The New Departmental Committee Chairs

The Assembly also nominated the new chairs of the various departmental committees that will have to scrutinise legislation and the work of ministers.

Executive Office- Mike Nesbitt

Department for Communities- Colum Eastwood

Department for the Economy- Conor Murphy

Department of Education- Barry McElduff

Department of Health- Paula Bradley

Department for Infrastructure- William Humphrey

Department of Justice- Paul Frew

Department of Finance- Emma Pengelly

Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs- Linda Dillon

David McCann holds a PhD in North-South relations from University of Ulster. You can follow him on twitter @dmcbfs

  • Kevin Breslin

    Interesting, so Finance … Máirtín Ó Muilleoir minister, Emma Pengelly as Committee Head, Claire Hanna almost certain to be on the Committee too.

    What odds Paula Bradshaw and Claire Bailey, maybe even Christopher Stalford join them

  • Msiegnaro

    Ruth Patterson will be sending letters asking to be on the shadow committee.

  • chrisjones2

    So no Alliance chairs then ….in the cold sitting on the naughty step as they refused to do what big Marlene asked and voluntarily stick their head down the toilet in the loos

  • Kevin Breslin

    Hanna is Deputy Chair of the Finance Committee … What a weird coincidence.

  • Acrobat_747

    Is that a coincidence?

  • Kevin Breslin

    3 South Belfast MLAs

  • Msiegnaro

    They seen to have taken Sugden’s elevation very badly.

  • chrisjones2

    I think we all should ….not least for her sake

  • chrisjones2

    Poor Ruth …..a woman scorned ……but Peter promised me ………. he said he’s be true ……………….. now I’m left sitting here all on the Bru

  • chrisjones2

    So where is PAC?

  • Msiegnaro

    In the final analysis Alliance have no right to make any demands with around 7% of the vote. As I have already stated with Sugden’s mandate she should not be in her present role.

  • Msiegnaro

    I’m sure she will walk into a decent job.

  • Kevin Breslin

    Any news on the deputy committee chairs … Hanna (Finance) Aitken (Economy)… I know Kearney is one too.

  • Kevin Breslin

    Mr Robin Swann (UUP) is the PAC Chair. Daniel McCrossan (SDLP) is the Deputy Chair

    David did say Departmental Chairs.

  • AndyB

    Alliance wouldn’t have been entitled to any Committee chairs, because it would have been tenth pick (and therefore the first deputy chair.)

  • Kevin Breslin

    Declan Kearney is Deputy Chair of DEARA, Michelle Gildernew (Communities), Gary Middleton (Health), Raymond McCartney (Justice)

  • Giorria

    A highly skilled historian and public speaker of renowned charm. I am sure Peter will be only too glad to give a reference.

  • Galena

    Good to see they’ve done their due diligence and confirmed there’s absolutely no conflict of interest in giving Emma Pengelly the finance chair while they’re still investigating NAMA.

  • Msiegnaro

    Barry McElduff – Department of Education, enough said.

  • Jag

    Spot on. Whereas Daithi McKay had an inquisitive, proactive attitude towards the NAMA Inquiry, Emma has been like “so where is the proof, and if there is no proof, then why should we pursue this”.

    There is no proof of any wrongdoing by those in, or close to, the DUP. There’s the whiff of misfeasance, there were definitely fees paid which ended up in an Isle of Man bank account, and the explanation has been weak. There are several investigations, by the police, law society and in the US. But no proof. If you require total proof before you will pursue an investigation, then that’s no way for a finance committee to be run.

  • Kevin Breslin

    They have two committee vice chairs via D’hondt. Another thread on this site reveals what they are.