Fearghal McKinney to run for Fermanagh South Tyrone…
What is it about old UTV men, and politics? First Mike Nesbitt in Strangford for the UUP and now Fearghal McKinney in Fermanagh South Tyrone for the SDLP. No doubt about who has the harder task, Michelle Gildernew is a popular figure and clearly feels her time at Agriculture will stand her in good stead over McKinney. Still, he’s the first impact player the SDLP have managed to pull in from outside the political game for a party who’s public representatives generally lack just such qualities. His initial statement is below the fold:
“This is a new era for politics and a new era for the SDLP. This country needs a strong SDLP and the people of the North need strong representation at Westminster.“Today I have submitted my application to represent the party in the constituency of Fermanagh South Tyrone in the forthcoming Westminster election. This election will be won and lost on the doorsteps and I am keen to build on the good work of Tommy Gallagher and others in the weeks and months ahead. I know I have a fight ahead of me to win the seat but I am looking forward to the challenge.”

Medillen,
Given that Ferghal McKinney is unemployed, becoming active in politics seems not only like legitimate gainful employment but also a role for which he is qualified.
He must have interviewed enough politicians to think “I could do better”.
So fair play to him.
“Brendan” who you identify as SDLP is in fact spot on.
Especially the bit where he agreed with me that an unofficial pact (prolly) will exist in FST between DUP and UUP.
Sinn Féin will of course deplore the SDLP standing as vote splitting…seemingly unaware Alex Maskey will be making life harder for SDLP in South Belfast.
The real fault of course should be taken by DUP NOT standing rather than SDLP standing.
The OriginalSamMaguire,
Thank you for your input.
People who I have spoken to from tha neck of the woods tell me that 2007 (not taking an Assembly seat) was the lowest point …that things can only get better. But my own view is that West Tyrone (even before its setting up as a new constituency) was an SDLP black spot.
I dont think its entirely explained by Republican heartland in and around Carrickmore.
Ive since been told that Joe Byrne is the SDLP candidate for Westminster.
If true…that surprises me.
I would have thought that a new generation (Deehan) was vital.
Perhaps FH and perhaps 2007 was indeed the darkest day for the SDLP from a WT point of view. I wouldn’t be sure. I would have serious reservations about whether or not the votes that were lent to Deeney in 03/05/07 will return to the fold when (if?) he exits the stage.
As for the Byrne vs Deehan aspect, what you hear is correct, it was reported in the Tyrone Herald on Monday. I would question whether the acrimony that existed within the party during the 2007 campaign has re-emerged? It was alleged at the time that some members of the ‘other camp’ within the party were unable to hide their delight when it was revealed that Deehan wasn’t going to gain the final seat from Deeney.
West Tyrone is a real test for the new leadership of the SDLP. Will they again literally toss away an Assembly seat through poor vote management / canddiate selection?
Allowing Joe Byrne to go forward for Westminster is a poor start to the the new leadership’s impact in west Tyrone. Hope I am wrong.
Great to see some ‘big names’ join the SDLP and UUP. Without doubt, both candidates should do well. I wouldn’t be surprised if Ferghal picked up a few votes from ‘unionist’ voters in tyrone lol.
“The Prolly Game” has possibilities as the new Scrabble for people who can only spell in phone texting lingo.
Go 4 it.
FJH, im most of the time in Belfast these days but im still in West Tyrone weekends as such and still register to vote there. The SDLP as an organisation doesnt exist in West Tyrone, in the last council elections in Strabane they had to turn to non-party members to stand in there name as they couldnt find enough members to fill the slots (Fred Henry, RIP, stood for the SDLP party even though he didnt even support the party and didnt seriously intend to win)
As for Omagh im not sure but i doubt its any better.
Provisional Sinn Fein could run a dead pig wrapped in a tri-colour and still win West Tyrone.
P.s i vote for Dr Deeny
Brendan,
I think you are right.
Joe Byrne is a person I have met a couple of times (matters unrelated to Politics) but of course I did know of his involvement in SDLP. Struck me as decent but dull.
granni trixie…..I can truthfully claim I have never sent a text in my life. And never will.
AnPhoblacht,
That is the impression Ive always had from West Tyrone. Joe Byrne (and to a lesser extent McMenamin) is the only SDLP person to really emerge in West Tyrone.
Most other constituencies have had or still have the advantage of a big name…Hume, Mallon, Rodgers, McGrady…or even a lesser but popular local name (Farren, O’Loan, Gallagher, Dallatt)who was/is a “safe pair of hands”.
From the very back of my brain, I recall a reasonable Alliance presence in Omagh….in the shape of a local doctor in the 1970s. Ive forgotten his name. apologies.
I have always assumed that Deeney was related to an Alliance member based in Belfast in 1980s. Possibly a coincidence. I know hes informally linked to AP but I noted last time that his rosette colour is yellow.
On reflection Ferghal McKinney might have been a bette bet for West Tyrone. Not a winner in May but at least a sur thing for Stormont.
And as SDLP have a safe quota in FST that would actually be a “gain”
FJH: Present Deeney MLA no relation to Alliance Deeneys (which includes Fionulla Cook,
Donal Deeney (now a judge, grist to your mill).
You are correct re Omagh – have forgotten the Omagh Alliance doctor’s name but do remember that his daughter Ann followed after him (his name is sure to come to mind sometime).
BTW:why not be thrifty? I restrict mobile phone use to a minimum (only 2 people have my number, that helps) but texting is v. cheap and convenient and the shorthand language is fun.
Feel the fear and do it anyway?.
granni trixie,
Didnt know Fionnuala Cook was one of the Deeneys.
No trouble with Donal being a judge…Ive a strange feeling that Alaban Magennis will be Lord Chief Justice in a few years.
Strangely this is about the fifth time Ive thrown that one out and none of the SDLP folks have got back at me saying “theres no such deal”. Hmmm.
Was LAGAN the name? Was toying with saying LARKIN earlier but LAGAN came to me while watching Coronat…….er came to me when I was doing something meaningful and constructive.
I think the name was Adrian or Aiden Lagan….as I was probably onfused with Adrian or Aiden larkin from the Loup who wasa SDLP MLA in 1973.
Presumably they were next to each other on the ballot paper. In 1973 did party names feature on ballot?
If I recall correctly Dr Lagan was actually Chair of Omagh Council.
The Anne youre thinking of is maybe Anne Gormley who was a daughter of Nationalist MP (Tom??) Gormley in old Stormont. I think he joined AP when it was formed.
His brother Paddy (or was it Tom) also sat in Stormont for Mid Derry.
Youse older people are a mindful of information, no ageism intended, but amazing to read.
You’ve got it! Ann Gormley was an Alliance Councillor,following her (NATIONALIST) father who was an APNI.
Ha got your there – this evidence supports my oft made assertion about the diversity in Alliance.
Very surprised at your expectation that AMcG would be LCJ as it demonstrates that you are ignorant as to how the system works (no insult to either of you). But then you cant know everything, get over it.
You’ve got it! Ann Gormley was an Alliance Councillor,following her (NATIONALIST) father who was an APNI.
Ha got your there – this evidence supports my oft made assertion about the diversity in Alliance.
Very surprised at your expectation that AMcG would be LCJ as it demonstrates that you are ignorant as to how the system works (no insult to either of you). But then you cant know everything, get over it.
So good I said it twice!
and I read it twice thinking two people got it.
Oh part of my Lord Chief Justice thing is just to irritate SDLP people (dont tell them) but I still think I have a point. I mentioned this around Christmas to a person I fully expected to go “not at all” and she just kinda “took a reddener”.
I just offer these facts that Alban is not exactly at the coalface the way he once was. Hes not actually ever gonna be an MP or an Executive Minister (although who knows what will happen if Ritchie has to give it up).
Hes more often to be found these days doing all that Artsy thing he loves.
So I kinda expect theres something good gonna happen for him. Speaker of Assembly???
And I think there will be compensation to SDLP in respect of the Ford thing.
And yes AP was certainly diverse…..Reggie Donnelly, Mary Smyth, Tom Donnelly among others. Attracting Gormley, P O’Neill, Tom Caldwell & Robin Bailey. I wouldnt deny that.
Medillen,
its a condition of Life that the young look forward, the old look back……and the middle aged look around.
But seriously I tend to regard everything before I was born as “history”. “Politics” is after I was born.
Thus these figures who are mere footnotes to you (hope this is not patronising btw as its not my intention) are actually very much real to me.
And to be even more serious….politics tends to repeat itself. There are few things that can genuinely surprise me.
Thus (here comes the patronising bit LOL) when I hear young ‘uns go on about the latest screw up …..I just think seen it all before.
I wouldn’t have the experience of some of the posters here, but in my time Alliance were always a fringe party in Omagh town, and in the outlying areas non-existent. I was gobsmacked to learn that Alliance had a councillor in the Strabane district in the late 80s after picking up 2.5% of first preference votes in the Glenelly ward!
Fitzjames’ comment about lack of SDLP talent to emerge from WT – no doubt it was slim pickings for quite a fews years. But there was little need for anyone to be advanced with Dennis Haughey dominating the party in the old Mid Ulster area during the McCrea years.
As for Dr Deeney – while he drew on a high level of cross community support for the GE in 05, the vast majority of his unionist voters returned to base in 2007 when the hospital issue was a dead duck.
But I wouldn’t be surprised if he had been approached by his ‘home’ constituency colleague about making the jump from Independent Community Candidate into what would be a seemingly more natural home for him in the SDLP. There were certainly sections of the SDLP that actively canvassed for him in 2005, it would seal the deal for an assembly seat in the constituency and it gives the SDLP someone with a high profile rather than the journeymen they have currently in West Tyrone. It certainly would be much easier than trying to restart the groundwork from scratch, particularly when the percentage vote in the constituency will, at best, stay static with Byrne.
On a side note, I only got around to watching the Spotlight policing and justice special there recently on iplayer. Attwood made a comment to that the SDLP would return 3 seats, possibly 4 in the GE – surely he can’t be deluding himself into thinking that McKinney has even a punchers chance in FST?
I could go with Alban as Speaker. But as you inmply he has not worked his way up to even being considered as LCJ. On a linked matter, I was amazed at the apparent acceptance of the non system for appointing an Attorney General (no insult intended to the beneficary).
6 above: The Prolly Game could take off like in Shaws Pygmalion ie “the new small talk”
Yipee – today is fish day (St George’s).
TOSM:
Lets face it Alex is not going to limit the SDLP’s ambition to simply retaining the 3 seats it has – even though in itself that would be quite an achievement for the party and a foothold for the new leadership team – so of course he will publicly predict Feargal to win FST.
Poor Alex is so self deluded, Brendan, that I would not be surprised if he was refering to himself taking the West Belfast seat.
Medilen,
Maskey could take West Belfast in a heartbeat … if Gerry Adams let him have it.
I assume you are referring to Alex Attwood, as I was, not alex maskey after todays developments.
This is a new feature of the site, but if you want to reply to someone directly then hit the link in the bottom of their comment.
Is there anyone listening in the SDLP leadership? Why will they not put the rights of people before the fortunes of their party? If Ferghal can wait this long for a new career in politics then surely he can hold his water for another day. Surely he does not want to serve the Orange Order’s agenda. If the SDLP fail to heed the need of the people of Fermanagh South Tyrone, they’ll lose all honour.
The SDLP are serving any ones agenda – SDLP are strong and standing up for all the people of FST ! They will not participate any pact with Sinn Fein or any other party.
It is Sinn Fein that are frightened by the Unionist Candidate.
If their ghost MP has done such a good job representing the people of FST – then why cant she come out and convince the people to vote for her ?
ooops – I meant SDLP *arent* serving any ones agenda !
After watching the Politics Show on Sunday past, McKinney really needs to tone down the sound bites and gain substance.
The only journalist who deserves any credit for standing is Eamonn McCann for the People before Profit Party.
Wabbits, it has the added benefit for nats of increasing the overall nats voting bloc, to have the competition.
McCann, more of Ego before Politics than anything else, if smugness were a fuel we would be the middle east !!!
The northernmost point in Ireland is not within Northern Ireland
To replace Iris in the Robinson bed would be a better crack!