure from Ireland’s secure lineout results in yellow for England No3. 57min. Finally, a try. Sustained pressure against 14man England and BOD scores. O’Gara misses. 65min. England pull back a penalty. Replacements on for both sides. 70min. Another yellow against England. Moore agrees with the decision. And O’Gara scores the penalty. 75min. Brian Moore’s Man of the Match.. BOD! 77min. And the crowd start singing. Doesn’t last long. 79min England score a deserved try. Final Ireland 14 - 13 England. It ended in an unruly muddle. Much like the game itself. Ireland were very very lucky today. They’ll have to play much better against Scotland, nevermind Wales, to win the Championship.
Pete Baker @ 10:08 AM
Under FOI, the latest disclosures in the Guardian about the workings of the notorious Regulation of Investigatory Powers Act (RIPA).
Sir Christopher Rose, the Chief Surveillance Commissioner, was particularly critical of Defra. In a letter to Helen Ghosh, the department’s most senior official, he said that his findings from one inspection made “lamentable reading”. He found it impossible to discover which senior officials were in charge of making sure the surveillance powers were used lawfully and found the department had not properly authorised the use of undercover officials who were seeking to prevent the illegal importation of live fish.
Tracking devices were attached to vehicles in a bid to monitor the disposal of waste, after the Environment Agency received apparently incorrect advice from the Home Office
But whatever he says now, David Cameron wont be protecting essential rights if he introduces a new British Bill which alters the essentials of the Human Rights Act, which domesticated the European Convention on Human Rights.
The Tory leader in a written statement for today’s Convention on Modern Liberty promises that a Conservative government would replace the Human Rights Act with a British bill of rights to “better tailor, but also strengthen, the protection of our core rights.”
The Constitution Unit says: The two main parties remain wary ofthe HRA. However neither is likely to depart from the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR). For both parties if for different reasons, a Bill of Rights and Responsibilities may yet become the instrument to embed a rights culture in the fertile soil of the British constitution and civil liberties tradition.
BTW, the draft Northern Ireland HR Bill is said to be emerging soon. Has anyone got as squint at it yet? So far, Ive drawn a blank. Hopefully well hear more after todays Convention on Modern Liberty, ( Queens session).
Wrap up...
Brian Walker @ 08:55 AM
Owen Paterson one of the leading members of the Ulster Conservative and Unionist New Force; known hereafter on this thread as Fifth Force (to prove a large leap away from the Third Force, or possibly to sound like Fifth Column) has suggested that the Fifth force would like to negotiate with the other Stormont parties to reform the power sharing structures. He seems to feel the current arrangements are fine for the moment But I don’t see this as the final arrangement and we’re quite open about that - we would like in due course, this could be years away, to move to a more normal democratic arrangement.”
Unsurprisingly Martin McGuinness has dismissed any move towards any form of voluntary coalition as it amounts (according to him) to unionist majority rule. What Paterson seems to be saying may well be sensible from a unionist point of view and I have little doubt is not actually a proposal to return to majority rule. It is also what Peter Robinson has been advocating for some time. However, unless the world changes a great deal to do this from within the current structures would be impossible due to Sinn Fein having a veto.
Paterson may feel that the Fifth Force is proposing this from a different starting point from the DUP and as such it would be acceptable to nationalists due to his new organisations non sectarian nature. It is, however, far too early days to even contemplate saying such a thing no matter the caveats of this could be years away and I am afraid this may simply be used by SF as proof that the New Force is not remotely new.
Paterson is, however, correct in feeling that the current structures do not provide a normal democratic arrangement and indeed are self evidently useless. Unfortunately for both Paterson and the DUP the only way to introduce a more sensible mechanism of power sharing would be to tear the whole thing down and start again. Paterson should know this to be the case and as such his latest intervention is, I am afraid, pretty pointless. Unless that is, it is an attempt to attract TUV 2nd preferences by a very subtle form of masquerading as a hard line unionist / integrationalist aiming destroy the agreement? That is too cynical surely?
Wrap up...
Turgon @ 08:54 AM
Over on Redemption’s Son it is reported that the NI Conservatives have ruled out campaigning using the word ‘Ulster’ attributed to their new electoral/ballot paper name: Ulster Conservative and Unionists - New Force.
Redemption’s Son comments:
“From my understanding, or at least what I have been led to believe, this is not the case. It was agreed to run as Ulster Conservatives and Unionists. There is a reason for this, and whether the editor believes so or not, he is out of order to actively pursue an agenda that jeopardises the goodwill between the UUP and the Conservative Party. From the comments it looks like the Editor is up to his old tricks of selective censorship and self praise.
“Idiotic behaviour as demonstrated by those in the Conservative Party who are either enabling this counter-productive activity or are turning a blind eye to it must be stopped at once. All this will achieve is a reaction that will be pounced upon by the detractors of the ‘New Force’ of rifts appearing.”
On the name change
Given the fact that people over the age of fifty generally vote UUP how will the party seek to educate their older voters in the name change as the first some may find out about it is when they visit the ballot box wondering ... ‘now wheres that UUP?’ - a party that has been on the ballot paper ever since the establishment of Northern Ireland.
Wrap up...
Andrew Charles @ 08:22 AM
Fianna Fail Ard Fheis 09
The live coverage starts at 11 on RTE Live. There’s another live blog over at Tuppenceworth that we’ll be dipping into from time to time during the day. Taoiseach’s speech scheduled at 8.30. Blog is live for tweets from now. I’ll be dipping in and out from 11 onwards. If you are there and twittering, let us know and we can add your voice to the conversation!!
Mick Fealty @ 04:15 AM
Friday, February 27, 2009
A few Slugger regulars are intending to go along to a public meeting with anarchist and former Black Panther Ashanti Aliston in an Culturlann on Tues at 7pm.
Want to join us? Drop me a mail or just turn up.
Former Black Panther and Black Liberation Army member Ashanti Alston is to speak in the Culturlann next week as part of a speaking tour of Ireland.
Ashanti known as the ‘anarchist panther’ was a member of the Black Panther Party in the 1960s and the early 1970s. As a political prisoner Ashanti spent over a decade in US prisons and since became an anarchist while still drawing on many of his experiences and ideas that spurred him on as a Black Panther activist.
Ashanti remains a community activist in New Jersey and in recent years has spoke in several cities across the United States said:
I am delighted to be embarking on this tour across Ireland ending in Liberty Hall on March 7 for the Dublin Anarchist Bookfair, especially whenever everyone is suffering from Obamamania at the moment.
I have always wanted to visit Belfast as I was influenced by the struggle here particularly during the civil rights era and hope to share my experiences in the struggle for social change.
WSM spokesperson Michael McGovern added: We are delighted to be hosting this talk as we have a lot to learn from the Black Panthers in terms of their successful community programmes. In times of growing inequality, unemployment and bankers being bailed out the need for a revolutionary transformation of society is as relevant as it was in the 1960s.
The upcoming talk, which is free, takes place on Tuesday, March 3 at 7pm at the Culturlann Gallery room), 216 Falls Road, West Belfast.
Also live interview with Belfast radio show The Fourth World War, Feile FM on Monday, March 3 at 6.30pm.
Féile FM 103.2 or on line at http://www.feilefm.com
Wrap up...
Mark McGregor @ 10:03 PM
After the controversy surrounding the last film luvvie to tell us about the IRA, I suppose it should come as no surprise that another actor from the film 50 dead men walking, Jim Sturgess has told us that some of the ex-IRA members he met ...were genuinely nice, passionate people. He goes on to tell us ...it was a thrilling undercover ride, really. We would go into these pubs that we would never normally be allowed to hang out in, but because of who we were with we were vouched for. I would definitely not do that as an average citizen visiting Belfast. So it was exciting, becoming part of the city or at least pretending to. Soaking it all in. Maybe Mr. Sturgees has been captured by the romance of the rebellion: I wonder if he should visit some of the places where these passionate people committed their acts or visit some victims of these peoples passion. I suppose most likely this is simply nonsense to try to promote the film: the fact that it is pretty offensive nonsense will be unlikely to affect Sturgees.
Turgon @ 09:20 PM
A post on irishrepublican.net (sorry, I know that link is usless to most of you) highlighted the ANTIFA website showing the BNP are selling a CD including tracks that seem pretty Irish Republican in nature - now of course I haven’t bought the CD so maybe it is the older version of ‘The Foggy Dew’ they are selling but I only know one version of ‘Only Our rivers Run Free’ and it doesn’t seem like a BNP compliant tune.
Mark McGregor @ 09:04 PM
Limavady Council famed for its audit of unionist symbols is back in the news as some of its employee have refused to wear a new uniform due to its bilingual (English / Irish) logo. Ulster Unionist councillor Edwin Stevenson said the council should abandon its policy of putting its logo in Irish on all council property whilst Francie Brolly has the following statement on the Sinn Fein website:
“The placing of the Irish language on the logo of Limavady Council was done so in the 2001 and 2005 term as an issue of equality. No objections were raised at that time and the logo is present on council property and vehicles.
Recently the logo on the council uniforms was updated to standardize the boroughs imagery. This is no threat to anyone or their identity. The two languages on the logos are representative of the people on this island and should be seen as such.
For a small group of workers, roughly 20 out of 170 employees, to register their protest is their prerogative however it must be stressed that the logo is inclusive and holds no political connotations. To believe this to be so is mistaken and I am happy to meet with those council workers who object to Irish being on their uniforms to hear their position.”
Sinn Féin councillor Cathal Ó‘hOisín said it is a matter of equality.
“The draft policy is currently out for equality impact assessment, and consultation work is going on and that will continue through the month of March. We’ll look then at what the reaction is and the impact that it has had,”
It is unclear how enthusiastic the workers will be to meet either Mr. Ó‘hOisín or Mr. Brolly.
Wrap up...
Turgon @ 08:33 PM
Must be a first.
Mark McGregor @ 08:23 PM
For the first time Fianna Fáil are to join a pan-European party - the European Liberal, Democratic and Reform Party - and may affiliate to the ALDE Group within the European Parliament. The announcement proposal was made by Taoiseach Brian Cowen at the Official Opening of 72nd Fianna Fáil Ard Fheis. Full text here. “This is a time when parties who support Europe from all parts of the Union must work more closely together. They must make sure that the Parliament works well and stands against the radical Eurosceptic agenda.
Given the changing role of the Parliament and the new structures of its groups, Fianna Fáil has no alternative but to reconsider current arrangements. We need to strengthen our work with others who share our basic approach while insisting on the right to vote in accordance with the views of the people we represent. To that end, we will soon advance a proposal to join, for the first time, a pan-European party - the European Liberal, Democratic and Reform Party. Our representatives have been part of that partys group in the Council of Europe for some time and this has worked out well particularly because it is a group which works hard to respect the views of smaller countries.
Following Junes election, should everything progress as expected, we will then consider joining the parliamentary group to which the ELDR is affiliated. I am confident that we can negotiate a position that will strengthen our voice and that of all people who believe in a Europe of states working closely together.”
Pete Baker @ 05:08 PM
Tomorrow will see Ireland welcome England back to Croke Park whilst Scotland battle Italy in the likely wooden spoon contest. Tonight though, under the floodlights at Stade de France, Wales will try to keep their Grand Slam hopes on track against a French side that may be unsettled by their coach’s tinkering. Interestingly, as he did against Ireland, Chabal will start the game rather than play his more effective role [against weaker opposition] as a second half impact substitution. Assessments of the games by Eddie Butler, and RTÉ‘s Brendan Cole - “If [the French] win - some sort of heroic rearguard action cannot be discounted - it will be in spite of their coach.” Kick-off 8pm. Half-Time France 13 - 13 Wales. Punishing 1st half ends with France breaking through the Welsh defence to score a well-deserved try. France back to the level they were playing at against Ireland. But, having had the shorter preparation time, we’ll have to wait to see whether home advantage will tell this time. 2nd Half 53mins in. Sustained pressure brings try reward for France. 65min. Missed penalty, but France dominating. 70min. Pressure tells again. 73min. Wales re-awaken and get a penalty. 78min. French defence holding. Final And like Ireland in Dublin, the defence, and French pride, holds out. Welsh mistakes contributed but France deservedly winners. France 21 - 16 Wales.
Pete Baker @ 05:04 PM
The Guardian reports that Reg Empey has stated that, as part of those new arrangements, he has a commitment from the Conservatives to designate Northern Ireland as an “enterprise zone” “What we have agreed is that all of Northern Ireland will be designated as an enterprise zone,” the UUP leader said. “It allows us to start to work on tax issues.” Asked if that would allow Northern Ireland to set a lower corporation tax, Empey said: “I would harbour that ambition to achieve special tax status.”
The Varney Review of Taxation didn’t think much of that proposal from a UK-wide prospective. Adds Anyone asked the Scottish Conservatives?
Pete Baker @ 04:07 PM
[This is taken from A Note from the Next Door Neighbours, the monthly e-bulletin of Andy Pollak, Director of the Centre for Cross Border Studies in Armagh and Dublin]
Nine years ago I wrote an article 1 for the Irish Times recounting my travails, having moved from Dublin to Armagh to work for the Centre for Cross Border Studies, when I tried to open a cross-border bank account, buy a mobile phone which I could also use to ring Southern numbers, insure my car and do other normal things that one does when moving to a job in a neighbouring jurisdiction.
It was incredibly complicated. Transferring money between Northern and Southern branches of the Bank of Ireland without punitive charges was impossible. The mass of conflicting information from mobile phone providers made my head spin. The purchase of car insurance was slowed by computers snagging on information from the South, and ridiculous sub-regulations that made it impossible for my wife to drive my Northern-registered car. Fellow Southerners told me to make sure that my children did not have an accident during a visit north for fear of exorbitant hospital charges. I concluded the article with a despairing cry: “Is it beyond the wit of financial institutions, telephone companies and health boards to start clearing the bureaucratic minefields which continue to litter this now largely peaceful territory?”
Nine years on I thought I would re-visit some of these problematic areas to see if there had been any progress. I was pleasantly surprised that the position re-mobile phones and car insurance seems to have got much better. Not surprisingly, the banking situation remains complicated, with some banks having improved while some - believe it or not - have actually got worse.
International mobile phone charges remain utterly impenetrable to most ordinary customers. However the companies assured me that everything had changed radically across the Irish border. O2 pointed to an announcement on their website dating from 2006 which promised that customers making previously costly ‘roaming’ calls (i.e. calls near the border that inadvertently connect to a network in the other jurisdiction) would not incur such charges in the future. At the same time the company announced an all-island ‘pre-pay’ flat rate for calls and texts. The website said ‘post-paid’ customers had been paying the same rate for cross-border calls as for domestic (i.e. own jurisdiction) calls since 2003.
A young man in the Vodafone head office in Dublin informed me that Vodafone in the Republic and Northern Ireland had reached an agreement that they would charge “the same price for calls between Belfast and Dublin as between Dublin and Waterford.” All I had to do was to ring Vodafone in Northern Ireland and get the “international bar” on my mobile “unbarred.”
[I have to say that I didn’t actually test these statements myself. I took the decision nine years ago to have a Southern mobile phone for my calls from the South and a Northern mobile for my calls from the North, and have stuck with that safe, old-fashioned option ever since. I would be interested in other regular cross-border travellers’ experience of using mobile phones.]
Car insurance couldn’t have been easier. By quoting my Irish driving licence, the make of my Northern car, and the postcode in my Northern address and assuring her that both my wife and I had ‘no claims’ bonuses in the South the same Armagh insurance broker I had such difficulty with nine years earlier was able within five minutes to give me a very competitive rate of £269 for a year’s comprehensive insurance covering both me and my wife.
The banks were a different story 2. The worst was the Bank of Ireland, which nine years ago was proposing to charge £6 per cross-border transaction (via bank draft), had now raised this to an exorbitant £25 for a ‘telegraphic transfer’. First Trust Bank (a sister bank of AIB) offered the same high-charge same day transfer, or a £14 charge for a Euro draft which I would then have to post myself. Ulster Bank said a cross-border BACS transaction would cost £25, but helpfully added that if I wanted to pay a cheque into a branch in the North, the bank would use its internal mail system to transfer it to an Ulster Bank branch in Dublin on the following day at no extra cost.
Perhaps the most improved banks of all are the two which since 2005 have been part of the Danish Danske Bank Group: Northern Bank and National Irish Bank. If you trust online banking, you can now transfer money electronically between these two banks free of charge, whereas before there would have been a cross-border change of €10 in the South and £12 in the North.
However having a good Scandinavian IT platform doesn’t mean the bad old Irish banking habits of indifference to the ordinary customer have disappeared. Attracted by this new cross-border offer, I went into a large NIB branch in Dublin recently to inquire about opening a savings account with a relatively sizeable amount of money. I have to say that the official behind the counter couldn’t have been less interested.
Andy Pollak
1 I’ve got those cross-border blues March 2000, Irish Times
2 For a comparison of cross-border personal banking charges see Border People
Wrap up...
Andy Pollak @ 01:31 PM
If you reckoned the new name for the conjoined UUP/Conservative Party was clearly conjured up by a committee, spare a thought for the [Local Government] Boundaries Commissioner. He has, reportedly, produced revised recommendations for names for 6 of the 11 new councils. It’s not quite what Gregory Campbell had in mind.. Adds There are also some boundary changes involved. Update Wrong Commission link fixed and here are the revised recommendations [pdf file]. Full revised recommendations here. There were six name changes proposed:
Derry City and Strabane District Council should be called Derry City and Strabane Regional Council.
Armagh City and Bann District should be called Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon District Council.
Newry City and Down District Council should be called Newry City, Mourne and Down District Council.
Ards and North Down District Council should be called North Down and Ards District Council.
Causeway Coast District Council should be called Causeway Coast and Glens District Council.
Mid Antrim District Council should be called Mid and East Antrim District council.
From the revised recommendations [pdf file]
For the most part the boundaries of the new districts are as set out in my Provisional Recommendations. The main change is between the Mid Ulster and the Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon districts where the new boundary follows the line of the River Blackwater, this being a more readily identifiable boundary. The other change is between the Mid and East Antrim and the Antrim and Newtownabbey districts where the whole of the campus of Belfast High School, together with some nearby residential development, is brought within the latter district. Two other small changes are proposed, namely, that two townlands near Rathfriland should not transfer to the Newry City, Mourne and Down district and that the Belfast boundary at Tullycarnet should be adjusted to reflect new development on the ground.
Having regard to the desirability that there should be a proper representation of the rural and urban electorate within a district, I am proposing to increase the number of wards in two districts to 41. The two districts are Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon, and Newry City, Mourne and Down. Apart from that, I am confirming my Provisional Recommendations that Belfast should have 60 wards and the remaining councils should have 40 wards.
Wrap up...
Pete Baker @ 10:49 AM
PRESIDENT Obama has (finally) issued an invitation to Taoiseach Brian Cowen for the annual White House bash on St Patrick’s Day. But will any leaders north of the border be attending the jolly? Only one other foreign leader seems to be in Obama’s White House diary for March, and there’s no information on OFMDFM’s website at the time of writing. McGuinness and Donaldson were in Washington last year, but will the Assembly be represented in the new president’s first year? Probably just the new administration’s teething problems, but you never know. It’s certainly not the kind of thing you’d expect Marty and Peter to keep under their hats.
Belfast Gonzo @ 10:47 AM
Amid the universal approval for cancelling Prime Minister’s Questions over the sad death of Ivan Cameron, the odd dissident. Notably, Times columnist and former Tory MP Matthew Parris was worried about setting a precedent and contrasting the tributes for Ivan with the short formula for weeks tally of soldiers killed in Afghanistan or Iraq. Times Comment editor Danny Finkelstein demurred. But Terence Blacker in the Independent works on the theme of the new public chumminess encouraged by the twitterati and relates this to the need of politicians to show a human face. Incidentally, might Sluggerties extend that chumminess to their own back yard? Chance would be a fine thing, unfortunately!
Blacker
Instant, chatty communication conveys a sense of chumminess; it makes the world of politics somehow warmer, more approachable. That may seem like a harmless development why shouldn’t politicians want to seem more normal and human? but the events of this week have shown where it can lead. On Wednesday, three soldiers were killed by an explosion in Afghanistan; a fourth died of injuries sustained on Monday. On the evening television news, these deaths were reported briefly, and well down the running order.
Of course, the death of this little boy was an unspeakable family tragedy for the Camerons, but there was something faintly suspect about this open emoting in the mother of parliaments.
Parris
The case for full-blown statements from William Hague, the Prime Minister, Vince Cable and the Speaker was not evident to me; a single sentence from each would have been enough. And there was no case at all for suspending Prime Minister’s Questions.
When the House gets going on anything touching human tragedy, it can work itself up into something disturbingly close to relish. I’m sorry to say that; but I’ve seen it too often over the years not to recognise the habit. Magnanimity in another’s loss flows easily.”
Me It would have been impossible to stage the usual Punch and Judy show featuring, in Cameron’s absence, the understudies Harman and Hague. Gordon Brown could not then have made his moving statement of condolence and the omission would have been glaring. MPs had no stomach for knockabout.. But that may be as much a comment on the PMQs ritual, as it is on the human tragedy.
Wrap up...
Brian Walker @ 10:43 AM
|
Nominate Slugger
Slugger O'Toole records news, commentary and diverse opinion on Northern Ireland, the Republic and Britain.
Produced by Mick Fealty
Designed by River Path
Re-designed by Heraghty Web Design
News, tips or crits here: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) (change "-at-" to "@")
Commenting Policy
Other links:
- (R) registration
- (S) subscription
News:
Resources:
Background:
Media Forum
CAIN
ECONI
NI Elections
Elections Ireland