Slugger O'Toole

Conversation, politics and stray insights

Newton Emerson lets rip on Ulster-Scots.

Sun 11 January 2009, 12:29am

Irish News columnist Newton Emerson has launched a scathing attack on the Ulster-Scots agency and the Ulster-Scots ‘language’. Newton’s views on the subject are somewhat less charitable than my own.Wha’ A cannae unnerstaun at aw is but fur why tha magazine is screeved in tha Inglis leid an nae in guid oul braid scotch. Dae thems tha wurks fur tha bord nae knae tha thar nae daen nae favours for thems tha’ spake hamely at aw wi’ this way a’ wurkin?

A mane, cud they nae hae tryed fur t’ screev mure tha tha wan thang? Gie me a shoot yis boys yis an A’ll screeve yis up a thang nor twa!

Share 'Newton Emerson lets rip on Ulster-Scots.' on Delicious Share 'Newton Emerson lets rip on Ulster-Scots.' on Digg Share 'Newton Emerson lets rip on Ulster-Scots.' on Facebook Share 'Newton Emerson lets rip on Ulster-Scots.' on Google+ Share 'Newton Emerson lets rip on Ulster-Scots.' on LinkedIn Share 'Newton Emerson lets rip on Ulster-Scots.' on Pinterest Share 'Newton Emerson lets rip on Ulster-Scots.' on reddit Share 'Newton Emerson lets rip on Ulster-Scots.' on StumbleUpon Share 'Newton Emerson lets rip on Ulster-Scots.' on Twitter Share 'Newton Emerson lets rip on Ulster-Scots.' on Add to Bookmarks Share 'Newton Emerson lets rip on Ulster-Scots.' on Email Share 'Newton Emerson lets rip on Ulster-Scots.' on Print Friendly

Comments (72)

1. slug says:

Gael

Seriously, that’s very good Ulster Scots.

PS I see that ability to write in Ulster Scots is one of the questions in the next census so you will have to tick that one!

What do you think?
    Judge it
    (Log in or register to mark as offensive)
    Commend 0
  2. William says:

Did any of you ever listen to the Oirsh programmes on BBC 2 or Radio Ulster….links in Oirsh and songs in English…also often a fair smattering of English in the links….??

At least the BBC licence payers don’t have to pay for a full-time Ulster-Scots department within the broadcaster, like the Oirsh one !!

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  3. slug says:

In the Census in relation to Ulster Scots you will be asked can you (tick all that apply):

understand
    speak
    read
    write

I think I can understand it, I can speak it (though my vocabulary is limited) and I can just about read it. But I don’t think I can write it.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  4. Rory Carr says:

Surely Emerson is underestimating the strength of the sly campaign being launched through Oot an Aboot? The clue may be found in the reference to Davy Crockett. Davy Crockett – King of the Wild Frontier was, prior to the Beatles, Gary Glitter and Bob the Builder, the most successful cultural phenomenon to capture the hearts and minds of the young.

It can only be both heartening and commendable that the Ulster-Scots Agency have recruited a figure of such stature and renown in the furtherance of their campaign to put Ballymena on the map, all the more particularly so when anyone who has ever had the misfortune of visiting the place inevitably winds up harbouring a secret dark wish that it might disappear off the map entirely.

So let’s hear it for the great man ‘hisself’ (as they might have in Ulster-Scots). It can only serve to give us a flavour of what improvements might yet be possible to achieve in aiding our understanding of what the hell it is Ballymena folk are trying to say.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=0nOF4cq6qNc

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  5. dunreavynomore says:

Slug

Aye, thon GGN is a fair haun at the hamely tongue. I maun gie him a platie o parritch nixt time ah see him dukin down oor loanin wi that scrawny limmer. he’s nae birkie, thon GGN, nae caird, nae nae gaberlunzie. A braw mon at the hamely and the Irisht forbye. Houd on, the kirks hap shackle is callin….

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  6. Driftwood black spot says:

Newtons’ articles are usually quite amusing, but the name of the magazine- Oot and Aboot is pure Oor Wullie/ The Broons from a bygone era. beyond satire.

Rory, Theodore?????

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  7. Gael gan Náire (profile) says:

I liked the Broons!

What do you think?
    (Log in or register to judge or mark as offensive)
    Commend 0
  8. finches says:

I think I would agree with the assertion that Ulster-Scots is a ‘DIY language for Orangemen’. Most of the spelling is fabricated and alien to most speakers of the dialect. It’s simply designed to look as different from English as possible, probably as a Unionist tool against Irish. What is essentially bad grammar is being elevated to the status of a seperate language.

‘This is my body’ is ’Hoc est corpus meum‘ in Latin; in Irish it’s ‘Is é seo mo chorp’; in Ulster-Scots it’s ’Hits mae bodie’.

Are there any churches that hold their services in Ulster Scots? Are there any Ulster-Scots medium schools in existence?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  9. cynic says:

And the Irish taught today was also fabricated and reconstituted in the 1800′s. It was just there first.

BY all means let those who want to keep and develop them both do so….but now with our money please and not for my children.

For the futures of our children they are an irrelevance. Mandarin Hindi and English are much more important (in that order).

{Lights blue touch paper and goes to bed}

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  10. cut the bull says:

ach wully wut ails ye can ye no jaist untherstan ither yins tak yin leid Gaelige an yuz yins tak yer ain hamely tongue.Dinnae bi startin a argyin-match an hae yersel a gud tim gab’n an tak’n in whutiver leid ye lake

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  11. finches says:

“And the Irish taught today was also fabricated and reconstituted in the 1800’s. It was just there first.”

Tell me more about this. Or are you perhaps referring to the Caighdean in the 1950s? Because if you are, you are WAY off base. You have made this assertion so please provide some evidence.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  12. GGN says:

“the Irish taught today was also fabricated and reconstituted in the 1800’s”

Funny enough it was really crazy statements like the above, which I can only conclude was simply made up on the spot, not to say that cynic doesnt believe it, that I was trying to allude to in my previous blog on Ulster-Scots, i.e. that some of it could be viewed as a reflection of unionist opinion on Irish.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  13. LURIG says:

You could understand a sense of a shared North Antrim/South West Scotland kinship and geographical dialect of English stretching back centuries but the idea of Ulster Scots as a culture or even more ridiculous a language is hilarious. Hoots mon it’s pure keek. There most certainly is Scots Gaelic and Irish Gaelic and they are internationally recognised languages BUT WUD THESE CRETINS GIE IT A FOOKIN REST. As he says himself Newton is a fine Prod from Portadown but even he has had enough of being taken for a fool. The most embarrassing part of all this is Oor Wullie nonsense is that it gets official government funding. Where was Ulster Scots in the 50 years of Stormont rule or through the Troubles? I never heard mention of it. Face facts, it is a load of made up Unionist Brigadoon/Ballymena guff to counteract the Irish Language & Scots Gaelic which are some of the oldest languages in Europe. Lord Laird prancing about a float on the Twelfth with a big feather in his hat doesn’t constitute a culture or language but it seems that’s all it takes to get government funding for this ridiculous farce. The Emperor’s New Clothes it most certainly is so when will some responsisble journalist tell the Broons it isnae so.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  14. Bruno Spiro says:

headlined by didlee dee music, thugball and bloodlust irish culture seems every bit as foolish as ulster scots.

i’d rather my tax pounds and public broadcasting space were not wasted on either.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  15. cut the bull says:

Finches I think I would agree with the assertion that Ulster-Scots is a ‘DIY language for Orangemen’. If thats the case then they’ll have to brush up and learn the Sash in the hamely tongue

T’was oul an t’was bootiful an the colours they wer quare guid.
    They wer worn in Derry Augheraim Enniskillen an the Boyne
    Sure me Fether wor it in his raliachan in the gran oul days afore
    An tis on the 12th I luv tae wer the Sash me Fether wor

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  16. RG Cuan says:

The magazine issue should be shocking but we are all now used to the ridiculous nature of the Ulster Scots brigade. Including a question aboot the hamely tongue in the next census is simpy a step too far with this crazy project.

CYNIC

And the Irish taught today was also fabricated and reconstituted in the 1800’s. It was just there first.

Yes, of course that’s what happened ;-) Now just keep taking those pills…

WILLIAM

I listen to Blas on Raidió Uladh every night and the only time i hear any English is maybe on the Friday music show. You should tune into the other ones sometime…

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  17. Gael gan Náire (profile) says:

RG,

“Including a question aboot the hamely tongue in the next census”

I would say the results would be very interesting.

I would predict 100,000+ positive responses.

It is an interesting tactic but the Boord will be under alot of pressure to produce a speaker or two, I predict that they will state that positive responses indicate positive views on Ulster-Scot identity.

Like the question on Irish however, without measuring ability and levels of use, the question is useless.

What do you think?
    Commend 0
  18. Prionsa Eoghan says:

>>You could understand a sense of a shared North Antrim/South West Scotland kinship and geographical dialect of English<<

Ach ye wur daen aw’right Lurig until the dialect ae English pish. Scots developed completely differently from English, in fact the poor Goerdies are stuck right in the middle. They use many words and phrases that are alien in England but the norm in Scotland.

Gael gan Nire

Using language in yir intro that is hundreds of years out of date is surely meant to strenghthen yir pisstake. Try reading ye olde English and it will be the same as the keek yuve pit above. It does not behove a proponent of one of our native languages to rip the pish out of another one of our shared languages. Scots, of which the Ulster variety is a dialect(take note Lurig) has been kept alive in the country and still used by most of the working classes despite being chided for generations tae “speak properly”

We a’ready wure speakin properly in oor ain language. You will be glad to know that the use of Scots is on the rise in academia, and it is being recognised for what it is. Final part regarding written Scots. None of us were brought up reading or writing Scots, so to see it in the flesh requires some patience in deciphering it. Writing in standard English is as natuaral as speaking in standard Scots, if ye ken(uniquely we don’t use this phrase in Glesca) whit a mean.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  19. Gael gan Náire (profile) says:

Prionsa,

I assure you no pishtake was intended, I was merely making the point that the magazine should have been in written in Ulster-Scots in my view.

In addition, I think my Ulster-Scots writting is quite authentic actually, certainely rooted in venacular speech. Feel feel to disagree.

I used one archaic word – ‘leid’= language. Guilty, but I couldn’t help myself.

What do you think?
    Commend 0
  20. Comrade Stalin says:

ach wully wut ails ye can ye no jaist untherstan ither yins tak yin leid Gaelige an yuz yins tak yer ain hamely tongue.Dinnae bi startin a argyin-match an hae yersel a gud tim gab’n an tak’n in whutiver leid ye lake

I feel like I’ve been reading an Anthony Burgess novel. All righty-right, my droogs!

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  21. Prionsa Eoghan says:

Gael gan Nire

Intended pish take or no that is what it is.

Now the outdated language serves no purpose, merely to deride. I’m sure the pockets of Scots that still survive in the north of Ireland would not speak like this. If anything those in Antrim sound very much like Stranraer. Not entirely sure about the Derrywans though.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  22. yvaN ehT nioJ says:

Invented language?
    Bowler hats?
    Violence?

Anthony Burgess warned us this would happen.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  23. michael says:

anyone know of a particular location where Ulster-Scots is spoken in everyday use. I live in north Antrim and I’ve never heard anyone speak in the fashion that supposed Ulster-Scots speakers do, despite this, n Antrim is continually mentioned as it epicentre, and in particular Ballymena (though I’d contest that Ballymena isn’t n Antrim).

Is there some isolated village about that I’ve never come across?

Honest question!

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  24. Prionsa Eoghan says:

Micheal

As I have alluded to I doubt if the Scots spoken in the intro to this peace has been spoken anywhere in the past two hundred years, a bit like ye olde English. I am guessing that you come from places in Antrim that were still Gaelic speaking until the last century or so, if so like much of the Scottish highlands, Inverness etc they will have learned standard English rather than the fowk Scots.

There is actually a few villages and Clachans to the east of Inverness where they speak Scots, yet in Inverness they speak clear standard English. Some landowner imported people from the lowlands to act as loyal supporters as opposed to the locals who might be loyal to the previos dispossesed landlord, thus the anomoly.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  25. cut the bull says:

If there are a few towns they would probably be called Ballyripaff near Ballygaesagrant close to Glengangaeyerheedashek and Ballyhaenagiggle.
    Thats what we’ll all be getting told soon.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  26. Rory Carr says:

“Is there some isolated village about that I’ve never come across?” asks Michael.

Anything is possible in this magical land, Michael. If Gene Kelly found it in Bonnie Scotland perhaps you can find it somewhere outside Ballymena (which I must admit is infinitely preferable to being inside Ballymena.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=sZVCWUbomlg&feature=related

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  27. Prionsa Eoghan says:

Rory, whether he realises it or not is highlighting a crucial flaw in our shared heritage. Hollywood and the ealing type films and stage have branded our culture as cringeworthy. In fact the most brainwashed(certainly in Scotland are the 50 plus brigade) It is upto us to in a way reclaim our culture. I don’t really know how to go about it. Perhaps get involved in language and dance. My partner and I have certainly have used names from our original language for our weans. My wee lassie is involved in Scottish and Irish dancing, I also encourage our children to be interested in our heritage.

Point being is that I am proud of who I am, my children will inherit that. Unfortunately it is those that have inherited the anything but English is cringeworthy have the most to learn.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  28. fair_deal says:

Newton has annual rant against Ulster-Scots, always a sign it was a dull news week based on the dodgy claims e.g. the study visit and repetition of the arguments he employed last year, year before that etc etc.

The coincidence of the prejudices of the ‘progressive’ and some of the Gaels creating an alliance to engender in both a sense of cultural superiority.

At this stage anyone involved in Ulster-Scots should smile benignly rather than get annoyed. The self-same arguments and attitudes have been employed/shown repeatedly for well over 10-15 years. Meanwhile Ulster-Sots heritage and culture enjoys more participation and support than it every did and the recognition of US as a language is a policy fact that isn’t going to change.

So carry on with the old lines, they seem to keep some of you suitable entertained, US proceeds regardless.

I can’t remember his name but there was one Irish activist made an interesting comment when he saw the irish language movement line up to stick its boot into US, it translated something like “I didn’t get involved in the Irish language movement to deride other language movements”. For a while this seemed to become the predominant view or at least saying nothing until the last year or so. Why the change? Is trying to resurrect the old arguments retaliation for the ILA being spiked?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  29. Greagoir O Frainclin says:

What ever anyone says about the native Gaelic Irish language of this island but it is still one of the oldest languages of Europe and ‘the British Isles.’ An amalgamation of regional differences of the island or what ever in order for it to survive, the main vestiges of it still remains today! The language of our forefathers spoken before any political or religious divisions, predates the English language by thousands of years!
    The cultural ignorance and easy dismissal by some folk for a language as old as the pyramids and unique to these islands is astonishing!

Mo teanga dhúchais abú!

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  30. Rory Carr says:

Cut the Bull has omitted to mention the Ulster-Cockney settlement just outside Ballymena where male obesity is said to be causing health concerns as this recent press item shows:

“Health officials in the Antrim town of Cantdomeballybottom buttonup are becoming alarmed…. (continues for 37 tdious paragraphs)

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  31. ggn says:

F_d,

“The coincidence of the prejudices of the ‘progressive’ and some of the Gaels creating an alliance to engender in both a sense of cultural superiority.”

For example?

I beleive my views for example are much more charitable than the majority of unionists frankly.

In my post above I have not indicated any negative view whatsoever.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  32. fair_deal says:

ggn

“For example?”

Sorry do you not read the comments on your own threads?
    “I think I would agree with the assertion that Ulster-Scots is a ‘DIY language for Orangemen’.”
    “What is essentially bad grammar is being elevated to the status of a seperate language.”
    “BUT WUD THESE CRETINS GIE IT A FOOKIN REST”
    “the ridiculous nature of the Ulster Scots brigade”

“In my post above I have not indicated any negative view whatsoever.”

No you built the thread around a highly negative article. Where did I say my comments were directed towards you? Why so sensitive?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  33. Ulster McNulty says:

fair deal

“Newton has annual rant against Ulster-Scots…”.

Reading his article that seems a bit innacurate. He is criticising the Ulster Scotch Agency and he points out that their publication is 99% in English. What’s the point of having such an agency anyway if it doesn’t actually promote Ulster Scots?

“The coincidence of the prejudices of the ‘progressive’ and some of the Gaels creating an alliance to engender in both a sense of cultural superiority.”

You must have ignored the bit where he says “Oot an Aboot has seven pages of advertising. Three are from the Ulster-Scots Agency itself. The remaining four are from other quangos, including (amusingly) a full-page Irish-language ad from Foras na Gaeilge.”.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  34. ggn says:

ggn,

Apologies.

“Sorry do you not read the comments on your own threads?”

Do you?

Ans: I do but I tend to try and say everthing I want to say in the blog and I probably only scan the comments, I am not trying to be disrespectful, but they aren’t always worth reading.

Sorry to say that but people tend to revert to single transferable well worn arguements, a pity.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  35. darth rumsfeld says:

“What ever anyone says about the native Gaelic Irish language of this island but it is still one of the oldest languages of Europe and ‘the British Isles.’ An amalgamation of regional differences of the island or what ever in order for it to survive, the main vestiges of it still remains today! The language of our forefathers spoken before any political or religious divisions, predates the English language by thousands of years!”

All true. The modern Irish is an amalgamation of regional differences- hence an artificial construct, necessary to provide a written foundation. I’m sure you enjoyed the interview with Paul Brady last week when he said he couldn’t be bothered with the irish language classes he had at university because the other students were all Munster wans, and he “couldn’t understand a word”
    My Gaelic playing friends say only hurling is the only genuine Irish sport, and football a much more recent invention.

The fact is that Ulster Scots doesn’t have a large body of writing ( like irish); its usage was discouraged by the education system ( or in Gaelic’s case the RC church in the 19th century); and it has adapted/imported many words and by spelling them differently sought to differentiate from the parent language- like the nonsensical spelling of “craic”- as pure an Ulster Scots word as there is, but let’s make it more Irish

Yup, there’s much to ridicule in Ulster Scots Agency work. I cringe at the spelling of Bilfawst. But in nearly every aspect of formulating or organising a culture from a low base the USA is only following the trail blazed by Irish, Scottish, and Welsh language activists. All had languages that predated English, and all were largely usurped.
    If Ulster Scots isn’t a proper language, complain to bodies such as the EU, which recognises it as such. But think through the implications of trying to declassify a language because it imports words or spells them phonetically- y’know like Radio,,Telefis, Lana Bus-

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  36. Ulster McNulty says:

darth rumsfeld

“..the nonsensical spelling of “craic”- as pure an Ulster Scots word as there is”

I agree about the nonsensical and annoying spelling of “craic”. Crack is a Scots word which became part of the vernacular across Ireland like many other Scots words but in contrast to Scots words which are restricted to Ulster.

“..in nearly every aspect of formulating or organising a culture from a low base the USA is only following the trail blazed by Irish, Scottish, and Welsh language activists.

It definately isn’t, where are the Ulster Scots medium schools / radio stations / newspapers / periodicals etc.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  37. Newton Emerson says:

I’m intrigued by this oft-repeated line that Ulster-Scots is “recognised by the EUâ€. Is it? It is not an official language of the EU. No EU documents are translated into Ulster-Scots, nor can such translation be required or even in practice requested. The European Bureau of Lesser Used Languages (EBLUL) “recognised†Ulster-Scots only for the purposes of a survey which it then abandoned after failing to find a single native speaker – and in any case, the EBLUL is a state-level sponsored NGO and claims only an advisory role to the EU, among trans-national bodies. EU Peace III and other funding has gone to Ulster-Scots projects but this always appears to be on a “cultural†or “community†rather than a language recognition basis.

There are countless examples of made-up languages and other linguistic funding scams across the EU. Whole cities on national and regional frontiers claim language status for their local dialect or accent. The EU has set up various systems and spun off various quangos to sideline these claims as diplomatically as possible. Frankly, anyone who falls for such treatment of Ulster-Scots is a fool twice over.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  38. Charlie says:

Personally, I find the Ulster-Scots thing infinitely preferable to the pseudo-British forelock-tugging “we’re just the same people as themmuns in Surrey, honest” crap that Unionists have rammed down our throats for years…at least it embraces a Gaelic/Celtic heritage (not to mention Scots-Irish culture in the U.S. and the United Irishmen of 1798) that so many Prods have been in denial about..

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  39. Ulster McNulty says:

Newton Emerson

Why not be positive and just consider Ulster Scots funding as part of the braoder “fiscal stimulus”, keeping kilt makers from going to the wall?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  40. darth rumsfeld says:

hey Newt I’m actually with you on this- the EU is a waste of space, but I’m merely pointing out that the scam has been seen to be the way forward for other languages that escape the sneering nationalists reserve for U-S. If language lobbyists see a shortcut to a cheque that has worked for others, of course they’ll try to copycat. And hats off to you for exposing them.

But the nationalist scoffers on this thread will happily swallow all the same slurry for the Irish language with never a qubble. Indeed some of them think they’re making a point by having a go at d-i-y- ULster Scots in their posts. In so doing they’re only mocking themselves, because their knowledge of the phrases and idioms styled Ulster Scots proves that we all know and can use terms unknown outside the north east of Ireland- a terribly partitionist notion!

I actually think it’s limiting to try to shoehorn our culture into a language framework. Plus a lot of people claiming to be Ulster Scots..er..aren’t. If an espiscopalian from Tandragee speaks of sheughes and clabber til the knee, it probably doesn’t mean he’s an Ulster Scot, any more than a few words or inflections of irish in his dialect make him Gaelic.

If the few sane voices in the Irish Language movement who see it as having nothing to do with anti-Britishness or politics generally could only win the argument then I’m sure the same would happen with U-S.And then perhaps the offical nonsense of havinf greeting s i courts ans copshops in Ulster Scots and irish- to name but one example- would end. I mean, I know more of the hamely tongue than most, and I’ve never heard anyone say “Fair faa ye”, but it’s on the wall in my local copshop!!!!!

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  41. GGN says:

It is interesting that the Conservatives (NI) take a dim view of Ulster-Scots.

http://www.conservativesni.org/

I wonder if the policies of the UUP will be affected by this? Probably not.

DR,

I have never heard ‘fair faa ye’ ever, and I have made great efforts in the field to explore Ulster-Scots speech.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  42. Driftwood black spot says:

So when Microsoft mention ‘English(US)’on their software is that Ulster scots?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  43. jone says:

Newton is correct that the European Charter for Regional or Minority Languages is nothing to do with the EU; it’s a creature of the Council of Europe.

The charter has two levels – confusingly referred to as Part 2 or Part 3.

Ulster Scots is at Part 2 (the basic level) which means the government accepts some general principles which provide a framework for preserving a language. Ulster Scots is at this level. As Newton sugggests it’s a piece of piss to get Part 2 status if there’s the political will to get it eg. the Kven dialect of Finnish has Part 2 status in Norway for mainly political reasons.

However it’s a bit tougher to get the rather more credible Part 3 eg. the language needs to be sufficiently codified that you can teach a recognised qualification in it.

Ulster Scots proponents would love to get Part 3 but the group of civil servants which advise on language matters (ICIG) have told the executive not to waste their time trying.

The ICIG commissioned a piece of work from the language consultant Donall O’Riagain who basically told the Ulster Scots to stop kidding themselves:

“Rather than trying to stretch the interpretation of the Charter to the limits of credibility I believe that proponents of Ulster Scots should focus their energies on really getting the necessary measures put in place…the substance is much more important than appearance.”

And he stuck the boot into the Ulster Scots Agency for good measure:

“”The playing of bagpipes, wearing of kilts, haggis eating or Scottish dancing are fine in themselves but have little to do with the Ulster-Scots language. It would appear to me that the Agency must revamp its priorities or have another body charged with working on language.”

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  44. fair_deal says:

Ulster McNulty

“What’s the point of having such an agency anyway if it doesn’t actually promote Ulster Scots?”

Despite the perception the role of the agency is not restricted to language. It is not a mirror image of Foras. Although at the same time as it produced this it distributed a booklet of old Ulster-Scots writings delivered to 60,000 homes.

As regards Oot and Aboot it was not a publication that was going to set the world alight but it is no different in that respect than what is produced by any other government agency.

“a full-page Irish-language ad from Foras na Gaeilge.”

Hence why I said “some of the Gaels”.

Newton Emerson

“I’m intrigued by this oft-repeated line that Ulster-Scots is “recognised by the EUâ€. Is it?

It is recognised by EBLUL, the relevant EU body (although you should know EBLUL got downgraded by the EU so it now has a more arms length relationship than it held previously) In fact a US activist is EBLUL’s vice-chair.

However, the key recognition is under the Council of Europe Charter of which the UK government is a signatory and US is afforded Part II status but when many people hear the word Europe they think EU.

Even as you seem to wish that the EU was to declare it doesn’t consider US a language it wouldn’t effect the Charter recognition or policy. In terms of language recognition the EU largely falls in line with the decisions of the nations.

“The European Bureau of Lesser Used Languages (EBLUL) “recognised†Ulster-Scots only for the purposes of a survey which it then abandoned after failing to find a single native speaker”

None of that sentence is factually correct.

EBLUL did not only recognise it for the purposes of a survey. EBLUL has national and regional sub-committees, the recognition by EBLUL of Ulster-Scots was when it was granted membership of the Northern Ireland and UK wide committees. US reps continue to work on both.
    http://www.eblul.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=51&Itemid=39

EBLUL have never commissioned or conducted a linguistic survey for Ulster-Scots speakers.

The oft mentioned study visit was not a survey or investigation of US (academic or otherwise). It was an EBLUL visit of language activists from elsewhere in Europe to Northern ireland. It was principly facilitated by the Irish language group, the Ultach Trust. It was not to investigate the existence or usage of US but for activists to talk to one another about their work.

The visit spent most of its time with Irish language groups and spent one day with US groups. They were given a civic reception at Ards town hall at which they were given a presentation on US and some US readings. They then had a couple hours shopping in Ards and then on to an Ulster-Scots dance group on the Ards peninsula. That was the extent of the study visit’s interaction/reserach/hunt for Ulster-Scots speakers.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  45. Newton Emerson says:

I’d understand that response better if it was written in English. The Council of Europe is not the EU, although the EBLUL has an advisory role to both. The survey of Ulster Scots (undertaken before the bureau’s ‘downgrade’) commenced with an initial contact in 1992, began in earnest in 1995 and gave up in 1996 after failing to find a single “native speaker” in the whole of counties Antrim and Down.
    You appear to be referring to something much more recent.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  46. Nic says:

Etymology question: Any serious record of anyone trying to write Ultser Scots before Irvine Welsh’s “Trainspotting” was published?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  47. Divine Mercy says:

Is it true the Ulster Scots for Special Needs is “Wee dafties”? Bizarre or what?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  48. Danny says:

“The modern Irish is an amalgamation of regional differences- hence an artificial construct”

What does this mean? The “modern” Irish? Like many languages, Irish has an official WRITTEN standard.

The regional dialects remain. So what’s your point?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  49. Danny says:

Whether you consider Ulster Scots a disinct language, a dialect of Scots or just mangled English, BBC Voices is fairly interesting.

Sally Young is featured. She’s from Greyabbey, Co. Down and is currently translation the Bible into Ulster Scots. (Jokes, anyone?)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/learning/voices/ulsterscots/sally_young.shtml

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2008/0508/1210195981913.html

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  50. sevenmagpies says:

Nic,

Some of “Trainspotting” is written in Standard English, and some of it is written in Scottish English, which is not the same thing as Scots.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Copyright © 2003 - 2012 Slugger O'Toole Ltd. All rights reserved.